Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fire Protection Service Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fire Protection Service Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fire Protection Service Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1950 Business started locally: 01/01/1950 Business incorporated 01/18/1955 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott Sessions, VP of Sales Mr. Mike Bailey, CFO Ms. Diane Cragun, Customer Service Mr. Rod Garner, CEO/President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Diane Cragun, Customer Service
Principal: Mr. Scott Sessions, VP of Sales
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems

Alternate Business Names
Link Interactive Mountain Alarm
Industry Tips
Burglar Alarms

Additional Locations

  • 3293 Harrison Blvd

    Ogden, UT 84403 (866) 853-7338 (801) 395-8700 (888) 349-3455

  • 945 N 1300 W

    St George, UT 84770

  • PO Box 12487

    Ogden, UT 84412

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In March, 2012, I requested a service call re: problems with the alarm system. I paid for an upgraded system & signed a service agreement. I refer to the following: "This Agreement shall remain in force for an initial term of 60 months from the date the System is installed and becomes operative, or the date of execution of this Agreement, whichever is later. It shall be automatically renewed for consecutive terms of one year, unless one party gives written notice to the other at least 60 days prior to the end of the then current term of its intent to allow this Agreement to expire at the end of such term" I understood the terms to mean that I had a yearly option to cancel with written notice. I am now being told by Mountain Alarm that I committed to 5 years. We have sold our home - it is currently under contract - and I am being told by Mountain Alarm that I will have to pay for disconnected alarm service until March 2017. In March 2012, I was deliberately misled by the company representatives. I would have never agreed to a 5 year commitment because I knew I would be selling this home before that time period. It is always my practice to verbally clarify the terms before signing for TV, internet, phone or alarm service. Is it fair to expect consumers to hire an attorney to review all service agreements?

Desired Settlement: First outcome: Billing adjustment I should not have to pay for 2 years of disconnected service. Second outcome: Mountain Alarm should receive some kind of "Buyer Beware" business rating & warning to protect future consumers from unethical practices. It appears that this company is deliberately misleading customers to generate income.

Business Response:

The representative in our office that spoke to ******* ***** on April 1st let me, the Customer Service Manager, and the General Manager in our St. George Branch know of *******'s concerns of having felt that she had been misled about the terms of the agreement.  We were both very concerned about ******* feeling she had been misled.

I spoke to one of the officers in our company on April 2nd and he said to let ******* out of the agreement and not to charge her for the remaining terms on the agreement.  In the afternoon of April 2nd, ******* was then called by one of our company representatives and when no one answered the phone, a voice mail message was left for her letting her know that she could cancel her account with us without penalty and she would not be held to the current agreement. 

On April 3rd I received the complaint that ******* had filed with the Better Business Bureau.  Apparently ******* wrote the complaint on April 1st before our representative informed her that she could cancel her account without any penalty.  When I received the Better Business Bureau complaint, I called ******* and when no one answered, I left her a voice mail message making sure she knew we were letting her out of her agreement without any penalty and I asked her to return my call.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fire Protection Service Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)