BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Federal Alarms, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (435) 723-3659Fax: (435) 723-5337View Additional Phone Numbers1161 S Main St, Brigham CityUT 84302-3160http://www.fedalarms.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 11/03/2014 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Federal Alarms, Inc.'s rating include:

  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

Factors that raised Federal Alarms, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Federal Alarms, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
10/01/2012Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Federal Alarms, Inc is billing me for a service that I did not legally contract for.
Account ending in 3148 in the account holders name of ****** ******. On or around 20 Jan 2011 Federal Alarms refused to cancel my account. I was informed that instead of my ex wife takeing over the account she just said I moved. I was not aware that she had signed a two year contract for I had never seen the contract. I was informed when I set up the origional isntall appointment over the phone that there was no contract period. I have continued to be billed for a service which I am not provided, it order to gain benifit from it they wanted to force me into a new two year contract. I believe holding me accountable for a contract which I did not sign or see is affording my ex wife the right to commit fraud and I pay the price. The technician should not have allowed someone who was not listed on the paperwork to sign a contract. Also to allow someone who is not listed as the account owner to make changes to the account without verification from the account holder is very poor practice. for being a security company anyone can call and make changes to your account without your knowledge and allow others to sign your documents, I believe this entire practice defeats the intent of being a home security company, when anyone can sign or change your account.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund of all money paid since the account was changed by an unauthorized individual... being ******* ****** on or around 20 Jan 2011.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** /Office Administrator
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@federalalarmsinc.com

Federal Alarms Inc. records have ****** ****** as the primary signer of the original agreement. Due to the contractual agreement between ****** ****** and Federal Alarms, the customer is responsible for informing the monitoring company of any changes on the account is it moving or any other changes that come about. When the original agreement was signed all notes indicate that we had conversations with ****** ****** on getting the alarm system installed and that he would need to sign the 36 month agreement.

Verbal agreements are not binding in legal matters because there is no way of verifying the truth or validity of them at a later date. Our company is equally held to the contract as the customer because it is a series of conditions that protects both customer and company from fraud. Do to this matter we have written documentation for all binding agreements between customer and business. When a customer has decided to move out of the address where the system was originally installed it is customary to have the customer sign an extension to waive all costs associated with a system move and gifting them a new updated system.

Our records and notations show that on Feb. X XXXX the customer completely understood the policy on being held responsible for the original agreement that was signed and that it could not be terminated earlier that the original 36 months. On April 22, 2012 ****** ****** called in and was ready for the new equipment to be installed in his new residence at which time we sent the extension out to be signed before we could do the install. We never did receive the extension back and closed the ticket after waiting 3 months.

Under the customers request we will consider this his cancellation and will terminate his original agreement prematurely as a courtesy to the customer. All we will need from the customer is a letter stating that he wants his service terminated and the past due amount of $185.00 for returned EFT payments. We cannot cancel any account that has a past due balance.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I agree to the terms Federal Alarms has offered. The attached PDF has been sent to Federal Alarms, and all of their requirements of me, the consumer have been fulfilled. Account should be terminated at this time.

07/02/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/21/2004Business started: 08/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2004, UT

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Rose (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Lucy Cutler (Office Manager)Ms. Claudia Lioncourt (Company Contact)Ms. Kimberlee Rose Pedroza (Office Manager)
Business Category

Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Industry Tips
Burglar Alarms
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Federal Alarms, Inc.

1161 S Main St

Brigham City, UT 84302-3160

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 5953 Wellbrid Dr
    RTS 07.25.11 UTF 

    Galloway, OH 43119

  • 1161 S Main St 

    Brigham City, UT 84302-3160(866) 512-6539
    (435) 723-3659

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Federal Alarms, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 512-6539

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (614) 481-9820
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • www.federalalarmsinc.com
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Burglar Alarm Systems - Dealers, Monitoring & Service

Burglar Alarms
Safe & Sound: Securing Your Home
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.