Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maggie Sottero Designs, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maggie Sottero Designs, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maggie Sottero Designs, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 28, 2002 Business started: 01/09/1997 Business started locally: 01/09/1997 Business incorporated 01/09/1997 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Cahoon, President Stephanie Christensen, Company Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Cahoon, President
Customer Contact: Stephanie Christensen, Company Contact
Business Category

Bridal Shops Designers - Apparel Womens Apparel - Wholesale & Manufacturers Bridal & Millinery Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Maggie Sottero Bridal

Additional Locations

  • 2300 S 1070 W

    Salt Lake City, UT 84119 (801) 975-8303 (866) 735-8303 (801) 974-1826

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Maggie Sottero refused to make change to the order 5 days after the purchased was made. The order will take 20 weeks to complete. On Saturday Feb. 15, 2014 we drove to Dallas to look for a Maggie Sottero wedding dress for my daughter. We found an Adeline Marie dress and signed a contract with **** **** ****** located at **** ** ********* **** ***** **** ****** ** XXXXX. On Monday 2/17/14, the sales associate from **** **** ****** contacted my daughter and asked her if she would like to order a shorter dress since she has that option. My daughter said that she would like to order a shorter dress if she could. On Thursday 2/20/14, my daughter found out through her research online that the dress she ordered (in White color) comes with the white accent instead of the pewter accent which was on the dress she tried on at **** **** ******* She immediately contacted the store and ask if she could change the color of the dress to Diamond White since it came with the pewter accent. The store said they will try to contact Maggie Sottero to see if the change can be made. Later that day, they told my daughter that Maggie Sottero has a 48 hours policy and since we did not make the change within that time frame, we cannot make any change after that (This information was not included in my contract). My daughter was so devastated, she tried to call Maggie Sottero and was told that the production of the dress has started and nothing can be changed. She went into a deep depression and has not been able to eat or sleep well since. How can Maggie Sottero put a burden their customer for something they were not informed. Even the people at **** **** ****** did not know that the White color dress comes with the white accent or they would have told us so. The dress that my daughter tried on at the store was the ivory color with pewter accent. She immediately fell in love with the pewter accent because she loves the bling, but she didn't like the ivory color so she decided to order the dress in white, assuming that there's nothing change with the pewter accent. When I read the reviews on this dress, this misled information dated back to 2011 and the customer didn't even know that the white dress comes with the white accent way back then. I feel that the customers are being misled since they were not informed about the difference in the accent at the time the order was made. One customer posted that she was able to change her order to Diamond White color once she found out that the White color dress she ordered would not come with the pewter accent. We were told that it would take about 4 months to order the dress and it will arrive in July 2014. I wonder if it take that long to make the dress, why we are not able to make a change only a few days after we placed the order???? We have paid $975.57 down payment on this dress and if it came with the white accent, my daughter would be devastated. There's no way that I could afford to order another dress as much as I want my daughter to be happy on her wedding day. Right now, we live in devastation and desperation. We don't know where to turn to for help. Thank God that I ran into the BBB website while I was looking for Maggie Sottero's corporate information. I am hoping and praying that the BBB can intervene in time so that my daughter can have her dream wedding dress made to her preference. I'm willing to work with Maggie Sottero in any way I can and would like to be in contact with someone who can assist us in this situation. God help us, please. A desperate mother and a desperate bride.

Desired Settlement: 1. We would like the dress we ordered to remain in White color, but made with pewter accent (not white accent). 2. If this option is not do-able, we would like to change the dress color to Diamond white color so that the accent can be pewter. 3. The third option would be a refund of $975.57 so we could re-order another dress.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/12) */ Hi ***, I am happy to report that we have been able to make a one-time exception to our policy and have changed the gown on order for you to the Diamond White with Pewter Accents colorway. Please understand that it is our policy that we do not make changes to an order after 48 hours because at that time, the gown has been placed with our factory. The store did make an effort to make those changes for you, but outside of the window for cancellations or changes. The updated ship date for your gown will now be the end of July. Please contact the Authorized Retailer with any additional questions regarding delivery that you may have. I am also available to help in any way possible. Thank you again for your interest in Maggie Sottero. We wish you the very best with all things wedding related and for a very happy future. Kind Regards, ********* ***********, EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT Description: emailsigimage_withR *********************@maggiesottero.com ************ (DIRECT) ************ (OFFICE) Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/03/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We accept the vendor's offer; however, it was not the first choice that we requested. We will try to communicate with Maggie Sottero to find out why our first choice was not considered. I'm sure they can provide us with a good reason. BBB has brought us and Maggie Sottero together to work this problem out. Without BBB, it would be impossible to get pass the receptionist at Maggie Sottero. I'm grateful for BBB's assistant and would recommend everyone to work with BBB if their vendor refuses to cooperate to resolve business related problems.

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service