Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Campus Book Rentals, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Campus Book Rentals, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Campus Book Rentals, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 21, 2008 Business started: 08/01/2007 Business started locally: 08/01/2007 Business incorporated 08/27/2007 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Alan Martin, Owner Mr. Austin Mann, Company Contact Jase McCormick, Customer Service Lead Mr. Todd McCormick, Company Contact Mr. Rocky Moline, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Martin, Owner
Business Category

Books - Textbooks New & Used Encyclopedia & Book Sales by Internet Scholastic Prep Courses, Books & Materials

Alternate Business Names
CampusBookRentals.com
Products & Services

This company rents textbooks to college students.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Campus Book Rentals, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2805 S 1900 W

    Ogden, UT 84401 (855) 200-0021

  • 2869 Commerce Way Unit 1

    Ogden, UT 84401

  • PO Box 160481

    Clearfield, UT 84016

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a textbook about 1-2 weeks ago from the company and ordered free shipping. The company provided me with shipping information and a tracking number. Per tracking, the package has not moved since January 20th when it was supposedly out for delivery. I contacted customer service on January 25 expressing my concern that it has not moved. The one who replied, Neiko, stated that the delivery window of 7-14 days has not lapsed and so I could contact USPS myself. I sent a reply stating that as a sender, they are ones who could file a claim with USPS. And if the package is lost, they could either refund me or send another textbook. I received no reply since. Anyway, I did contact USPS and have not heard from them. And the company has charged me for the textbook rental. I am very unhappy with their service. I understand that the shipping issue is not their fault but their refusal to help is what bothers me. They are lacking in customer support especially with lost packages.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the amount charged to me due to lost package.

Business Response:

The customer placed the order on January 17th. The book was shipped out the next day on the 18th. Due to weather delays, the book did not move for about four business days. However the book was still delivered on the 8th business day and the customer chose our free shipping which is 7-14 business days. We explained this all to the customer when she contacted us. We will not be able to issue a refund, seeing that the book was delivered within the given time frame.

Thanks,

Mandi

2/6/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a text book from this company. The book has not arrived within the time frame contracted for putting me in a very uncomfortable position.

Desired Settlement: I needed, not wanted, the book within the item frame that I contracted for. I will now have to purchase the book locally at a greater price since I cannot wait for the book to arrive and have no idea if ow when it will arrive. As such I want this business to refund me my money and compensate me for the cost of renting a book locally that is over and above what I would have paid had they fulfilled their end of the contract.

Business Response:

Hello,

This book was ordered on January 19th. The customer paid an extra $7.99 for expedited shipping which is 2-3 business days. With one day of processing it was shipped out on the 20th. The customer contacted us on the 24th about not getting his book and due to weather delays the book was delayed by one day. We refunded the shipping cost right away and the next day the book was delivered to him. The book was delivered within four business days. If the customer would like to return the book we will offer a full refund.

Thanks,

Mandi

2/3/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advertises product they do not sell. They advertise selling packages that include access cards. Those packages have a unique ISBN#. What they sell is the book only which has its own ISBN#. In short they advertise a package using the ISBN# of the package and the title of the package but only send the the book which has its own ISBN#. What they should be doing is using the book only title and ISBN#. They are falsely advertising product they do not carry or sell and trick buyers into paying for items they do not provide.

Desired Settlement: Nothing on the companies web site should list that it is a package with access code. Under those specific circumstances the ISBN# and title of the product show that the code is included. This company only sells books. Since that is the case only books should be advertised using the book only ISBN# and title.

Business Response:

Hello ****,

We apologize for the inconvenience. The books we rent out are used books. We cannot guarantee that a used book will include any access codes or supplemental materials. That is stated in our terms and conditions and is also stated multiple times throughout the rental process, including a box at the end of the rental process that you have to check that informs you that any supplemental materials are not guaranteed. You cannot place an order without checking that box. 

 Supplemental materials are usually a one time use, or they are damaged during the books initial use and cannot be reused after that. 

Although the title of the book might state that an access card or CD is included, however, due to copyright laws we cannot legally change the title of the book to say the supplemental materials are not included. That is why we state that so many times throughout the rental process.  The only way to guarantee that the book will come with that stuff is to buy a brand new book with a brand new access code. 

The book was recently returned and fully refunded. 

Thanks,

Mandi

9/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two books from this company! The first book was a part of my Biochemistry class which I wished to have expedited to me right away! I was in a rush to receive this book and paid the extra $3.99 in order to receive it in an expedited manner. I also order another book for my cognition class which I was content with the standard shipping labeled as "Free". I ended up receiving BOTH my books in one wrapped package 14 days after purchase. Why was I even given the option to have a book expedited and charged for it if it was just going to be sent as standard shipping along with my other book? It really pushed my studies back about a week. My first time doing business with this company was quite disappointing.

Desired Settlement: I should have that expedited fee refunded to me.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, 
  I was able to look into the account and it looks like the order was placed late afternoon on Friday and the books were shipped out Monday, the shipping time frame you paid for was 5-8 business days. Your book was delivered on the sixth business day. The customer never contacted us throughout this process, if there was some type of correspondence earlier, we could have helped her with the shipping time frame and possibly a refund. 

Here is a copy of our terms on the shipping process. 

Shipping 

CampusBookRentals.com relies on the expertise of our shipping providers which are USPS, UPS, and FedEx
 to get your books to you on time. Rare problems such as weather delays, rural routes, or shipping carrier system delays
 could prevent a perfect delivery. CampusBookRentals.com agrees to work very closely with any customer that does not
 receive their book within the time frame selected. After a 24-48 hour processing period, please allow 7-14 business days
 (9-16 calendar days) for standard delivery, 5-8 business days (6-10 calendar days) for expedited delivery. Should a problem arise,
CampusBookRentals.com will work very hard to track down the delivery problem or send out a replacement textbook at no cost to you. 


If there are any further questions or comments, please let me know! 

Mandi

Consumer Response:  The book for Biochemistry was supposed to be expedited shipping and was paid for to be handled & shipped as such but was sent as standard. A company that doesn't take responsibility for their mishaps is no company worth doing business with. Keep your extra charge, I surely will never utilize this company again.
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** ******

10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented my book to the company for them to rent to others and we both make money. They sold my book without my consent, without updating the progress I rented my book to the company for them to rent to others. The book was last rented 5/7/2013. I decided to ask for a check for the amount my book was previously rented. The day after i ask for payment, the book happens to be rented after a year of the book not being used and then is sold to them for a price not agreed upon. The book was not being used by them for over a year, I should be notified and allowed to receive the book back. However, no one contacted me and I was not allowed to sell the book myself or keep it. I spoke with a customer service representative named ******. I asked where she could so me in the terms and agreement that they can decided the price the book is sold. She could not find it and showed me a place where is talks about rental price. I did not consent to the price they sold it at. I would like the book to be replaced because I did not give consent on the book to be sold and should have been notified about the book not being used. Additionally, I am not allowed to write a testimony for others to be careful using this website, because they prevented me from doing so.

Desired Settlement: I would like you to replace the book and send it to me for free.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ****** ******, Customer Service Supervisor
Contact Phone: ************ X****
Contact Email: *********@campusbookrentals.com
When the customer submitted the book for our RentBack program, he agreed to the RentBack Agreement, which states the following:

"Our goal is to rent your books as many times as possible to help you earn the most money possible. Sometimes your books may be sold instead of rented. Books being sold are a result of the following: 1) the customer who rented your book chose to purchase and keep it, or 2) it was determined that selling your book to a bookstore or on the online market would create more revenue for you than renting multiple times."

The customer's book was rented to another customer who then purchased the book the next day. RentBack books that are rented to customers are handled exactly the same as other rentals, up to and including the purchase of the book. The pricing on the books is calculated by our carefully calibrated pricing system, which considers such factors as market value, availability, and demand. The pricing formula applies to both the rental and the purchase price for all rentals through CampusBookRentals.com, regardless of supplier.

We have no way of knowing when a book will be rented or if a renter will choose to purchase the book, so we have no way of notifying the customer when the book is going to be rented or purchased.

As a one time courtesy, we can ship a replacement copy, but the customer will need to contact us to pay a shipping fee. If the customer chooses to have a replacement copy shipped, he will not be able to accept payment for the previous rental or the sale of the textbook.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would be willing to not accept the payment for the purchase, but you can use that payment that your are taking away from me for the rental as payment for shipping me my book back. Again, I understand your system decides that price but I did not agree to the price you sold it as. In your terms and agreement I have no choice but to accept rental prices, but the terms does not state "Selling price". Therefore, you can take the payment back for my rental and ship me the book back using that payment.

Business Response: We have removed the payment for the most recent rental of the book and for the purchase of the textbook. The customer will not be able to receive payment for the rental or sale of this textbook.

As a one time courtesy we will waive the shipping fee for the book, but the customer will need to contact our customer service department directly in order to verify the shipping address and any other required information for the shipment of the textbook.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Tried to get in contact with customer service and haven't received any reply back. I contacted campus textbook rentals in late august of 2014, regarding a situation I'm having extending my rental date for two of my five books and on campus book rentals website it clearly stated that customers would receive a response from customer service within 48 hours and that was in the last week of August before the Labor Day holiday and I waited an extra day since it was a holiday weekend but still didn't receive a response. So I sent another customer service complaint earlier this week and still haven't gotten a reply. I'm trying to extend the rental date before I'm unable to use my financial aid to pay for the total pricing of the extended rental.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the company to extend my rental due date til December when my semester ends and I no longer need the two rented books.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Customer Service Supervisor Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX X **** Contact Email: *********@campusbookrentals.com I have been checking back through our archives, and we have not received any emails from the customer about this matter. There is also no record of any phone calls. She did rent through one of our affiliate sites, TextbookX.com, so it is possible the customer may have contacted their customer service and not ours. No information was provided in the original complaint about exactly how the customer attempted to contact us. As a one time courtesy we have extended the due date on the original order until December 21, and we will also contact the customer directly via email to further resolve this situation.

7/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got charged 3x the price of a book when I "didn't return it on time," even though I took steps necessary to do so. Customer Service are liars. I rented for $16.11. I returned the book via my apartment's mail system. They neglected to send it out, and I did not find this out until I was charged almost $60 for this book. I looked up the value of the book, and it is sold for an average of $18 at places like Barnes & Noble and other MAJOR bookstores. I called and complained about this, and was told I could only be refunded 75% of the price, and $40 would be credited back to my account. I found this unacceptable, since I paid $16 to rent the book and they'd want to charge me another $19, I'd basically be paying for the book twice. Every time I called the same person answered with a different name, and when we asked to be transferred to a supervisor, the same woman was on the phone, again with a different name and told me she was the only supervisor in the department. I knew it was the same person because I had mentioned earlier with the first girl the way she said a specific word, and the "supervisor" used the exact same unique pronunciation. I then called back and dialed every extension I could until I got connected with a man, who transferred me to THE OTHER supervisor, showing me that there was more than one on duty. She then told me she would try and resolve my issue if she could, and told me my leasing office could call her to verify. I am still waiting on this step of the process, but I will NEVER rent from campus textbook rentals EVER again.

Desired Settlement: A full refund upon receipt of the book - I paid my rental fee and took the steps necessary to return it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Customer Service Supervisor Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX X **** Contact Email: *********@campusbookrentals.com Because the book was not returned by the due date of May 15, 2014, the customer was charged the purchase fee for her book on June 13, 2014, as per our Rental Agreement. From the Rental Agreement: "If the book is not returned by the end of the 15 days the next charge will be for the purchase price of the book, which is Market Value of Book at time of Rental - (Rental Fee + Extension) = Purchase price of book...The value of the textbook is determined to be the value of the book at the time it was initially rented; not the value at the time the card is charged." During the course of our interaction with this customer, she spoke to at least four different representatives, including myself and another representative who was acting supervisor in the absence of myself and the floor manager. At the time that the customer was told that there was no other supervisor available, I personally was not in the office at the time, and returned shortly after the call had ended. I called the customer back as soon as I was available to resolve the situation. In the course of my phone call with the customer, we agreed that we could issue a full refund for the purchase fee as a one time courtesy, as long as the customer's leasing office could give us a call and verify that the package not being returned was not the fault of the customer. The customer assured me that I would receive a call from the leasing office by the end of the day, but no such call was received. We have received no further contact from the customer nor her leasing office, and no active tracking is available on the return package provided for the customer (USPS tracking number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX). We have done our best to work with the customer in this situation and resolve the issue in a timely manner. We would be glad to uphold our end of the agreement and provide a full refund for the purchase price of the book, as long as the agreed upon conditions of return are met.

3/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never given instructions on how to return book rented. I will be glad to return the book with a refund credited to my account Order date 8/21/13. Cust# XXXXXXX. Isbn XXXXXXXXXXXXX. Inquiry to life I would have returned this book before 12/21/13 if I had been given a return form/information. Please call XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement: I will mail the book back with a full refund credited to my acct.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* CS Assistant Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@campusbookrentals.com The customer rented a book through our affiliate program with her university. As part of the Rental Agreement that customer reads and agrees to while placing an order, we state that "You agree to return your rented textbooks, by dropping them off at your bookstore, on or before your due date." In addition, the home page of the website where the customer rented the textbook (http://wku.textrental.com) states "Easy Returns - Drop your textbooks off in-store, or ship them back using our free shipping label." We do strive to send out reminder emails when the customer's book is coming up due, but many of these emails are sent to Spam or not received due to email filters. The customer is responsible for returning the book at the end of the semester. This customer has since contacted our customer service department and will be receiving a refund for the book once it arrives back at our warehouse.

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When returning my rental textbooks I was informed that I did not have any books that needed to be returned. Then charged the amount for the books. Rented my textbooks through my university, Metro state university. Went to return the books and they notified me that I didn't owe them any books, their system said nothing was due. Then 1 month later I was charged the amount of the books because I didn't return them. They were supposed to email me, which i never received anything from them or notify me that I still owed them the books and that they would be charging my account. The amount charged on my account was $159. My email is ******@msudenver.edu that I was using with this account. I don't have my order number.

Desired Settlement: $159.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* CS Assistant Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********@campusbookrentals.com Customer rented the book through a partnership between our company and her university's bookstore. The customer contacted our customer service department shortly after submitting the complaint and discussed the issue with one of our representatives. Two of the three overdue books were sold through Amazon, but she was told that she could return the third book and be issued a refund for the buyout price of that book once it was received back at our warehouse. A return label was sent to the email provided on 2/14/14 for the customer to return the third book. As of 2/27/14, the tracking on the return label number XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX has not yet activated, but the customer will be refunded the full amount of the buyout once the book is received.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Campus Book Rentals, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart