Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Awnings Unlimited?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Awnings Unlimited

Phone: (801) 268-4441 Fax: (801) 606-7068 View Additional Phone Numbers 3709 S 500 W Ste A, Salt Lake City, UT 84115 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.awnings-unlimited.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Established in 1976 Awnings Unlimited provides quality and service. We set the bar high, striving for a positive quality experience from start to finish.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Awnings Unlimited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Awnings Unlimited include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Awnings Unlimited
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated: 03/09/2001 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Hayward, Regional Operations Manager Mr. Dean Hayward, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Hayward, Regional Operations Manager
Business Category

Awnings & Canopies Carports Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio Builder Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Patio Cover

Service Area
Utah, Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
Rocky Mountain Awnings, LC
Products & Services

We specialize in patio covers, carports, pergolas, retractable awnings, both window and patio, custom drop shades and more.


Additional Locations

  • 3709 S 500 W Ste A

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 268-4441 (801) 392-5575 (801) 371-0901

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recieved an estimate for a pergola over my garage last sept 2014. Deposit of 200.00 was required.He said time for install would be around 2nd week in oct. depending on the weather...I would call the salesman off and on over periods of time when i didnt hear from them, finally got a call and email to choose brackets,chose the brackets and never heard another word.Holidays came and left,I could only leave voice msgs.at the business. Finally the 3rd week of Jan.2015 I spoke to ******* and said he had put in for a refund of my deposit, it takes 30 days...Its now the end of Feb 2015, still leaving voice msgs, still no refund of deposit.I dont normally complain about business, but this companys lack of communication and poor customer service is unacceptable in my opinion, I think the rating that they recieve from the BBB is wrong. I have tried my best to communicate with this company and still no response. I have had work done at my home previously by this company and why I chose them again, I wish this company would just stand by their word or at least just be honest about it, I'm at a loss.If my deposit was refunded I would never have contact with them again

Desired Settlement: I just want my money refunded...

Business Response:

Upon receiving this complaint we immediately contacted the customer and apologized for the miss-hap.  Originally when she sent the cancel request the refund request mistakenly did not get sent to accounts payable.  at this time I understood this transaction to be completed and her refund sent and received.  she apparently attempted to contact us multiple times during our Christmas-new year 3 week break where our office is closed and we completely shutdown yearly for inventory and downtime.  phones are shut off and set with a vacation message during this time.  messages are checked upon return which is usually the first week of Jan.  this BBB complaint was the first that I personally had heard about ****** not receiving her refund... as stated above we immediately contacted her, apologized and arranged for her to get refund asap!  by end of that week 02/27/15.  I personally spoke with ****** at this time and she stated that she would resolve the BBB complaint and thanked me for the completing her complaint swiftly.  at this time we believe that this issue has been resolved to the customers satisfaction.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service