Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Awnings Unlimited

Phone: (801) 268-4441 Fax: (801) 606-7068 View Additional Phone Numbers 3709 S 500 W Ste A, Salt Lake City, UT 84115 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Established in 1976 Awnings Unlimited provides quality and service. We set the bar high, striving for a positive quality experience from start to finish.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Awnings Unlimited meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Awnings Unlimited
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1978 Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated 03/09/2001 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Hayward, Regional Operations Manager Mr. Dean Hayward, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Hayward, Regional Operations Manager
Business Category

Awnings & Canopies Carports Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio Builder Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Patio Cover

Service Area
Utah, Wyoming
Alternate Business Names
Rocky Mountain Awnings, LC
Products & Services

We specialize in patio covers, carports, pergolas, retractable awnings, both window and patio, custom drop shades and more.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Awnings Unlimited has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3709 S 500 W Ste A

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 268-4441 (801) 392-5575 (801) 371-0901


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a pergola from this business on June 29th, 2016 and paid the required $700 deposit on that same day. Our $700 check cleared our bank on July 7th. We had HOA approval and other work to complete before they could build the pergola. We called the last week of July to get on the schedule for August 15th but did not receive a return call. We called again on Aug 4th, twice, talked to the manager and got on the schedule for Aug 15th. Late the night of Aug 12th they called to reschedule for Aug 18th. They dug the 4 holes for the pergola and set 4 steel posts, we questioned their processes but they continued to tell us it was okay "everything will work out". The dirt in the approx. 18" wide x 24" deep holes was not tamped down but left loose. They placed a thin sheet of aluminum over the loose dirt then put the steel post in and poured in dry cement, added water and mixed the cement by poking a shovel in the water & dry cement mix. They let this set with plans to return on Aug 22nd. Late Friday night, Aug 19th, the manager called to reschedule due to a conflict. We rescheduled for Aug 24th. Between these dates we check on the process they used to set the posts and obtained the manufactures engineering installation instructions (pdf). We were not pleased to learn they were not following the manufactures instructions which also called for rebar and some cement in the posts. Sakrete dry cement was used to set the posts and they do not recommend this process either. According to Sakrete cement should be mixed thoroughly before pouring around posts. When they came in on Aug 24th they discovered the posts were not square. They had to remove 2 posts and reset them. We called the office to tell them about what we had learned from the manufactures website and pdf instructions. We also told the manager the manufactures website refused to warranty their product if it was installed incorrectly. the manager was upset with us questioning their process and quickly offered to "remove the other posts and refund our money". We agreed to this offer which upset him even more. Once the posts were all removed the manager showed up to take pictures and we asked for our check, he informed us at that time the check would take at least 30 days for processing. This was unacceptable; they had already had our deposit for over 7 weeks, so we did not allow him to take pictures. We now have approx. 24" wide x 24" deep holes; we took pictures when they left. We would like an immediate refund of our money and a response from the owner who they never allowed let us speak to.

Desired Settlement: We would like an immediate refund of our money and a response from the owner who they never allowed let us speak to. We would like this business to review their current processes and start building the Amerimax products they sell according to the manufacturer's instructions. Doing what they are doing now is voiding the manufacturer's warranty for all their customers.

Business Response:

September 13, 2016



To:          BBB

                Case #********


Re:         Awnings Unlimited Job #*****


From:    Awnings Unlimited

                Dean * H******




It is always unfortunate when a customer is unhappy with our company.  Awnings Unlimited strives to satisfy each customer, but unfortunately we are unsuccessful with some.  This customer’s job in question is one of those.  I wish we could say this customer was satisfied with this job.


With that said, the following is my response to the complaint filed. 


The customer states that Awnings Unlimited did not follow the manufacture’s installation instructions.  However, the pergola was being built to the manufacture’s recommendations.  The website and pdf instructions referred to by the customer, too my knowledge does not exist.  We asked to see the instructions they were referring to and were refused.  We asked for the website they got their information from and were also denied that information.  We contacted Amerimax, the manufacturer, and asked them if there was any online installation information.   We were told they do not provide any of that information on any of their websites.  To try and put the customer’s minds at rest, we had an Amerimax representative contact them so that they could voice their concerns to the manufacturer to try and resolve their issues.  After the Amerimax representative contacted the customer, he contacted us back stating he did not hear that any of their concerns regarding the installation were outside of the standard installation practices.  He stated to us that the same conclusions were relayed to the customer in his conversation with them.


Concerning the concrete used to set the posts, Sakrete and Quickcrete products both use the method we used for the setting the posts.  These instructions are both on the package and on their websites.  Amerimax calls for post spiking which was completed on each post being set.


Warrantee of the product -  Amerimax does not warrantee any installation regardless of how it was installed.  Their warrantee covers the paint and structural integrity of the product itself.  The installation company warrantees the installation of the product.  Awnings Unlimited has a written warrantee which covers the installation.  If we would have completed this pergola, Awnings Unlimited would have covered any structural failure caused by our installation within the terms of the warrantee.  None of our customers are without this warrantee.  Both Amerimax and Awnings Unlimited warrantees are in place at the completion of our jobs.


Refund policy of the company - All jobs which are cancelled are reviewed, and deposits are refunded based on that review.  Our standard policy on any refund is 30 days.  The 30 day period is for processing and receipt of the refund by the customer.  Though the customer might have been under the assumption that the manager could have changed this policy, he could not and cannot.  All financial transactions are reviewed and completed at a different office.  However, rarely does it take 30 days to complete these transactions. In this case, the job was cancelled on August 26, 2016, the check was cut and mailed on September 5, 2016, and the funds cleared our account on September 12, 2016.


It is the policy of Awnings Unlimited to have the staff try and resolve issues with their customers.  On occasion when decisions need to be made outside of the staff’s authority, I, the owner, will get involved.  I was kept informed in this matter and felt that with the unsuccessful attempts to resolve these issues with this customer, they should be given the opportunity to back out of the signed contract.  The customer took this option.  With their agreement, Awnings Unlimited cancelled the contract and completed the cancellation terms as agreed by the customer and management.  These kinds of actions are always reviewed to try and improve our customer’s satisfaction.  My goal is to always have a satisfied customer.  In this case, the option offered to the customer appears to have been the best solution.


I consider my response to this complaint and the desired settlement by the customer to be complete.  Their “refund” was issued and cashed, “a response from the owner”, through this written response, is completed, and in all cases, Awnings Unlimited “reviews our policies and practices”.  We value our relationship with our customers.  We also value our relationship with Amerimax Building Products, and continue to work with them to provide the best product and installation to our customers.






Dean G H******


Awnings Unlimited

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recieved an estimate for a pergola over my garage last sept 2014. Deposit of 200.00 was required.He said time for install would be around 2nd week in oct. depending on the weather...I would call the salesman off and on over periods of time when i didnt hear from them, finally got a call and email to choose brackets,chose the brackets and never heard another word.Holidays came and left,I could only leave voice the business. Finally the 3rd week of Jan.2015 I spoke to ******* and said he had put in for a refund of my deposit, it takes 30 days...Its now the end of Feb 2015, still leaving voice msgs, still no refund of deposit.I dont normally complain about business, but this companys lack of communication and poor customer service is unacceptable in my opinion, I think the rating that they recieve from the BBB is wrong. I have tried my best to communicate with this company and still no response. I have had work done at my home previously by this company and why I chose them again, I wish this company would just stand by their word or at least just be honest about it, I'm at a loss.If my deposit was refunded I would never have contact with them again

Desired Settlement: I just want my money refunded...

Business Response:

Upon receiving this complaint we immediately contacted the customer and apologized for the miss-hap.  Originally when she sent the cancel request the refund request mistakenly did not get sent to accounts payable.  at this time I understood this transaction to be completed and her refund sent and received.  she apparently attempted to contact us multiple times during our Christmas-new year 3 week break where our office is closed and we completely shutdown yearly for inventory and downtime.  phones are shut off and set with a vacation message during this time.  messages are checked upon return which is usually the first week of Jan.  this BBB complaint was the first that I personally had heard about ****** not receiving her refund... as stated above we immediately contacted her, apologized and arranged for her to get refund asap!  by end of that week 02/27/15.  I personally spoke with ****** at this time and she stated that she would resolve the BBB complaint and thanked me for the completing her complaint swiftly.  at this time we believe that this issue has been resolved to the customers satisfaction.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


****** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Awnings Unlimited
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart