Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Diamond Glass

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 221-4776 Fax: (801) 226-3058 View Additional Phone Numbers 165 S State St, Lindon, UT 84042 http://www.diamondglass.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Diamond Glass meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Diamond Glass include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Diamond Glass
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002 Business incorporated 12/13/2001 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Ammie Hickman, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ammie Hickman, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair - Windshield, Glass Shops Glass - Plate and Window

Alternate Business Names
Emery Enterprises LLC
Products & Services

This company provides retail auto glass, auto glass replacement, and repair.


Additional Locations

  • 165 S State St

    Lindon, UT 84042 (801) 785-2860 (801) 796-0687 (801) 221-4776

  • 3171 S West Temple

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 467-5401

  • PO Box 492

    Orem, UT 84059

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 Windshields Installed, 1 cracked 2 days after installation, truck had not moved on the first day. Diamond Glass refuses to replace windshield. I contacted Diamond Glass on 3/12/14 requesting 2 windshields for my 2008 Freightliner. They were very accommodating and came to my location on 3/14/14 as requested. They installed both windshields, left & right in my truck. At this point, the service was great. The truck remained parked in our yard until 3/15/14 in the evening. It left to make a short run and upon return the driver pointed out to me a crack starting at the bottom of the glass working it's way up. He promptly pointed it out to me as he knew I had just had the windshields changed. At this point the crack was about 2 inches long. On Monday 3/17/14 I contacted "****" who installed the windshields at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. He was very nice, assured me he'd get it taken care of, and that he'd be out to look at it. He never showed up. I contacted him again several more times trying to arrange a time for him to look at it when the truck would be in town. He finally showed up late in the evening (after dark) more than a week later. He indicated that he had only worked for Diamond for a short period and he was pretty sure they would warranty it, but couldn't make that call without consulting his boss. He told me he had taken some pictures of it, pointed out a little tiny speck (that I couldn't really see) and said he'd get back to me. After several attempts trying to get ahold of him and feeling like he was avoiding me, I contacted his boss "****" at XXX-XXX-XXXX. He instantly called me back after that & said he would light a fire under his main boss & he'd get it taken care of & promised me I'd "be smiling" when this was all done. Never did hear from him so I called **** again & asked her to connect me with the main boss. I talked to the main manager on 4/4/14. He told me how experienced **** is & how many windshields he has put in etc etc. He told me he was not going to cover it. I asked him if he had even seen the pictures and he said no. His installer (the same installer that told me he could likely get it covered) was experienced, basically indicating that he didn't need to look at the pictures. I reminded him that this installer told me he could get it covered. He told me the best he could do was to maybe knock $25 off a new windshield. This is not acceptable to me.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the 1 windshield that was faulty. I have since consulted another glass professional who has indicated to me that this was likely caused by either faulty glass or faulty installation (likely a small piece of glass caught underneath the windshield). The total bill for both windshields (tax and all) was $321.16. I'd like half of that refunded in the amount of 160.58.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** *******, General Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@emeryenterprises.com I agree that this situation is unacceptable, however, it is the extreme lack of communication between the office, the technician and **** that is the real issue here. I very much appreciate this being brought to my attention. I would like to sincerely apologize for the amount of time spent on trying to get this issue resolved. Diamond Glass has a lifetime warranty on the installation, as well as a limited manufacturers warranty, which warranties against distortions or problems with the glass itself. Unfortunately, there is no warranty on the glass that provides a free windshield if something hits your windshield causing it to break, regardless of the amount of time that has passed since the original installation. Our manufacturers warranty is dictated by the distributors. They will warranty a broken windshield only if there is a crack that was not caused by an impact. His windshield has a point of impact. Something hit the glass and caused it to break, therefore, we cannot get a replacement windshield at no cost. It is unfortunate that it was broken again so soon after replacement, but it happens all the time. ****, and then her manager, ****, both tried to discuss the issue with the client. He was offered a significant discount, but he stated that he would pay another company to do it if he was going to have to pay anything. He made statements about how the glass should not have broken that easily, and how he had other rocks hit other windshields in the past without breaking them. We tried to explain that anything hitting any piece of glass can cause it to break. There are so many variables involved that it is impossible to say why one rock would cause breakage when another does not. Speed of the projectile, location of the impact, the temperature of the glass, and many other things. There is no difference in the thickness or strength of any windshield. Those items are regulated by the federal government. Again, I apologize for the fact that he had to spend so much of his personal time trying to get this issue resolved, and I apologize that the technician, ***** insinuated that he may be able to get it covered under warranty. Although **** has worked for his family's auto glass company for many, many years, he is relatively new to Diamond Glass. I appreciate you notifying me of his comments so that I can instruct him on how to handle these situations in the future. Our offer to cover his windshield installation for $69.95 instead of $160.00 which is what he originally paid for that windshield installation still stands. We are more than happy to still take care of him. I know that both **** and **** tried to help him understand why this windshield cannot be covered under warranty, and it was my understanding that, in spite of their attempts, he was still very noticeably irritated. Hopefully, this communication will help him understand how we can help. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There are a couple of discrepancies here to discuss. First of all, **** did not offer to replace it for $69.95. He told me the best he could do was $125 for a new windshield if I agreed to have windshields put in my Kenworth also. I am obviously not a satisfied customer and don't particularly want to have Diamond Glass work on yet another truck. I was quite surprised at this response for 2 reasons. One, **** spoke so highly of **** and how experienced he is etc., etc. that he didn't even need to look at the pictures of the glass that **** took before making a decision. If **** is so experienced that **** doesn't even need to review the pictures, then why would the windshield not be covered as **** seemed to think and implied it would be. He just didn't dare make that call without his managers approval as he had not been with Diamond Glass for very long. Secondly, I wish **** would have looked at the glass. The crack started from the bottom and worked it's way up. It did not start at said "point of impact". Had this matter been handled in a timely manner he would have seen the crack at the bottom where it began. It might also be noted that the supposed point of impact was BEHIND the wiper blade and the little teeny speck was not even really a chip. Just a mark that was actually very hard to see. I had to move the blade to even see what he was talking about. Had **** looked at it I think he would have been in agreement that there was not a point of impact. All of the evidence points to faulty installation. I do not want a new windshield for $69.95, I want a refund for the one Diamond Glass installed that failed immediately. The windshield has already been replaced. My trucks move up and down the road going through Ports of Entry and subject to inspection at any time. A cracked windshield is a violation that counts against my safety rating. Therefore, as this process was taking so long I had it replaced elsewhere. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/20) */ I am afraid that no refund will be issued to ****. I do not plan to discuss all of the other items in ***** response, such as what **** said or what **** said because it all comes down to this basic fact: There was a point of impact on the glass. The distributors will not accept any glass back if it has a point of impact. No matter how big or how small. They will accept glass only if there is a stress crack, meaning that there is no point of impact, or if there is some sort of distortion. I have again spoken to ***** the technician, and he has again verified that there was a point of impact. I am not sure what more I can say to help **** understand that this is simply something that is not covered under warranty. It is not a matter of us not wanting to help him, or of us trying to be difficult. The windshield is glass. Something hit it. It broke. The distributors will not warranty it. I am not sure that there is anything that I could do, aside from refunding payment for an installation that was completed without incident, and was, after the fact, struck by an object and broken again, that will help him to not be upset about this windshield not being covered under warranty. I am truly not trying to be difficult, and I would still like to find a way to help. I understand that he has already replaced the windshield in question, however, I have put into the notes that the next time this windshield, or another windshield of equal or lesser value is broken, we will replace THAT windshield for $69.95 plus tax. This is not a normal procedure, but I want **** to know that we really do value him as a customer, and although he may not wish to have Diamond Glass replace another windshield for him in the future, I would like him to know that this discount is available to him. Thank You. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I do not wish to further argue this. The windshield was NOT broken due to anything hitting it. However, for the sake of putting this behind us I will accept their offer.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rock chip repair that turned into a drill-fest on my windshield. I recently went to the Lindon Diamond Glass for a simple rock chip repair. When I saw the kid drilling hole after hole (3) and was getting ready to drill more with a dremmel tool I said STOP you are destroying my windshield. But it was too late, he had created two large cracks coming from the chip. I am very upset that he drilled almost through my windshield ruining it. I have had many rock chip repairs done in the past with none of them needing a dremmel tool. Just resin pressed into the repair. I have never had one fail with some lasting 15 years. I feel like I was scammed and the intention was to break the window and up sale me a windshield.

Desired Settlement: I would like $400 so I can have my destroyed window changed

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* - General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@emeryenterprises.com We appreciate that ***** contacted the BBB. It gives us the opportunity to help him understand the rock chip repair process. Diamond Glass gives every client a rock chip repair explanation before any work is done on their vehicle which explains, in advance, the risks of attempting a repair on a broken windshield. It explains that rock chip repairs are not done for cosmetic reasons, and that it is impossible to guarantee the success of any rock chip repair. Insurance companies verbally give this explanation before they allow their insureds to make an insurance claim for rock chip repair, because they require that their insureds know about the risks before having the work done, and understand that if the repair fails, they are not entitled to a free windshield. They can change their claim from a repair to a replacement, but any deductible would apply. He commented about his windshield being drilled. There are several different types of rock chips. Some leave an obvious "pit" on the glass. Others have only a small crack. If the "pit" left in the glass is not large enough an opening to inject the repair resin into, the opening must be drilled with a drill bit specially created for glass, enlarging it enough for the vacuum mechanism to force the repair resin into the damaged area of the glass. Another reason for drilling into the glass is when a rock chip repair causes a crack to become larger. An attempt to "stop" the crack can be made by drilling an artificial "pit" into the crack, creating another opening for more resin to be injected. Windshields are made from multiple layers of glass. Only the top layer of glass is drilled. The bottom layer of glass is always left in tact. The actual repair takes place in between the two pieces of glass. The repair resin is forced through the opening in the windshield and in between the two sheets of glass where it bonds with the sheet of plastic laminate that lies between the two sheets of glass. Diamond Glass has been in business for more than 35 years, and has a fantastic reputation. I assure you that we would never purposly damage a clients windshield in an attempt to force them to buy a new one. A company who would employ such methods would not remain in business for very long. I understand if ***** is not comfortable having our company replace his windshield for him, however, should he decide that he feels that what I have explained here is accurate, I am more than happy to extend an employee discount to him for his replacement. This is not something that he would need to do today. He would simply need to contact me to get a quote in the near future, and it would be saved for him until such a time that he decided to have it replaced. Every windshield that we replace comes with a full lifetime rock chip repair warranty. Once we install a windshield, all future rock chips are free of charge. In addition, all of our business accounts automatically receive free rock chip repair. It is for this reason that we do literally hundreds of rock chip repairs each and every month. Less than 1% of them fail. The technician that performed his repair has been with Diamond Glass for almost 8 years, and is extremely skilled in the repair process, but no matter how much experience a technician has, repair failure is always a possibility. It is unfortunate that ***** experienced a repair failure, but I assure you that, given the chance, I will make sure that he is well taken care of. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/04/15) */ The one hole that was drilled went all the way through the glass and through the tint on the inside of the window. They claim to only drill halfway through the window. They claim the technician has been employed for eight years which I find hard to believe as he was just a kid. If I would have been informed that more than just resin was to be injected I would not have had them attempt the repair. By the time I saw what they were doing I had 3 holes drilled with cracks running every which way and he was attempting to drill more when I said STOP. Diamond Glass would not even respond to me until I got the BBB involved. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/04/17) */ Unfortunately, I am unclear as to what it is that ***** is asking of us. I did my best to explain to him the repair process during my last response and we did have him read and sign an explanation before doing any work on his vehicle that warned him of the possibilities of his windshield crack becoming worse due to the failure of the repair. I have offered him an EMPLOYEE discount for the replacement of his windshield, and I would be more than happy to refund him what he paid for his Groupon, which is where he bought the lifetime rock chip repair warranty card. He can even keep the card. I would love for him to be able to get future rock chips repaired at no charge so that he can see that the vast majority of the time, repairs work amazingly well, and you are in and out and on your way in under 20 minutes. His, unfortunately, happened to be the exception to that rule. I am not sure what he is referring to when he talks about the tint on the inside of the window. I am not sure what that would be so I will not spend time on that issue. It seems silly to address his comment about my technician looking like a kid, but he is correct! **** is actually almost 26 years old and looks like he is 17. He worked with us in high school and is now working his way through college. Diamond Glass is the only job he has ever had, and he is, in my opinion, a fantastic technician with a great work ethic and skills to match. I do not dispute that **** may have drilled more than one hole in the glass. I explained in my last responses scenarios where that would have been necessary. I also would like to address him saying that if we would have informed him that we were doing anything besides injecting resin into the windshield, that he would not have had us do the repair. We gave him a very detailed rock chip repair explanation to review and sign before any work was done. I feel that it covers all pertinent information that any client would need to know before deciding that a rock chip repair is the right decision for them. It does not discuss the actual procedures used as I feel that would be extra information that the general client would not necessarily be interested in reading all the way through, and it is not information that is included in the explanations that the insurance companies use either. Sometimes we have to drill the glass. Sometimes we have to heat it up with a torch. Sometimes nothing but the vacuum mechanism is needed. Sometimes pit filler is needed. Other times it is not. It is not a "one size fits all" kind of procedure. I am going to now take the time to copy the rock chip repair explanation into my response. "Diamond Glass Rock Chip Repair Waiver The repair that we are about to attempt on your windshield is a process involving the injection of special adhesives into the damaged part of your glass. *Rock chip repairs are not cosmetic. The adhesive used is optically compatible with the glass and in most cases will only change the appearance of the chip slightly, if at all. Rock chip repairs are intended to keep the chips from spreading into cracks, not to make them disappear. *Unlike windshield replacement, which carries a full warranty, IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO GUARANTEE THE SUCCESS OF ANY ROCK CHIP OR CRACK REPAIR. If the repair continues to crack or is not satisfactory for any reason, we will apply the cost of the repair to the purchase of a new windshield." I would like to find a way to make ***** understand that rock chips sometimes fail. We know this. We make sure that our clients know this too. I apologize more for the fact that he is having to take so much time to try to find a resolution that satisfies him than I do for the failed rock chip repair, and I feel worse about the fact that he said that he tried to find a resolution but was not able to find it until he involved the BBB. We take our customer service very seriously. We work hard for our high ratings and our great reviews on-line. I would like to know who he contacted, or how he tried to get help before going to the BBB. It would be very helpful for me to be able to find out where we failed him, if he called one of my managers or something like that. If he did contact one of my managers, I would assume that they would have told him much the same thing that I did about rock chip repairs not being covered under warranty, and offering him an account discount. Granted, I have offered him a discount larger than they would have been authorized to give, but they would have tried to find a way to make him feel taken care of. If that is not the case, I need to know. I hope that ***** will accept my sincerest apologies for his frustration, and I hope, further, that he will accept my offer to replace his windshield at an employee discount, whenever he is ready for it, and to refund what he paid Groupon for his card as well. If he is not comfortable with that, he can always contact Groupon directly. It is in his contract with them that if he is not satisfied with a service, they will refund what they paid and charge the vendor for it. I am fine with that scenario as well. The important thing is that we find a way to get ***** taken care of. My email address is *****@emeryenterprises. It is on our website, it is on Google Reviews. It is on Yelp. So is my cell number. I am the General manager, and I want to be accessible to my clients whenever they need me. He can contact me for a quote, if he would like. I am happy to help in any way I can. Thank you!