BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Utah

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2007

American Engine Installation Utah

Fax: (801) 908-0601View Additional Phone Numbers139 W 4500 S Ste 14, MurrayUT 84107-2651 Send email to American Engine Installation Utah

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/16/2007

BBB has determined that American Engine Installation Utah meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Engine Installation Utah's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on American Engine Installation Utah

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
08/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had my car towed in after talking to the former owner of the company. To my knowledge I thought he still ran and owned the company but he is retired. I tell them and we come to an agreement on me purchasing a re-manufactured engine for my car because i told them mine was done for. I paid a little over half up front and they told me it would take this amount of time ha. i get a call from them telling me i they went ahead and resurfaced my flywheel and charged me and i need new belts and new oil sending units and new fan. So i tell them go ahead i will pay for them as well. After the time had passed which it should have been done. I called everyday never one answer. long story short I finally get a call back from them, telling me my car is ready i go to pick it up and paid. after I pay them they tell me the alternator is bad you want us to fix it. they tell me it will be this much i tell them i can get the part cheaper at autozone and do it myself. Come to find out i didnt make it back home as well as inspecting my car before leaving. My wires are broke and falling apart. i call them and tell them it had no power and i could not take it up to speed they said it was the alternator i say ok. I have it towed home i do the alternator great it works but the no power and engine rattle is there. I take it to another certified mechanic in tooele and he tells me the engine is messed up take it back to them so i do they towed it back in after arguing for days. They laugh and say it was a loose bolt i start the car the same problem is there and my car has a dent in it size or a quarter. they admitted it had to be one of there mechanics take the hood off and hand me 75 cash but the rattle to the engine is there still they say it is because its a new engine and the friction of all the new parts working. i drive it home slowly take it to my mechanic finds out timing was at 40 degrees they broke off a bolt holding my cv axle joint in my engine and the balance shafts one was only 70 degrees out MuchMoreCanttype
Product_Or_Service: engine and labor

06/26/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior repair

Complaint: I was told I cld not get a rebuilt, so they sold me a 35K used engine w 18 mo warranty. Within 2 mi after pickup then engine light came on.
I was told that I had bought a long block engine and that I would have to buy a $400 cvvt assembly from the car manufacture and that they would have to reassemble the engine w no labor charge. They told me they would call me when they got the part. I had already paid for a cvvt part, which they had to fix because the engine light had come on. I had to call later, and they told me again they would call me.
I felt that I was getting the run around. So I took my car to the dealership and they verified that I needed a cvvt assembly. Later that day the engine light went OFF and remained off for several months.

Business' Initial Response
see attached

Consumer's Final Response
AIE has been a lot more helpful this last time I went to pick up my car. We again agreed that I take my car to the Hyundai dealership for diagnosis. On June 17 the dealer replaced the CCVT solenoid for $450 which did not fix the engine light problem. On June 24th they did additional analysis on the engine and recommended that I take my car back to AEI for additional engine work. So I am back where I started, unfortunately and $450 later.
My inspection tags are due this June and I my car still will not pass ************************* Response
***** from AEI spoke to me today regarding the problems with my engine. We are working out the problem together now and I appreciate the extra effort they have put forth to solve this problem, in spite of the fact that the radiator failure this winter voids the warranty. The problem we are trying to resolve is a problem that did exist before the radiator problem and prior to the replacement of the engine. But I am appreciative that American Engine is really going the extra mile with me to get to the bottom of the problem.
So I accept the business response and drop my complaint.

12/15/2011Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair Rebuild Engines and Exchange Companies, Auto Service Companies, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/26/2005Business started: 01/01/2005New Owner Date: 07/01/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Schafer (Owner/Manager)
Related Businesses
American Engine Installation Utah is a Franchise business of Franchisor Engine Solutions LLC.
Business Category

Auto Repair Rebuild Engines and Exchange Companies, Auto Service Companies, Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Schafer Investments, LLC, A 1 Engine and Auto Repair
Industry Tips
Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
The Hail Season is Here

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Engine Installation Utah

139 W 4500 S Ste 14

Murray, UT 84107-2651

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 139 W 4500 S Ste 14 

    Murray, UT 84107-2651(801) 908-0600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Utah. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Engine Installation Utah is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (801) 908-0600
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2012 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair Rebuild Engines and Exchange Companies

Know the Facts about Auto Service Contracts
The Hail Season is Here
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.