Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Burt Brothers Tire & Service, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 299-1142 Fax: (801) 292-3684 View Additional Phone Numbers 2885 S Highway 89, Bountiful, UT 84010 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Burt Brothers Tire & Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Burt Brothers Tire & Service, Inc. include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Burt Brothers Tire & Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 1995 Business started: 10/15/1991 in UT Business started locally: 10/15/1991 Business incorporated 11/20/1990 in UT
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brandon Burt, General Manager Mr. Ron Burt, Principal & Partner Mr. Wendel Burt, Partner Mr. Tom Evans, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brandon Burt, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Brake Service Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Wheel Align, Frame & Axle Service Equipment & Supplies Brake Fluids Heaters - Automotive Tire Dealers Auto Air Conditioning Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Inspection Stations

Service Area
Utah, Wasatch Front, Park City, South Salt Lake, Davis County,
Alternate Business Names
Burt Bros Tire and Service Riverton Burt Brothers Tire & Service Bountiful Burt Brothers Tire & Service Corporate Office/Warehouse Burt Brothers Tire & Service Cottonwood Burt Brothers Tire & Service Farmington Burt Brothers Tire & Service Jeremy Ranch Burt Brothers Tire & Service Sandy Burt Brothers Tire & Service Silver Summit Burt Brothers Tire & Service Sugarhouse
Products & Services

This company offers complete auto service ranging from full service oil changes, safety inspections and emissions tests.

Additional Locations

  • 13722 S Redwood Rd

    Riverton, UT 84065

  • 2730 Rasmussen Rd

    Park City, UT 84098 (435) 649-1142

  • 2885 S Highway 89

    Bountiful, UT 84010 (801) 299-1142

  • 4712 Highland Dr

    Salt Lake City, UT 84117 (801) 278-4446

  • 6343 Pace Frontage Rd

    Park City, UT 84098 (435) 940-9154

  • 737 N 400 W

    North Salt Lake, UT 84054 (801) 335-0314 (801) 253-4422

  • 9325 S 1300 E

    Sandy, UT 84094 (801) 572-1970

  • 944 E 2100 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84106 (801) 466-7272

  • 976 W Shelpard Ln

    Farmington, UT 84025 (801) 451-4590


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Grossly overcharging for parts, vehicle not repaired properly, and multiple reports of false damage needing to be repaired. I was charged separately for two small sensors and a harness (over $280 total) when all three can be bought as a set for only $80. My vehicle was released to me without the vacuum lines being re-installed and drove it for around 50 miles before returning it to have it rechecked. Link to multiple reviews showing consistent reports of false damage:

Desired Settlement: I'd like at least $180 returned to me.

Business Response: I am sorry to hear that your experience was not up to yours and our standards.  I am sorry you had to come back to get the vacuum lines hooked up again.  That is very frustrating.  In dealing with the price discrepancy it is not just cut and dry on how that works for us as it does in anything you purchase retail.  There are many parts out there and can all be bought at very differing prices.  I do agree that there are parts you can buy that are cheaper than the ones we installed.  We try to use parts that will have a good warranty and we have had good success with from our different suppliers.  We do not want to be known as the high priced guys but we do want to be know for doing the job right and unfortunately you had to come back.  I checked around on different parts that can be used for your vehicle and the average retail cost that I found from different shops like ours for all the parts was $257.00.  That includes both sensors and the harness.  We will never compete with online pricing and even some of the economy parts houses.  We are not set up to compete with those types of wholesalers.  The prices for the parts we put on is fair but I see that you do not feel the same way.  I would be happy to meet in the middle and do a $100 credit.  I am doing this to show you we do care about taking care of people and hopefully you understand the difference with us and you looking for parts through these other means.  

Consumer Response: Thank you. That is acceptable and I'll update my Google review as well.
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ****

3/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Experienced poor customer service at the Farmington, Utah Burt Brothers location. I purchased four new tires in June 2015 and one of the tires had a sidewall failure. The staff was unwilling to warranty the tire or do anything to resolve the issue. The staff argued with me and told me I was mistaken thinking they should stand by their products. I was told I could personally send the tire to Goodyear but the freight charge would exceed the replacement charge.

Desired Settlement: I replaced the failed tire and I want to be reimbursed,

Business Response: I would like to respond to the message sent in to us about Burt Brothers not standing behind our products.   I want everyone involved in this complaint that we stand behind every thing we do.   I would like to paint the picture of the situation from our vantage point.

The customer came in to our location and we sold him some Goodyear tires.  We explained our road hazard warranty and he declined at that time to purchase it because he said he never buys the warranty.  That is obviously the customers choice and we respect that.  So then we fast forward to this week when the customer came back to us with a damaged tire.   There was a slit in the tire directly corresponding to a nick in the wheel on the vehicle.  This is caused by coming in contact with something in the road to cause the tire to fail.  This is not the fault of the tire, manufacturer, or the installer  I know that the customer does not feel they hit anything but what we all need to understand that the tire does not blow out by itself.   The hazard in the road does not have to be a large object that we would even have noticed that we would have ran over, just to clarify.  Also, as we look at the slit on the tire and the mark on the wheel that match up perfect, we know that the force was hard enough to cut the tire and mark the wheel.  I would be happy to have others from our industry including my competitors explain the same thing.  I have reached out to many of them to make sure I am not out of line in my statements.   

We explained that since the customer did not buy the road hazard warranty we offered to give them a wholesale deal on the tire to try and make it more affordable.  He declined that offer from the Farmington store but a day later bought one for the same deal from our Bountiful Store and seemed very happy to the salesman that helped him.   We tried in our most honest of ways to explain why we can not give everyone new tires for free if they do not buy the insurance.  I do not like to buy insurance either but when I need it I am sure glad I have it.  

So I hope everyone understands that we do want to take care of our customers by selling them road hazard insurance so when this does happen we do not run in to any conflicts.    

There has been many negative reviews said about us online which makes us feel saddened because we did everything in our power with the situation.  But to take it a step further I have put in a special request to Goodyear to analyze the situation as well.  

I understand the customer wants money back for the tire he had to purchase, we are seen as the business that makes the money on the sale but we must remember that we still have to make money to pay all the employees and also pay for the products we sell.  If we refunded every customer for tires that are ruined that do not buy road hazard warranty we would not be in business to take care of the people that do buy it.  With that said, I am still hopeful that my pull with Goodyear with result in a credit for that tire. However, I would like in exchange for my efforts the removal of all bad reviews/posts that were said about us because from my statements above we did not do anything wrong.

I will keep in contact with whom ever I am asked to comply with this process when I hear back from Goodyear.  Please let me know what decision is made.

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My issues: 07 Chev, bought wheels and tires June 2014, had to take back for tires out of balance and alignment, one tire was unable to be balanced property so they said they ‘threw a bunch of weights on it and put it on the passenger back side so I shouldn’t feel it much’ Ya I still felt it plenty! 09 Dodge, bought wheels In Jan 2015, had above Chev tires placed on the new truck ( I had to buy one new tire) the very next day I had to take back for alignment (was it not driven prior to returning to customer??) In Feb 2015 I was driving on the freeway and heard a horrible noise coming from the front driver side tire, I pulled off the next exit and drove to LHM Dodge to have it looked at. The next day they called and said whoever put my tires on over torched the lugs and one of the lugs had broken off and the other 4 were extremely loose. They made the repair and that same day I called BB in Riverton and explained what happened and discussed that this isn't the 1st problem I have had with them. I requested a refund of the amount I had to pay to LHM $115.94. They told me to email them the invoice and they would take care of it. I emailed the invoice to them on 2/17. I received a vm the next day from the manager wanting to 'talk' about the situation. I had already explained the situation and just wanted a refund of the money I had to spend for their error. I have never heard back from anyone. I have given it a few months to see if there would be a check mailed but have not received that either. I will never use BB again. They have lost a customer for life.

Desired Settlement: refund the money $115.94 I had to pay to LHM to fix their error.

Business Response: I am so sorry for the problem and would love to talk to the customer if she will.  I will pay the money back to her.  The big issue we wanted to discuss with her is that the truck had driven 1200 miles and wanted to know if anything could have caused the problem.  We just don't see wheels getting loose like that after that many miles.  Regardless of that I will reimburse Ms **** fully.  Let me know how the process works and I will get it done.  Again, I am so sorry!!

Brandon ****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The truck had NOT driven 1200 miles.  I had the wheels on just over 2 weeks and only drove to work and back with some personal use within SLC.  I see they offered a refund, but again, I have yet to see it.


Thearsea ****

Business Response: I understand the confusion on mileage might have played a part in the confusion here.  I am sending a check to refund the customer today and hope that will resolve the issue.  Again, I am so sorry for the trouble.

Brandon ****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


Thearsea ****

5/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Burt Brothers Tire & Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)