Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Express Auto of Logan

Additional Locations

Phone: (435) 563-4095 3200 N Main St, North Logan, UT 84341


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Express Auto of Logan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Express Auto of Logan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Express Auto of Logan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 02, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2009 Business started locally: 01/01/2009 Business incorporated 04/01/2008 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Day, Owner Mr. Garen G, Financial Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Day, Owner
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Cars for Less, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Express Auto of Logan has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3200 N Main St

    North Logan, UT 84341 (435) 563-4095

  • 3700 N Highway 91

    Hyde Park, UT 84318

  • 3700 N Main St

    Hyde Park, UT 84318

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a car loan through Express Auto and when I asked how many payments I have left, Gracie (the receptionist) gave me my total balance and said "Here's your balance, you figure it out". I tried to explain to her that I can't figure that out because I do not know how much of my payment every month is going towards the principal and how much is going towards interest. I repeatedly asked her for a statement of all of our payments and how much went towards principal, interest, and fees for each payment. She gave me a list of all of our payment totals, which I can easily get from my bank, but she refused to give me a detailed payment history. When I tried to explain what I needed she consistently talked over me and said she already gave me what I was asking for and she told me that I had wasted enough of her time and she hung up on me. I tried calling her back, but she continued to hang up on me. She said I was harassing her and that she was going to call the police. She also told me that I am not allowed to come in to their office to pay my bill and that she will only deal with my husband. My husband tried calling her and she also hung up on him multiple times. I have never been able to talk to the owner, Gracie will either refuse to transfer my call to him or say he is out of the office. I was finally able to talk to a manager and he said he would have Connie, their accountant, call me back. She never called me and when I called and asked to speak to her, Gracie told me that no one works there by that name. My account with this company is current and they have no right to have treated me this way and I am appalled by the lack of customer service they have exhibited.

Desired Settlement: I would like a detailed payment history of how much I have paid every month and how much of my payment went towards the principal and how much went towards interest and fees. I would like to know how many payments I have remaining. I also would like to see better customer service from this company in the future And finally I would also like this company's employees to be held accountable for their poor actions, starting with an apology from Gracie.

Business Response: This letter is in response to a complaint filed by **** *******.  I am sorry Ms ******* had a bad experience with my company.  I highly value my A+ rating with the BBB and strive to have world class customer service.  I have spoke to my office manager Gracie about this incident.  There are a few important details that Gracie made me aware of. **** ******* does not have an account or a loan with Express Auto.  The law is very clear on privacy issues.  We are not allowed to give out any of the information she was requesting as she is not on the account.  We have clients come in and request documents for other people regularly.  Our company policy is we will not give out personal information to persons if they are not on the account.  This is for the protection of our clients.  

In this case it appears the information being requested was for ***** *******.  Mr. ******* is the only person on the account in question.  I would be happy to personally discuss his account with him if he desires.  
I will review customer service skills with my entire office staff.  We want to treat each customer with courtesy and respect.  I apologize to Ms. ******* if she was treated disrespectful as that is completely unacceptable.   Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention as I will use it as a learning/training tool.

Sincerely,

Kevin D**
Owner
Express Auto

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2006 Chevy Cobalt from this company and they were great about helping us get into this car even allowing us to split up our down payment. Shortly after having the vehicle we noticed transmission issues and brought it back (covered under warranty) to which they stated the transmission is supposed to act that way when the oil isn't hot enough or too hot. This did not make sense so I spoke with someone who has done transmission repair for 34 years. He stated they are trying their best to not be responsible for the repair and that their explanation of the transmission issue did not make sense nor was it possible. I then had the gauges in the vehicle stop working. I again brought the car in (under warranty) and they stated I would have to pay $200 for the deductible to have it fixed if it costed more than that amount to fix it which I agreed to do. They also stated at that time the transmission was having issues. I stated we brought it in for that before and was told it was fine. They stated they would order the part needed and contact me once it has arrived and stated they would rent me a car in the meantime while I was still paying for the car I was purchasing while it gets repaired. I never received a call back and researched fixes for the issue online to which the issue was the Transmission control module (TCM) and this was not the issue they had identified. I had to ground the (TCM) to the car to get it to drive normal, though this was a temporary fix. My wife and I had decided to not pay for the vehicle and to give it back once we fixed our own vehicle. During this time we had not and will not make another payment to the vehicle and they have called my wife to inquire about a payment to which my wife was called a liar about when she was working and where the vehicle is located. To call someone a liar is extremely unprofessional and I have heard nothing but bad about this company since the purchase of our vehicle. I will gladly let them take it back as they have continuously been rude over the phone and in person both to myself and my wife all while avoiding fixing issues on vehicles that were there before the customer leases. Though I have missed this payment, it does not give them the right to accuse someone of lying and to be rude and ignorant towards their customers. It is degrading and unprofessional and when your own employees state that your company is crooked there is clearly an issue and I am not the only one to have noticed issues with either their repair process or customer service "skills".

Desired Settlement: I just wish for them to fix their negative and rude behaviors towards their customers. It makes the customer feel unappreciated and disrespected. Without customers you're without a business. Have some integrity and hire someone who can treat people as if they're people. Fire or correct Gracies problems with customers.

Business Response: To Whom it may concern:

This letter is being written in response to a complaint issued by a Mr. ***** *****. 
We are very proud of our A+ rating with the BBB and will try hard to establish the facts from the fiction in the complaint.  Please let it be known we have all documents on file if needed to illustrate said points.
1.  Customer says he purchased a car from Express Auto.
The fact is that we do not have record of ever having sold said customer a car.  We have no record of said customer ever purchasing anything from our store.  We feel it would be safe to assume customer meant that Express Auto did a Lease to Own contract on 3/5/15 for a 2006 Chevrolet cobalt with said customers wife.  
2.  Complaint states that basically the transmission was having problems.
This looks like it may very well of been the case.  We have talked to shop manager and mechanic that looked at the car when it was brought in.  Shop manager explained that the car was intermittently not functioning correctly.  The customer was asked if it would be possible to set up an appointment and have him drop off the car so they could diagnosis it properly and order parts if necessary.  Shop manager did in fact tell the customer we could rent him a car if needed while his car was in the shop as our insurance does not allow us to "loan" cars out.  We usually rent cars to our customers for the small sum of $10/day.  Manager states that customer would call back to schedule an appointment at their convenience.  A call was never received, so it was assumed all was well with the customer.
When the Lease to Own contract was done on this vehicle.  The paperwork did in fact come with a warranty.  The warranty was good for 3 months or 3,000 miles.  It did cover power train items which did cover the transmission.  The warranty came with a $200 deductible.  The complaints being issued on the car are now being addressed close to 6 months after the contract was signed.  We did agree to fix the transmission several months ago but did not hear back from the customer.  The truth is if the customer would of called or come in to let us know the transmission was acting up recently we would of gladly taken care of it...even though the warranty has long expired.  We are proud of our A+ rating with the BBB and always try to take care of our customers.
We feel that in this situation this is merely an excuse for the customer to default on payments.  Our Office Manager has called customer and done several home visits trying to get them to pay the payment to avoid repossession.   She has not heard one time that the car is having mechanical issues.  The car has already been repossessed.  We are not sure on the exact timing of which happened first, the repossession or the complaint to the BBB.  The timing was very close on both items happening.  Our repossession order was sent out last week.
As the car has been repossessed and is in our possession.  We have taken the liberty to look at the transmission and can find no problems with it?  
3.  Complaint states that our Office Manager is rude and does not have customer skills.
We have reviewed the notes on the account and have over 30 date stamped (cannot be altered) notes trying to collect a payment and bring the account current.  This does not include the home visits to the residence.  There has not been one mention of any mechanical issues with the car?  It is probably safe to assume the customer did not like all the phone calls trying to collect for non payment. 
As we have tried to establish the facts.  We are not sure at this point how any issue could be resolved with the customer.  The car is absolutely filthy and trashed and obviously has been seriously neglected.  Customer is way past due on several payments.  Customer owes for repossession fee, reconditioning fee (car was a lease, not a purchase), disposition fee, and all money that is considered past due.   At this time, we will not restart the Lease with the customer and will probably have to take the issue to court.
Thank you for your time,
Kevin D**
Owner
Express Auto


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Express Auto of Logan
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart