Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Tony Divino Toyota Scion?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tony Divino Toyota Scion meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Tony Divino Toyota Scion include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tony Divino Toyota Scion
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1988 Business started: 08/01/1988 Business started locally: 08/01/1988 Business incorporated: 08/23/1988 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

UDOT
4501 South 2700 West, Salt Lake City UT 84119
www.udot.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 965-4000
srwebmail@utah.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tony Divino, President Mr. Russell Layton, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony Divino, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Russell Layton, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Truck Dealers Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
Tony Divino Enterprises

Additional Locations

  • 777 W Riverdale Rd

    Riverdale, UT 84405 (801) 394-5701 (888) 216-6017 (801) 364-8837 (801) 627-1234 (801) 627-1214

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (801) 364-8837(Phone)
  • (801) 627-1214(Phone)
  • (801) 627-1234(Phone)
  • (888) 216-6017(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased two faulty vehicles in a two week time period. The first vehicle was purchased 8.17.13. The second one was purchased 8.28.13. August 17 **** at Tony Divino (TD) sold us a 2004 Trailblazer. We signed paperwork and left. August 19 the Check Engine light came on. *** took it in August 20. TD said the gas cap was not put on tight. August 22 the Check Engine light came on again. August 23 an appointment was made and met. After two hours of waiting we asked for an update. The lady went and asked ***** who returned with an answer. ***** said the problem was the Catalytic converter (CAT) and he was waiting to get approval from the sales manager. I called *** distraught letting him know that *****'s answer. I told ***** I needed to leave and he should call *** with an update. Another hour passed. ***** told me he spoke to *** and let him know the resolution from the sales manager and gave *** the names of the managers for further issues, Russ ******* and **** ******* *** told me it was approved for us to pay half of the cost for a new catalytic converter. We were not satisfied with this as we just paid a significant amount of money for a vehicle that they guarantee was inspected and ready for sale. I called **** and **** and left messages. *** called, left a message for ***** unsatisfied called back to speak to ****. **** told him that he would have to come in Monday between noon and 6PM; he would not set up a formal meeting. We went to TD on August 24 and spoke to **** who said he wouldn't be able to make any decisions. *** and I took off work August 26 to go speak with **** in the allotted time frame. **** resolved that he would fix the CAT at no charge to us. An appointment was made for August 28. August 27 as I was driving to work the Trailblazer began struggling to accelerate. I had to leave work early that day in order to get to TD to speak to someone. I met *** there. He went in. *** took us to the used car lot to look at vehicles in the same price range. The only vehicle available was a 2005 Pontiac Aztek. We test drove it and *** told me that he was speaking with **** ******, the General Manager, who told him that we could choose a different vehicle. After returning from our test drive **** told us we would not be able to choose a different vehicle and he would have to treat the Trailblazer as a trade-in. We decided it would be in our best interest to have the CAT fixed. We left the vehicle. August 28 **** called ***, stating that the Trailblazer had a lot more issues and it would cost them a lot to fix it. He then gave us one option, to choose another vehicle. Feeling trapped we chose the only vehicle on the lot in the same price range. We signed papers, financed it through America First and left. August 30 the Pontiac began to squeal. September 3 I left work early to go to TD. They determined it to be a cracked belt and fixed it. I waited two hours before receiving a response. September 4 my A/C was not working correctly. I called **** L and explained the issue to which he responded that since it is a used vehicle he cannot guarantee anything. I told him that these types of issues should not be happening within a week of purchasing a vehicle and they shouldn't advertise fully inspected vehicles if that isn't what they sell. I asked him about the possibility of getting our money. He said I should have it looked at first and since it was not a Toyota that he could not guarantee anything. September 6 I took the Pontiac to TD to have the A/C checked. I left and requested that ***** call *** when he knew what was wrong. ***** said he was leaving at 1PM and would have **** contact ***. ***** also said it was odd that the A/C was going out because they had done work on it before selling it (Obviously the work that was done was not thorough). Around 4PM I had to call to see if my car was ready. When I picked it up I was given my keys without explanation. As I drove away the vehicle stalled out. I tried to call Tony Divino right then but their service department was closed. September 8 the squeal came back and the A/C had issues.

Desired Settlement: As a settlement we are requesting a return of the vehicle at no additional cost to us and a payoff of the vehicle financing through America First. The time we have taken off of work and spent traveling to and from Tony Divino is well worth a simple return. Ultimately we would also like our $1,500.00 down payment back as well. We are willing to negotiate the terms of returning the vehicle but I no longer want it in my possession. Purchasing a vehicle from a well-known establishment such as Tony Divino should be a positive experience. This has been less than pleasant and extremely frustrating to deal with so many car issues with a newly purchased vehicle. In the end, we are in a vehicle that we do not even want because that was the option we were given after being sold a faulty vehicle. I hope we can come to a quick resolution. I feel like a quick fix keeps being done for our issues. I am thankful they are willing to help but I am beginning to get very frustrated that nothing seems to fix the issues. I understand the gamble of purchasing a used vehicle. However, I feel that we have been sold two faulty vehicles. On several occasions throughout this ordeal we were told that we were lucky we did not purchase these vehicles from a 'corner lot', that is exactly what we feel like. In the end we spent our hard earned money on a vehicle that they advertise as having been inspected and sufficient enough to sell; when obviously these vehicles have many problems. I am a working mother and I need reliable transportation to get to work and it is frustrating when I spend my hard earned money on something that has big issues within a week. I look forward to a response.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/23) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@tonydivinotoyota.com Several of our Managers have been in constant communication with the complaintant since the purchase of the Trailblazer. We have been working with the complaintant to either repair the vehicle they purchased or exchange it with another.The complaintants vehicle was in our Service Department being repaired when we received this complaint.We were already in the process of assisting the complaintant.The end result is the complaintant exchanged their vehicle for one that they liked. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2013/09/25) */ We have spoken with the General Manager and resolved all issues. **** made an unpleasant experience a very pleasant. We are extremely thankful and would recommend Tony Divino to anyone.

8/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my tundra to have the 4x4 serviced and they only did half of it and replaced parts that did not need replaced. On July 19, 2013 I took my 2010 Toyota tundra to tony divino to have the 4x4 serviced. I took it in the night before and they had it done the next day. I called them to let them know I needed to pay over the phone and my wife would pick it up. They said it would cost more because it needed synthetic oil. They charged the card and when my wife picked up the truck and bill the oil was $33 and $211 in labor and $22 is misc parts. I called them the next day to resolve it because I noticed the only changed the rear and center they did not do the front differential. I spoke with **** ******* to find out what happened and he said we need to bring it back in before we drive it too much. He also said the mechanic that worked on our truck is incompetent. I took it back in and **** was not around so chuck helped me and was very nice and helpful. When it was done **** came and was very arrogant and made me feel like I was inconveniencing him. He said he would give me a free oil change and that was it take it or leave it. **** had promised me him, I, and the service manager would sit down and figure this out but that never happened.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund due to the way I was treated and the inconvenience of having to miss work to take the truck in the second time

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/26) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Customer Relations Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@tonydivinotoyota.com We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in our Service Dept.. We take any complaint about poor treatment of a customer, very seriously.We have forwarded your complaint to our Customer Relations Manager. After our Customer Relations Manager spoke with the complaintant it was determined that further review of the repair bill was necessary.After further review The General Manager contacted the complaintant,at this time a resolution that satisfied complaintant was agreed upon.