Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Strong Volkswagon

Phone: (801) 596-2200 Fax: (801) 596-3600 View Additional Phone Numbers 1070 S Main St, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 http://www.strongvw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Strong Volkswagon meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Strong Volkswagon include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Strong Volkswagon
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 25, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1955 Business started locally: 01/01/1955 Business incorporated 06/17/1983 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bradford D. Strong, Owner / President Mr. Stan Blank, Business Contact
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Stan Blank, Business Contact
Principal: Mr. Bradford D. Strong, Owner / President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Renting & Leasing Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Products & Services

New and used auto dealer and service


Additional Locations

  • 1070 S Main St

    Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (801) 596-2200 (801) 937-4959

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased car, 2 weeks of disaster. A little over a week ago I purchased a 2005 Jetta from Strong VW dealership with the idea that I was buying from a legitimate trustworthy company, I trusted that as-stated on the site that the cars were inspected and sold as quality used cars. So I test drove the car, and purchased it from ****, on the way home the check-engine light came on the car started stuttering, so i called **** and he told me to bring it in to service. The service department replaced the timing chain,and repaired a vacuum leak, which took about 3 days. Then after a day of driving I noticed that the transmission was slipping between 3rd to 4th gear so I called service on Saturday (14th) and told them, they told me to bring it in. The soonest I could bring it in was on Wednesday due to grave-shift work scheduel. The reason I'm telling you these time-frames is to show that my car has been in the service department in the last week and a half far more than I've actually driven it. Now they're telling me that its the Valve-body and that they'll only cover $300, so I have to come up with $1200 that I don't' have for a car that I believed was safe to drive from the lot. I just want to be a happy on-my-way, on-with-life customer.

Desired Settlement: I want the business to cover their product, to be loyal to their "Customer Satisfaction" that they claim is so important to them. I don't believe that I'm asking too much for them to take care of car that they've barely sold that has been in my actual possession for less than a weeks worth of time. I'm not asking for a 2 year warranty or even a month warranty on the product, these are problem that it was sold with, that weren't disclosed prior to sale, from a supposedly "credible" dealer

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/24) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** General Sales mANAGER Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@STRONGVW.COM We have reached out to ******* ***** after learning of the difficulties he was having with his vehicle to replace the car that he purchased. We called today, 6/24/2014 at 11:30AM to find out that he had repaired the vehicle at a different service facility and offered to replace the vehicle with something different but he would like to stay with the vehicle he purchased. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business called to offer to trade my car on trade-in value not the price I paid, and they called after I was forced to pay $1000 out-of-pocket to fix the problem on a car I had just purchased from them. I had to do this because the "discounted" offer they gave me to fix the car was $1200 when local companies were charging $950 for the same repair with warranty. I have driven the car less than it's been in the shop from both mechanics.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Stong VW sold me a defective auto. I was told that it had been inspected before the sale. I found that the auto had multiple problems. I purchased an "03" Honda Civic From Strong VW in January 2013. I understood that Honda was a good reliable vehicle, and there were many positive reports about the dealer. I felt I was purchasing a car from a reputable dealer and that it would be a good used commuter vehicle. I was told that the car had been inspected and that the oil had been changed, but that I was purchasing it with no warranty. I did not quibble on the price, but paid what was asked, without having anyone else look at it. The first week, I found that the lock didn't work on the driver side, so I took it to my mechanic. He replaced the lock with an automatic system and also changed the timing belt. We then found that the Check Engine Light wouldn't turn off. Another mechanic looked at the car that weekend and showed me where parts of the vehicle were missing and that the car was essentially welded back together. He told me I should go back to the Dealer and ask them for some help with the car because it appeared that their mechanics probably knew about the problems with the engine when the inspection was done. so, when I got the car back a month later, I made it into the Dealership and explained the situation. At this time they were kind enough to help me with part of the costs of replacing the Catalytic Converter and patching the car back together (missing pieces and pieces falling off). In February, both of my headlamps burned out and the Dealer paid to have them replaced. I got the car aligned and found that one of the front end ball joints was bad. I replaced that. In April, the Check Engine Lite again reappeared. I took it to my mechanic to find that the oil was gone - we poured in 4 quarts. At the beginning of June, the car began to overheat intermittently. I took it to my mechanic and he replaced the fan assembly. This didn't fix it. Now, it appears that the A/C compressor, and front brakes need replacement. The rotors need turning and the front tires are separating. Costs so far for me for repairs are around $2000, and the needed repairs will be $1000 more. I went back to the Dealer and spoke with ***** to see if they could help me out and he was kind enough to send me to their repair mechanics. They quoted me the same price as I already had. I then called on **** ****** to explain the situation to him. He was not willing to listen to my story, he had already gotten the story from *****, and was very adamant that there was no more they could do. I mentioned to both he and ***** the fact that the car never should have been sold on their lot, as their mechanics should have seen the issues with the car. I have been able to drive the car about 4 of the 6 months I have had it. **** did say they could trade it in for another car, but as far as taking it off of my hands or helping me with any more repairs - that was out of the question. On the ****** VW Dealer Website it says "At ****** VW we value our Customers and know that they are who keep our doors open. This is the reason we want to create Customers for life, not just the sale. We do this by ensuring that our Sales Staff are trained on our product, as well as how we expect them to take care of our customers thoroughly." Obviously, the sales staff did not understand how worthless this vehicle is! And Mr ****** doesn't really want any customer to call him with their problem even though he advertises that he would like them to call him with their problem.

Desired Settlement: I would be satisfied if the Dealer would take the car back for the balance of my loan. And I hope that they will make sure that they are selling to customers a product that is in line with their reputation in the future.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/21) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****** General Sales Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@strongvw.com Mrs **** ***** purchased the vehicle on 1/08/13 for $5038 which created $1240 in dealers profits. Mrs ***** came back to the store after the purchase of the vehicle with some mechanical problems. The problems at the time were paid for by the store in the amount of $2000 to satisfy her concerns. After these problems were resolved approx. 5 months passed and the customer had some new mechanical problems that she demanded the store resolve as she stated. At that time we offered to trade her out of that vehicle to a different vehicle where she could minimize any future risks. She declined. At this time we are working with the customer as of 8/20/2013 to trade her out giving her the full value that she paid toward the purchase of a different vehicle she can be comfortable with. We truly have tried to resolve the instances the customer have stated to her satisfaction that is reasonable for both parties. We will continue to try and satisfy her desires within reason. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have never met or spoke with *** ******* and I never "demanded" anything. I have asked for "help", but I believe that "demand" is a pretty stong word to be using. The first time I spoke with the Sales Mgr and Salesman about the problems in January, I started by telling them that my mechanic had sent me back to talk with them because he had noticed the issues with the body parts coming off and also that he believed that the check engine lite had been turned off at the time it was inspected and the problem with the catalytic converter had been overlooked. I told them at that time that I thought I was purchasing the car from a reputable dealer and I didn't expect to encounter these types of problems. At that time, ***** stepped up and offered to takes care of those problems. I never demanded anything. And the sales staff never mentioned trading anything out in the last conversation I had with them in August. Mr. ****** mentioned a trade possibility at the very end of our very short conversation by way of saying "Well, there might be a possibility we could look at a trade." I was thoroughly discouraged at that point as no one seemed to have any interest in looking at what we could do to resolve the problem and did not pursue it with him at that time. At this point they are working with me to try to resolve this problem.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Strong Volkswagon
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)