Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stephen Wade Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Stephen Wade Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Stephen Wade Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Business Management
Mr. Todd Matthews, General Manager Ms. LaDawn Budge, Business Manager Mr. Steven Wade, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Todd Matthews, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Business Management

Stephen Wade is also listed as a principal of Dealer Collision Center and Stephen Wade Auto Center. Separate reports are available here:
Dealer Collision Center: click here
Stephen Wade Auto Center:
click here


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used 2009 Acura TL from Stephen Wade Toyota and spoke directly with Jared W*** about the purchase. I drove from Orem to St. George after speaking with Jared about an agreed price to purchase the vehicle. After driving and inspecting the vehicle I decided to purchase the car and they escorted me to the finance office while the lot technicians prepared my vehicle for sale. After the paperwork was completed and the car was delivered myself and a friend got in the car to leave. Here is where the issues began, immediately when I started the vehicle the following lights illuminated on the display; "check engine and check charging system". Not only did the lights illuminate but at an idle we could hear a knocking or ticking sound. We approached the salesman and they immediately took it to the service department to have the vehicle diagnosed. After diagnosis I was told the alternator was ruined by the lot technicians during the delivery process as per pressure washing the motor while the vehicle was idling. The knocking noise was coming from the faulty internal fan of the alternator and the system was no longer charging. They informed me that they would replace the alternator quickly and have me back on the road in no time. Since working at a dealership myself as a service advisor and having a extensive knowledge of vehicles my main concern was the need for the part to be an "Original Equipment Manufacturer" or OEM. I was assured by the service advisor as well as the salesman they would be installing an OEM alternator and they had found one at their local Honda dealer. They quickly installed the new part and I left shortly after. Almost one year later while driving I was attempting to make a left hand turn into oncoming traffic and my vehicle's dashboard displayed MANY fault lights such as; check engine, charging system, electric power steering, ABS brakes, traction control, all wheel drive and more. The vehicle lost throttle and steering and I almost collided with another vehicle. I limped my vehicle to the side of the road and immediately shut off the ignition, in the mean time an accessory in my car is prompting me that there was too high of voltage and it was shutting down for safety. I then had my car towed to the nearby dealership I work for and had the vehicle diagnosed the following day. The diagnosis stated that the alternator was faulty and was overcharging the system and needed replacing. Knowing the repair that Stephen Wade Toyota performed after I purchased the car and also knowing that aftermarket alternators are common for these issues in a short period of time, I was immediately suspicious that they had not install an "O.E.M" alternator. I authorized the repair at my work due to the need of my car quickly and expressed these concerns to the technician. After he installed the new "O.E.M" alternator, he gave me the faulty alternator and showed me that it in fact was not "O.E.M" and was cheap quality and inexpensive part. After the alternator repair was complete, the vehicle was started and the fault lights were all off and the vehicle was charging correctly to manufacturers specification. However, the two front power windows were not working and with additional diagnosed I was told that both the driver and passenger window switches were damaged due to the overcharging from the faulty alternator that Stephen Wade Toyota installed. I then ordered the two window switches directly from Acura and had the technician install both of them. Since installation the vehicle is now operating correctly and is still to this day (almost 3 weeks later). I would have NEVER authorized an aftermarket alternator to be installed into my vehicle knowing the quality issues and short life span they provide. When it comes to such an important component of a vehicle, you always stick with an "O.E.M" replacement. In this case, not only did the aftermarket alternator stop functioning properly, it did damage to my vehicle. I contacted Jared W*** directly on Saturday, Feb 6th and spoke with him for a few minutes about the situation, I was assured he would do his "due diligence" and he would contact me back on the following Monday at 11 am after he had done research and looked into the situation. I never received any contact from him or the dealership and made multiple attempts to contact him through calls, texts, an email and left a voicemail. It has now been two weeks with no response.

Desired Settlement: I want Jared W*** to follow through with contacting me, and a refund for the repairs to my vehicle that Stephen Wade Toyota caused due to the installation of a non-OEM alternator.

Business Response:

The complaint with Mr ****** ***** has been resolved.  Mr ***** purchased a used 2009 Acura TL in January 2015.  After he purchased the Acura, we replaced the alternator at no charge to Mr *****.  Approximately a year later the alternator we out.  Jared W*** contacted Mr ***** and explained the warranties with Auto Zone (The alternator provider).  Mr. ***** did not contact Stephen Wade Toyota or Auto Zone until after the repairs were completed, therefore he did not utilize the warranty.  This was explained and the complaint is resolved.

Thank you for the opportunity to contact Mr. *****.

Todd M*******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Stephen Wade Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)