Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Stephen Wade Auto Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Stephen Wade Auto Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Stephen Wade Auto Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 07, 2006 Business started: 06/01/1984 Business started locally: 06/01/1984 Business incorporated 01/25/1983 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kenneth Lynch, General Manager LaDawn Budge, Business Manager Mr. Daniel Powers, Controller Mr. Stephen Wade, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenneth Lynch, General Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Daniel Powers, Controller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Anthony Wade, Inc. Stephen Wade Chevrolet & Cadillac Stephen Wade Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge Stephen Wade Honda Stephen Wade Mazda Stephen Wade Nissan
Business Management

Stephen Wade is also listed as a principal of Dealer Collision Center and Stephen Wade Toyota. Separate reports are available here:
Dealer Collision Center: click here
Stephen Wade Toyota:
click here


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Stephen Wade Auto Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 150 Hilton Dr

    St George, UT 84770 (888) 356-0180 (888) 210-2668 (888) 257-2894 (435) 628-5201

  • 1630 Hilton Dr (Honda/Mazda)

    St George, UT 84770 (435) 628-6100 (888) 924-8833 (888) 323-5651 (888) 683-4174 (877) 888-8662 (888) 323-5651 (888) 683-4174

  • 1724 Hilton Dr (Nissan/Chrysler/Jeep/Dodge)

    St George, UT 84770 (435) 634-4504 (888) 671-6622 (888) 214-9302 (888) 711-3804

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am the owner of a 2003 Dodge ram 1500. In September of 2015 I had a long block engine replaced by Stephen Wade Dodge. It came with a 3 year 36000 mile warranty . In January of 2016 after 3500 miles the engine was serviced for the first time at the same dealer ship. In February I drove the truck to Denver Co. The engine failed in Silverthorne Co with roughly 3900 miles on it . It remained there for 2 months . After two months Stephen wade dodge picked up the truck and and replaced the engine at their dealership . I now have a new dodge engine that was replaced again by dodge dealer that now has a warranty restriction placed on my vehicle by a Dodge rep that only the dealerships have access to. Which means i have no warranty. I have attempted to contact Dodge and Stephen wade with no results. Vista dodge authorized a rental car after two weeks of waiting which i drove for three weeks after which Dodge denied the warranty claim . I had to pay a 1000.00 dollars for the rental

Desired Settlement: I would like reimbursement for the 1000.00 rental and the warranty restriction to be taken off my vehicle and the engine to be warranted. I'm asking for nothing more than I paid for.

6/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a 2016 Honda Odyssey van, we had a 2008 Cadillac escalade that we were trading in. It started when we went into the Finance Managers office, Tonia, and the escalade that we were trading in was titled in my husbands name. She had asked if my name, ******, was on it, and we said no, and so she had said they would need to get creative. She then tells us the NEW Honda only has a 1 year 12k mile warranty, and 3 yr 36k very limited warranty, and then gives us the sales pitch for buying the 5yr 60k mile warranty they are selling. She finishes the sales pitch, and tells us how much the monthly payment would be, to which we asked what the cost of the warranty was. She responded saying it is $3700, but they would be discounting it $1200 to cover the tax credit that we would have received on our trade, but because it was titled in my husbands name, and the vehicle we were purchasing was being titled in my name, we couldn't count it as a trade in to receive the tax credit. We told her that this simply is not true, as we had the title, and for $6 we could go to the DMV and add any name we wanted to the title. She didn't mention the trade in credit after we had told her that, and then just kept pushing the warranty because we needed it. We agreed to purchase the interior and exterior protection warranty, for $500, to which they said we would be contacted within 7 days to have those applied to the car, and a service package for $165. Then, when signing the contracts, they added a $399.50 TCA (Total Care Auto) fee on the contract, and she flat out told us, you don't have a choice about this, everyone has to pay it, telling us it has something to do with window etchings. Ridiculous, why would we not have a choice. They also added $400.00 in GAP insurance, which we absolutely didn't need GAP insurance, as our trade in credit was a $20,000 down payment. We actually contacted Honda after leaving the dealership, and they were surprised that the dealer was telling us the vehicle only had a 1 yr 12k, and a very limited 3 yr 36k mile warranty. They informed us, the vehicle has the same full warranty for 3yr 36k miles, as all new Hondas do. Ridiculous the dealer is informing people that vehicles have a lesser warranty then what the do, to try and force them to buy warranties that are unnecessary. It has now been 21 days, and we have heard nothing from the dealer, which as stated, they told us we would be contacted within 7 days. I do not trust Stephen Wade, they are unscrupulous, and untrustworthy, and lied to us the whole time we were there. We want our money back for the items they duped us into paying for, and told us we did not have a choice about purchasing.

Desired Settlement: We want total refund of $1464.50: $500 in interior/exterior protection they sold us, that they have not contacted us to have applied/installed $165 on their service package $399.50 for TCA (Total Care Auto) that they added to the contract and said we did not have a choice, everyone has to pay it for some window etching - which we absolutely could care less about. $400 for GAP insurance they added to the contract, which was not needed as our trade was a $20,000 down payment The Refund can either be sent to us, or sent to American Honda Finance

Business Response:

Dear Ms. *******:

     We have spoken with this customer and after so lengthy discussions we have refunded to the customers bank our check # ****** aggragating $1,464.50.   This amount was issued to the customers bank as they financed certain warranties therefore when we\

     cancelled them the refund had to be sent to her bank which sh agreed for us to do.  We unerstand the customer is now satisfied.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

3/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: March 15, 2016 I am writing to lodge a complaint against Stephen Wade Chrysler, 1724 So. Hilton Drive, St. George, UT 84770 ###-###-####. On 12 February 2016 while traveling back to my home in Draper, Utah after visiting with family in Arizona, my 2014 Grand Cherokee Jeep (Diesel; 24,668 mileage; still under warrantee) gave a warning signal that the exhaust filter was full and needed to be serviced by a dealership. As the car does not function at normal highway speeds when that occurs I needed to stop and have it serviced before I could continue with my travels to Draper, which is in the Salt Lake City area. I stopped at the Stephen Wade Chrysler in St. George and explained the situation with the exhaust filter. In additional, I also mentioned that a check engine light had come on a few days before. I did not mention at that time that the day before, while in Phoenix I had taken the Jeep to a dealership to check out the engine light problem. A diagnostic analysis was conducted and I was told that the engine warning light was due to a single code regarding the cruise control system and the dealership stated it would be fine to wait until I returned home to Utah to have the cruise control problem taken care of. The friend who took me to the dealership is a retired lawyer and can verify as to the discussion that took place at that time. After checking the car at the St. George Jeep/Chrysler dealership, a service adviser who managed the diagnostics for the car, stated that part of the exhaust filter problem was that the car needed not only an exhaust filter regeneration, but that it also needs two new fuel filters. He stated that the fuel filters were part of the problem associated with the exhaust filter problem. At that time, I was high skeptical of this latter diagnosis, but being stranded in a distant city I was in no position to seek a second opinion on the matter. During my discussions with service advisor I asked that all of the codes from the diagnostic evaluation be listed in the paperwork. Unsaid to him I intended to assess objectively whether the described work was truly warranted. I gave the okay for the two fuel filters to be replaced in spite of my private reservation. While waiting for the exhaust filter work and the fuel filter work to be done, I observed through a window bay in the waiting room that the dealership mechanics had started to change the oil on my car. Several minutes later there Service Advisor entered the waiting room and stated that the oil needed to be changed because there was an oil leak under the car and that oil was splattered across the undercarriage. He further stated that a sub optimum oil grade had been used during the last oil change by Jiffy Lube when they had serviced the car. I should note that the recent oil had occurred a few months ago and that it was not time for another oil change. I seriously doubted the truthfulness and relevance of the comment about the oil leak with oil being splattered beneath the car. The warning light for low oil was not on. This sounded like a line to falsely justify work that didn’t need to be performed at that time. I was upset that the mechanics were performing a service on the car before I was asked to authorize that service. If indeed a different grade of oil was needed, it should have been presented as an option that could have been completed after I returned home. At that time I mentioned my visit to the dealership in Phoenix the day before and was surprised that so many things had come up associated with the exhaust filter problem. The service advisor immediately started walking away from me muttering that there were several codes that indicated that there was a problem with the oil. If that were the case he should not have made the lame case that there was some oil splattered on the underside of the car. If an oil change was required with the regeneration of the exhaust filter, that should have been appropriately justified before the work was started. In short, I felt that the services that were not under warranty were being foisted on me that were not essential to be performed at that time. As I am not from the St. George area, I was in no position to do anything but have the work completed. I firmly believe that the work that was not under warranty could have been delayed until I returned to the Draper area, but that was not presented as an option. The exhaust filter was successfully regenerated and I was able to continue on my journey. Upon returning home, I visited a Jeep Dealership in Draper and had them review the paperwork from the service conducted at the Stephen Wade Chrysler Dealership. The Draper dealership stated that there were no codes on the paperwork indicating that the two fuel filter needed to be changed. They clarified that the recommendation for replacement of fuel filters was at 30,000 miles. There were no codes indicating that the fuel filter was part of the problem linked to the exhaust filter, confirming that the Service Advisor had falsely stated otherwise. I asked the Draper dealership if it was against accepted good business practices to ever start performing service on an automobile before given authorization from the automobile’s owner. I was informed that was against good business practices. While at the St. George dealership, I tried to locate the Service Manager on the day the service was performed about my dissatisfaction with the service received, but he was not on duty that afternoon. I spoke with another manager at the dealership who advised me to contact the Service Manager the following week when he would be back at the dealership. Adrian said he would let Randy S******* know that I had spoken with him. I don’t know if he did so. Later the next week I spoke with the Service Manager by phone and described to him the unhappy experiences I had had in his service department, that of requiring the fuel filters to be replaced when that was not needed and my concerns about service being performed for the oil change without having consulted with me prior to the starting on that work. The Service manager offered to reimburse me half of the cost of the non-warranty-related work done (half of $327.23 or $163.62). It has now been 3 weeks since speaking with the Service Manager and I have not yet received reimbursement. I consider the practices of this dealership to be dishonorable and unethical. A lapse of integrity occurred when the Service Manager stated that he would see to it that the dealership would reimburse me for half of the cost of the work performed. I believe the dealership should be honorable in following through on the pledge for reimbursement and that the two employees I dealt with should be counseled and reprimanded about their breach of honesty in dealing with customers.

Desired Settlement: The company previously pledged to reimburse partial costs for service that was not required at that time. I wish the company to be honorable and follow through with the partial reimbursement.

Business Response:

We have addressed this issue today by sending an letter of apology and enclosing a check for more then the agreed upon amount.

Hopefully this will be resolved successfully.

Sincerely,

Cheryl K****


2/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told I would get a trade-in value for my 2008 VW R32 of $13,600.00 and half the cost of a clear bra on a new 2016 Camaro RS. They only gave me $12,700.00.

Desired Settlement: Give me the trade-in value agreed upon. The one with my int. next to the amount of $13,600.00.

Business Response:

****,

This is in response to Complaint #********. We sat down with ****** ********* in store today, 1/27/16, and have resolved the issue satisfactory with both parties.

Stephen Wade Auto Center has elected to credit ****** ********* for 1/2 cost for clear bra, body side moldings and ralley stripe pkg in the total of $******.

****** left Stephen Wade Auto Center this morning a happy customer.


Sincerely

Ken * L****

General Manager

Stephen Wade Auto Center

###-###-####

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call from their Internet Department telling me that they had located a vehicle I had been looking for. She game me the price that they could get the exact vehicle I was looking for at a total price of $23,800 befor tax and license and I was told to go see a Saleman Ryan at the Stephen Wade Nissan. When I got there, he told me that he would have to get one ordered from Las vegas and it would be the price of $23800 and that it would have no extras-it would be just as agreed. I had to meet with the finance manager before they could order the car from Las Vegas. I was rushed through the contract as it was after hours and he received several calls from his wife. I did not get a go through the contract, as we were aftr hours. I asked him if we had the agreed price of $23,800. When I got home he had added GAP Insurance, External Car Protection, extended warranty and Interior protection coverage-and the price was over $30,000 (and the taxes and registration was only $1700) I called him first thing the next morning-he said that it was too bad, there is no "cooling off" period in Utah. He totally didn't explain any of the stuff he had added. This was totally a bait and switch deal. I was verbally told the price by three people and he added all over $1500 to the price and added approximately $4500 in options.

Desired Settlement: I would like a fefunded amount of $2500 as I was able to finally get the GAP insurance and the Extended warranty canceleld(after calling them 6 different times and it still took over amonth to cancel it)

Business Response: To whom it mat concern:

In response to the complaint we did agree on a price of $23800.00 for the vehicle. The other items that were added to the car would be and are optional as we offer them to every customer at the time of sale. As with every customer they have the right to go through the contracts and ask as many questions as they feel necessary even if it is late at night when they are making a purchase. We do video record these transactions with customers in the finance office so that we can protect both parties from any misunderstandings or from a customer getting something that he or she might say they never knew about it.
We do apologize if there was any misunderstanding and we did already agree to cancel the products that were purchased quit some time ago. When you may have called the next morning i think there may have been a communication issue with the statement there is no cooling off period, this would have been about the purchase of the car its self, not any of the extra products that were purchased. Those items are cancelable and were removed at the customers request. Again we do apologize for any misunderstanding and at the customers request we did cancel additional items not wanted and processed this back.
There will not be any additional refunds or reimbursement of any additional dollar amounts as this was refunded back to customer already. We take great efforts to ensure that every customer leave here with what they want and understand everything that he or she may or may not purchase at the time of sale, We do understand that when it is late at night or when customers are in a hurry that there may be a item or items overlooked that we are happy to cancel or remove if they are not wanted.
We are a very reputable business and do apologize again for any misunderstanding there may have been.
Sincerely 
Rhett P****
Stephen Wade Nissan

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
This statement is not true by the dealer. They told me that the auto they had was $23,800 and then when it was delivered from Las Vegas (Desert Nissan) that it already had interior protection and body dent and scratch prtection on the car ( I called the dealer in LV and they told me it wasn't on the car when it left LV) I said I wiould wait for another vehicle to ordered and they said I already had signed a contract on this vehicle and I would have to take this vehicle. Even though the Finance Manager had verbally been told by the Sales Rep and myself that the price was supposed to be $23800 before Tax and License, he wrote the contract at $30000 before tax and Liecense-I did remoce the extended warranty and Gap Insurance, bu the cost of the car was still $2000 higher than the $23,800 price we had agreed upon. I feel the Finance Manager was very deceptive and was trying to get every dollar out of me. I would never recommend this dealership again.

Sincerely,

***** ******

9/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a truck from this company 1 year ago. I recently traded in the truck at a different dealership. I took my trade in forms to Stephen Wade and wanted to cancel my warranty on the truck. The truck had been paid off by the other dealership. Stephen Wade told me that the company that my warranty had been through they do not go to anymore and that they are not open on Fridays so they would have to wait until Monday to send in the forms. They told me that the check would be mailed to my home address in 1 week. (This was on a Thursday). I contacted Stephen Wade to check on the progress of the forms. The finance personnel that the forms had been given to had forgotten to send in the papers and that he was sending them in that day (this was after he had already had the forms for a few days). I have now been waiting for almost 2 weeks for the money that has been promised me for the warranty on my truck. I have called Stephen Wade several times in an attempt to talk to this personnel. I have left messages and have asked him to please call me back concerning the matter. He has never once called me back. Recently I went to the manager in attempt to fix the matter. He told me that he was going to talk to the finance personnel that we had been talking to and would call me back later that afternoon with an update on what was going on. He never called me back. I have called back several times in an attempt to reach either the manager or the finance personnel that I have been speaking with but neither of them have returned my call. I have even gone so far as to contact another manager but with no progress.

Desired Settlement: The money that is owed to me for the warranty cancellation (which is between $1,000-$1,500)

Business Response:

In response to ******** on Sept. 14, 2014 Ms. ***** ** ****** the grandmother purchased a vehicle from our Chrysler store and ******* **** signed as a co buyer on the contract.  ******* **** is now know as ******* ******.  On Sept. 15, 2015 a refund check was made payable to the grandmother ***** ** ****** for $******** and ******* **** picked up the check and said "Oh well I guess this will have to do as I wanted the check in my name"  She picked up  the check last week.  I believe this resolves the problem. Daniel *. ******

   

7/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/29/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that they would sell me a used 2012 Camaro ss for $31000.00 and be given $2500 trade-in on my car. I was charged $33352.00 for the Camaro. On 1/14/2014 I purchased a 2012 Camaro SS from Stephen Wade Chevrolet. I agreed to pay $31000.00 for the car and was told I would get $2500.00 trade-in on my 1999 Camary, plus I was putting down $15000.00. I also purchased an extended service contract for $2641.00 and a appearance warranty for $399.00. In August I had a problem with my brakes so I took it in to the dealership to have it looked at, they told me that the brakes were not original equipment and that whoever had installed them had not done it properly, so they fixed the problem. The service advisor ***** ******* told me The bill was going to be roughly $60.00 I told him I had purchased the extended warranty and he said it wasn't covered because they were not original equipment. I told him as far as I knew they were because I hadn't changed the brakes from when I bought the car and the service contract so it should be covered. He asked me what I wanted him to do and I said I felt Stephen Wade should eat the charge not me. We discussed it some more and he finally dropped the price to $37.00 which I told him I would pay so I could get my car but I told him I was still not satisfied with the out come. I went home and got out my paperwork to see if the service should be covered and I decided to just cancel the extended warranty since I haven't had good luck with these type of warranties before. While I was looking at the warranty I decided to take a closer look at the other warranty for the appearance I had purchased. When I checked it out it turns out the car was suppose to be sprayed with something to help protect the paint, and I know that my car has never been sprayed while I've owned it, also the contract states that it can be transferred to a new owner at no charge. So I feel one of two things has happened. Either the previous owner had this coverage and they just charged me for coverage that should be offered to me at no cost per the contract, or they have charged me for something that was never applied to my car. The next issue I have is a bit of a mystery to me it concerns a theft protection coverage that I don't remember discussing or signing for, but my signature is on the contract so I guess I will have to live with it even though I know I never would have wanted this coverage since I have auto insurance for this reason and what they offer is a joke as far as I am concerned. The last of my concerns deals with what I paid for the Camaro as I stated earlier I agreed to pay $31000.00 for the Camaro since I had looked up the value of the car on the internet and it was valued at $29800.00 by KBB on the internet and that was without some upgrades that were on the car so I felt it was a fair asking price plus they had bumped up my trade-in value to $2500.00 from $1700.00 so I was satisfied with the deal. When I looked at the contract it had the price of the Camaro at $33352.00 instead of the $31000.00 I had agreed to with the sales manager. I called and talked to Tyler Baker the finance mgr. about my concerns and he said he would look into it and get back with me. When he called me back he told me that he had the sheet that I had initialed and that it said $33352.00 on it, I told him I would like to see it so I drove down to the dealership and what he showed me was a copy not the original. When I looked at the copy I saw something that made me know it wasn't what I had initialed it had three different amounts on it which I am positive were not on the one I initialed because they only made me one offer and I agreed to it so after seeing that I felt it was best to leave and pursue a different route since I no longer felt they were dealing with me on an honest level.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $2352.00 for the difference between the $33352.00 they charged for the Camaro and the $31000.00 I agreed to pay. I would also like to be refunded the $399.00 that I was charged for the appearance warranty that I should of been offered for no charge or that they didn't apply the protective spray for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/07) */ Mr. ******* makes reference to "something to protect the paint on the vehicle." The product that we offer for sale is Perma Plate; it includes an application to the paint and in his case included a 5 year warranty. It guarantees that the treated exterior painted body panels will not be damaged by weather inducing fading, oxidation, loss of gloss or surface rust caused by industrial fallout, or become permanently stained by bird droppings, insects, water spotting, tree sap or acid rain. Mr. ******* was presented the product and agreed to purchase the product with agreement of his signature. The document is included in the attachment. Mr. ******* also states that the application was never applied. While in the business office, while signing documents, the customer is referred to the calendar on line, to select the best time to return and have the application applied. Please refer to the Google calendar for Saturday, 8/30/14, in which an appointment was made for Mr. ******* to bring the vehicle in at 8am to have the application completed. We cannot be responsible if that individual does not show for the appointment. We would however make another appointment for Mr. ******* to bring the vehicle in and have the application completed at his convenience. He also refers to the Auto Theft Protection; the document which Mr. ******* signed is also attached. This product is non-cancellable, as stated at the bottom of the agreement. However, Stephen Wade Auto Center will refund $399 to Mr. ******* for either the cancellation of the Perma Plate Protection warranty or the Auto Theft Protection policy. We would require a written and signed request from Mr. ******* to authorize that action. The refund would be mailed on his behalf to JP Morgan Chase Bank as a reduction of principal. Lastly, Mr. ******* states that he agreed to pay $31000, not $33352 as noted on the contract. He also was to receive $2500 for the trade allowance. I have interviewed the sales manager and sales person, and both have stated, without any doubt that the selling price of $31000 was never talked about nor ever agreed upon. Both of them asked if Mr. ******* could have been referring to possibly the trade difference amount, which would be $30852, after trade in. Please refer to the attached document that shows the final agreed amount of $33352 plus fees, less trade in. We decline to reimburse Mr. ******* $2352 for the difference. Sincerely *** W ***** General Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have read the reply and would like to address the concerns I have with it. First of all the reply states that they set up an appointment for me to have the perma plate applied to my car on 8/30/14 at 8am sat. morning which I can state without a doubt is a total fabrication since with my job my days off are thurs. and fri. and have been that way for 10 plus years, so why would I schedule an appointment on a day I know I have to work and not on a day that I do not. Also I bought the car and the warranty on 1/14/14 so why would I schedule an appointment more than seven months down the road. As I stated earlier this is a complete fabrication on the part of Stephen Wade to try and cover there dishonest practices, and lastly if I paid $399.00 for this coverage why wouldn't I have called and rescheduled to have it applied. To add to this dishonesty they tried to make it appear as though they had proof of this fabrication by stating that it was on google calendar which tells me this dealership is willing to not only lie but also fabricate documents to cover their dishonesty. Which brings me to the main issue dollar wise of my complaint which states they made me an offer of $31000.00 to purchase the car and instead they charged me $33352.00 and have yet to be showen an original copy of the agreement that I agreed to. My concern is if they have shown a willingness to deceive why would anyone believe anything they say. Especially since as I stated in my complaint I looked up the value of the car the day before I agreed to purchase it and it was valued at $29800.00 so the only way I would have agreed to pay $33352.00 for that car is that I would have to be a total idiot, I can state with some certainty that is not the case. In closing I would like to state that the main reason I have filed this complaint besides the money is that I feel businesses like this one should be brought out to the attention of the public so that number one no one has to go through what I have gone through and number two is to hopefully get rid of this kind of dishonest business practices that are far to prevalent in our society today, and hopefully more people will stand up and fight when they feel that they are being taken advantage of. Lastly with the help of entities like the BBB and Consumer Protection fewer business will be willing to risk being brought to light as being dishonest and instead will choose the high road and treat there costumers the way they would like to be treated

10/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/19/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchase Date 4/18/14 of used automobile from Stephen Wade Auto Center: Adding Automobile Extras in the financial office when signing the sales papers on a used vehicle purchase. We were told that we had to take the Autoshield Theft Protection and Identity Theft Protection Package in the amount of $399.00. And that every automobile sold had that package preinstalled. Actually we were only told that when I questioned the charge. Otherwise the Financial Director was not even going to mention the package. After reading the contract at home I find out the package is only good for the original owner.I then sent them a letter asking for a refund on the $399.00. To date I have not received a reply.The internet has unlimited articles detailing this practice. And most of them describe the practice as a scam by dealers to make extra money from each automobile sale. The actual cost to the dealer is very small with a large profit for the dealer. Product_Or_Service: 2013 Chevrolet Impalla

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund of the $399.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/09) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ***** General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@stephenwade.com To whom it may concern at the BBB: I am writing in response to a complaint filed by ******* D ****** case #XXXXXXXX. On April 18, 2014 Mr. and Mrs. ******* D ****** came into the dealership to pruchase a vehicle. They agreed upon purchasing a 2013 pre-owned Chevrolet Impala. They made an agreement prior to coming to my office of $10578.78 out the door, including the tax-titling-licensing and all registrations, this amount included the Auto Shield Idenity Theft Registration. I printed the documents and went over each document with the customer. The Auto Shield Idenity Theft Registrationdocument was presented to the customer; I explained and circled the benefits and the contract was signed by the customer. The benifits of the Auto Shield program that we offer are as follows: $2500.00 benefit paid directly over and above customer's automobile insurance claim if stolen. Plus $1000.00 replacement allowance to customer from the original selling dealer towards the replacement of stolen vehicle. Also included is fully managed identity theft recovery service to purchasers- spouse-domestic-partner-qualified dependents through age 24 and grandparents living at your permanent address. These benifits are for 60 months. We provide this product to our customers and see it as a benifit to them, not a scam. Mr. *** ****** is welcome to cancel, by a written statement acknowledging the he will lose the above benefits and waive any rights to future claims regarding this program. As soon as we recieve this written statement, we will refund Mr. ********* $399.00. Sincerely, ***** ******** Business Manager ******* **** Auto Center XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) With regard to the purchase of the 2013 Chevrolet Impala on April 18, 2014 from Stephen Wade Automotive Center. I hereby waive any benefits and rights from the Auto Shield Program and the Identity Theft Recovery Service in return for the refund of $399.00 as stated in the Stephen Wade Automotive Center BBB response. I also understand that this response will cancel my contract with Kornerstone Administrative Services. The above letter was sent to the Stephen Wade Automotive Center on 5/09/2014. It is now 5/16/2014 and I have not received a refund as of this date.

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the Stephen Wade Nissan dealership to buy a 2013 Nissan Titan truck. Not only did it take the Sales guy 3 hrs to tell me they had the truck I wanted on lot, but ****, the Finance person, told me I "had to buy" the extended warranty as the "computer won't let me complete the sale without it". I know otherwise, I've purchased cars from dealerships before and know for sure that this is always just an option. So I told him so. He said he'd have to clear it with his manager ****** and left for 30 mins, then came back and told me "I talked with my manager, the only way we can make this deal work, is that you take this extended warranty which makes this deal work". **** already knew that we are moving and needed the truck to move with. After 6hrs at the dealership, and being told to wait, I was told by **** that I was offered loans by only 2 companies and denied by half a dozen but I was never actually shown the offers nor did I ever get these denial letters in the mail by other finance groups. When later confronted **** about canceling my extened warranty that I already knew I had 30 days to cancel, **** tried to tell me that "we had an original argreement so what's our problem" and acted like he couldn't cancel and upsell me again when I already knew I could. **** and ****** both hung up on me. I went down in person to the dealership and signed a cancelation form, dated it, and signed it not even 2 weeks after my purchase date. I have a copy of that form. I was told the $2500 warranty would be put towards the principal amount on the loan, which is what I wanted. It's now more than 20 days later, I've called the dealership many times. I've talked to everyone from reception to upper management and it still hasn't been handled. All I want is to be treated fairly and for the sales and financial administration, to DO what they've already told me they will DO. Cancel the warranty and put that money towards the principal. I'm still getting the run around with NO results. Product_Or_Service: 2013 Nissan Titan Offroad 4x4 Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want Stephen Wade Nissan management to follow through, treat their customers with more respect, not lie and cover up the lie with another lie. This is something that trickles down from upper management all the way down to the receptionist. I want results. I've asked this to be canceled since 1/28/2014. I purchased the truck on 1/16/2014. It's now 2/26/2014. This is rediculous. As a consumer and an American citizen I don't like being taken advantage of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/04/04) */ We have been in contact with Mr. ******* and sat down and talked at length about what had happened and why the cancellation did not take place in a timely manner. We explained to him that the cancellation paperwork was prepared incorrectly and that we would reimburse him for any interest or other charges he incurred until this is cancelled and he is satisfied.

1/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought 2006 jeep commander,we drove 21/2 hours home to relized this jeep had many front end problems, door handle and tire issues, also sun roof leaks on 9-21-13 we bought a 2006 jeep commander limited with 83,996 miles on it. we drove the 2 1/2 hours home to realize it had many front end issues. the door handle was about to fall off,the tires(front) had a warning light telling me they had low tire pressure- filled them to proper pounds, got up next morning to find 1 low and the other flat, decided to take it to my favorite car mechanic, used them for years. while my jeep was at mechanics I called stephen wade and told them what was happening and the call didnt go well for me, they told me the tires passed there safety rating and were just fine when i took it. my mechanic shop informed me there were many front end issues that were very dangerous and needed attention now-not later. called stephen wade up and said i was at auto shop and the jeep needed many things fixed before an accident happened, they told us ok and to use the kornerstone insurance that we had purchased with vehicle for $2,315, after my mech shop talked to kornerstone and said the front end had 6 things wrong with it, rack and pinion, a pinion mount, several bushings, tie rods and bolt and stud from exhaust was broken,and the front struts,i could smell the exhaust leak inside vehicle. also broken drivers door handle. kornerstone vehicle warranty services told them (my mech) and us that they would not cover any of the problems with the jeep, and that stephen wade should have taken care of these things before it was sold and they were refusing to honor there contract with us.. so we got a hold of ******* **** about these problems and that we wanted our mech to fix these issues and give us piece of mind, they said they had to fix it or look at the problem before we could do anything with anyone else.. (why have extra coverage if you cannot use it ?) it cost me a days work and 300 miles at 13.5 gallons a mile round trip to *** ***** **- from **** **, so it is a problem for us not to mention lost time and wages. after taking it to our mech, stephen wade wanted to have it in there shop because they stated (only a certified jeep mechanic can do the work). we made an appointment to have them look at it.they said they would replace the door handle for us when we got to the dealership on 10-23. after our arrival they were very nice and made us feel they would take care of us, my husband showed the dealer mech ****** ********** the play in the steering wheel and the exhaust leak, also the front end noises, they told me it would have to stay to get parts and be checked over since it was never pre-inspected by any of their people- thats when i found out they had never looked at the jeep commander before it was sold to me. thats not good practice when you say its safe and has been inspected by certified people, that is not being truthful on the contract. we were given a rental, for 7 days- we picked the jeep up on 10-30-13 and it looked great, no exhaust leak ,no front end play in steering wheel,they told us they had to replace the entire driver side door panel and tie rods and the rack and pinion, alignment, isolator axle mounting pinion mount was broken and had been replaced plus there were double ended exhaust bolts broken and needed a gasket and new cover. so we talked to *** ****** and ***** *******- very nice people, *** gave us 300$ for gas and missing days pay. after we arrived back home i thought it was still sloppy and needed something, it was still making the clunking sound over any small bump or pavement holes. not fixed!!! S/W will not return calls.

Desired Settlement: fix the problem it had from the beginning, struts and noise, should have been looked at and gone over before you sold it to me for $15,692.15 not happy that stephen wade chooses to not call back or resolve this issue. I would like it to go to my local shop ******* **** in **** ** for repairs, my husband ***** ***** is to be contacted ************* kornerstone my warrant people said they dont cover struts on this jeeptough luck, bald tires, leaky sun roof just fix the front end and ill be satisfied. this is not how a jeep dealer should sell pre certified used jeeps...

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/01/27) */ Case XXXXXXXX We believe the *******'s hae been satisfied as we have done work to the vehicle subsequest to the sale date aggregating over $1,750. The car was safety checked when when we took it in as a trade on July 25, 2013. Safety Certificate #XXXXXXX. Many of the items that were denied by Kornorstone are typically not covered and are disclosed in the warranty but most customers often do not take the time to read the detail. We feel that the company has taken care of the customer in a professional manner. I can not confirm his comments that we did not return or answer his calls but it would be unusual. Sincerely, *** ****** CFO Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2014/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Happy to say that Stephen Wade has repaired the jeep to the condition that it should be.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Stephen Wade Auto Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart