This Business is not BBB accredited

Riverton Chevy

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 576-4600 Fax: (801) 576-4695 View Additional Phone Numbers 10770 Auto Mall Dr, Sandy, UT 84070 http://www.rivertonmotor.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Riverton Chevy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Riverton Chevy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1922 Business started locally: 01/01/1922 Business incorporated: 03/23/1923 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher B. Page, President Mr. Kevin Campbell, General Manager Mr. Bryan Ethington, Controller Ms. Dawn Page, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Kevin Campbell, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Christopher B. Page, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Riverton Chevrolet Riverton Motor Company, Inc. Superior Auto Rental, LLC
Business Management

Christopher B. Page is also listed as a principal of Ketech LLC. A separate report for Ketech LLC is available here : click here .


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10770 Auto Mall Dr

    Sandy, UT 84070 (801) 576-4600 (801) 576-4610 (801) 254-3961

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12741 S Redwood Rd

    Riverton, UT 84065

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (801) 254-3961(Phone)
  • (801) 576-4610(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 8 we went out looking for a newer car. We found a dodge durango on ksl and I called to make sure they still had it. I asked them if it was awd and they said yes. I said I would be there in an hour and they said ok. Fifteen minutes before I got there they called and said they had sold the car but asked us to give them a chance anyways. We decided since we were already down there about 2 hours from our home we might as well go look. When we got there we met ***** ****** he sat us down and apologized and asked us what we wanted in a car. We told him the big thing is it has to be 4 wheel drive or awd and preferably have a back up camera but the back up camera was negotiable. He said and you need to be right around the 26,000 price range that the Durango was in right and we said yes we were already approved for a loan and wanted to stay in that. He said because of the trouble they would knock $2000 off. He had two cars he was thinking of 1) a GMC acadia and 2) a ford edge. My wife then said I think the ford only has 5 seats and we need at least 6. So he said well the acadia has all the things we wanted and asked us if we wanted to go look at it. He said it was one of the top trim levels of acadia and was only one lower than the acadia denali. We went out and looked my wife asked again now this is 4 wheel drive right and he said awd but its the same thing. We decided that we liked it. My almost 15 year old son and myself and ***** took it for a drive. My wife stayed at the dealership with the kids. We left and drove the pearl colored 2011 acadia when we came back my son and I looked at the trunk and seen there was an awd emblem on the back. We told him we would take it but he had to bring it up on Tuesday. When he did we gave him the check and signed and left. We later found out through our insurance it was 2wd and he brought us the wrong car. He told his boss we said it was ok. WE NEVER EVEN KNEW!!! It was the same year and color but didn't have awd. Product_Or_Service: GMC ACADIA

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We talked to ***** ****** at the dealership and the only thing they said they would do for us is trade us if we pay the difference of the other one. We cant do that because we already did the loan and don't have the extra money. They should give us the car we told them we wanted in the first place and make it right. We have to have awd because of where we live. We passed up a brand new Durango that was in our price range because it was only 2wd.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* General Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@rivertonmotor.com We were contacted by Mr. ***** and Mrs. ***** about a week after they had purchased a vehicle from us. They called and spoke with one of our salesmanagers and told him they were unhappy with the vehicle they had purchased. He indicated he would try to help but needed to get the whole story. After he looked it to this transaction he found all discriptions of the vehicle indicated Front Wheel Drive. We then let the customer know if they didnt like the vehicle we would be happy to exchange it even though it was well outside our 72 hour policy. We then found another vehicle that would work for Mr. ***** and we let him know he needed to contact his lender and make sure they would do a Collateral Exchange. He spoke with the lender and indicated to us they would not do that, he would have to trade the vehicle in and secure another loan. We then called and spoke with his lender as well, only to recieve the same answer. We tried to help in this situation but the lender would budge. We have exhausted all efforts to resolve this situation with the customer and their lender. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Our lender called them back and told them that if we found something within the same loan to value and amount they would work with them. The dealer told the lender that he understood but thought there wouldnt be any further negotiations. They are not willing to work with us at all. We would just like this to be fixed since we are stuck with a 2 wheel drive vehicle when we were told we were getting an all wheel drive. The reason for the time it took to tell them about our problem was because we didn't even know until we received papers from the insurance agent. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/04/03) */ As we stated in our original response, the customer secured their own financing which means they went directly to the lender. We spoke with their loaner officer who in turn indicated they were not willing to do a collateral exchange. It was indicated they would have to trade the vehicle and secure another loan. This was not an option they were satisfied with. Riverton Motors constantly strives to meet and exceed a customers expectations, however in this situation it has been diffuclt because of the stance from the lender.

1/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They pulled the bait-and-switch when purchasing a new car. After signing sales documents they pretended that we didn't have an agreement about me turning in my lease. Nevermind that we discussed this, they appraised my leased car, and agreed on terms... And this was just the cherry. Previously, the salesmen pushed me into the financing office with a deal we didn't agree to, and the manager either was misinformed or lied to our faces about the tax credit on the Volt. Now we need to figure out a way to turn in our leased car, when everything was going to be taken care of by the dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would be interested in returning the car. I don't want to give them my business.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/26) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* General Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@rivertonmotor.com First and fore most we would like to apologize if the customer feels they received unsatisfactory customer service. We are constantly striving to not only provide but also maintain great customer service to each and every customer. To address the issues that Mr. ***** has indicated, "bait and Switch" tactics are something we do not practice at Riverton Chevrolet. Mr. ***** re-negotiated the numbers he had agreed to 3 seperate times. We did everything he asked us to do time and time again. When the trade was brought up at the start of negotiations we informed Mr. ***** the residual value of his trade is more than market value so it would be in his best intrest to return it to the bank. He agreed that he could and would do that. Reguarding pushing one into the finance office, we have several documents that have to be signed by the customer before they go into the finance office. These forms are filled out by th sales rep and customer, everything was filled out. When Mr. ***** went into finance and they started to print paperwork he indicated that the number on the contract were unacceptable. My sales person and manager then renegotiated the numbers to his satisfaction. He then went into the finance office again, where he again said the numbers were unacceptable. My floor manager, finance manager, and desk manager discussed at lenght what it was they could do to satisfy Mr. *****'s concerns. After several hours they then came to a resolution in which all parties agreed to. Documentation was signed freely by Mr. *****. From there Mr. ***** has indicated his disapproval on numerous websites since. We have tried unsuccessfully to contact Mr. ***** on several occasions. Riverton Chevrolet feels as if we did everything the consumer asked of us to create a good shopping and buying experience for him. We all understand the importance of a customer and there complete satisfaction. It is unfortunate that Mr. ***** does not feel the same.

1/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service