This business is not BBB accredited.

Orem Mazda

Phone: (801) 226-8555 55 E University Pkwy, Orem, UT 84058

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Orem Mazda include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Orem Mazda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 25, 2012 Business started: 08/26/2009 Business started locally: 08/26/2009
Business Management
Louise MacDonald, Company Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Louise MacDonald, Company Contact
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Orem Mazda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    55 E University Pkwy

    Orem, UT 84058 (801) 226-8555


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ill try not to make this too lengthy but I'm losing hope in trusting things will work out. Maybe getting online and writing a review will not only get read by someone who can help me but also be beneficial to any future buyers. Future buyers- I warn you to stay away from these sleazy, dishonest, greedy people. Absolute worst car dealership I have ever experienced. I really wish I would have read reviews before stepping foot onto this dealership. Heres my story: First of all I decided with this location because I had a mutual friend, Nate, that worked here. All was well on July 2, 2016 when I financed my 2016 cx-5. I spent about 4 hours on that Saturday looking at the different car options and walked out being told I was approved for my 3 year lease with only $250 down. The edition I chose wasn't available on property because I wanted the lower model with roof racks so being the "generous" people they are they so gladly upgraded me into the top of the line $34,000 cx-5, still keeping my payment the same each month. I chose the lease option due to my credit and also because I have always liked to get a new car every couple years anyways. My co-worker and I were so excited to hit the road that day and even told Nate, the sales rep, we were headed on a road trip that night to celebrate. I signed the lease agreement that day after being told I was approved to lease at a payment of $430/month. In return I was promised roof racks to be placed monday morning. Monday came and I heard nothing from the dealership nor did I receive any racks. In fact, 2 weeks went by, no sign of roof racks and no contact from the dealership. Monday July 18th I got a text from the sales rep saying "they were having a hard time financing me" and asked for pay stubs. I replied "I'm pretty confused as to why or how I have this car without being financed the day I took it off the lot?" No reply back. Unfortunately I was out of town and couldn't make it into the dealership till I returned. Putting more miles on the car I didn't even know wasn't leased to me. Monday July 25th I walked into the dealership and asked to talk to someone in finance. Nate, my original sales rep, came up and asked what I was doing at the dealership. I replied "Trying to get some answers to what's going on. Howe come you never replied back to me when I texted you?" and he replied, "Oh yea, I've been super busy. Haven't had time to check my text." Funny reply considering he had just posted a photo on instagram regarding a pinewood derby at Orem Mazda. Too busy to reply to your client? I think not. After sitting and talking to Chad, Manager, and Chip, General Manager for about three and a half hours I accomplished only a few things that day. I was laughed at by the General Manager, Chip, for not "coming straight in once I knew I wasn't approved," even though I was never told I wasn't approved. I was told I owed $1780 in mileage reimbursement to the company and am required to return the car. I sat there for about 40 minutes just contemplating what I was going to do. They were on the phone while I sat there, weighing my options, still trying to "pull some strings" and get me financed.I declined that offer and paid up. I was told they would go from $1780 to $1250, subtracting my $250 I put down and another $250 if I paid right then and there. So I did and to this day regret. I went home that night still feeling uneasy and read all the small, tiny, fine print on the lease agreement. Sure enough it stated that they had SEVEN DAYS to get the bank approval and if they couldnt, I would have to be notified by day 7, by mail, that I had 48 hours to return the vehicle. On the 25th I checked the mail and sure enough there was a denial letter dated July 17th, 2016. Over two weeks past the day I drove off the lot. July 26, 2016 Chip, General Manager, assured me they sent two letters but when I asked for a copy of the one I never received he was unable to access their filing cabinets upstairs where the document was apparently held. I left that day being promised by Chip, General Manager, that he would get that letter to me by the next day. July 27th- no call from Chip as promised. I drove straight to the dealership after work and was told Chip was off for the day. How Ironic. Left my number again and waited for a call today. No call. I called in after getting off work and was told Chip, General Manager, was off for the day as well as Chad, Manager. Funny. The letter from the bank wasn't within the one week, legally binding, allotment. I shouldn't have paid $1250 for not being notified that I was denied. If I were ever told I wasn't approved then I wouldn't have drove around for another two weeks and 3,000 miles racking up a $1780 bill. **** no. I now sit here carless and $1500 out awaiting any contact from the dealership. Orem Mazda - the worst place to do business with. Completely untrustworthy and UNPROFESSIONAL.

Desired Settlement: I desire at least a refund.

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the used 2005 Subaru Legacy and paid with a cashier's check on 09/09/2015. At the Orem Mazda dealership at 55 E University Pkwy, Orem, UT 84058 ###-###-#### I have since then not received my car title. Prior until today I have called and been into the Orem Mazda dealership multiple times a week. Every time I have been communicating with the dealership I have been told, they are waiting to get the title from their sister dealership Bountiful Mazda, who is waiting to receive the title from the bank. At Orem Mazda I have been helped by Taylor C*****,Chad V*********,Mike K*****,Bryce B*****,Misty C******* and receptionists. All they have communicated with me is that they don't know when they are going to receive the car title and they are just waiting. On September 24, 2014 my first temporally car title expired. On that date I had to come back to the dealership and Misty C******* provided me with another one to expire on 11/08/2015. As of 09/28/2015 I have called 3 times since 9am and no one has picked up my calls. I am pretty sure they are screening my calls. On 09/30/15 I called and spoke to the title clerk and was told that my title wasn't available for me to pick up yet. On 10/01/15 i had my father ***** ********** from his phone: ###-###-#### called the dealership to ask about my car title, one one would pick up his calls. He had to leave messages for two of the managers. I had my father call because the Orem Mazda because I have been treated disrespectfully from the employees at their dealership.

Desired Settlement: I would like the original car title for the car they sold me. Since I paid for it with a cashier's check that has already been cashed.

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales team was dishonest in their approach in selling me a vehicle, making false representation of fees included Purchased a new car from the dealer. Sales team dishonest in added costs they incrue. Was told, after sale, they would be willing to ensure my rental car was returned with it being fueled, as a courtesy. Learned that this was not done, therefore incuring additional fees for rental that I would not have otherwised incurred as a result of false agreements and follow through. When I attempted to resolve the matter with Management, I was told to talk with sales associate directly. Several attempts made, with no answer. I attempted to contact Management again, and they refused to take my calls.

Desired Settlement: To agree to the cost of fuel for the rental car, per verbal agreement by sales associate, as I left the vehilce with them with the understanding the verbal terms would be followed. Additionally, the added cost of me traveling an additional 74 miles to remedy the matter with the rental agency

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** - VP/General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******* My name is **** ******* I am the General Manager at Orem Mazda. I have discussed this matter with the salesperson ****** ******** and my Business Manager (**** ****** that completed the paperwork with Mr. *****. After discussing this matter with these 2 employees I have concluded that Mr. *****' complaints are not valid. This is the 2nd vehicle that Mr. ***** has purchased from Orem Mazda, so he knows of ALL the fees that are associated with purchasing a car. To address the first complaint of "false representation" of dishonesty about fees... Mr. ***** negotiated the price of the vehicle to his satisfaction and then was introduced to **** to complete the transaction. Once the Documentation Fee was disclosed on the paperwork, Mr. ***** said he wouldn't pay the fee knowing full well that that was a fee that would be added to the price of the vehicle being purchased. Mr. ***** made the comment to both **** and ***** after leaving ****'s office without the paperwork being finalized that he assumed that he could negotiate the Documentation Fee with **** because Mr. ***** informed my staff that he has been successful in negotiating the Documentation Fee in the business office. As Mr. ***** was leaving the dealership without the new Mazda, my sales manager (***** ****** conceded and lowered the sales price of the vehicle by the amount of the documentation fee. Mr. ***** agreed to proceed with the purchase of the new Mazda and finalized the paperwork with ****. The second false accusation by Mr. ***** that Orem Mazda agreed to fill the fuel tank of Mr. *****' rental car... ***** made a point to ask Mr. ***** more than once if all the rental car fees were paid. Mr. ***** confirmed that all fees had been paid. Never once during the sales process did Mr. ***** inquire about Orem Mazda filling the fuel tank before the rental car was returned to the rental car agency. Mr. ***** called back the next day and said that the rental gas car was included in the transaction. Not until ***** called Mr. ***** later that Mr. ***** conceded that the rental car gas had not been discussed. Because of the manner that my staff was treated by Mr. ***** I would prefer as General Manager and part owner of Orem Mazda that Mr. ***** ***** not do business with Orem Mazda in the future. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2013/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** never made a point to ask, more than once, if all the rental car fees were paid. As noted, after the transaction of the sale, was it agreed that Orem Mazda would fill the fuel. I did call the following day to find out why the rental gas car was not filled. I attempted to contact the Sales Manager, who continually made himself unavailable. I attempted to contact ***** several times. ***** called back, several hours later, after multiple attempts by me were made. In this dialog with ****** I never conceded that the rental car gas had not been discussed, rather stated I would seek a resolution elsewhere, which has been done. As the poor professionalism shown, I will ensure no other of my acquaintances do business with Orem Mazda in the future.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Orem Mazda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart