Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of Murdock Hyundai of Murray?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

Murdock Hyundai of Murray

Phone: (801) 262-6401 Fax: (801) 802-9244 4646 S State St, Murray, UT 84107 http://www.murdockhyundaislc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Murdock Hyundai of Murray include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Murdock Hyundai of Murray
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 1990 Business started: 10/01/1989 Business started locally: 10/01/1989 Business incorporated: 08/03/1989 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. J. Blake Murdock, Owner Julie Black, Controller Ms. Jan Brown, Company Contact Mr. K Blake Murdock, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. J. Blake Murdock, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. K Blake Murdock, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4646 S State St

    Murray, UT 84107 (801) 262-6401

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased Elantra GT I was told it was the same chassis and suspension as Elantra, it was Not They refused to honor their 5 day exchange. Purchased Elantra GT I was told it was the same chassis and suspension as Elantra, it was Not According to their own Mechanics it has a sport suspension, steering and exhaust. They refused to honor their 5 day exchange even though I notified them withing 3 days that I wished to exchange the vehicle. Their sales department dropped the ball and did NOT stop the sales tax and licensing so they refused to honor their exchange policy. They offered to exchange for a Tuscon at a loss of $4000 to me. I tried to contact the General Manager, ***** ******* several times but her refused to accept or return my calls. I am a senior citizen stuck with a very rough riding sports car instead of the economy car I thought I was buying.

Desired Settlement: I wish the company to honor their "NO REGRETS PROGRAM" since I notified them within 3 days that I wished to exchange the vehicle. I want them to exchange the Elantra GT for another vehicle without the depreciation loss of $4000 that they wish me to take.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/25) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *****,Executive Assistant Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@murdockhyundai.com This issue has been fully resolved with Mr. ****** to his satisfaction. The reason Mr. ****** could not reach the dealership GM (general manager) was he was out of the office for several days. Other managers were willing to help, but he wanted to speak to the GM. As soon as the GM returned this issue was quickly resolved. We are very sorry this was initially handled in a way that Mr. ****** felt the need to file this complaint. We always try to completely satisfy our customers.

7/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Leased a NEW car with NEW tires as the service rep statedare DESIGNED to wear out quicker tha normal so that new tires have to be purchased. The follwoing is the snippets from the actual e-mail communication with the sales rep MAY 24th *, When we were in getting our oil changed this morningthe tech informed us that we were going to need new tires. He told us that we were down to about 10-15% of tread left on a couple of the tires. He then showed us a price of around $985.00 to replace the tires. I believe that was for the Kumho (5 year) 60,000 mile warranty tires. My wife and I immediately looked at each other-a little puzzledand asked; "well then WHY do we need tires NOW since we only have 30K miles on the car and have only owned it for 1 year 10 months" ? His reply is where we felt a little slighted. He said that in general, original tires on the car are the cheaper ones, made with softer rubber and that they are in fact only good for about 30,000 miles-that they wear out a lot faster. Needless to say that after a bit of processing-we grew more disappointed-and even a little upset. Truth be known, that information was never disclosed to us during the car buying process. I will tell you thishad it been discussed, I can almost guarantee that we would have opted for an upgrade on the tires to insure that we weren't spending $985.00 after a year and ten months for a complete set of tires. I guess our perception on a lease is that you should be able to get through the leasewithout having to change the tires. In fact, I would say that is what we expected. At this point, our perspective is a bit skewed. We're upset that we are even having to consider spending another thousand dollars on tires that we didn't think we'd have to. In addition, If through your research on our lease you come to the conclusion that we can trade in the car-let's say a year from now-why would I need to buy a 5 year 60,000 mile tire. *, please understand that my e-mail, (the disappointment part) is in no way directed towards you. You're just the poor guy that happen to be available for us to 'help' us with our next possible upgrade-should we decide to stay with Hyundai. As a side notewe have been loyal Hyundai car buyers and in fact, we have given Murdock Hyundai exclusivity to our business for the past 5 years. To go one furtherwe were planning on continuing up the chain with our next car because we absolutely love the service and the cars. JUNE 17th FROM ME *, Just wanted to reach out to you and let you know that I have not heard from your general manager. The only conclusions that I can surmise is that either; he is still on vacation or, I have slipped through the communication cracks. If the later is the case, I remain, and grow even more disappointed with Hyundai. Hyundai has had my business going on 5 years now and due to the recent circumstances and service worker disclosure of the tires on my car-the promises of communication and the lack thereofI am starting to have regrets on placing my business with Hyundai. Especially after learning from the mouth of the service tech about the original tires on the car. For your convenience, I have placed the original e-mail I sent to you on May 24 below that states that concern. Again, I appreciate it if you could get this to the attention of someone that is actually going to follow up with me-the customer and call me back. My tires are getting very bald and I am going to have to replace them very shortly here as it may start to become a safety issue on the road. I need to know if Hyundai is willing to discuss this with me or if they are not. If I do not hear from you by the end of this week, I will assume that Lindon Hyundai is either unable or unwilling to assuage my concerns. June 18th FROM THE REP *, I have been out of work for a couple of weeks with back surgery. I have not been in contact with the GM either. I am sorry for him not getting back to you. Again all I can do is apologize. Please do not hesitate to call down and ask for * or * * I LOVE HOW THE RESPONSIBILITY WAS PLACED BACK ON ME!

Desired Settlement: I'm not sure here...I definitely feel that I should have been notofied of this 'tire information' from the beginning and NOT hit with a $1,000.00 bill 1 year and ten months into the lease. I also think a review of their communication policy should be addressed. As far as a resoolution--at the very least, I think a full tire replacement should be in order.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/11) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *****,Executive Assistant Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@murdockhyundai.com The tires that come on most new cars are made of a softer material which give a smoother ride. This type of tire is, for the most part, the industry standard. These tires are supposed to last around 30,000 miles. The length of time you have had the tires is not relevant to how long they last, just the mileage. Therefore what has taken place is unfortunate, but within the norm of tire wear. However in a goodwill effort we have been in contact with Mr. ****** and offered to put $200 toward purchase of new tires for his car. The $985 tire price noted in Mr. ******* complaint is for higher end tires and lower cost options are available. As to Mr. ******* comments that the managers of our dealership have not returned his calls, our Floor Manager *** has spoken to Mr. ****** on several locations and our General Manager **** has also made attempts to contact Mr. ******, the first several were unsuccessful, but he has finally been in touch with Mr. ****** as well. I believe at this time, a conversation is taking place between Mr. ****** and our managers and ideally this issue will be amicably resolved. We are currently waiting to hear a response from Mr. ****** to our offer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My response is the same as it was in the initial complaint. The information regarding the tires was NEVER disclosed to us in the leasing process. In that we signed up for a (4) year leaseyou would think that someone would have said something about it. In fact, a conversation with *** he mentioned that he has brought thaqt up with his superiors because of the SAME EXACT thing that happened when his wife bought a car and he wasn't happy about it. I will say againhad it been discussed, I can almost guarantee that we would have opted for an upgrade on the tires to insure that we weren't spending $985.00 after a year and ten months for a complete set of NEW tires. I guess our perception on a lease is that you should be able to get through the leasewithout having to change the tires. In fact, I would say that is what we expected. Just for clarification on the communication. **** *** NEVER reached out to us as claimed in the resonse. In fact, the only communication was through the salesman and his e-mail. In fact the ONLY time this came to light again was when I went into the dealer and asked for a face to face with ***. He in fact told me that he had been given the message from the salesman and then failed to follow up with me. Since then we have had several conversations. I will be going in today to see if I can come to an amicavle agreement with them on the tires. Final Consumer Response /* (2530, 12, 2014/07/25) */ Yesterdaythrough direct communications with **** * @ ******* Hyundai the issue was resolved. I am completely happy with the outcome and 100% satisfied. At the end of the daythey came through and provided customer service up and beyond my expectations.

4/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The black after market grill is chipping, have been trying for over 30 days to get it replaced. Customer service from company terrible. Purchased a black Santa Fe with a black grill. The paint on this vehicle had many scratches, the dealership sent a contractor to my home to repair. The black after market grill, which the dealer painted themselves is now starting to chip. I contacted **** the new car manager, we scheduled an appointment for March 6 to have grill replaced with another black grill and to have the paint issues fixed. When I got there he wanted to put on a chrome grill, which I refused. **** stated he would find a black grill and call me, I never received a call, I called him and was told it would be here in 10 days, 12 days later after not hearing back I called **** and was told it would be her by April 1st and that they would call me to arrange installment. He could never confirm that it was ordered the first time. On April 3rd I called and spoke with ****** who was very rude on the phone. I was told the grill was here but they gave it to a contractor to install for me. I scheduled an appointment for the installation on April 7th. When the contractor came the grill fit, but there was installation issues, so the contractor did not want to be responsible for the installation. I have called the dealership to make other arrangements but they have not returned my calls. I would like to have a new grill and to have the paint looked at. I am very frustrated with the level of customer service from this company. They don't return phone calls or emails and are rude.

Desired Settlement: I would like a new black grill and if I cannot get a black grill that can be guaranteed I will take a chrome grill with a refund of the extra I was charged for the black grill. I would also like the paint job to be looked at and any paint issues address to my satisfaction.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/21) */ Contact Name and Title: *** *****/Executive Assistant Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@murdockhyundai.com We have been in contact with the customer repeated since this issue came up. We are sorry she feels we treated her in any thing less than a courteous and professional manner and if we did we sincerely apologize. At this time a new grill has been found and installed and the issue has been resolved to the satisfaction of both parties.

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased I certified used car that guarantees certain aspects about the car, including tire tread. Tire tread did not meet the minimum guarantee. On 10/12/2013 I purchased a certified Hyundai Sonata SE 2.0T VIN number ***************** from two sales representatives named **** ********* and *** ******* Along with purchasing a certified car from Hyundai they perform a 150 point inspection and guarantee that the car you are purchasing meets the inspection requirements. Among other requirements, a certified car must have 5/32" remaining tread depth on all 4 tires. On 12/19/2013 there was a snow storm and I proceeded to get my car stuck 3 separate occasions which led me to take my vehicle to the nearest tire store, ******** **** located **** * **** * **** ******, **** XXXXX, to see if my tires were the issue. Upon inspecting my vehicle's tires, the technician informed me that each of my four tires had less than 1/32" remaining tread depth and that I needed to replace all four tires. I questioned the technician because I had just purchased the vehicle 2 months prior and had only put 2,000 miles on the car. The technician replied to my complaint saying that, if I had only purchased the car 2 months prior, he highly doubted that my vehicle had enough tire tread to pass safety inspection let alone have 5/32" tread as mandated by Hyundai's standards. Because tread was so low, I purchased four new tires at the cost of $897.28. Upon making this purchase I contacted *** and **** at the Hyundai dealership via email informing them of my disappointment and requesting that I receive some compensation. *** responded via email saying that he wished I would have come to the dealership prior to buying new tires and maybe they could have done something for me. Because the dealership was not willing to compensate me, I also contacted Hyundai corporate via their online website and 5 weeks later am still awaiting any response. I recently found with my paperwork a copy of the 150 point inspection that was performed by Hyundai during my purchase. On this document there is a place to enter tire tread and mark that the tires meet the standards. On my paperwork, the written tire treads are scribbled out and the meets standards box is not checked. Based on the signature on this inspection, it appears that this inspection was done by a **** **** on 08/24/13. Because Hyundai has a guarantee associated with buying a certified used car that was not fulfilled as is apparent by my urgent need of new tires and the document that indicates the purchased car did not meet the minimum standards for tread depth I think Hyundai should be responsible for the full cost of replacing my tires.

Desired Settlement: I think that Murdock Hyundai should be responsible for the full cost of purchasing and installing of new tires, which, in this case is $897.28. I am not seeking any additional money for my time taken to replace the tires nor am I seeking additional compensation of any kind.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *** General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@murdockhyundai.com First we completely understand your frustration. No one wants to buy anything and have it have problems shortly after purchase. Due to the frustration that this causes to consumers and the stringent requirements placed upon us by the state of Utah and Hyundai Motor America, we have exact processes in place to do everything in our power to ensure that the cars meet all specifications and inspeciton requrements. In this case it is a definite possibility that we missed an inspection item. In order to verify this error we simply have the customer bring the defective part or parts back to us and allow us the opportunity to verify and correct the problem. In this case however, this opportunity was not afforded us. You took the car to some other repair facility. In fact a tire store. After telling them you thought your tires were the issue. They agreed with you and told you the tires were only 1/32". This was not surprising since they sell tires for a living. At this point I cannot understand why you didn't bring the car to us and show us that the tires were bad. Instead you opted to purchase New tires for 897.28. You did not seek my approval before purcahsing them. You simply purchased them of your own free will and accord. If you would have called for approval, I would have said no, bring the car down and lets verify the tire measurement. In addition, I would have told you that 897.28 is a mighty sum to pay for 4 tires on a Hyundai Sonata since I can get them at cost. But again you didn't call me. You didn't let me verify the problem. Instead you took the word of a tire salesman and thought you could just send me the bill. We just feel that you may have been upsold by discount tire. We do not believe that the tire was 1/32. We do a thorough inspection on every car, and especially on a Certified pre-owned car. Since you neglected to show us the supporting proof of the tires, I cannot in good faith pay for your tires. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I counter your claim that there was a "definite possibility that we missed an inspection item" and state that you did, in fact, miss an inspection item. Though you are correct, you were not given the opportunity to inspect the item, I do possess my original paper work, signed by your technician, that indicates the vehicle I purchased did not meet the minimum tire tread requirements. Again, in a perfect world it would have been fantastic to have had the option to bring the car to you or to call you up and talk about the tires, but the fact of the matter was that I found myself in the middle of a severe snow storm having run off the road 3 times and I didn't find it safe to get home, let alone drive from Salt Lake to Lindon, so I did what I felt was necessary to get the vehicle into a working and safe condition. I will not excuse and I will not apologize for putting my safety first in this situation, especially because my safety concerns are the result of the neglect of your dealership. At this point, I cannot understand what else you would have wanted me to do after running off the road 3 times, one of which times required me to be dug out by passing snow plows. I will not apologize that in this situation of frustration and concern for my life and ability to return home to my family that my first thought wasn't to drive 45 minutes to your dealership. Regardless of what you believe the tread on the tires to be at the time I purchased the new tires, the fact remains that my documentation, signed by your technician, supports my claim that the tires didn't meet the minimum tread requirements put forth by Hyundai at the time of purchase. My experience in the snow supports my claim that my tires did not have significant tread. My experience taking my car to the nearest tire store supports my claim that my tires did have significant tread. Regardless of whether or not you believe my story or believe the tire store, the fact remains that that my paper work still indicates that the car didn't meet the requirements at the time of purchase. Since being married, I have purchased 2 vehicles and I am happy to report that both of those vehicles were purchased from Murdock Hyundai. I have been a loyal customer to your establishment, despite there being several other dealerships closer to my home, because of the exceptional service I have received in the past. At this point you need to ask yourself if it is worth losing a loyal customer over a set of tires. Am I frustrated over this situation, absolutely, but I understand that mistakes happen and the true character of a business and a person comes out when you see what the establishment or person does when they make a mistake. In this case a mistake was made and if not owning up to that mistake is the character of this dealership and you as person then you can expect to never see me in your dealership again; however, if owning up to a mistake and making it right is the character of this business and you as a person then you will have won yourself a very loyal customer. Because I have paperwork from the time of sale signed by your technician that indicates my purchased vehicle did not meet the minimum requirements at the time of purchase, I cannot in good faith accept your response to my claim. I can understand your concern of paying full retail price for tires that your establishment could have got at wholesale pricing; however, should I, the consumer have to pay anything for your mistake? I don't think I should, but I would be willing to accept 2/3 the full retail cost that I paid for my tires ($600) in order to avoid the inconvenience of pursuing this matter further. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/03/12) */ I have reviewed the Documentation than you claim to have. It actually doesn't say anything about the tires failing. It does show that the tech accidentally wrote the brake measurements on the wrong line and then scribbled that out and wrote the brake measurements in the correct place. In the end if you wish to receive any reimbursement I would prefer you call me and set up an appointment for the two of us to meet together and figure out what is fair for both of us. **** *** XXX-XXX-XXXX *****@murdockhuyndai.com

3/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Air conditioner stopped working 2 months after buying car brand new I bought 2012 hyundai accent February 2012.we put $3000 down our sales rep was I believe *******. We went into the dealership within a week of buying it complaining about the mpg no one would help us, I also had my wife send several emails and no response to those. We have been fully mistreated and flat out lied to. The air conditioner stopped working april 2012. I moved to Colorado. I took the car to the dealership in Colorado and was told there was a hole in the unit under car that works with the air conditioner. They said it was not covered under warranty and we would have to pay $800 and some odd dollars. The air conditioner should not be so incredibly vulnerable to be able to be hit by a rock in the first place. We have had no air conditioner since we bought the car! We can not afford to fix it. Also our engine light has and often comes on. Also we are incredibly irrate that we were told our car would get 40 mpg and our car barely gets 20-25. We recently signed up to receive some money back for every certain amount of miles driven. But this doesn't come even close to what we are spending on gas. I've never spent so much on gas in my life. We only bought this car for the gas mileage. Engine light is on again. Our car accelerates on its own we already had an.engineer from ca, come out to ck on it and said there was nothing wrong with the car. We can hear ticking and rattling type noises everytime we drive it. It feels like this car was put together with all of the left over crap pieces sitting around in the warehouse. We hate this car. If something can go wrong ithas. Its brand new. We sshouldn't have all these problems.

Desired Settlement: I want to replace this car with a hyundai that actually does get the gas mileage we were promised. If not then we want any amd all issues fixed at no cost and get paid a whole lot more than we do for being lied to about the mpg. And or take thousands off the cost of this junker

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/07/16) */ It appears that Mr. *****'s main complaint is the gas mileage of his 2012 Accent. The erroneous gas milage projections are something that Hyundai Motor America acknowledges and have made accommodations for. As noted in Mr. *****'s complaint, he is receiving and will continue to receive financial compensation from Hyundai Motors due to the erroneous mileage claim. Mr. ***** states he is getting 20-25 mpg,according to the fuel economy tests done by the EPA (not Hyundai) he should be getting 31-32 mpg combined city and highway driving. I belive those are the numbers Hyundai is using to compensate for their earlier incorrect milage claims. http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/bymodel/2012_Hyundai_Accent.shtml As to his air conditioner problem, we as a dealer can in no way control what debris is encountered by a driver and how it affects the car. A rock in an air conditioning unit is not a common occurrence but not unheard of. One of our employees just had to have her air conditioning unit replaced due to it being hit by a rock and it is not a Hyundai. Although we are very sorry for Mr. *****'s situation, I am not sure what we can do to help. If he is in a position to drive the car to Salt Lake City, we would be happy to take it on trade and to try and get him in another car that he would be more satisfied with. According to the consumer rating for the Accent model Mr. ***** purchased, his experience with so many issues is very uncommon. Again, we are very sorry for his dissatisfaction with the Hyundai product. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 6, 2013/06/12) */ This car was bought brand new! I bought it in February of 2012, it is a 2012 . There were 10 miles on the car. This is an issue of a brand new car,we didn't buy it used.

5/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/11/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues