Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mike Hale Acura

Phone: (801) 263-0202 Fax: (801) 262-0580 View Additional Phone Numbers 5601 S State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84107 http://www.mikehaleacura.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mike Hale Acura meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mike Hale Acura include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike Hale Acura
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1985 in UT Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 12/12/1985 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Hale, President Ms. Nita Tuitupou, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Hale, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Nita Tuitupou, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Hale Ltd Inc

Additional Locations

  • 5601 S State St

    Salt Lake City, UT 84107 (801) 263-0202 (888) 601-1906 (888) 587-4503 (888) 601-9034

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/31/2015 I brought my vehicle in for repair to replace rear struts. During drop off I advised the service personnel to take extra caution to the custom aftermarket stereo system that has been installed in the trunk. The service personnel advised me that he would take care of it. Upon pick up there was damage to the sub-woofer, specifically a dent. I immediately advised the service personnel of the damage and he brought out the technician that worked on the vehicle, he claimed he did not do it, gave me several scenarios on what and how it happened, after an hour of this I was able to speak to the service manager. He advised me to get an estimate for repair and we would go from there. On 1/5/2016 an estimate was provided to the service manager via fax from Sound Warehouse where the custom work was completed. On 1/6/2016 I received a call from the service manager and he advised me that he spoke with his general manager and they decided that they did not do the damage and are not going to do anything to repair the damage. The reason I was given is the technician has been with them for 15 years and he denies doing the damage and when damage to a vehicle is done that they are to come fourth with no repercussion. This is the second time I’ve taken my vehicle to Mike Hale Acura and damage has been sustained to my vehicle from their service department. The first time I had to bring it to their attention, the technician did not bring it to the service managers attention. I am very displeased with the service from this dealership and wish to have the damage they have caused repaired immediately.

Desired Settlement: I want compensation for the damage and time taken to repair the damage the service department has caused.

Business Response: Thank you for contacting me concerning this complaint.  I apologize for the delay in responding, BBB emails were not coming through the dealership's system.  I have read the complaint and investigated on our end.  Mr. ***** brought his 2004 Acura TL into our service department with a request to check the suspension.  It is our understanding that he had been at other shops trying to find the cause of the noise. He had previously been to a different shop who put aftermarket rear struts on.  Mr. ***** had us remove these and replace them with factory rear struts.  We also had his driver seat touched up by a vendor on our lot.  I have attached pictures which show that the seat back is flat with no protruding parts and the eat is only folded forward.  The speaker has a base ring that sticks out and the damage is to the cone of the speaker that is protected.  Also from the pictures the speakers is in the center and the struts are on the outside.  The technician that worked on Mr. *****'s vehicle is our master technician and we have the utmost faith that he would not damage a part of a vehicle or an accessory that has nothing to do with the area of the vehicle that he is working on.  If he did he would immediately bring it to our attention, which is our policy.  He has worked at Mike Hale Acura for 15 years with no issues.  The damage could have been caused by the other shop who worked on the vehicle, we honestly have no way of knowing.  My Service Manager asked for an estimate thinking that it would be a minor repair and would be worth a few dollars to keep the client happy as a courtesy.  Instead he was called with an estimate of over $1000.  Mike Hale Acura has a track record of admitting fault when we do something wrong or make a mistake; in this case it simply is not something that happened while our technician was working on the vehicle. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mike Hale Acura
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)