This business is not BBB accredited.

Mark Miller Toyota

Phone: (801) 364-2100 Fax: (801) 363-7488 View Additional Phone Numbers 730 S West Temple, Salt Lake City, UT 84101 http://www.markmiller.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mark Miller Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Mark Miller Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 26, 1999 Business started: 04/12/1990 Business started locally: 04/12/1990 Business incorporated 03/07/1990 in UT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bill Niemann, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bill Niemann, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Mark Miller Holdings LLC
Products & Services

This company offers new and used vehicle sales, service, and parts.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mark Miller Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    730 S West Temple

    Salt Lake City, UT 84101 (801) 364-2100 (801) 328-2400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/17/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had driven from my home town in Colorado to Salt Lake City, Utah in hopes of purchasing a 2001 Jeep Cherokee I had noticed was posted online. The dealership claimed to have a carfax report, and all accurate service records of the vehicle. Upon arriving at the dealership I took the car for a test drive to the local mechanic shop to have them perform a general safety inspection. The mechanic gave me a list of issues with the car including a leaky gasket seal, a cracked air compressor, and very old and worn brakes, rotars, and tires. On the interior, the headliner was ripped and falling down and there was significant rust on the seat brackets. All this being known, I went back to the dealer hoping to negotiate on price. After arguing back and forth with the sales representative, he brought out a piece of paper explaining their price for the vehicle and why. Completely stock the market price for a 2001 Jeep Cherokee sport was around $5,400. The dealership was asking $8,600 (a higher price than had been advertised on the dealership's website). This increase in price was determined by added features that the vehicle supposedly came with, including a winch, a plow kit, larger than stock 25 inch tires... And other features that were not included with the purchase of the vehicle. So, not only was I being up charged for features that were not included... I was also denied a lower price in regard to the obvious issues that had been discovered by the mechanic. After more negotiations, we settled on $7,775 for the jeep. I then proceeded to drive the vehicle home to Colorado and have it inspected by my mechanic of choice. He believed that the vehicle may have at one point been exposed to intense water damage, perhaps even in a flood. There was no mention of this in the records the dealership provided. I had the jeep working for only two weeks. Two weeks after the purchase date whilst driving on i70, the engine had exploded. Prior to making this drive I had checked all of the fluids, including the engine oil, and checked the tires to make sure the car was in travel worthy condition. During the time that the car broke down, I discovered that a near 2 inch hole had blown through the engine block. After calling the dealership and reporting that the car I purchased from them had blown up, they told me that they did not offer a warranty on used cars and there was nothing they could do. I'm filing a complaint because I purchased a car I had been lead to believe was in safe, working condition, and after having a serious problem with it, I was told there's nothing they could do. I don't believe that an ethical business would a) claim to have total and complete records of a vehicle's history when they clearly did not b) raise the price and charge for add ons and features that are not included in the sale and c) not provide even a 30 day warranty on a vehicle that could have potentially dangerous issues, such as the engine blowing up. I am hoping that by filing a complaint, I help someone in the future from making a very risky transaction.

Desired Settlement: I think that at this point, the dealership should at least cover the charge of replacing the engine in the jeep they sold me. I also think that they should offer at least some sort of warranty on the vehicles they sell, even if they are used cars.

Business Response:

Ms. *****,

We apologize for the stress and frustration that your purchase has caused. Mark Miller Toyota recognizes its responsibility to customers and continually strives to do the right thing.  In good faith MMT has provided a one time consideration of $****. The consideration is intended to offset the loss of the engine within two weeks of purchase. The vehicles failure was not predictable, it performed from Salt Lake City to Eagle Colorado and for two weeks thereafter.  The Car Fax does not show any flood damage.

Again we  sincerely apologize for the unfortunate experience, buying a car should be fun. I hope our support solves the immediate issue and the vehicle meets your future needs.


With Respect,


Bill N******

General Manager

Mark Miller Toyota

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
I also want the business to know that I am very thankful for their part in resolving this issue. 
Sincerely,

******** *****

5/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 7th, I was looking on KSL for a Toyota Prius. I found one for sale by Mark Miller Toyota for a good price at $19,110. I took a screen shot of the advertisement to make sure I remembered the details. The next day, on April 8th, I called to see if the car was still available. It was, so I came in for a test drive. After a test drive, I decided I was serious about the purchase, and I asked for my "out the door" cost. They brought me a paper with much higher sales price of $22,513. I was confused, and asked why the price was different. I showed them the screen shot I took less than 24 hours earlier. They "looked into it" and found that it was a mistake they had made selecting the correct model Prius. It was posted for a day at the lower price. I asked how close they could get to the advertised price that brought me to their dealership. The manager came over and said that all he could do is apologize and maybe take off a few hundred dollars. I would have never invested my time if they had listed the correct price. The $3,400 difference is a drop in the bucket for a huge dealership. It is a huge difference for a consumer. I feel mislead and as though this may be a common practice to draw people in, and get a few thousand dollars from them.

Desired Settlement: I'd like: 1) To receive the price they advertised of $19,110 on the 2013 Prius Five 2) BBB to look into similar complaints to ensure this isn't happening on a regular basis to other potential customers.

Business Response:

Ms.. ******,

Please accept my apology for the frustration we have caused, I am sorry that we caused you to  invest time based on incorrect information.  We researched and identified the data process error and have added redundancy to the process to avoid future occurrences. The incorrect information was posted for a very short time and identified internally prior to any customer interactions. We are intensely committed to customer satisfaction and am confident you will not find any pattern of inappropriate sales practices with the BBB or other review sources.

Our Best offer on stock # ******** is $***** plus fee's. The price is significantly discounted  because of our error and an exceptional values for the Prius Package Five.

Again I am sorry for the stress we have caused and hope you will forgive our unintentional error.

With Respect,

**** *******

General Manager

Mark Miller Toyota

*** *** ****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am not interested in negotiating on the price.  The advertised price is what brought me to your lot, and should be honored.  If the incorrect price was listed and you identified it was incorrect, you should be informing customers that call of the correct price upfront.  

I will not ever purchase a vehicle from you and would like to see a formal investigation on your company for using bait and switch tactics with your potential customers. 
Sincerely,

****** ******

2/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mark Miller Toyota Service Advisor informed me that rear shock absorbers needed to be replaced, and that this was directly related to a safety recall. 4.16.2014. Service Advisor: Mr. *******

Desired Settlement: A refund in the amount of $273.52, plus applicable Utah sales tax.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@markmiller.com Mr. ********, BBB, We take all customer concerns very seriously. I am sorry that our customer relations manager frustrated Mr. ******** and prevented him from communicating his concerns. Our customer relations manager alerted me to his frustrations. I asked our service manager ***** ******** to contact Mr. ******** due to the technical nature of his concerns. He attempted to reach Mr. ******** by phone and email. I am sorry we have not have a chance to discuss the concerns with Mr. ********. Our records reflect the following events: 1. June 14, 2013 Mr. ******** Rav4 was brought in for maintenance, inspection of the brakes and to perform C0J recall of the rear lower suspension arm No 1. *******'s Rav4 only needed the inspection and the application of the label due to his Lower Suspension Arm No 1 did not meet the criteria other than to apply the label. At this visit it was recommended that brakes be replaced in the future and that there was a leaking right rear shock absorber (not related to the recall). Work was advised but not performed on brakes or leaking shock. Repair Order XXXXXXX. 2. April 16, 2014 Mr. ******** Rav4 was brought in to perform a new Limited Service Campaign (LSC) for brake stop technology and updated recall CSJ for the lower suspension arm No 1 repair. Additionally an oil change, brakes and the shock (recommended last time) was to be replaced. The pricing was listed on repair order XXXXXXX in June of 2013. Work was performed April 2014 Repair order XXXXXXX as explained to **** ********. Service Adviser ***** ****** explained to **** ******** during April 2014 visit the shock was leaking and would affect the suspension and the alignment of the vehicle. ***** did not have any concerns expressed to him about the recommended purchase. ***** did not imply or tie any of the repairs needed to any of the LSJ or recall that was being performed at no charge. The bill was paid uncontested and the repair order closed. The leaking shock is not related to any recall. Based on the current information, we will not provide a refund for any of the described repairs. I understand how Mr. ********'s could consider the two issues related or that ***** ****** was misunderstood when he described the various repairs. There is technical information we would be happy to share with Mr. ******** in an attempt to restore our credibility. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss his concerns. Respectfully, **** ******* General Manager Mark Miller Toyota XXX XXX XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mark Miller advertised $376 a month for a lease payment with $1000 down on a 2014 Toyota Tacoma which was inaccurate. Mark Miller Toyota advertised a new 2014 Toyota Tacoma 4WD Double Cab 6 cyl automatic truck for $376 a month lease payment with $1000 down and $0 security deposit. Price included tax, title, and license and dealer doc fee $289.95. We went to trade in our current vehicle and lease a new tacoma for the above mentioned deal except we were willing to put down $2000 instead of the $1000 needed. We were told that we would receive $4000 for our trade in (we owed $5700) and with our down payment we would pay $538 a month. We were confused by the difference in payment and were told that it was because the MSRP's weren't the same (there was a $200 difference). We were told if we wanted a different color that we could get it for the $376 advertised price. After looking at the other color we decided to purchase it. We then found out that it was manual instead of the advertised automatic and no longer wished to purchase it. After trying to leave, the sales person followed us and stated they had found another tacoma and we started negotiations again. This tacoma was $780 above the advertised MSRP and the sales person was willing to pay us $5000 on our trade in leaving $700 owed and the difference on the MSRP totalling $1480. We then decided to offer $3000 as a down payment ($3000 minus $1480 leaving $1520 for $1000 down payment as advertised and an additional $520). The sales man came back and stated that with this deal our monthly payment would be $428. Confused again by the payment difference, the sales person then went and got a second sales person to try to explain. After doing the math, both sales men were also confused about the difference and went to manager to explain. The manager didn't even do the math but stated ad was inaccurate and would not honor advertised price. We were at the dealership for over 2 hours and felt like they were treating us like we didn't know what we were talking about. We left the dealership angry and confused and we feel that they offered false advertisement and should have to honor the advertised price, inaccurate or not.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to honor their advertised price and lease us the advertised tacoma (2014 4WD Double Cab 6 cyl automatic) for $376 a month with $1000 down. We are willing to pay the difference on the MSRP and $700 difference on our trade in as agreed upon at the dealership. We will bring in the ad for proof if needed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/16) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@markmiller.com Mark Miller Toyota had an ad for a special lease payment on a specific Tacoma displayed on our website. Regrettably, there were some mistakes in the ad that made it difficult to honor the advertised special. We removed the ad right away to avoid any further confusion. When our customer came in, he picked a different Tacoma than the one that was in the ad, which made the situation even more challenging. In an effort to clarify what happened, we tried to work with the customer, and even offered to honor the ad payment on the truck he picked. Unfortunately, the customer refused. We're very sorry that we couldn't satisfy this customer. We sincerely apologize for the mistakes on our part, and the frustrations that came because of it. We hope Mr. **** will accept our apology and forgive our mistakes. It is our #1 goal to have 100% satisfied customers, and we are sorry that we let anyone down. With Respect, **** ******* General Manager Mark Miller Toyota


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Mark Miller Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart