BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Utah

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/07/2011

Ken Garff

Phone: (801) 257-3400Fax: (801) 257-3460

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

83 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues29
Billing / Collection Issues4
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service46
Total Closed Complaints83

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (83)BBB Closure Definitions
01/07/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: Remote start failed shortly after being installed.
Remote starter (RS) failed shortly there after being installed on my vehicle. Every time I went to use the RS vehicle would not start, but accessories would turn on. Recently somehow I ripped off the upper driver side trim handle when getting in the vehicle. When this happend I could see the antenna to my RS was screwed into the bracket for the trim handle.

I took my vehicle to Ken Garff to have them look at it (2 days) and they said that indeed was installed incorrecly and where to order the new parts in.

No word for 2-3 weeks and I call them, I get a answer from the CS Rep and she couldn't find any info and said she would call me back. One week later and I still havent heard from them.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** ***************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@kengarff.com
We here at Ken Garff Ford take our customer satisfaction very seriously. We apologize for the issues you have described. The service manager here at Ken Garff Ford has been in contact with Mr. ****** and come to an equitable solution to the problem. If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact me personally. **** ***** General Manager

01/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: On 9/12/13 I was in Ken Garff to check a simple light on in my car (check engine). After the test they told me than the reason why I had a light in my van it was a sensor (map sensor) they affer me to replace it. And I was agree because finally the light can be out! I wait 2 hours after the conversation with the mechanic, when he came back saying my van didn't work because there were a problem or something happened with the wiring harness. I was on shack because I drove the car over there and now they did something wrong and they broke my van. I didn't complain I refuse to pay the extra charge to fix the van. It was my fault. I called my insurance they towed my van to my house. A weeks later I went to Larry Miller dodge in Sandy trying to see why the Ken Garf did with my van (second opinion) they found that the wiring harness trying to put the new sensor then he bomed the pcm in the van. Larry Miller offer me to fix it for more than $1000. No way! I didn't. I towing the van to my hoose ogoing then I called Ken Garf again I explain them what Larry Miller found. then they decided to try to fix the problem and fix it. They towing the van again to Ken Garf and 2 days later they tole me they can't fix it. They offered 2 things: ! leave the van as a down payment to buy another car and 2. fix it but the cost it more than $1000 and they were paying $100 or $200 for the repair cost. I refuse it. Then I pushed then to bring it back my van to my house (they didn't want il) and now now car! I want from them my van fix it. They have to pay all the repair cost. No me. at wasn't my fault!

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@kengarff.com
To ***** ******
I have taken a look at the history of your vehicle with our service department. And reviewed both of your visits including the pictures we took of the damaged wiring harness and the used wiring harness yo installed after your first visit with us. I can see the difficulty in the situation. Either the melted wiring harness or the installation of the used one very well could have caused the computer to fail. It is the nature of older vehicles with higher miles to have these kinds of ongoing issues and that is why our service manager recommends that you seriously consider replacement instead of repair. If you would prefer to repair the vehicle, I will offer you a $250 credit to the cost of the repairs. I have been told by the service department that they can replace the computer for 970.50 plus tax and shop supplies but they have cautioned me that there is no guarantee that replacing the computer will get the vehicle on the road. The used wiring harness may be faulty and may even have caused the computer to fail so there is a risk to consider in replacing the computer. If you decide to repair the vehicle, our recommendation would be to install new wiring harness and the computer.
We appreciate your business. We will do everything we can to maintain your trust in us. Please feel free to call me at any time.
***** ******
Ken Garff West Valley Chrysler Jeep Dodge


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I'm agree with the offer: (The current market value of your van is less than $1000.00 but we will give that plus the $250.00 credit towards a another vehicle if you choose replacement). I will contact the Sales manager to make an appointment.And clarify all the details of the offer

Final Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Sales Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@kengarff.com
We would very much like to assist you in resolving this problem. This is why we have offered you a $250.00 credit. This is gesture of good will because we do want to help you.
We do not accept responsibility for the failure of the any component in your vehicle. Our records indicate that we did talk to you about the burnt harness. We even took pictures of it and showed them to you. we recommended replacement over repair.
Again, if you are going to choose to repair, our recommendation as professionally trained technicians, is to replace both the used harness installed after your visit with us and the computer which is now inoperable. You can try to repair only the computer but this is very risky.
Once again we would advise you to consider replacement. Your vehicle has significant body damage and the engine has been seriously overheated. The significant mileage on the vehicle we feel is also a serious concern. This model is capable of being dependable at 189,000 miles if it has been well cared for and maintained. Unfortunately, this is not the case with your vehicle. We are certain that even if you did make the significant investment to repair it, you still have an unreliable car and would very soon be making additional high value repairs. The current market value of your van is less than $1000.00 but we will give that plus the $250.00 credit towards a another vehicle if you choose replacement. You can also apply the money to the repair of this vehicle or another on you have. We very much appreciate our neighbors and customers and wish to assist in any way we can. Thanks Again ***** ****** *****@kengarff.com XXX-XXX-XXXX

01/02/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Ken Garff Nissan sold me a car and did not disclose the condition of the vehicle to me.
Ken Garff Nissan sold me a used car and did not disclose it had previously been in a wreck. On Nov 15, 2013, I put a deposit of $500 on a 2008 Subaru Legacy Spec.B to purchase for $16,750. At first, I dealt with ******* and then ***** ******* became my sales person. ******* sent me pictures of the engine from the wrong car. I specifically asked ***** ******* if the clutch was stiff and the exhaust loud and he assured the clutch was soft and the car was not loud. I flew out to Utah on Nov 23, 2013 to see the car and complete the purchase and finance steps. When I arrived, the car was being worked on by the dealership's garage the salesman ***** told me that they were putting on new brake pads and brake rotors. Hence, they would not allow me to test drive the car before purchase. I was told to complete the purchase and finance documentation signing steps. Once completed, 3 hours later, the Subaru Legacy was ready for me. I drove the car 7 miles on the freeway and turned around to return it to the dealership. The car's headlight didn't work, the interior lights were all burned out, and the car shuddered greatly in 4th and 5th gear while under full throttle on the freeway and the car had many aftermarket parts that made it impossible to drive (such as an extremely stiff racing clutch). ***** ******* later disclosed that the clutch is new and the engine is rebuilt. All of this information was not disclosed to me before I signed the paperwork or made the deposit on the vehicle. To resolve my issue, another sales person by the name of **** suggested other used cars on the lot or fixing the Subaru. I test drove 3 of their cars and I decided to buy their 2011 Mazdaspeed 3 car, which they told me they just got in and it wasn't registered in their inventory yet. I saw the car had the low pressure tire warning light on and asked about that. ***** ******* told me one of the tires needed air and it will be fine after that. I also asked the condition of the car if it had any accidents or body work and they told me no. I told them I need to have a reliable car because I will be driving it home from Utah to California, which is 800 miles away. While driving to California, the rear tire blew out at 80 mph on the freeway. I took it to the tire shop and they said it was from low tire pressure from a leak. I have called and left messages for ***** ******* and ***** asking the dealership numerous times to reimburse me for the tire which was already damaged and leaking before I purchased it and they have refused to return my phone calls, I only received 1 email message stating they will look into it for me. I ran a CARFAX report and found the car had been in a collision accident and repaired. This was never disclosed to me at any time and it was completely false from the answer they gave me at the dealership. This is misleading and false information under contract and therefore the purchase contract for this vehicle is void. The dealership needs to take back the 2011 Mazdaspeed 3 car and reimburse me the full amount of the vehicle plus expenses.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@kengarff.com
We are aware of the customers complaint, he has been in contact with a couple of people from the dealership including his sales person and our Owner Loyalty Manager, ****.
At this point, we have offered to reimburse the customer for the tire that he had to replace on his way home, the customer has not yet submitted his receipt for reimbursement. We have let him know that we can't unwind the deal as the loan has already been processed. We have offered to trade the customer into a different vehicle if he finds something suitable in our inventory. Both the customer and **** are monitoring the inventory to try and find a car, this is ongoing.
As the customer stated, when he purchased this vehicle, it had very recently come to us from a different dealership. The fact that there was no disclosure of the previous accident was not an attempt to hide the accident, it was simply the fact that with it being such a new car to us, the history was not known.
We look forward to continuing to work with the customer to resolve this issue.

12/18/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Invalid or false contract

Complaint: The dealership had me sign a contract but they told me I had to sign a different contract. they didn't get me approved for the first contract.
I am a first time buyer. I went in and they went over what they could do for me. They told me the price and interest rate was locked in and approved. i went home with the car and got a call from them a few days later. They told me to come in and talk. I went in and they said we had to change the contract. I told them I didn't want the car then. they told me i had to keep the car. now the car is going to cost 1000 dollars more. I am going to have a lot higher interest rate. they were very shady and they lied. they were very mean when i went back the second time. people said they shouldn't be able to do that because it is yo-yo financing. I hope this doesn't happen to anybody else. now I have a monthly payment that is hard to make.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** - General Sales Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@KENGARFF.COM
At Ken Garff we strive to obtain the best financing options available for our customers. When Mr. ******* was here the day of his purchase we agreed to arrange financing for him on his new vehicle. Both parties agreed to a spread that can be found on the Motor Vehicle Contract of Sale in the section titled "Seller Agrees to Seek Arrangements for Financing."

Unfortuanatly, he wasn't approved for the rate that we were hoping for, but he was approved for a payment and rate that was on the low end of the agreed upon spread.

To help offset some of the small rise in payment we lowered the sales price of the vehicle in good faith.

It is very important to us here to maintain our good standing with the public. We understand that our future depends on happy customers. So I invite ******* to call me and see if we can work something out that will make his experience better.

***** ******

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This was never explained to me "the spread". They promised the rate that was on the agreement. This is not how you take care of customers. Now I have a payment that is to high because they cheated me. I think i should get a lawyer.

12/04/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: Service dept was very rude to my fiancé, they lost or misplaced my paper work and didn't pay off my trade in timely. Car has been maint. nightmare
Around or on August 10th we traded in a 2010 VW Jetta TDI for a used 2009 Nissan Murano. We loved our jetta but needed something more accommodating for our child and a smaller monthly payment. It was hard to trade in a vehicle we bought brand new for something with MANY more miles, but the sales staff assure us that it was a GEM and aesthetically was in great condition. I obtained a car fax report online which displayed some interesting maintenance issues which were repaired under warranty by previous owner(head gasket at 15k miles etc), but since nothing major was reported for quite a while and no repeated issues on the report, along with the fact I was buying from what I believed to be a reputable dealer I decided I would take the leap and make the purchase and chalked it off as a fluke. We noticed what seemed to be a wheel imbalance or an oscillating vibration when braking from a high speed and issues with the heated seats(didn't work). They told us that since we had "talked them down in price so much" they may not be able to fully diagnose the issues and only committed to repair the problems " to a certain extent" which was written in a "we owe" agreement or similar vernacular. When my fiance took the vehicle in a few days later, the service staff was very rude and seemed reluctant to do anything to it. I would also liked to add that after hours whiles we were still in the finance off, they had written " balance tires" instead of addressing the vibration so they alleviate any responsibility to do anything else other than balance the tires and of course check the heated seats. Anyhow, when I asked to change the terminology, no one was there to apparently edit that and approve it so I said " to **** with it" and decided to move forward since my mom was at home watching at daughter and it was getting late. After the service was completed we were told that they balance the tires and checked the heated seats and apparently were working "great." This was extremely upsetting but we aren't rich so we put it to rest. Being the research junkie that I am, I decided I would try to replace the fuses. Go figure that appears to have worked. In other words they couldn't spare a few dollars to replace the fuses to see if that fixed the problem. I'm willing to bet they didn't even check it. About 3 days later the car failed to start: it was so dead that even after jumping starting and driving for about an hour, it wouldn't hold a charge. It was extremely hot out side, I had a fussy baby and I was late for work but once again I chalked this up to bad luck. My next step was to get some fluid changes because it's such a cheap and vital part of vehicle maintenance. We took it to Ken Garff Nissan in Riverdale which is closer to our home. We had purchased a pack of oil changes and tire rotations so we decided to use one of the oil changes, check/change transmission fluid and other fluids as well. Before we bought the vehicle I asked for an invoice report that would list details of maint. and services they had done before selling the vehicle. He claimed it was " line ready" and had received it from a sister dealership in California so they didn't even change the oil. Apparently the transmission fluid was way overdue according the the Nissan Tech that changed it, as well at the differential fluids. That was a 4-500 service when that was all said and done. We told them we hadn't made a payment on our trade in because we had been vehicle searching and in financial hard ship....over ten days had gone by and they hadn't even processed paper work. The finance manager told me he was glad I called because he had lost my paper work or misplaced. We got a 30 day late payment from VW credit and needed new pay off amt. We requested a letter to be sent to VW stating they had vehicle and was their error in not paying. They provided insufficient info to VW several times w/o any letter head ....two or threee times in a row.Few more issues

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** General Sales Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@kengarff.com
We have offered Mr. ******* a free diagnosis of his vehicle and send our sincere apologies for the problems that have occurred on the vehicle. We send all of our vehicles through a 150 point inspection and have complete faith in our inspection process. I can assure you that there was no check engine light on when we completed the Emissions test as the state emission computers will not allow a vehicle to pass with any pending "Codes" that would cause the check engine light to come on. It is fairly common for higher miles vehicle to accrue some additional expense to keep them on the road. With all of this being said we would like to offer our assistance in repairing your vehicle. It is hard to commit to exactly what we can and cannot do without having our shop diagnose the vehicle. We would like to set up a time for Mr. ******* to bring his vehicle in to our service department so that our technician can assess the situation.

Regarding the payoff of the Volkswagen Credit Loan. I am sorry to hear about the 30 day late payment reporting on your credit. In reviewing all of the information that i have it looks to me like the payoff was sent within the legal time frame allowed by the state of Utah. We understand that there were some financial hardship at the time of purchase and to my understanding the payment may have already been late. Our contract clearly states that if there is a payment due within the next 10 days it is your responsibility. With this being said i have a hard time believing 30 day late payment could be our responsibility. We actually even contacted Volkswagen Credit and explained the situation to them via phone as well as wrote a letter that we forwarded to Volkswagen Credit and Mr. *******.

I understand that there were other areas that we may have fell short on our customer service and for this we sincerely apologize! It is unfortunate that your buying experience was less that exceptional and we would love to discuss things further over the phone if you would like. I hope I have addressed all of your concerns, if there is anything that we can do to help please don't hesitate to call or email.

Page 1 of 16
09/30/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 2011 Dodge Grand Caravan in July 2012 from Ken Garff. At the time, I feel I was pressured into the vehicle and my contract was padded with optional fees that I was not advised were optional. I also left the dealership, before going a mile my fuel light came on, they left me with a totally empty tank. I've had to take my vehicle in a couple of times for small issues to be repaired, and had to deal with the shuttle driver, who was very rude. Because of all this, I am not happy in dealing with this dealship for any reason. I keep getting phone calls, emails and mailings advertising, wishing me happy birthday, and happy anniversary, items like that. I have requested many times, by mail, email and phone, NOT to contact me, but they keep right on calling etc. Beings they don't seem to want to listen to my requests, I've chosen to take this route.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@kengarff.com
We have removed all of your information from our system at all Ken Garff locations. We have removed it from our Customer follow up system as well. We are very sorry to hear you have had a bad exerience with our group and would like to make amends if possible. Plese feel free to call and ask for me personally if you wish. My name is ***** ****** and I am the Sales Manager. I would like to fill your tank at the very least.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Whenever I've contacted them in the past with this issue, They've made the same promises, that my name has been removed, and I will not be contacted. Then turned around and contacted me. I will accept their response THIS TIME, but if they don't hold up to their promise, I will reopen.

Consumer Response
i filed a complaint a couple of months ago., regarding Ken Garff continually contacting me despite requests to stop. The business responded, and I closed the complaint as settled. However they are now back to contacting me, and I would like to either reopen the original complaint or start a new one. Which do I need to do. Unfortunately i no longer have my old case number.

Thank you
*** ** ***** vs. Ken Garff West Valley.


Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@kengarff.com
Hello ***, My name is ***** ******* I am a manager her at Ken Garff. West Valley Chrysler Jeep Dodge. I have reviewed our files and cannot see where we have contacted you since May. I am going to contact all of our Customer Satisfaction providers and make sure they have you on their no contact lists as well. I am very sorry about the calls you are getting. Our staff moved your file to a no contact status at your request on 5-28-2013. I have requested a company wide review of all of our dealers to make sure we are not contacting you. If you have any problems i the future please call my direct line XXX-XXX-XXXX... I hope we can finally get this resolved for you.


Consumer Response
After my original complaint, Ken Garff responded stating they'd taken all my contact information out of their sytem and guaranteed I would not be contacted again. I closed my complaint based on this information. However on the 25th of September, I received another email from them regarding my van. In other words, they've lied. I would like to reopen my complaint, as obviously Ken Garff can not be trusted to stand by their answers. I would never recommend doing business with Ken Garff.


Consumer Response
After my original complaint, Ken Garff responded stating they'd taken all my contact information out of their sytem and guaranteed I would not be contacted again. I closed my complaint based on this information. However on the 25th of September, I received another email from them regarding my van. In other words, they've lied. I would like to reopen my complaint, as obviously Ken Garff can not be trusted to stand by their answers. I would never recommend doing business with Ken Garff.


Business Response
***, I responded to an email that you forwarded to me. I see that the email you received from us was indeed from another Garff entity that was reminding you about you maintenance plan. I offered some concessions and solutions for you there. Looking forward to getting this issue resolved for you. I am sometimes hard to find but I do reply to all my email and texts. Thanks *****

09/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Dealer faild to install an updated bt device; leaving me as a customer dealing with a third party company that want to charge me up to 1200/service
I need to contact you at this time, regarding an issue that I do not know how to deal with as a result of the purchase of my lasted car.
About two month ago I bought a 2008 Volvo c70 at Ken Garff Volvo, here in salt lake City downtown.
The car had or has some issues that within time were fixed, but one. At the time of the contract the dealer agree at my request, in providing a blue tooth device installed in a few days. After two or three weeks I received a call to schedule the installation of the device.

At this point I would like to mention that I own a portable blue tooth device that is at least six years old; performs just fine and does all the functions I commonly use from my phone while driving; the only "problem" I have with this device is the battery; as any four years or older device the power that it battery supplies does not last more than a minute and it needs to be plugged in permanently to the cigarette lighter. For that reason I considered opportune to request the installation of a dedicated permanent device in this car at no extra cost.
Once the installation was completed I found that the its control falls in the ignition key's way, but I agree in rescheduling another time to move it to another location; later that night I started the process of pairing the device with the phone etc. The first thing that called my attention was the sound of the voice recognition; it feels like an old computer voice generated type of sound. Second the lack of regular control keys, (volume, pause, etc). Since this particular device has a knob in the middle and a screen I thought it may have a menu where all other functions would be available. Next day I committed myself to learn all the features of this new device, when I found that there is no useful functions available on it; I would not even be able use the navigation feature on my phone through it. It would recognize the command. open this function play music navigate to, but the response was played through the phone speaker, (which is usually in my bag pack) instead of the car speakers.
I contact the manufacturer regarding my finds; they told me that the particular device does not provide audio streaming....
Here is where my ordeal starts contacting the dealer whom recommend me to deal with the installer, and after three more weeks of negotiations, the installer offered me to install a device, or custom device with and extra expense of up to $1200, because there are no devices that effectively match the car specifications, (according to them). And or the quality of the sound would not be enjoyable.
In the mean time I did my own research and found that that the same company that manufactures the device installed in my car, (PARROT CK3100LCD), also produce the (PARROT MKi9100) and (PARROT MKi 9200) which, according to the website are compatible with Volvo C70 cars. And one of the most important facts; the difference in price between the device installed and the one that has the functions I need is only $10. ($80 to the most sophisticated one).
One of the reasons I bought this car is because my old Volvo required an extra $1500 every four month for the last two years and I though that a newer car would not be as problematic as this one was, but the facts are proving me wrong. According to the dealer I cannot return the car, regardless that the device is obsolete or off dated; and I know that I cannot spend more money on a already high monthly car payment

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ****** General Sales Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@kengarff.com
We spoke with Mr.******* and the third party that installed the bluetooth device. The type of device he wants is not something they carry or install. We have made an appointment with Mr.******* to have the bluetooth unit removed next Tuesday 5/14/2013. We will refund him $300 for the cost of the unit and the unit will remain his to do with what he wants. He has accepted this agreement.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I Agreed to have the device installed I thought it would be redundant to explain the functions I was looking into this device since the sales person knew what type of features I was using in my portable bt, that, as I previously mentioned it is at least five years old.
Now; if someone had told me at the time of the purchase what limitations the device, the car, or the installers will have in order to provide what I needed Iwould't have purchased the vehicle; I would instead have continued my search for another model or make.
The options the dealer offered me were: buy anoter car, (more expensive)among others, and or have the device removed and accept a $300 check for the device.
I told them that I would not accept a check in any amount since that would modify the nature of the agreement. In the contract they committed to install a bt device in the car, (no words about specific brand or features, but It was my understanding they would't install an obsolete device.
As result of these negotiations

The removal of that piece was completed last week.
They ketp the device.

A check was mailed to me (not cashed)

Now, after all this work done/undone there is a rattle noise comming from the right pannel door and the left side of the windshield
As a result of the above, I am not happy with this dealer; I am not happy with the car, in particular after the last intervention.

01/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Product Quality Complaint Issue

Complaint: Purchase of a used vehicle that has nothing but issues
I bought a vehicle from Ken ****** West Valley on Aug 14th 2012 and took possesion of the vehicle on or around August XX XXXX. Before I took possesion I gave Cico (*****) salesman a list of things that I noticed were wrong with the vehicle. He told me that the service dept would look into the problems. The following is some of the issues on the list. (Bad exhaust leak into the cab, Transmission leaking, rattle in the front end) these were just a few major concearns on my list. When going to pick up my truck I asked the sales man if the service dept had fixed any of the problems? He stated that they looked at everything and that everything checked out ok. I trusted what he told me was true and left with the vehicle. Well that next weekend we took the truck to a service shop and the tech stated the driveline U-joint was bad and could break at anytime and strand us on the road also the ball-joints in the front tires were all bad and that it should have never passed safety. We left the shop and went to the dealership and spoke to Stephen the floor sales manager and after going back and forth with his boss he stated we bought a used vehicle with high miles and they were not going to do anything for us. Well if this wasn't bad enough 2 weeks from then the transmission went out in the truck so this cost us $3,700 to fix the transmission and the drive line. The transmission shop stated that the person who owned the vehicle had to have known it was going and put some additive in it. Wether this was the dealership or the guy who traded it in. I do not know. The next big issue is my truck smokes when I stop at a stop light and if I do not have Re-circulation on it fumigates me and all my passengers. I am trying to save money to take it in and get that problem fixed. How can a reputive dealer sell me a vehicle with so many problems? And then just wipe there hands of it and walk away leaving me to fix a vehicle that I paid book for. I am really concearned at mine and my kids health driving in this vehicle but have no other choice. How could a vechile that smokes when it stops and have such a bad exhaust smell pass emissions? Any help would be greatly appreciated

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** General Sales Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@kengarff.com

******,
I looked up your transaction. It looks like we installed new tires, repaired a leather rip, replaced the windshield, cut and programmed a key, paid for a rental and detailed the truck twice. I'm sorry to hear that you've had transmission issues. The truck had over 90,000 miles when you purchased it. Occasionally trucks with mileage in this range ****** have unforseen issues. It doesn't look like you purchased an extended warranty? I would be more than willing to have our Service department look into the smoke issue. Please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or email me at *****@kengarff.com.
Thank you,
****** ******
General Sales Manager
XXX-XXX-XXXX
*****@kengarff.com

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes we did get most of the repairs done on our own. The Transmission was going out and needed to be fixed right away. We were told that the drive line U-Joints were a safety hazard and that the drive line could break while driving and cause us to break down. So yes we did get that fixed as well. The exahust leak was making me and my children sick so that had to be taken care of right away. The only thing left is the Ball joints which would be nice for you to take care of considering we took care of all the major problems. This truck should have never been sold as a good vehicle knowing it had these types of problems. Me and my husband have spent around $4,000 in repairs and we have only owned the vehicle for a couple months. If you are not willing to fix the ball joints then you should at least meet us half way with the transmission and U-joint repairs. I think that is more than fair.

Business' Final Response
******,
It sounds like you have made the repairs elsewhere. What are you requesting as a desiresd resolution?

09/17/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
08/30/2011Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Automobile & Truck Brokers/Listing Services, Auto Parts and Supplies Companies, Auto Repair Rebuild Engines and Exchange Companies, Towing - Automotive, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.