Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Jerry Seiner Dealerships?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Jerry Seiner Dealerships meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Jerry Seiner Dealerships include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Jerry Seiner Dealerships
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1980 Business started locally: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Seiner, Chairman Mr. Dustin Hartung, Service Director Ms. Marcy Hartung, Human Resource Manager Mr. Chris Hemmersmeier, President/CEO Mr. Ty Johnson, Store Manager Mr. Brandon Kempff, Service Manager Ms. Mary Ann Moyle, Secretary-Treasurer Jennifer Newman, Customer Relations April Thorpe, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Seiner, Chairman
Customer Contact: April Thorpe, Customer Relations Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Body Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Jerry Seiner Jerry Seiner Bountiful Jerry Seiner Buick GMC Nissan Inc Jerry Seiner Buick GMC Truck Inc Jerry Seiner Cadillac Jerry Seiner Chevrolet, Inc Jerry Seiner Chevy Cadillac Jerry Seiner Collision Center Jerry Seiner Nissan Jerry Seiner North Salt Lake Jerry Seiner South Jordan

Additional Locations

  • 10487 S Jordan Gtwy

    South Jordan, UT 84095

  • 10573 S Jordan Gtwy

    South Jordan, UT 84095 (801) 693-7000

  • 1530 S 500 W

    Salt Lake City, UT 84115 (801) 952-5700

  • 730 W 2100 S

    Salt Lake City, UT 84119 (801) 693-7100 (801) 956-3120 (801) 972-8411 (801) 298-5163

  • 955 N 400 E

    North Salt Lake, UT 84054 (801) 495-6800

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (801) 298-5163(Phone)
  • (801) 693-7100(Phone)
  • (801) 956-3120(Phone)
  • (801) 533-0186 (Fax)
  • (801) 693-7082 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a used Lexus over the phone in December 2013, tires were bad (told they were fine by salesman), missing headrest, bad battery. We spoke with ***** ****** regarding this issue, after speaking with his general manager, he said they would send us a check for $150.00 for the battery, split the tires with us at cost plus 10%, and would look into getting a new headrest for us (Although I would probably have to pay for the headrest). None of this was done. In fact, we have not heard a word from them since. After several weeks of texting back and forth with the salesman, and then speaking with Mr. ******* and after being told they would help make it right and not doing what they promised, we are filing this complaint. I would like to mention that I specifically asked the salesperson about the state of the tires. He told me he use to sell tires and that they were in great shape, when in fact they were well into the wear bar and needed to be replaced. .

Desired Settlement: At this point I would like to be reimbursed for the battery and tires at 100%. I would like a new or used headrest to replace the missing one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@jerryseiner.com May 5, 2014 Mr. ***** purchased the 2009 Lexus LX470 on December 23rd, 2013. Most of the sales communication was handled directly over the phone with our salesman due to the location of Mr. ***** in **** ******** ******** There was a lengthy conversation regarding the quality of the car and the tread of the tires. The vehicle had passed state inspection prior to delivery. The inspection and the salesperson both stated the tires were well within safety specifications although the salesperson did indicate that they may not be adequate for winter wear. Mr. ***** was told that if he would like to purchase new tires from the dealership, we would give it to him at internal cost. Regarding the third row headrest, the pictures we took and sent to the customer did indicate the headrest was not there. The salesperson and Mr. ***** discussed this and Mr. ***** stated it was okay due to it being a used car. The salesperson did attempt to locate the headrest but was unsuccessful. Sometime after the purchase, Mr. ***** contacted us regarding the weak or dead battery. Considering the other issues, we decided to pay $150 for a new battery. After researching our records, we were unable to confirm that a check was sent to Mr. *****. We apologize for any inconvenience and will send the check to Mr. ***** immediately. He should expect the check within the week. Hopefully, this will satisfy Mr. ***** and will ensure all promises made have been kept. Sincerely, **** ******** General Sales Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/05/19) */ This complaint should not have been closed, I was not given ample opportunity to respond to the dealership response. I had not received the check they said they were sending yet, and was giving them a few days to see if it was really mailed. I never received it. The following is my response to the dealership response: There are so many untruths or half-truths in Mr. *********** response, I'm not sure where to begin. Mr. ******** stated correctly that I did have a lengthy conversation about the quality of the vehicle including the condition of the tires with the salesperson. The state inspection was never mentioned nor to the best of my recollection, did I ever see the results of an inspection. What did happen was the salesperson, when asked about the condition of the tires, said that he use to work for a tire dealership, implying that he knew tires, and said that the tires were in good condition. Mr. ******** says I was told by the salesperson that the tires may not be adequate for winter wear and must think I was ok with that, given I was buying the vehicle in the middle of winter. I am a doctor who treats auto accident cases. I take the safety of my vehicles very seriously, especially with a precious 4 year old son and 5 year old daughter to worry about. I can assure you that this comment was not made to me. I would have insisted that new tires be put on it at their expense or I would have gone somewhere else to do business. Mr. ******** then goes on to state that I was told I could purchase new tires from them at internal cost. While this is true, Mr. ******** is intentionally leaving out the fact that this offer was not made to me until after I had already taken possession of the vehicle, had a tire dealership inspect the tires and tell me that the tires were well below the wear bear and should be replaced soon. Interestingly enough, just a few days later, I had a blow out on the highway traveling with my whole family (pictures available upon request). Keep in mind that I purchased this vehicle sight unseen as I live 200 miles away. My wife picked up the car for me, so I didn't see the vehicle until she drove it home. I relied heavily in trusting the salesperson to be honest with me (I know, shame on me, I should have known better.) Mr. ******** then goes on to say "Regarding the third row headrest, the pictures we took and sent to the customer did indicate the headrest was not there." It is the second row headrest, not the third row headrest, which makes me wonder how obvious the pictures "indicated" it was not there. Also, while I did see pictures of the vehicle on their website, no pictures were ever sent to me. And there is a significant difference in perspective between looking at pictures of a vehicle and seeing the vehicle in person. By the way, if the dealership still has copies of the pictures, I would love to see them. Mr. ******** then says that I was ok with it because is was a used car. This is a half-truth. I conceded that the sale of the car was as-is (technically), and I understood that because the papers were signed, the dealership was under no obligation. However, it goes back to the circumstances surrounding the purchase being sight unseen and having to rely on the integrity of the dealership. I still hoped that a deal could be worked out where they would pay for half of the replacement cost or maybe find a replacement at wholesale, to which I was told they would see what they could do. About the battery, 12 days have passed since Mr. ******** said he would mail out a check for $150.00 "immediately" and I could expect that in the mail within the week - no check yet. He then closes by saying "Hopefully, this will satisfy Mr. ***** and will ensure all promises have been kept." No, at this point, what will satisfy me is reimbursement for the tires I had to replace (receipt available upon request - I did pay wholesale price for them.), for the battery I had to replace, and a replacement 2nd row headrest. Sincerely, Dr. ***** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/05/30) */ We have confirmed that the $150.00 refund check has been received by the customer and apologize for the delay. In reviewing Dr. *****'s concerns, the dealership feels as though we have fulfilled our promise to the customer regarding the battery. Regarding the tires, we do apologize for any confusion caused between Dr. ***** and the salesperson, but due to the vehicle passing State inspection, we feel that we have fulfilled our obligations in the purchase of the Lexus. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/06/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I realize that part of buying a car from a car salesman is you always have to be on your guard as their reputation precedes them, and this certainly applies when doing business with Jerry Seiner. Part of the fun of the experience of buying a used car is the haggling, and I certainly would have haggled on the tires if I had been there in person. Unfortunately, I trusted the salesman to be honest with me when I asked him about the tires (shame on me). The tires on the car I traded in were fairly new tires (less than a year old, with maybe 5000 miles on them), I had just spent over $600.00 on those tires and really wasn't looking for a major expense right out of the gate. The dealership keeps defaulting to the excuse that the tires passed the state inspection, what does a state inspection actually mean? What is the criteria to pass a state inspection? Does it just mean that the tires are safe to at least get me home? To get me to the tire dealership? I was told they were in good condition, they obviously were not, certainly not for winter use. They didn't even last a few days as I had a blow-out on the highway with my family in the car during moderate winter conditions. Also, I find it interesting that the headrest was not mentioned in this last response. What about the headrest? I'm still stuck with having to purchase a new headrest at the cost of $600.00. This is a safety issue, I don't really have a choice as my two young children sit in the back seat. The old adage "buyer beware" certainly applies in this situation, and my advice to anyone contemplating buying from Jerry Seiner is do your due diligence and trust nothing they tell you. Get everything in writing and inspect the vehicle thoroughly yourself or by someone your trust. Sincerly, Dr. ***** *****

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Endless phone and mail solicitation when asked to be removed from their system at least a dozen times. About 5 years ago I bought a new car there. About 4 years ago I was about to purchase an Escalade there. It was late Saturday and my credit union was closed. I explained my credit was already approved and I would contact them Monday. Since I had no desire to take the vehicle until Monday and wanted no additional inquiries, they were not allowed to run my credit for any reason. My credit monitoring alerted me after that, they had run my credit 6 different times! I notified them on that Monday as a result I no longer wanted there vehicle. I ended up purchasing an Escalade at a different dealer a few days later. Since then I constantly get phone calls an mail soliciting both sales and service. I've requested they remove my number and address from their system at least a dozen times. I own a fleet of business vehicles, and purchase for personal and family about 10 vehicles a year, none of the other dealers harass me like they do. The last call was when I was sick in bed with an extended illness with a man called ** (last name ****** I believe) and I explained the whole story again, requesting no further solicitation as I would never buy another vehicle or service one with Seiner. I was told he would call as often as he wished. We proceeded to exchange profanities. A week ago ** sent me more mail, to which I returned with a few more profanities, to which he chose to call me again, refusing to identify himself. Finally when he did identify himself, he proceeded to tell me to "pull your head out of your ******* ***." then hung up.

Desired Settlement: All I want is to be removed from their mail and Phone solicitation and a hand written apology from *** Is this too much to ask? I have no desire to get ** fired, since if this is the way he talks to senior citizens, he serves my purpose by driving away potential clients for Seiner's. The only other solution for me will be to send my excessive staff over there picket each time they violate my privacy against my wishes...I am eccentric like that!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/02) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******- Customer Relations Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@jerryseiner.com We sincerely apologize that you have had to contact us multitple times regarding removing your information from our databases. During your previous attempts, every effort was taken to honor your request. Please also note that there are occasions when General Motors will market on our behalf without our knowlege. We take these issues very seriously and again apologize that you've received advertising from Jerry Seiner Dealerships. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To blame GM for 4 years of phone calls, and emails from various employees of the dealership especially with ** ****** telling me to pull my head out of my "******* ***" is an insult to GM! I have bought at least a dozen new GM vehicles and never been hounded and threatened, being sworn at like ** ******* Is he too good to apologize as I requested? The eloquent database solution addresses one out of 3 issues. The over aggressive F&I manager running my credit 6 times after I explicitly requested no credit inquiries left 6 inquiries on my credit report for 2 years. The Escalade would of been financed Monday by my credit union. I had a bankruptcy several years ago and nobody would finance me at that time but them. They financed a different one a week later. I do believe its illegal to pull anyone's credit without their approval. I've worked hard to repair my credit score. The credit bureau said at the time the #1 item lowering my score was excessive inquiries, imagine? Unless my fair and simple requests are not answered I will start an internet assault sharing my experiences with the public on social media, Facebook, Twitter, Utah Ripoff's, etc. I am a senior citizen with a lot time on my hands with friends and employees that will love to assist me!

11/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They promised Sirius for 3 months, and my contract should be with ** ******** In the slaes promotion I am supposed to get sirius for 3 months free, I have spoke with the sales rep and the manager, neither of them has done nothing but a promise that they will take care of it, this has gone on for 4 weeks, Also my contract should be with ** ******* and they put it with **** ** ******* I want that fixed without damaging my credit report. I paid them alot of money for a brand new car, it was a very easy sale. I want them to honor what they said they would do.

Desired Settlement: Sirius for 3 months and my loan to be with ** ******** Just what they said they would do.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/17) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******** Executive Assistant Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@jerryseiner.com Better Business Bureau, Case #XXXXXXXX, Ref. X-XXXXXXX-XXXXXXXX-X-XXX To whom it may concern; Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the customer concerns. Our General Sales manager has been in contact with the customer regarding her issues. We expressed our apologies to the customer that her preference for financing through her credit union was not conveyed to the finance manager. Since the finance contract has already been fully executed and the vehicle titled, we are unable to re-contract this vehicle through the dealership. However, during our recent conversations, we communicated that her rate was comparable to the lowest available credit union rate. We work with the customer's credit union on a regular basis, we would be glad to put her in contact with their representative who could help coordinate a refinance. This should make the process quick and easy for her. We have contacted Sirius/XM and her trial period has been reset and is good until January 9, 2014. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2013/10/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The manager at *********** *** told me to refinance and pay off the loan they took out for me. ********** *** can take out a loan pay off the one they did in error and put it with ** ******** As far as the XM raidio, IT DOES NOT WORK. I have contacted **** and left him a message that the XM radio wasn't working and also (from his last message he left) to call me back because he said he wanted to discuss the financing with me, with NO REPLY FROM HIM. I have called ***** and we had a scheduled three way call with XM, ***** and I at 2:30 for October 14, or the 15th and again ***** NEVER CALLED, updated or followed up with me. My problem with *********** *** has not been solved and its not because I am not trying, not one of there employees I have dealt with will follow up and make sure all the problems are being handled. That is poor customer service. Training starts with the top. With no one wanting to follow up, therefore I see neither one of my complaints will ever be address or reasolved. At this time the way I see it, the sale is all they want. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/11) */ We have attempted to contact Ms. ****** multiple times with no success. We are very willing to assist Ms. ****** in the activation of her Sirius/XM subscription and have been told by the company that it is currently active. We would also be more than happy to travel to her location or have her come in to ensure the activation is complete. Regarding her loan, because the title and licensing has been finalized and funded, there is nothing we can do at this point to move the loan to her credit union. She can however, refinance at her convenience at no cost to her. We value our customers and it is our business practice to provide the best customer experience possible. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) On November 06, 2013 I received a letter from XM radio with there information. I called XM up the next day to inquire of getting the XM radio turned on. It took 5 minutes but I only get it for 2 months because the dealer called on October 08, 2013. I expalained to them that no one at the dealer had any interest returning my call to get the this problem solved and because XM took so long to get me there information if they would extend the service for another month to meet both the dealer and XM radio advertisement (free for 3 months)they told me NO and said, only the dealer can make that change. On November 11, 2013 I received a voice mail both from ****** and **** from the dealership. WOW! That same day they replied to the BBB that I will not call them back. They didnt even give me a chance to reply. I will recieve my XM radio for 2 months with no help from the dealer. I have no reason at this time to believe they will make sure I get my three months. I will accept the 2 months as well as refinanceing the car because I have NO CHOICE! My complaint that I have filed with the BBB "Unsatisfied".

10/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had financing arranged and they were trying to get us through their credit without our permission. ran a credit check without our permission We went in today to purchase a 2013 GMC Sierra 2500 Diesel Denali that we test drove yesterday. We told the salesman **** ****** that we had our own financing and all he needed to do was fax a purchase agreement to our Credit Union. Instead he ran a credit check without our permission, asked how much we made, how long my husband was employed at his current employer, how much my husband makes per year, how long we've lived in our house, if I worked, what our down payment would be and then the final straw was he asked for our username and password to get into our Credit Union bank account. He also wanted a phone number to our insurance and gave them the vin # which is what our Credit Union should be doing not our salesman. He also wanted to be able to charge $2000-$3000 on our credit card until the Credit Union monies went through. He told us we could use that credit for in-store accessories. We think **** ****** was trying to run us through GM credit without our permission. We feel extremely violated!!!! There is no excuse for the questions this salesman and his manager were asking us when we already had financing arranged!!! And we stated several times we had financing arranged through our Credit Union. Needless to say we are not purchasing a truck from Jerry Seiner GMC in South Jordan, Utah. We still plan on buying that automobile but from another GMC dealer. It's a complete outrage to be treated thusly. What are our rights and what can we do about this terrible treatment? **** ******

Desired Settlement: I'm not sure what our rights are at this point. To run a credit check without our permission is unacceptable and as I understand it, illegal. trying to get us through their credit department without our permission is illegal isn't it? Please advice as to what we can do. **** ******

10/23/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service