This business is not BBB accredited.

Doug Smith Autoplex, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 492-0100 View Additional Phone Numbers 501 W Main St, American Fork, UT 84003 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on Doug Smith Autoplex, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1990 Business started: 03/01/1979 Business started locally: 03/01/1979 Business incorporated 12/12/1988 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Frank Smith, Credit Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Smith, Credit Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Doug Smith Chrysler Jeep Dodge Doug Smith Kia Doug Smith Subaru Doug Smith Suzuki

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Doug Smith Autoplex, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    495 E Main St

    American Fork, UT 84003


    501 W Main St

    American Fork, UT 84003 (801) 492-0100


    523 W Main St

    American Fork, UT 84003 (800) 553-3099


    525 W Main St

    American Fork, UT 84003 (801) 492-1110


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was at Doug Smith Saturday the 28th, was told that a lease with my trade in with $1000.00 added would be $179.00 month for 2 year lease. Called them back later Sat said I would take the deal and I would be in on Monday. Got my truck ready to trade in. Went back Monday sat around sat around finally called back to the finance office, well we cant do that and gave me 3 different price options cheapest being $236.00 but mainly wanted me to do $279.00 month. It is wrong to waste people's time, I mean hours and then do a bait and switch.

Desired Settlement: I believe regardless of what it cost Doug Smith and Chrysler they should honor the deal and payment they told me on Sat 28th of a payment of $179.00. They say Chrysler is putting out a deal that cant be done.

Business Response:

This is a lease that the manufacturer has put some very aggressive rebates on.  When a customer qualifies for all the rebates and has even more money down or a trade-in involved, it can make the cap cost on the lease lower than the residual value.  When that happens the lender will not fund the lease.  In this case we would need to take less money down or give some money back to the customer if they were trading a car in that they owned outright.  By doing that it does add to the monthly payment, but we are giving the customer money back to help make the additional payment amount.  This is a unique case where the customer must have had too much money down and too much rebate.  We tried to explain why we needed to have the higher payment, but must not have done a good enough job with that explanation.

Thanks for your time

Frank S****


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:Fine they could have told me that Saturday when I was in and not wasted my time Sat and they sure didnt have to waste my time by me removing my equipment from my truck and then they kept me hanging for over 2 hours on Monday. Maybe they get people to fall for their game. I am sorry it is wrong to play the game Doug Smith played. Why not just say for this truck at this price you have to have XXXXX down and the taxes etc here is what you need, here is what your truck is worth and what will be left over and returned to you. No they played and wasted hours and even more time of mine by me removing items of my personal things that I now have to put back on. What they did was wrong and the time wasted should have consequences.It makes no sense to say $179.00 Sat then Mon. $279. again say for the $179.00 lease you pay this and we will return the extra from your truck to you. what they tried makes no common sense.


**** ****

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lead to believe that the parts were not available that could have fixed the Car. Talked into buying the most expensive parts. Deceptive actions. Dear **** *****, I'm writing you this email to enlighten you on your service department and ask how you would feel if this happened to you or one of your family members. I have seen allot of your commercials and have a sister in law that bought a mini van from you. We are from Price Utah and have two car dealerships in town. We have used them in the past for car repairs. We have a Jeep Wrangler and a Jeep Liberty. And we are in the process of ordering a brand new Ram Eco-diesel. So the problem started when we went to start the Liberty Friday Dec 26th in the morning to head to Midway to visit family. My husband goes out to start the Jeep and the key just turned and the Jeep wouldn't start. My sons went out to check and said that the ignition was broken. Of course they came in and You Tubed the problem. Ignition Acutater switch. Easy fix, it said just need the parts and tools. I didn't feel like I could ask them to do it, because its Christmas. So I called **** Smith Auto. Since the commercials looked so friendly. Not... I talked to the parts department and they said they had that part in for 116.00 and that they had it in stock. Perfect. I had a tow truck come get the Jeep and had it taken to your dealership. Thinking that it would be an easy fix. That is were the problem turned to a nightmare. So 1200.00 and 6 days later I got my Jeep back.I also was sent to Enterprise to rent a Vehicle thinking that I would only have to have the truck for a day or too. Nope 6 days and 230.00 later. I have been left with so much disrespect for your company I can hardly explain. Why would you allow your service department be so dishonest? My Sons warned me that they would try and sell me the WHOLE steering column. And they did. I had the run around for 5 days. First ****** told me that they couldn't find just the ignition. They would try and find one from another shop. I just was told from your parts department that they had one in stock. So I got the call that they couldn't find one. That they could find a used one. I said okay. That took another day and more frustration. Then the call that the used one didn't work. We could put in a new one. Meaning the steering column at 680.00 or she could keep looking? You have an Ideal employee there. ****** knows just the right answers and had us so frustrated that what else could we do but fall in the snare and get the new steering column that we didn't need. I bet they were laughing behind our backs, since they screwed another out of towner. So long story short. 1. You just bought yourself 1200.00 worth of BAD ADVERTISEMENT. 2. I will stick to my hometown dealerships than EVER deal with your business again. 3. Purchase my BRAND NEW RAM from anyone but you. 4. NEVER recommend your business to anyone. EVER...... 5. Report your company and ****** to the BBB for fraudulent actions. I know that you think, big deal shes just one little customer. But maybe you don't really know me. Does Deer Valley ring a bell? Just saying. Well I'm sure that you will toss this email into the trash and go about making the big money from people just trying to get by. If this happens again, I will tow my vehicles back to Carbon County were I know I will be treated with honestly and respect. I just wanted to let you know that this isn't the end. I will be giving your company a review and I'm sorry if anyone else falls victim to ******. Shes really good at making you money. Even if it is dishonestly. Finally picked up my Jeep December 31st. What a nightmare. I guess we will see what kind of business owner you are if you have the decency to reply. Thank You. Another customer that has been taken advantage of, ***** ***** ************

Desired Settlement: I will pay for the actual part that needed to be replaced at 116.00 and the labor for that installation. **** ***** refund the days of the rental car that I didn't need. 4 days of refund. 150.00 Refund me the price of the steering column that I didn't even need. 684.00.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: **** ******** service manager
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****
The issue has been completely resolved with this customer. With proper communication on both ends this entire situation could have been avoided. I am confident it is handled and both parties are happy with the resolution.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

10 Customer Reviews on Doug Smith Autoplex, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart