Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Doug Smith Autoplex, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Doug Smith Autoplex, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Doug Smith Autoplex, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1990 Business started: 03/01/1979 Business started locally: 03/01/1979 Business incorporated 12/12/1988 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Frank Smith, Credit Manager Mr. Doug Smith, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Smith, Credit Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturers Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Doug Smith Chrysler Jeep Dodge Doug Smith Kia Doug Smith Subaru Doug Smith Suzuki

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Doug Smith Autoplex, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 495 E Main St

    American Fork, UT 84003 (877) 495-4690

  • 501 W Main St

    American Fork, UT 84003 (801) 492-0100 (877) 445-6605 (877) 688-9022 (888) 485-8396 (888) 833-7603

  • 523 W Main St

    American Fork, UT 84003 (800) 553-3099 (877) 769-4463 (888) 581-9970 (888) 238-1696

  • 525 W Main St

    American Fork, UT 84003 (801) 492-1110

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lead to believe that the parts were not available that could have fixed the Car. Talked into buying the most expensive parts. Deceptive actions. Dear **** *****, I'm writing you this email to enlighten you on your service department and ask how you would feel if this happened to you or one of your family members. I have seen allot of your commercials and have a sister in law that bought a mini van from you. We are from Price Utah and have two car dealerships in town. We have used them in the past for car repairs. We have a Jeep Wrangler and a Jeep Liberty. And we are in the process of ordering a brand new Ram Eco-diesel. So the problem started when we went to start the Liberty Friday Dec 26th in the morning to head to Midway to visit family. My husband goes out to start the Jeep and the key just turned and the Jeep wouldn't start. My sons went out to check and said that the ignition was broken. Of course they came in and You Tubed the problem. Ignition Acutater switch. Easy fix, it said just need the parts and tools. I didn't feel like I could ask them to do it, because its Christmas. So I called **** Smith Auto. Since the commercials looked so friendly. Not... I talked to the parts department and they said they had that part in for 116.00 and that they had it in stock. Perfect. I had a tow truck come get the Jeep and had it taken to your dealership. Thinking that it would be an easy fix. That is were the problem turned to a nightmare. So 1200.00 and 6 days later I got my Jeep back.I also was sent to Enterprise to rent a Vehicle thinking that I would only have to have the truck for a day or too. Nope 6 days and 230.00 later. I have been left with so much disrespect for your company I can hardly explain. Why would you allow your service department be so dishonest? My Sons warned me that they would try and sell me the WHOLE steering column. And they did. I had the run around for 5 days. First ****** told me that they couldn't find just the ignition. They would try and find one from another shop. I just was told from your parts department that they had one in stock. So I got the call that they couldn't find one. That they could find a used one. I said okay. That took another day and more frustration. Then the call that the used one didn't work. We could put in a new one. Meaning the steering column at 680.00 or she could keep looking? You have an Ideal employee there. ****** knows just the right answers and had us so frustrated that what else could we do but fall in the snare and get the new steering column that we didn't need. I bet they were laughing behind our backs, since they screwed another out of towner. So long story short. 1. You just bought yourself 1200.00 worth of BAD ADVERTISEMENT. 2. I will stick to my hometown dealerships than EVER deal with your business again. 3. Purchase my BRAND NEW RAM from anyone but you. 4. NEVER recommend your business to anyone. EVER...... 5. Report your company and ****** to the BBB for fraudulent actions. I know that you think, big deal shes just one little customer. But maybe you don't really know me. Does Deer Valley ring a bell? Just saying. Well I'm sure that you will toss this email into the trash and go about making the big money from people just trying to get by. If this happens again, I will tow my vehicles back to Carbon County were I know I will be treated with honestly and respect. I just wanted to let you know that this isn't the end. I will be giving your company a review and I'm sorry if anyone else falls victim to ******. Shes really good at making you money. Even if it is dishonestly. Finally picked up my Jeep December 31st. What a nightmare. I guess we will see what kind of business owner you are if you have the decency to reply. Thank You. Another customer that has been taken advantage of, ***** ***** ************

Desired Settlement: I will pay for the actual part that needed to be replaced at 116.00 and the labor for that installation. **** ***** refund the days of the rental car that I didn't need. 4 days of refund. 150.00 Refund me the price of the steering column that I didn't even need. 684.00.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: **** ******** service manager
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ****@heydoug.net
The issue has been completely resolved with this customer. With proper communication on both ends this entire situation could have been avoided. I am confident it is handled and both parties are happy with the resolution.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

12/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service