This business is not BBB accredited.

Cutrubus Automotive Team

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 627-2300 Fax: (801) 627-2317 View Additional Phone Numbers 770 W Riverdale Rd, Riverdale, UT 84405 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rockymountainjeep.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Cutrubus Automotive Team include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Advertising issues found by BBB

Factors that raised the rating for Cutrubus Automotive Team include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cutrubus Automotive Team
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 20, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business started locally: 01/01/1964
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Business Management
Mr. Phidia Cutrubus, President Mr. Kord Cutrubus, General Manager Mr. Skyler Cutrubus, General Manager Mr. Troy Cutrubus, General Manager Ms. Chris Sorensen, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Phidia Cutrubus, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Skyler Cutrubus, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Alternate Business Names
Cutrubus Audi Volkswagen of Layton Cutrubus Freeway Mazda Cutrubus Suzuki of Layton Cutrubus Volkswagon Audi Layton Hills Dodge Wasatch Front Kia Isuzu Winnebago

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1230 N Main St

    Layton, UT 84041 (801) 544-5878 (888) 692-1813 (888) 568-7254 (888) 576-3127 (801) 336-1111 (866) 790-8376 (866) 270-7510

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1234 N Main St

    Layton, UT 84041 (888) 451-2357 (888) 716-2237 (888) 718-8415 (801) 544-5800

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1711 N Main St

    Layton, UT 84041 (801) 614-3000 (877) 236-9128

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    650 N Main St

    Layton, UT 84041 (801) 546-2456

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    770 W Riverdale Rd

    Riverdale, UT 84405 (888) 494-8938 (877) 371-6709 (801) 392-1138 (801) 337-2222 (801) 627-2300

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    843 W Riverdale Rd

    Riverdale, UT 84405 (801) 621-1100 (877) 519-8845 (801) 621-1106 (801) 621-1105

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    895 W Riverdale Rd

    Riverdale, UT 84405 (801) 627-1300 (801) 207-7758

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told by someone at this business (Brandon) that they would work with me on a down payment for a car. I was told they give a 14 to 21 day grace period to deliver the down payment. I drove all the way to Layton and spent a good part of my day and time going to the dealership. They approved me for a Ford Fusion and had me fill out all the paper work and sign the contract and title agreement and stated that all I needed to do was get insurance and I could take the car and pay the 500 down payment in 14 days. All good righr?? Wrong!! I got insurance and everything on Monday and called to let them know I got insurance and I was on my way to pick the car up. I spoke with ***** H******* (the guy who had me fill out all the paper work and contract and said all I needed to do is get insurance) and he said ok let me make sure the car is ready. I wait for a bit and he comes back on and says ok it's good to go just bring your w2s and down payment. Wait a sec...I thought I had 14 days to do this. So it turns out they want me to put something down after all after I was told I could take the car once I got insurance. So then I'm asked to fax and email all my 2015 w2s and get my job involved to send them my proof of employment. I go ahead and do all of this jump through hoops and rings of fire and they still want something down before I could take it home. I don't know of any dealership on the face of this earth that gives you those kind of promises, has you fill out the contract, title change in your name, pick what kind of plates you want and everything, gives you so much hope that this is really happening and pull this kind of crap. I wanted the number for the corporate office and they refused to give it to me. They lied.

Desired Settlement: Get the car I was promised and allow me to make the down payment in 14 days as stated

Business Response: April 19, 2016 Dear Mr. ******, I am writing in response to your complaint. Unfortunately, the initial loan approval we obtained on your behalf did not pass underwriting with the documentation you provided which was necessary to complete your loan, therefore we are not able to deliver you a vehicle. I appreciate your feedback about the events that transpired and will address these issues with those involved to better our process. I apologize if this created any inconvenience. Any other correspondence please address to me personally by phone, text, or email. Sincerely, Shawn S****** Store Manager Cutrubus Volkswagen Audi *****@cutrubus.com Phone ###-###-#### Cell Phone ###-###-####

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** ******

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a truck 3 weeks ago. It had to go in the shop two weeks after buying it. The truck needs a new engine, and new tie rods. They sold this truck to me with it not passing safety and before I bought it, it had a valve cover gasket leak I told them to replace that and make sure the engine does not have anything wrong with it. They fixed it and said the engine is fine and everything is running great. The valve cover gasket was blown due to the fact that there is excessive blow by in the engine which means in needs a new piston rings and a cylinder. A whole engine rebuild. I called them and told them the problem and they said there is nothing they can do about it.

Desired Settlement: I either want them to fix the engine free of charge or take the truck back.

Business Response:

   When we recieved the customers complaint I called **** ***** and we arranged for him and his dad, ****, to come and sit down with me and discuss the problem.  The truck wasn't running good and was at a dealership in Brigham City. We talked and decided have it towed to our Dodge store in Layton to our mechanics could look at it.  I did some research on the truck, and we decided to get together again on 11/21/15 at 9:15.  After talking we decided that we are going to try and find **** another truck and trade the other one in.

Thanks again   

Danny L*******

###-###-####

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello my name is ***** *******, my SR# or Case# is ************ So my Horrible experience began 11/10/2015 I discovered I had a flat tire on my 2014 Cadillac CTS Coupe and discovered the car didn’t come with a spare only a compressor ( I was never told there was no spare and never received wheels either from the dealer I purchased car from), so took it to local Cadillac Dealer (Cutrubus Cadillac in Ogden) to repair and drop the car off at 8:30 am to Joshua in the Service Dept. I was told I would receive a call if it could be repair or if it needed to be replaced, never received that call so I called back at 12:30 pm to get information since none was shared with me. When I called at 12:30 I spoke to Joshua and I was told tire could not be repaired and needed to be replaced and they were looking up prices and will callback with prices. So again no callback and I called and spoke to Joshua again at 4:30pm 11/10/2015 and was told the same tire was discontinued and they would have to put in a special request to Michelin for that tire and could take weeks or buy 4 new tires (required for the car since its Leased and has to be returned with same tires). So I tried myself to find a used tire to put on for temp use while tire is ordered by no tires found in salt lake area. So called in 11/11/2015 to see what could be done and if any other options so I’m not left without a car for over a month plus having to pay the lease with Joshua no options given, explained why should I have to buy 4 new tires priced $900 -$1350 (I know the prices because of course Joshua tried to offer that) when only 1 needed to be replaced. so I decided to call GM Consumer Affairs and I was connected to Serena at ###-###-#### and she was very helpful and ask what I expected which was get permission from leasing company to put a new recommended tire on that’s in stock or give me a loaner car or get a rental car for me since I am paying for lease and ready and willing to buy a tire. Serena gave me contact info for Hannah H******** at Cutrubus Cadillac the Customer Experience Manager and said she was contacting the dealer now and I should receive a call within 48 hours. I received a call from Joshua from the Service Dept. 1 hour later with a more open ear and ready for ideas, and told me he would call me later once he found a solution. Joshua did call me back like 1 hour later and said they spoke with Ally (my leasing company) and got permission to put a different but new tire on the car and there would be no issues with returning the car at the end of the lease. So Joshua then said the other tire wasn’t in tire now (although yesterday I could have bought a set of 4 ready to go) and they had to order and would only take a day or 2 and he would call when tire was in. So 2 days later 11/13/2015 at 4:30 I call because I received no call again and of course get Joshua again and he tells me there are delivery issues and problems on the east coast with storms and it is holding up the trucks and tire would be here Monday now, so I understood be explained my dissatisfaction with their Customer Service at this point because no one calls to rely the information and he apologizes for it. So being very upset I can Hannah H******** and explain the situation and she said to give her a few minutes to get the information and make sure things get done. She calls back in 10 mins and begins to tell me that the tire is there and the problem is there’s no wheel lock to take wheel off to change tire and needs to be ordered, or they could get off but have to replace the lug nuts with new ones and the needed my permission but I never got that call about that issue. So I am now more upset because I’m now lied to by Joshua, first Joshua lies to me and now they are lying to her because how did they take the wheel off in the first place to know it could not be repaired and they were going to take the tire off so I could get it repaired somewhere else and I was to bring a used tire for them to put on and they said fine no problem. I was never told that they don’t have the wheel lock and it was never an issue to anyone but me because I never received the wheel lock when I first got the car. So after Hannah hearing me out she told me she was going back to get the right information and a day that my car would be done and that she leaves at 5pm normally but will stay later and call me back to have this resolved. IT’S NOW 7PM and no callback for Hannah H******** the Customer Experience Manager WOW!!!

Desired Settlement: to have my car back

Business Response: Spoke with customer and resolved all outstanding issues. 


Replacement tire has been obtained and to be installed later today when new replacement lugs arrive.

Selling dealer failed to provide locking lug key with vehicle when it was originally leased to Mr *******. We will obtain 4 non-locking lugs to replace the ones without a key. 

Joshua will be keeping customer informed of the status of the repairs as they are completed today.

Skyler C*******

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *******

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Motor failed at 4000 miles and they are refusing to warranty. We purchased a 2005 Subaru from Freeway Mazda. They were in the process of replacing the motor when we purchased the car. Mazda gave us a 12 month warranty on the motor. In 3 months the motor failed and Mazda is not covering the repairs.

Desired Settlement: I just want the motor repaired or replaced.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: * * ******** General Manager
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ******@cutrubus.com
Motor failure was determined to be abuse not a defect in workmanship or material. Warranties do not cover abuse. Here is a synopsis of the repairs and subsequent failure of the new short block approximately 6000 miles later......

****** *****
2005 Subaru Impreza
*****************

Repair Order *******
April 8th 2014 (70482 Miles) Freeway Mazda replaced the short block engine assembly and seized turbo charger due to knocking noise and running poorly. Both left and right cylinder heads were rebuilt and installed on new short block and installed in vehicle along with additional needed parts to complete installation and proper operation of vehicle.

Repair Order *******
August 22nd 2014 (76832 Miles) Vehicle was brought into Freeway Mazda with white smoke blowing out of tail pipe and will not stay running. Oil pressure light was on while vehicle running, oil burnt smelling and very black. Check engine light on while vehicle is running. Found bearing on crank shaft excessively worn, pistons blued and left front piston cracked and broken from heat, found scaring on cylinder walls. Found Turbo bearing worn excessively and burnt from excessive RPM and forced pressure. Informed customer he would be responsible for cost of labor to replace parts and that we needed to contact Subaru for coverage of the part installed months earlier. After contacting Subaru for parts warranty of the engine they sent a Subaru USA inspector and examined all parts concerned.

Subaru declined parts warranty sighting non factory defect causing damage to engine and turbo. Excessive RPM's and heat caused bluing of bearings and oil break down causing lubrication failure and continued driving caused further damage. SUBARU USA DECLINED WARRANTY COVERAGE.

We offered customer discount on parts and labor but customer declined repairs.
Vehicle was towed from Freeway Mazda by customer with no charges to him.


Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their claim that the engine was run at high RPM causing the damage.

Business Response: We are not suggesting ****** ***** should accept our response. The next step for the customer is to contact Subaru. The adjuster that determined the engine repair was not a warrantable item is the person he needs to speak with. Maybe the BBB complaint should be filed with Subaru as they are denying covering the repair under warranty. We would be willing to perform the work if Subaru would process the warranty claim rather than deny it. I would also recommend that if the customer is disputing that the engine failed due to abuse, he could have a second opinion from another adjuster to confirm or deny Subaru's claim that the engine was abused. We have done everything we can to repair the vehicle under the Subaru warranty.

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was promised a refund for a flex force interior service that I never received. A month later the business told me I could not receive a refund I am filing this complaint because I was promised a refund for a service I never received. The service was added to my auto loan. The business never followed up on me receiving this service. Freeway mazda have me paperwork in order for me to receive the refund and agreed that they would give me a refund. A month later I went back to freeway mazda and they told me that I would not receive the refund. All I would like is my refund for the interior detail service that I never received on my vehicle

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the product I was charged that I never received

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/06/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@********.com On June 27th 2014 we received fax copies of signed cancellation forms from the customer and will process them timely. We needed them to complete the cancellation process. This should resolve the customers concern.

8/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I can not get calls returned on financing issue I am having on a car I purchased. I purchased a car from Cutrubus Freeway Mazda on 06/11/2013. The sales contract I signed had my financing approved through Members First Credit Union for $7300 after I put $500 down so $7800 total. My first payment was supposed to be due July 26th. As of July 17th I had not seen any paperwork from bank at which point my parents told me to call bank and find out what was going on. When I called bank I found out my loan had not been funded due to dealer having loan amount too high they would only do $5600. I called and talked to ***** who was in financing at dealership on July 18th and he told me he would get it figured out and call me back. I called te next day when I had not heard from him and he said give him just a little bit and he would call me back again. As of july 23rd, 4 days later, I still had not heard back and called again to find out he was on vacation until 25th. I called again on 25th and he said he needed to talk to owners and would get back to me by 4:00 PM. Again no return call. My dad called at 6:00 PM and conveniently ***** had just left for day so he asked to talk with a sales/finance manager. He talked with ****** who said they were fighting with bank and that he would give ***** a quick call and get right back to us. Again no return call.

Desired Settlement: We have no issue keeping car if they can get the financing that we agreed to in our sales/finanicing agreement. We also have no issue returning the car and getting our $500 down payment returned. We just want to know what's going on with it and get calls returned.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ******** General Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ******@********.com Customer resigned at lower payment Saturday July 27th, I understand that this issue has been resolved. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 7, 2013/07/31) */ After filing my complaint with BBB and still not getting call back from either ***** (finance mgr or his Manager ******* during the day of the 26th I called at approximately 3:30 in afternoon to talk to general MGR. He did not answer either so I left a message for him detailing my original complaint filed here. Lo and behold within an hour I got call from ***** informing me that dealership was to going to have to lower price of vehicle (putting it in within actual value)in order to get my financing approved. So after 2 weeks of not getting calls returned it is now worked out and everything got taken care of. I will NEVER do business with this company again and will make sure people know how I was treated by their staff. One more quick comment ***** was extremely offish and unfriendly when we went to sign the new paperwork.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cutrubus Automotive Team
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)