Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brent Brown Toyota

Phone: (801) 224-1320 View Additional Phone Numbers 1400 Sandhill Rd, Orem, UT 84058 http://www.brentbrowntoyota.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brent Brown Toyota meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brent Brown Toyota include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Brent Brown Toyota
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 28, 2000 Business started: 05/13/1992 Business started locally: 05/13/1992 Business incorporated 05/13/1992 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

UDOT
4501 South 2700 West, Salt Lake City UT 84119
www.udot.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 965-4000
srwebmail@utah.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Terry, General Manager Mr. Brent L. Brown, President Ms. Karyn Clement, Customer Relations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Karyn Clement, Customer Relations
Principal: Mr. Larry Terry, General Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Alternate Business Names
R. W. Imports, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brent Brown Toyota has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1400 Sandhill Rd

    Orem, UT 84058 (866) 224-1320 (888) 621-9928 (888) 675-9327 (801) 512-2493 (801) 519-8150 (801) 224-1320

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brown Brown Toyota sold us a Vehicle Service contract they are not honoring. We were told we would be reimbursed after five years if we didn't use the contract and now they won't reimburse us.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of $2408.00

Business Response: Dealer is not sure where the confusion came from but their warranty is refundable and when the customer contacted the dealer, we explained the terms of the agreement which included it not being refundable until it expired.    Customer sent paperwork so when it is expired they can be refunded.   Customer is aware of the refund timeline now. 

1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $1313.00 for a service contract when I purchased my car in 2009. I never needed any service on the car and was suppose to get that money back, if I didn't have service, at the end of the contract. I have been trying to reach the company with no success. They did leave a number to contact them but it is no longer in service. They say they will contact me but they haven't.

Desired Settlement: I want the $1313.00 refunded to me. I did not have any repairs under the contract and have the right to having the money returned.

Business Response: Brent Brown Toyota does have a message from Ms. ****** however the call back number that was left is not in service.   Without seeing ms. ******s paperwork our best guess would be that she has a Signet Financial Group refund contract.   If this is the case we are very sorry to inform her that Signet Financial Group very unexpectedly closed their doors and are no longer available to pay out any claims.  If she has a contract with a company other than Signet Financial Group she could forward it to us at ******@brentbrownauto.com.  We would also be happy to answer any further questions, and are sorry that the number we have is not in operation.  

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I was told by the salesman I would receive the $1313.00 back if I didn't have any claims.  The company should want to uphold a good reputation and follow through with what I was told when I bought the car.  It seems dishonest to not return the money to me.  I shouldn't be the one to lose out because Brent Brown chose that company to work with.

Sincerely,

***** ******

11/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/12, my husband and I purchased a new 4Runner from Brent Brown Toyota. The experience we had was very high pressured and very uncomfortable. We wanted to know what we would get for our trade in of a 2011 Lexus IS 250 for a 2015 Toyota 4Runner. We were told multiple times that if we wanted the price that we were getting (Payment of $559) we had to do the deal now because corporate was starting to charge interest on the cars still on the lot. Our sales man told us on our trade in that they were going to "cover the remainder", great we were getting $19,000 for our trade in which is a fair KBB for a "fair" conditioned car. Our car was flawless, but we understand a dealership has to make money. When we got to the paper signing, we saw that we were only given $14,000 for the trade in and that $6,000 was being added to the price of our new vehicle to pay off our old vehicle. This was very very deceitful, we were lied to. Our salesman knew that we were on a time crunch, while looking over this paperwork he was no where to be found. We feel like we were completely screwed over by Brent Brown Toyota. We feel like we were taken advantage of and given WAY below blue book for our Lexus.

Desired Settlement: Even though we were screwed out of nearly $3,000, we feel that it would be fair that Brent Brown Toyota refunds us $1,500.

Business Response: Brent Brown Toyota has tried several times to contact this customer in an effort to discuss and resolve her concerns.   We have left message but have not had any return phone call.   We will continue to try to reach customer.   We also found a pay check in the customers trade vehicle that we would like to return to her.   If the customer would be willing to call our Sales Manager Spencer ***** at ************ he would look forward to being able to help her. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I will not discuss this issue over the phone, I need written documentation. This issue will be discussed through the BBB. I cannot believe it took nearly a week to type that. You did not even address my issue. 

Sincerely,

Chelsea *******

Consumer Response: My letter back to Brent Brown clearly stated what I wanted from them. They stated that I could return their phone calls and that there is an old check in the car. My issue that was submitted through the BBB was not addressed at all in their response. I responded back saying that I would not call them, that I needed this to be typed out and submitted through the BBB because I will not have a phone conversation. I do not feel comfortable calling Brent Brown and not having clear documentation of the discussion. 

My original issue still stands of being screwed over and asking $1500 back from Brent Brown Toyota. This issue needs to be address and responded to by the company, not brushed over like in the last response. 

Business Response:

When discussing the purchase with the customer they were not discussing sale numbers really but payments, the whole time it was about a payment amount of 550.
After quite a while of negotiation we finally arrived at an agreement of 559 otd. In the finance office the customers agreed to also purchase gap insurance of 795 which brought the final payment up to 570.
Here is the break down of the deal
***** MSRP
-******** DISCOUNT SALE PRICE
******** INVOICE
******* under invoice and ******* under MSRP is what the customer paid.
A very large discount was given on the new vehicle instead of an over allowance on their trade.  It is not to possible to have both. 
The customer received $***** trade in allowance

The blue Book value of the trade showed the following
16578 KELLY BLUE BOOK FAIR VALUE
17570 KELLY BLUE BOOK GOOD VALUE
DEDUCTIONS
RWD not a great car for Utah because of the weather and winter. It eliminates a large customer base compared to the AWD version.
Another thing that eliminates perspective buyers are that it is just a base model. It does not have Navigation.
These two things make it harder to sell than one with those
It also has Accident on Carfax
The front end needs paint fix on the the lower bumper on both sides by the lower grille. 
Car needs to go through the shop for maintenance and repairs  
After you minus out the reconditioning and market adjustment for the above deductions the customers received a very good trade in value on their trade and an overall excellent deal when taking in to consideration the large discount on the new vehicle. 

4/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my car in 2010 the salesman offered me a 3rd party insurance for my car just in case I need any extra repair in the future. He told me that it's a great product to add to my purchase and if not used I get 100% refund after 60 months. The 3rd party insurance was Signet Financial Group. After paying off my car in March 2015 I submitted my request for refund to Signet. Never received an answer, then I tried to call the company directly and the number was a cruise ship travel number. I called the dealership directly and asked why I was sold a scam and I was referred to ***** who was dealing with all issues with the Signet Financial Group. I left a voicemail on Saturday April 4th, and never heard from her, then I called back on Wednesday, April 8 and she was unavailable, left another voicemail. ***** never called back. After my research I found out that this insurance company was out of business since 2011. I was never informed by Toyota and kept paying for this insurance all these years. Payments were made directly to Toyota and it was included in my monthly payment. I HAVE BEEN SCAMMED BY TOYOTA FOR 5 YEARS AND THERE IS 0 CUSTOMER SERVICE, 0 RESPONSIBILITY FROM THIS DEALERSHIP AND COMPANY. I AM SURE THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE SCAMMED THE SAME WAY AND PROBABLY THE ONLY THING TOYOTA HAS TO SAY IS TO DEAL WITH SIGNET DIRECTLY BUT IN FACT I WAS MAKING ALL OF THE PAYMENTS DIRECTLY TO TOYOTA.

Desired Settlement: $1379.00- FULL REFUND OF THE INSURANCE I HAVE BEEN PAYING FOR ALL THESE YEARS.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear about Miss. *********'s dissatisfaction.  I would like to clarify a couple of things.   The extended service agreement was a contract through Kornerstone. This is who was paid for the agreement.  The customer only financed that into her loan with Toyota Financial Services.   Her Kornerstone agreement has always been valid and could have been used for repairs at any time.   The customer was given, at no cost to her, a Signet agreement that would refund the total amount paid for the Kornerstone contract if she never used it.  However, Signet did go out of business very unexpectedly and left all of its customers including the dealers with no recourse at this time.  Furthermore the Signet agreement, which miss ********* signed, clearly states on the front, "Performance under this contract is the sole responsibility of Signet Financial Group and is not to be construed as an obligation on the part of the dealer."  This was in no way a "scam" but a very unfortunate and unforeseen closing a company that Brent Brown Toyota and thousands of other dealers nation wide had done business with.   We understand miss *********s frustration, but this does not make Brent Brown Toyota responsible for Signets acation. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I made the payments for the insurance directly to Toyota Brent Brown Dealership. I was never informed that Signet Financial Group was out of business since 2011. Otherwise I would  possibly change my choices and opted out of this insurance instead I made payments every month not knowing where the money were going. I was introduced to this option by a Toyota sales person. It is unfortunate that the 3rd party went out of business and Toyota does not want to take any responsibility but I purchased the insurance at their dealership office and It is unfortunate they probably scammed millions of people too. 


Sincerely,

**** *********

Business Response: We once again are sorry, however.  The coverage she paid for was always good.  This was not a "scam". Brent Brown Toyota and all other dealers had no indication that Signet, who had been in business for many years no problem would unexpectedly close their doors.  The customer received ALL the coverage she paid for. 

2/27/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a service agreement that does not exist. On 6/14/14 I financed a 2013 Toyota venza with 1592 miles from Brent brown Toyota. During closing I was sold a 'Toyota extra care vehicle service agreement' that was supposed to cover oil changes and vehicle maintenance for a term of 72 months at a cost of $2,037.00 that was financed into my auto loan. When I brought the car in at 5000 miles for the first oil change I was told there was no service plan for my vehicle, but that the service would be covered anyways. When I brought the vehicle in the second time I was told the same thing and had to pay $87.00 for the service. I've tried to call the Brent brown dealership and they tell me I have to talk to **** the finance person. I've tried calling him and left voicemails to which he never responded. I kept calling back and got him to pick up a couple times and he will tell me he is going to call me back and has not yet called me back in almost 2 weeks now.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get a full refund, return the vehicle, and get one that is eligible for a service agreement. I would love to give the Brent brown dealership another chance to provide a good service, but upon returning this vehicle I do not want to be obligated to trade it for another vehicle from Brent brown.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******@brentbrownauto.com
Customer does have a 7 year 100k powertrain agreement on vehicle that expires 3-12-2021 or a 100k which ever comes first. He also has a comprehensive warranty that is 5 year 60k miles which covers anything that is not a wearable item and is not due to an accident etc. that expires 3-21-2019 or 60k which ever comes first. If the customer would like another copy of these warranties we would be happy to provide them.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have no problem with the warranty and have all the documentation on the existing warranties. The toyota care prepaid service plan is what I am referring to in my complaint.

Business Response: We have responded to this complaint under BBB complaint # ********.   Here was our response 

We are sorry for the confusion on the Toyota Care maintenance contract. We received notice from Toyota Financial Services on January 27, 2015 the the approval has been corrected and the plan is in effect. If Mr. **** would like to forward the receipt for the oil change that he paid for to: Brent Brown Toyota ATTN: ***** ******* **** * ******** ** ***** **** ****, we will be happy to reimburse him for the out of pocket expense. Mr. **** may also call Toyota to verify the status of his contract at **************, and give either his contract number or vehicle identification number.
If you need any further information please let me know. 
Thank you,
***** ******* 

9/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Salesman convinced us in 2008 that we should purchase the Toyota Care Package and we would be refunded if we never used the Toyota Care package. In May 2008, my wife and I purchased a 2007 Toyota Corolla from Brent Brown Toyota. The salesman at the time was very pushy about us purchasing the Toyota Care Package. I thought that this was a great opportunity for us in case something ever did go wrong with the vehicle. My wife was not fond of the idea, but complied because the salesman assured us with 100% surety that we would receive our money back if we never used the Toyota Care Package. Biggest mistake ever. We never missed a payment even when I lost my job and had to move. My wife went in on April 7, 2014 to get our money from Brent Brown Toyota and **** ******* informed my wife that during that time they used an outsourcing company called Sintric that dealt with their Toyota Care Package and that the owners of that company are missing and have left the country. Why is this the first we are hearing of this? And why have no civil suits or anything like that been put over the internet regarding these individuals? This is bogus and Brent Brown needs to own up to their promises. It is not our fault that they got taken. We paid in good faith for over 6 years. Explain to me how this is honest. This is not right and if I need to I will hire a lawyer and press charges against Brent Brown. They have made Fraudulent claims and statements to their customers and they need to be held accountable for this.

Desired Settlement: First and for most, I want them to apologize for lying to my wife and making fraudulent statements to her. Secondly, I want my money back in it's entirety ($1420 NO MORE, NO LESS). Next, I want to make sure that no one ever buys a package deal from them again. Lastly, I want them to apologize to me face to face and for Brent Brown to admit that they made a mistake and from this day forth they will never lie to another customer again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/05/20) */ We apologize for the frustration this has cause the ******'s. To make it clear, the Toyota Care package the customer purchased was always valid and never affected by the closure of "Signet". The ******'s would have paid for the Toyota Care Agreement, but the Signet agreement which was the money back certificate was to provided to them at no charge by the dealer. Brent Brown Toyota and countless other dealers nation wide have used Signet for many, many years. It is unfortunate that Signet did close their doors with no warning and left all the the dealers and our customers with no recourse at this time. However the signet agreement does clearly state that the agreement is between the customer and Signet and the dealer has no financial responsibility. In an effort to help our customers Brent Brown Toyota is making some concessions for our customers in the form of service and sales certificates. We would be happy to go over these with Mr. ****** but we will need to know what name the vehicle was purchased under so we can pull the file. Thank you!

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bluetooth component of stereo does not work and cannot be fixed. Service is non responsive or helpful. Car was purchased on a lease. It was to have a stereo with bluetooth. I have brought the vehicle in 6 times over 6 months for repair work to have the bluetooth fixed, but toyota has been unable to repair or get it working. They have also run out of ideas but continue to push me off a month at a time. They have tried multiple fixes and reordered a number of items. Each time I have needed to continue to call them to find out what the status of the ordered part was. I would never receive a call or contact of any kind from the dealership. After all of this I discussed several other options because it was not working. I was offered the option to switch to another vehicle but at triple the price of the difference between the two vehicles. After my last service call I asked if this was an issue with other Scion iQ's and I was told that no one else cares about the bluetooth. Telling me there are likely hundreds if not thousands of scion iQ's on the road with non functional bluetooth devices they have paid for. Then after coming in was told I needed to call Toyota and pursue the lemon law...they provided the wrong number to me. Calls and inquiries during this process have been slow and/or non responsive. Letters written have received no reply. Brent Brown has seemed to have given up on helping me now leaving me on my own to get the problem resolved. I have never received an apology or any offered of compensation. I have provided ideas but as I mentioned previously I was meet whit what appeared to be another attempt to swindle me by bundling the cost into a new vehicle purchase. As a final insult...when I was handed off to the phone number to see about pursuing the lemon law and receiving a refund, not only was the number provided wrong, but I am also told I will still not get a portion of the refund because I will be charged for the mileage. Based on what the charges will be I will likely receive less than 1/3 the amount I have spent on this vehicle. Additional I continue to add mileage on the vehicle while I wait for a response for each and every location. Further decreasing the amount of a refund I "might" receive. And almost half of the millage I have now has been spent bringing the vehicle into the dealership for the failed repair work.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full and complete refund at this point

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/09/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX The repairs on this vehicle were completed on Aug 28, 2013. We understand the frustration the customer experienced in both time and expense. We will be providing the customer with a $50 gas card to help cover the gas expense. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2013/09/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Gas is really only half the issue, but Scion has directly made an offer as well.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Brent Brown Toyota
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart