This business is not BBB accredited.

B M W Of Murray

Phone: (801) 262-2479 Fax: (801) 266-9039 View Additional Phone Numbers 4735 S State St, Salt Lake City, UT 84107 http://www.bmwofmurray.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for B M W Of Murray include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for B M W Of Murray include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on B M W Of Murray
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1984 Business started: 10/01/1974 Business started locally: 10/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Motor Vehicle Enforcement
210 N 1950 W, Salt Lake City UT 84134
http://dmv.utah.gov/
Phone Number: (801) 297-2600

Business Management
Mr. Mark Winters, E Commerce Director Mr. Dave Clark, President Ms. Linda Hart, Company Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Winters, E Commerce Director
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
B M W-Mini Of Murray Mini Of Murray

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4735 S State St

    Salt Lake City, UT 84107 (801) 262-2479 (801) 262-2535 (888) 580-8980 (888) 691-8299 (877) 327-7107

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In January of 2015, I brought my Mini in for an investigation of grinding noises in my transmission. The transmission was found to have a leak and I promptly had it fixed. The company assured me that all leaks had been fixed and that new transmission oil had been put in the transmission. The grinding had gone away, and I assumed all leaks had been fixed. Then, In late march or early April, I called in to have a keyless entry issue investigated as well as a mechanical failure of the unlock mechanism. I was informed that the 100 dollar fee would identify the issue. During the inspection, the technician found another leak in the transmission. It appears that a leak was missed from the original repair. When I brought this up, the technician claimed that there wasn't a leak at the time, but I drove the mini a couple hundred miles at most, based on the odometer. In addition, the tech i spoke to didn't actually perform the work, so their clam is, in fact, speculative. This is actually not the first time that a 'suspicious' failure occurred after a 'repair' I have had this type of issue happen a few times now. In addition, the 100 dollar inspection fee failed to identify a problem. The report identifies that there is a problem, but it will cost more to find the exact failure. I already knew that there was a mechanical issue, and I paid to have it diagnosed, not to confirm what I already knew.

Desired Settlement: I expect Mini of Murray to own up to the mistake that they made in missing the leak. I am willing to pay the ~60 dollars quoted to me for the worn axle seal, but I refuse to pay for labor as the labor was already paid for in January to fix ALL leaks in the first place. I also expect the oil to be transmission oil to be topped off for free because it was lost from a missed leak. In addition, I expect the transmission to be THOROUGHLY inspected for any more leaks, not just a glancing overview that seems to have been given before. Finally, I expect the door mechanical mechanism failure to be identified as promised for the 100 diagnostic fee, not just the confirmation that there is an issue, which is obvious by simply turning the lock.

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a the typical power steering failure, but it melted my entire engine wire harness. They were willing to replace the pump and power wire harness, but didn't want to replace the engine harness it melted too. They tried to tell me that it doesn't normally melt that harness, so they didn't want to replace it for me. After arguing with them and calling the district manager, they finally replaced it for free. That saved me $1000! The pump melting down also took out my alternator which is $600, but they wouldn't replace that even with the arguing that it wouldn't have gone out if this hadn't happened. Finally after I get it back I noticed an air leak on the intake. I took it back to have them find it, but they just sprayed some carb cleaner around and when the engine didn't change pitch they said it was fine. I went home and tore into it myself and found the gasket they had ripped. I had just replaced that gasket a month earlier. I called to see what they would do, but they insist that they didn't remove that part of the intake. Funny since the new wire harness plugs into the knock sensor tucked right behind it. Still they insist it wasn't their fault. I was the one who installed that gasket a month ago, (before they worked on it) and I am very particular about the installation of parts. I can easily tell that the intake part with the now broken gasket was removed and re-installed by the shop. I have now ordered a new part, and I will be installing it myself.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund on the purchase price of the part plus shipping, and $40 for my time to install it.

Business Response:

We apologize you had an unsatisfactory service visit at MINI of Murray. We do strive to have 100% customer satisfaction. 

We apologize the supercharger gasket was showing signs of failure causing excessive engine noise. You are correct in that the knock sensor is located behind the hose, however, there isn't a connector to that sensor behind that hose that has a pigtail located on top of the engine in front of the intercooler. If MINI OEM parts were used to do the repairs for that gasket a month ago, they automatically come with a 2 year warranty and factory trained technician labor install whether we installed them initially or not. 


 MINI of Murray stands behind all our repairs and we warranty our work. Should we have had to remove the hose we would have replaced that gasket automatically. We performed the repairs on your vehicle without needing to remove your hose going to that failing gasket. 

Again we appreciate your business and feedback. We are more than willing to offer you the $** plus shipping to settle your concern. Please feel free to call us to arrange delivery of the part. We can be reached at ************ - ask for ****** ******, Service Manager. 

Thank you.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** *****

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BMW of Murray holding money illegally from last 4 months.I bought new car and they took money from me twice and not returning after promising. I am ****** ****, a resident of Midvale, Utah, USA. I recently purchased a BMW 750 li xdrive (VIN- WBAFY8C57DDXXXXXX), 2013, from BMW of Murray. The total on road price of the vehicle was $1XXXXX.41. This was not a financed vehicle and so, I paid the whole amount through an international demand draft of $1XXXXX.00 on July 23rd, 2013 in the name of the dealership. Having informed by the dealership that the demand draft could not be cleared till August 8th, 2013 and as I needed the car sooner, I made a second payment to BMW through Zions Bank cashier's cheque on August 10th, 2013 on the promise that they will repay me once my demand draft gets cleared. Having waited for a long time to get repaid from them, I contacted my bank in Singapore who issued the demand draft to understand what is taking so long for this draft to be cleared. Then, I was shockingly informed by my bank with proof that, the draft actually got cleared on July 24th, 2013 itself and the money has been in the BMW of Murray's bank account all this time. When I went back to BMW of Murray with this information, they said that they have the money but are skeptical about the security of this money and they say that it is possible that the money can be recalled or pulled back from their account. And, they will not repay me back until they are sure of its security. Its been past 4 months and they already have all the money, actually twice the money and I find their statement absurd that any bank can pull it back from their account. I paid twice the amount for one car, I have been said that my draft did not get cleared all this while and now I am left to do nothing but wait until they feel secured. I have taken all this risk only because of my confidence in the reputation of BMW. After going through all this, I have lost my faith . So, I issued them a formal demand letter through my lawyer on November 12h, 2013. I would like BBB to investigate this matter investigate this matter and take action accordingly, which can pave way for a better amicable resolution of this matter. If I do not get any help from BBB regarding this matter, then I will be left with no other choice but file a law suit against dealer, BMW of Murray, Utah.

Desired Settlement: Refund my first payment since I paid them again and they have got money each time and its sitting in their bank account since last three months and the probably owe me interest on this money for last 4 months.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/12/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******* e-Commerce Director Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@bmwofmurray.com Mr. **** was refunded his money. We mailed a check to his Lawyer on Monday Dec. 2nd. Mr. **** was aware and understood that the funds he had sent to us to pay fro the vehicle were unsecured funds. We instructed Mr. **** that we would need secured funds in order to process the payment on his vehicle. Mr. **** did provide payment and received his vehicle. Once we were able to convert his foreign unsecured payment into actual funds, we then refunded Mr. **** through his legal representation. Mr. **** accepted our terms and agreed to the process in order to receive his funds. At no time was Mr. **** without information as to were his funds were and when they would be returned to him. Due to the nature of the foreign unsecured funds transfer, an amount of time did pass before the funds could be converted and secured in our bank. Once that happened we returned the funds to him. Thank You **** ******* e-commerce Director


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on B M W Of Murray
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)