BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Mending Shed include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for The Mending Shed include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on The Mending Shed
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 11, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated 12/08/2012 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kara Bosshardt, Owner Mr. Craig J. Palmer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kara Bosshardt, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Small - Dealers Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
The Mending Shed Parts and Service The Mending Shed Retail TMS Services Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Mending Shed has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1735 S State St

    Orem, UT 84097 (800) 339-9297 (801) 512-2148 (801) 225-8012

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1774 Sandhill Rd

    Orem, UT 84058

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 4/27/16 - Made order. Was informed it would be 2-3 days for delivery. 5/4/16 - Still no order status or tracking # available. 5/4/16 - Emailed to find out what is going on. Twice. 5/4/16 - Called during business hours, no answer. 5/6/16 - Still no response, no update on order status. No communication, no desire to help solve the issue. This company seems to struggle with order/delivery fulfillment and lacks the ability to interact with their customers if and when issues on their side do occur. I'll go with another company that is more reputable and reliable.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my order.

Business Response:

I am attempting to contact ***** *******.  You placed an order with us, Mending Shed.com last Wednesday.  We have tried contacting you three times now by phone, our preferred method of contact as it is more personal, but am not getting in contact with you, and evidently you have been trying to reach us, however we do not have any emails from you.  You have now left us two bad reviews despite us trying to contact you several times. 

 

Your order was placed on hold on Thursday, we contacted you by phone on the number you provided ***-***-**** and our shipping guy, Dan E left a message letting you know KitchenAid had a promise date of 4-29-2016 and that we should have the grease in 3-4 days.  When we had not been invoiced from KitchenAid I contacted them and they said they did not have a promise date, and that it would be minimum of 4-6 weeks until the grease came in stock.  So we then went above and beyond what most companies would do and sourced another grease.

 

So yesterday and today we have been working on calling all of our orders that are being held for grease.  Dan E called again this afternoon and left a new message for you letting you know that the grease was still out of stock and that KitchenAid is telling us to expect 4-6 weeks.  The grease that we got in today is priced the same, is white in color rather than brownish/black, but is still a vegetable based, non toxic food grade grease. 

 

After you left a bad review on both facebook and the bbb I tried calling again, and again had to leave a voicemail.  I feel like we have done a pretty decent job of keeping you in the loop, as well as trying to help all of our customers so they do not have to wait the next month or two to fix their mixers. 

 

Please feel free to email me back or call.  Please be aware our hours are Monday through Friday Mountain standard time 8-5pm.  That means we are one hour ahead of your time in California.

 

Thank you,

 

Colleen J*****

Customer Service Manager

MendingShed.com

###-###-#### or ###-###-####

11/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a lid for my Kitchen Aide food processor from these folks - they had fulfilled a previous request for a part for my Kitchen Aide stand mixer successfully, figured they had their, us, stuff in one bag. I was wrong. Found the lid I needed, the part found at http://www.mendingshed.com/4176263.html. Ordered it, gave all my info, including credit card number, looked like things were a success. Watched for an email telling me the part was on its way. Nothing. Sent mail asking what's up (***************@mendingshed.com). Nothing. Called the 800 numbers (###-###-####, ###-###-####) three times, had to leave messages. No response. As far as I can tell, my cared was never charged - great, that's expected when someone does nothing. Still, *something* done (email. phone call, any kind of contact whatsoever) would be much better than *nothing*, which is what I received.

Desired Settlement: Stand up and do the job. Mistakes happen, but when they happen consistently, something is very wrong and needs to be corrected.

4/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a replacement wire whisk last fall and was sent the wrong model number. After repeated phone calls and promises to send the correct whisk, nothing was ever received. I mailed the incorrect whisk back to the company with a request for a refund on my credit card but never got the refund.

Desired Settlement: I want to be credited back the amount of the purchase.

Business Response: Customer said sent wire whip back, we had not received it so I spoke with the customer and got a tracking number which unfortunately did not pull up in the USPS system.  however told customer we would be more than happy to process a refund.  Processed refund to her Visa card in the full amount of original order.  Gave customer our contact information and let her know all she had to do was give a quick call and we could have tracked down the package.

Resolved

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *****

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a replacement dishwasher silverware basket in July of 2014. It arrived damaged so I called to ask for replacement. Product code ******** damaged silverware basket arrived. I am not sure of the exact order date but I was around the beginning of July. I placed call asking for replacement part and they said they would send one right away. I was given tracking number for replacement part **********************. Product never arrived so I place a SECOND call on 7-28-14. Spoke with ******* who said she would look into the problem and get it resolved. On 8-19-14 I called again. ******* said that she would check with the post office because there records showed it had been sent. She said she would call me back, but never did. On 9-15-14 I once again called and ******* said that she would refund by VISA. This never happened. 10-1-14 I called again to question why I did receive a refund on my VISA. ******* was going to look into it and call me back within 2 hours. I never got a call from her. Although this is a minimal amount of money, it is still the principle of this that is causing me to go to this length. Very frustrating that that I should have to call this many times. Product: Genuine Whirlpool Dishwasher Silverware Basket. ********. Cost with shipping 18.94, Order number is ******, Thank you for looking into this.

Desired Settlement: Full refund on my VISA account

3/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with the company a month ago. The order has been put on hold and they have failed to respond to any of my efforts to contact them. I placed an order for some kitchenaid parts a month ago. The order was put on hold and I have yet to be charged. However, the company does not respond to my email. I have sent 3 emails trying to get information as to why it is on hold and when it will be available and have received no information and the website has not updated my order status from hold. Without a response I cannot cancel my order and get the parts from someone else.

Desired Settlement: I want my parts or the ability to cancel my order so I can get them from a reputable company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/02/28) */ This order has been cancelled at the customer's request and we believe the issue is resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2014/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

2/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 17, 2013, I placed an order. My order has not been shipped, and there has been no response to my phone call or e-mails. On October 17, 2013, I placed an order on mendingshed.com for replacement parts for a Victorio Strainer. The order number is XXXXXX. I paid using a credit card. Several days later, I received a call that two of the parts were back ordered, but should arrive soon. Since then, I have not heard anything, and the rest of the order has not been shipped. My order status on the website says the order is on hold.On November 9, 2013, I sent an e-mail requesting information as to when the order was expected to be shipped. I also asked if the items that were in stock could be sent. There was no reply. On December 23, I called during store hours, but no one answered. The website said they were open. I left a message and explained the situation. I also sent an e-mail the same day, again stating the situation. No one called or responded to the e-mail.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the items that I ordered which are in stock to be sent to me now, and the parts that are back ordered to be sent as soon as possible. I should not have to pay addition shipping charges. If the two items which are back ordered cannot be sent, I would like a refund for those parts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/01/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@mendingshed.com We have contacted this customer on 10/17/2013 and left a message letting her know that the parts were out of stock and on back order with the manufacture. The manufacture will not have the parts back in stock until 04/30/2014, because of the 6+month delay we cancelled the customers order and invited them to reorder the parts in April if they were still needed. Our system does not have the ability to track back ordered parts for that long of a time, so we cancelled the customers order, and notified her by phone. We never took payment on this order so there was no refund due. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We checked our records, and we were not charged for the items that were ordered. However, we will not do business with this company again. They did NOT tell me that the order was cancelled or that we could reorder in April when they left a message on my phone saying that part of the order was back ordered. They said the parts would be in soon. When I sent them an email in November asking about the order, they did not respond. Nor did they respond to an email or phone call in December. My account on the website said my order was on hold, not cancelled. This is poor customer service. Common courtesy would be to at least respond to the e-mails and phone call to let me know that the order was cancelled and that we had not been charged.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on The Mending Shed
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart