BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for The Mending Shed include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for The Mending Shed include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The Mending Shed
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 11, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated: 12/08/2012 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Kara Bosshardt, Owner Mr. Craig J. Palmer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kara Bosshardt, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Small - Dealers Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
The Mending Shed Parts and Service The Mending Shed Retail TMS Services Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1735 S State St

    Orem, UT 84097 (801) 225-8012 (800) 339-9297 (801) 512-2148

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1774 Sandhill Rd

    Orem, UT 84058

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 339-9297(Phone)
  • (801) 512-2148(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a replacement dishwasher silverware basket in July of 2014. It arrived damaged so I called to ask for replacement. Product code ******** damaged silverware basket arrived. I am not sure of the exact order date but I was around the beginning of July. I placed call asking for replacement part and they said they would send one right away. I was given tracking number for replacement part **********************. Product never arrived so I place a SECOND call on 7-28-14. Spoke with ******* who said she would look into the problem and get it resolved. On 8-19-14 I called again. ******* said that she would check with the post office because there records showed it had been sent. She said she would call me back, but never did. On 9-15-14 I once again called and ******* said that she would refund by VISA. This never happened. 10-1-14 I called again to question why I did receive a refund on my VISA. ******* was going to look into it and call me back within 2 hours. I never got a call from her. Although this is a minimal amount of money, it is still the principle of this that is causing me to go to this length. Very frustrating that that I should have to call this many times. Product: Genuine Whirlpool Dishwasher Silverware Basket. ********. Cost with shipping 18.94, Order number is ******, Thank you for looking into this.

Desired Settlement: Full refund on my VISA account

3/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with the company a month ago. The order has been put on hold and they have failed to respond to any of my efforts to contact them. I placed an order for some kitchenaid parts a month ago. The order was put on hold and I have yet to be charged. However, the company does not respond to my email. I have sent 3 emails trying to get information as to why it is on hold and when it will be available and have received no information and the website has not updated my order status from hold. Without a response I cannot cancel my order and get the parts from someone else.

Desired Settlement: I want my parts or the ability to cancel my order so I can get them from a reputable company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/02/28) */ This order has been cancelled at the customer's request and we believe the issue is resolved. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 13, 2014/03/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

2/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 17, 2013, I placed an order. My order has not been shipped, and there has been no response to my phone call or e-mails. On October 17, 2013, I placed an order on mendingshed.com for replacement parts for a Victorio Strainer. The order number is XXXXXX. I paid using a credit card. Several days later, I received a call that two of the parts were back ordered, but should arrive soon. Since then, I have not heard anything, and the rest of the order has not been shipped. My order status on the website says the order is on hold.On November 9, 2013, I sent an e-mail requesting information as to when the order was expected to be shipped. I also asked if the items that were in stock could be sent. There was no reply. On December 23, I called during store hours, but no one answered. The website said they were open. I left a message and explained the situation. I also sent an e-mail the same day, again stating the situation. No one called or responded to the e-mail.

Desired Settlement: I would like all of the items that I ordered which are in stock to be sent to me now, and the parts that are back ordered to be sent as soon as possible. I should not have to pay addition shipping charges. If the two items which are back ordered cannot be sent, I would like a refund for those parts.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/01/28) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ****** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@mendingshed.com We have contacted this customer on 10/17/2013 and left a message letting her know that the parts were out of stock and on back order with the manufacture. The manufacture will not have the parts back in stock until 04/30/2014, because of the 6+month delay we cancelled the customers order and invited them to reorder the parts in April if they were still needed. Our system does not have the ability to track back ordered parts for that long of a time, so we cancelled the customers order, and notified her by phone. We never took payment on this order so there was no refund due. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) We checked our records, and we were not charged for the items that were ordered. However, we will not do business with this company again. They did NOT tell me that the order was cancelled or that we could reorder in April when they left a message on my phone saying that part of the order was back ordered. They said the parts would be in soon. When I sent them an email in November asking about the order, they did not respond. Nor did they respond to an email or phone call in December. My account on the website said my order was on hold, not cancelled. This is poor customer service. Common courtesy would be to at least respond to the e-mails and phone call to let me know that the order was cancelled and that we had not been charged.