This business is not BBB accredited.

Famous Appliance Service Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (801) 397-0079 View Additional Phone Numbers 7787 Allen St, Midvale, UT 84047 http://www.famousapplianceservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Famous Appliance Service Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 18
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Famous Appliance Service Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 29, 2006 Business started: 05/20/2004 Business started locally: 05/20/2004 Business incorporated 05/20/2004 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Jordan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Jordan, Owner
Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Electric Equipment - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Famous Appliance Famous Appliance Repair

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Famous Appliance Service Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7787 Allen St

    Midvale, UT 84047 (801) 474-3900 (801) 621-2137 (801) 768-1995 (801) 898-2347 (801) 397-0079

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 708157

    Sandy, UT 84070

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called to have a refrigerator door handle fixed. Someone came out and looked. Told us the part would have to come from a factory so it might take a bit longer then normal. Almost two months later we canceled the order due to no part or any idea of when so part would be coming. We called many time in that time period asking for answer and was told each time that someone would call us and let us know when it was coming. No one ever called back until another follow up phone call from us. This happened 3 of the times we called. After we were fed up we canceled the part. The nice man said that the manager was out of town and would call us back first thing the following Tuesday morning. I finally called Wednesday and was told some would call me on Thursday, which they did. This lady couldn't really help us understand anything. We believe that them charging us 65 dollars is not fair business because they actually hurt us in many ways. We were told we would have a fixed refrigerator soon and never got it, which in turn cost us more money because we were trying to sell out home. Also we found the parts online for a quarter the cost we were being charged for them. Same factory parts need for the fix. I run a HVAC business here in the state, I'm glad I do not treat costumers in this manner because I would be out of business if I did. They did offer to give us a dryer vent cleaning in the place of the repair that was not completed, but I will not support a company in this way that hurt costumers with a real problem of being taken advantage of.

Desired Settlement: I think it far that I get our 65 dollars back that I can pay someone who can keep their word and fix my refrigerator or at least try and communicate with the customer what is going on.

Business Response: All the staff at Famous Appliance that spoke with Mr. ******** have worked their best to come to a solution of this customer's complaint.

When the customer called to schedule, we explained that it would be $60 (plus tax) to go out and diagnose the machine. The customer agreed to it, and so we sent our technician to take a look at the appliance. The technician gave the customer a bid, which was accepted, and the customer was charged for just the price of the part. This could have been due to the fact that it was just a refrigerator handle and so it wouldn't require much effort to install the part, but typically, labor is charged for every job we go out to. This is the first example showing that our company was treating the customer fairly and in no way trying to get the best of him.

Our technician then found the proper part number and found out that it would be a factory order part, and accordingly told the customer that it would take longer due to the fact that all factory orders usually come within 7-10 days, sometimes more. After a period of time of not getting his part, the customer called for an ETA. We called the factory to check when the part would be coming in, and each time they told us that they would call us back within the next day or two, but the factory never got back with us either. When we told the customer that we didn't have a definite time the part would arrive he was reasonably upset, so we offered to refund him for the part.

Normally, our company has a fee of at least 25%  when there is a cancellation on an order of parts. This is something that can be found on all of our invoices, which all customers sign before we do any work. We realized that in this case, however, the customer was not at fault, and so we told him that we would not be charging the cancellation fee because this situation was beyond any of our control. We refunded all but the trip and diagnostic fee due to the fact that our technician still had to go out and research the parts and how to fix the appliance. There isn't another way we could have known which particular door handle this particular refrigerator needed, because parts are uniquely built and vary from company to company.  As our receptionists have the job of scheduling appointments and it is the technician's  to provide the actual technical experience. There is no way that they could have helped Mr. ******** find the part number for the part that he needed to fix his refrigerator. For this reason, it is company policy that we send a technician, and that for each trip we make, there will be a service fee of $60.

We also realized that this wasn't our customer's fault that we were unable to fix his appliance, and so we offered to give him a dryer vent clean, which lessens the risk of your house catching fire and increases the life of your dryer. This service currently has the coupon value of $89 within our company, and so we explained to Mr. ******** that while we couldn't refund the trip and diagnostic fee, that this is a service we would do for free to make up for the inconvenience of not having his refrigerator handle for over two months. Mr. ******** then said that he wanted nothing to do with our company. We believe that we have tried to do everything to reconcile this situation, and the customer is not obligated to agree with our practices, but we feel strongly that we have treated him in a fair manner and offered a reasonable solution.  We believe this situation to be resolved.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I will not be satisfied because I have not got my money back. I was NOT told there would be a 60 dollar charge. I never received and invoice for anything! I never received any paperwork or emails or nothing. We never signed anything when he "gave us a bid" but did say that they were just charging us for the part now but would for the labor after the installation of the part. So how would I know that there was a cancelation fee that they are claiming I should know about. I am angry because of the lack of communication given to me even when I asked for it many times. Even if the factory didn't call them then that should be communicated back so I know what to expect! Not wait until someone calls back again and again to find out. I like to support Utah companies to do work because I believe in such things, because I am a Utah company, but when there is NO communication with a customer then you fail them and yourself. Then trying to offer me something that was not asked for or needed, I was offended because the "reasonable solution" that was offered did not a problem fix, it was a attempt to cover up the problem and the fact that they failed to do what was expected and that they told me would be fixed. I don't go to a customers home and if I cant fix their furnace or Air Conditioner offer to fix their TV, that is not why they called me there. I am there to communicate and get it fixed within expectations that are given at the time of the visit. If I cant fix something that I come across, which does happen, I will try and help them find someone that can fix the problem for them. Which seems to be liked by everyone I have helped in that way. I do not offer to wash their windows and expect the furnace to get fixed based on my washing skills. It just doesn't make sense.

I guess the one thing I can thanks them for is showing how important it is to my customers that I communicate with them to fulfill their expectations and timeline. I like it a lot better to get a call from a customer who is happy with what I have done then one that has been ignored and pushed aside. I would much rather lose a few dollars then have someone that will never call be back for future business. Because in the long run people like to call people they trust back when they have done them good work. A much better feeling knowing that I have helped someone rather then just take their hard earned money and will never get the call back or referral.

I also will continue to supporting Utah companies, just not this one. That is my recommendation to everyone out there.

 Also just to be noted I found the part, from the factory, and installed it myself for less then 30 dollars.

Sincerely,

Mr. ********

Business Response: Whoever called to schedule us, whether it was your wife or yourself, was told that it is $60 to go out and take a look at your appliance. This is one of the first things we do when we schedule our customers. The $60 is taken off when the work is done, which you agreed to have done, but then cancelled, which means that the trip charge is still applicable. We did not charge you a cancellation fee in this situation either, because we felt that was unfair.  An invoice was sent to you. If you didn't get it, you are more then welcome to request another one.  Obviously, the job would be cheaper if you did it yourself, so we're glad that you got your appliance fixed. As an owner of an  HVAC company, I'm sure you have a mark up on your parts as well, unless your company is a one-man band, which means that you have less expenses anyway and can afford to do jobs for cheaper since you'd be getting all the profit. Whether you wanted to accept the vent clean or not, that's something that could only help you as you're in the process of trying to sell your home. If you don't want our help, that's fine. Don't use us. We worked hard to try and resolve your situation, and you didn't accept our offer.  We are not obligated to give the trip charge and diagnostic fee back. Our tech went out, and since it was a handle there is no possible way that he diagnosed your problem incorrectly. It wasn't our fault or your fault that the parts didn't come in a timely matter, and we refunded what we could according to company policies and procedures. 

Also, since when did the BBB become a tool to extort money from businesses? 

3/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We called to have our fridge repaired and were told it was a bad compressor, the repair was made and we were charged $868.08. Two days later the fridge was still not working properly and we called again. Another technician came to our home and worked for a while and told us it was fixed. The next day it stopped working again. We called again and a third technician came out and checked our fridge, he added a tiny bit of refrigerant and told us it was fixed. The next day it still wasn't working. We requested a refund and the owner of the business refused to call us back. We called multiple times and none our calls were returned. We ended up buying a new fridge and still cannot get Famous appliance service to return our calls.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund of $868.08

Business Response:

We have reached out to customer to resolve this complaint, and have offered the solution of exchanging full refund, except the initial trip charge and diagnostic fee of $40, in exchange for their broken appliance.  We will continue to wait for the customer’s response. 

3/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: had technician come over to fix my washer. He took the back off the washer and noticed the the rotary assembly bolt was loose. He proceeded to tell me he would just charge me he cheapest labor cost to tighten the bolt. He then got out a pare of pliers to tighten this bolt the should have had locklite on it and been tightened with a socket wrench.....but he used pliers...really?... The washer worked fine when he then tested it. Said it was fixed. Then charged me $136.74 to tighten a bolt with pliers.... He was at my home for 15 minutes...maybe. Anyways he leaves. I start a load of laundry 10 minutes into the cycle it starts making a horrible sound. I stop the washer take the back off myself... The rotor assembly is completely striped. Because the tech didn't use the proper tool and locklite for this bolt. At this point he had been gone from my home for only 30 minutes. I called famous appliance services and they sent him back out. I went online to find the part I needed and could get it from LG the manufacture for $69.00. He comes back at tells me he can get me that part for $318.00........ Really. I was very upset he told me he would give me a refund. I have called the company 4 times still haven't seen the refund. Haven't talked to the person they said would call me to resolve this..

Desired Settlement: I want a complete refund!....ASAP!

Business Response:

 We have been made aware of the situation, the customer paid 136.74 and we have already refunded the customer $72.63, which is the all but the initial trip charge and diagnostic fee of $64.11 ( which includes sales tax).  We feel this matter is resolved.  Please let us know if there are any other questions or concerns with this matter.

 

2/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have two complaints with this company. First, Famous Appliance sends out coupons in the Hometown Values mailers. One of the coupons says $20 off service call and the expiration date. Nothing else. Their service calls are $60+ tax and I went to pay him the money and he wouldn't accept the coupon. I could only use it if I used their service. However, on the phone the lady told me that if I used their service that I wouldn't have to pay the $60, it would be waived. In no way could either one of them tell me how I could get $20 off. This was the mailer in January and today Feb. 9th I received a new mailer with the same coupon. So people think they are getting a better deal on a service call and they aren't. I think this is dishonest. My second complaint is the actual service. The guy came in and I told him what was going on with our oven/stove. He didn't pull it out or look at it. All he did was tell me it was the mother board and it would be $500+ to fix. We didn't want to put that money into an old stove. Interesting enough, my friends husband knows a thing or two about stoves (I didn't know this before) he actually pulled my stove out and looked at it. Worked on it for a bit and fixed it. So obviously I'm mad because I paid $64.11 for someone to come out and not even look at my oven and tell me what the problem was even though he was wrong.

Desired Settlement: I think they owe me at least a $20 refund for false advertising but also they should refund me the whole amount for false diagnostic.

Business Response: We did find that one of our ads had wording that could be confusing, as to when to apply a $20 discount.  We have looked into the problem with the ad and has now been resolved.  We have also issued the customer a $** refund for the confusion and inconvenience.  We stand by out techs diagnosis, that intermittent problems with control boards getting temporary fixed is not a solution.  

2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When repairing my washing machine, the company replaced unbroken parts without letting me know it was an option to not replace them. Re: Invoice ***** On July 1, 20014 I called Famous Appliance to see if they could come repair my washing maching as soon as possible. My washing maching had been broken for a few weeks, but in that time, my dad had been ill and passed away, so I was busy with other things. So by the time the funeral was over and I was getting around to fixing the washing machine, I was in a bit of a bind. However, Famous Appliance seemed to have a fair price for coming to diagnose my machine and they said they could come the next day, so I had them come out. After a quick 15-minute diagnostic of my machine, the technician said that the coupling was broken and the repair would be nearly $400, but encouraged me to repair it because it was a good machine. That price startled me, but the technician explained that the coupling was part of a "spin kit" that he would have to replace, which also included a new pump. I reluctantly autorized the repair, just assuming that this must be a fair price for such a major repair (as it sounded to me). Ten or fifteen minutes later, the technican appeared again, telling me that he was all done. It was at that point I knew that, notwithstanding the sound of it, the repair was quite minor and should not have cost nearly $400. After he left, I started researching the matter. I called around to several other repair places and got some quotes for the repair. I also found out from talking with these other professionals that you do not have to get replace a whole "spin kit" when the coupling is broken--you can just simply replace the coupling, which is what each of them would have done. They also quoted me prices that were each a fraction of what I had been charged by Famous Appliance. In fact, one of the other repairmen told me whoever gave me the quote I had "was trying to sell you the farm." This technician also fielded a guess that the quote came from either Famous Appliance or one other company that is also known for this type of gouging. When I called Famous Appliance to complain (as well as to get my invoice that I had still not received), the guy who I talked with, who told me he had been a tecnician previously, told me that they always replace the pump with the coupling, even if the pump's not broken, because that's what the manufactures recommend. He was very rude with me and made it clear that he thought as long as the price was disclosed and authorized, that there was no problem, even if they didn't disclose that something they said needed to be replaced really didn't need to be replaced. There were other problems I had with the company, including that they had me sign my name on a computer attachment when I couldn't even see what they were wanting me to sign, that I had to call their office at least four times to finally get a copy of my invoice, and their parts prices are severly inflated ($68.16 for a coupling that I can find for a few dollars online). Each of these amounts to a deceptive business practice (and from prior complaints, it appears that these happen often). However, I think the most clearly illegal thing they did was to tell me they had to replace the "spin kit" to fix my coupling, when that was not true. They could have simply fixed the broken part and not the pump, which pump the technician told me was fine. They could have suggested changing the whole thing, or told me what the manufacturer recommended, but no such thing was done. It was presented as a necessary repair to fix the problem with my machine. This is a direct violation of the consumer protection act. I think I have a leagal case, but I am first attempting to get resolution this way as I think it would be ***eficial to both parties. Going to court would hassel for me, and the stakes would be higher for Famous Appliance (I think violations of the consumer protection act are awarded at least $2000 each). I hope we can resolve it this way. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for the pump that was replace that didn't need replacing ($142.90) and then for a portion of the labor charge. Since the pump was 68% of the parts cost, that portion of the labor cost should be refunded as well ($87.04). That is a total of $229.94. I do not intend to budge on this amount. This leaves me having paid $153.72 for the necessary repairs, which is a generous offer for those services. I have called several other appliance repair companies to get quotes for coming to replace the coupling and the highest quote was $150 (a couple quoted well below that amount). This leaves me having paid for the inflated prices associated with the coupling replacement.

Business Response: Contact Name and Title: *** ****** Office Manager
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ***********@gmail.com
In response to Mrs, ******** complaint with Famous Appliance Service.


Mrs, ******** was given a bid to fix her washer that had an obviously bad coupling, Here at Famous Appliance Service we have seen that when the coupling, on that particular washer goes bad the pump is very likely to go out soon after that that. We have attended the whirlpool training courses and they recommend that we change them at the same time, That is why we recommend that the customer change both parts. This is what happened in this case, the tech found that the coupling was bad and told the customer, He recommended that the pump be changed at the same time. the customer approved the work and we replaced the pump and coupling (because we carry them on our truck) and later she had buyers remorse and now is trying to tell us what was wrong with her washer and how she could have fixed it better herself. we have trained professionals working here that have been through a lot of training to learn how to fix our customers appliances and that is what she called us for and we did what she approved and payed us for. she has a full 1 year warranty on parts and labor and the washer is working great. we will not be giving a refund for the work we have done. she approved us to do the repair and payed us to do so. and only after it was fixed and working perfectly did she call wanting to get her money back.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Famous Appliance is simply not telling the truth. I was given a quote to fix the washer, which I approved. However, that approval was based on the representation that that amount was what was needed to fix my washer. There was absolutely no mention that the pump did not need to replaced and that it was only a recommended repair. Instead, I was told that the coupling came as part of a "spin kit" (I'm not sure such a thing even exists) and it would cost nearly $400 to replace. There was never the option to spend significantly less and replace only the part that was broken. Also, when I called to complain a couple of days later after I learned from another company's technician that the pump did not need to be replaced, the man that I talked to told me that it was their policy to always replace the pump when fixing a broken coupling. Indeed, he stated that they would refuse to repair the coupling without changing the pump. But now their story is changing when their approach is under scrutiny. Although, considering that this whole complaint is essentially based on their misrepresentations, I can't say I'm surprised by this response.

Business Response: WE ARE VERY SORRY THAT MRS. ****** ******** FEELS LIKE WE HAVE RIPPED HER OFF IN SOME WAY. THE FACT OF THE MATTER IS THAT SHE APPROVED FOR THE WORK TO BE DONE AND WE FIXED HER MACHINE TO THE WHIRLPOOL STANDARDS AND NOW THE MACHINE IS IN PERFECT WORKING ORDER. WE HAVE IN NO WAY RIPPED ANYBODY OFF. SHE HAD PERFECT OPPORTUNITY TO TELL THE TECHNICIAN NO. BUT SHE WANTED IT FIXED AND WE DID SO. AND NOW THAT SHE HAS A WORKING MACHINE THAT THE TECHNICIAN FIXED THE RIGHT WAY WITHOUT TAKING SHORT CUTS DOES SHE WANT A REFUND. WE ARE MORE THAN WILLING TO SEND A COUPON FOR THE NEXT REPAIR.

10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have requested a receipt for washer diagnosis 3 times and have never received it. On 7/31, a technician came out to diagnosis issue with my washer. I paid for the diagnosis by Debit Card, I asked for a receipt and he told me he was sending it to my email and it would be there in 2 minutes. I never received it. I called the company on the same day and was told she had to wait for the technician to close the service call. I called on 8/1, was told she would check into it again and get my receipt emailed to me. Nothing again! I called again on 8/4 and spoke to **** again, and was told it had to go through the Invoice Dept and was not sure why I did not have a receipt, but she would call me back and let me know.. And again NOTHING!.. I paid for the diagnosis and I should have a receipt for what I paid for with the diagnosis, and what repairs they are charging for on order to get my washer repaired. I should not have to go through 1 story after another. It's a simple request..provide me my receipt!Terrible Customer Service. I will not continue to call back and waste my time with people who are not willing to make sure I, the Customer am taken care of in a timely manner. Such a simple request ends up being a big problem.

Desired Settlement: I want my receipt showing the diagnosis and price for the repair.

Business Response: we are deeply sorry for not getting a receipt to the customer and we will be getting one sent out today. we have been having trouble with our system and now it is fixed.

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When appointment made, we were led to expect one price and amount of time. When they arrived and asked a few questions, they changed their price. FAMOUS APPLIANCE INCIDENT Since we were moving from a location in Riverton, Utah, to one in Pleasant View, Utah, it was required that the drum in our front-loading washer be secured in position, in order that it could be safely moved to our new home. We did not have any previous contact with any appliance repair or maintenance companies. Since Famous Appliance, in their advertisements, stated they were "Gephardt Approved," we contacted them on Tuesday (5/7/13) to see what they charged for this operation and to see if they had an opening in their schedule before we moved. After explaining what we needed done and added the fact that we already had the restraining bolts to secure the drum in place (which we had from our last move), the lady who answered the telephone quoted a charge of $40.00 for the visit to do this. She also stated that, if the time did not exceed 15 minutes, the $40.00 should be the complete charge, unless something else "popped up." Thus, we expected no additional charges beyond the quoted figure, knowing how quickly they had secured during previous moves. The lady asked if we needed someone out there today (the day we called) to which we replied that we did not. She stated that most of the people who called needed someone right away. We told her we were moving on Thursday (5/16/13) and requested that they schedule someone to come between Monday (5/13/13) and Wednesday (5/15/13). She set us up for an appointment on Wednesday (5/15/13) between 3:00 PM and 6:00 PM. The technician did not show up until almost 6:30 PM on Wednesday (5/15/13). After reviewing with him what we wanted done, and showing him the restraining bolts, he spent the next 15 minutes trying to raise our concern about potential problems with the water pump in the washer and trying to sell us a servicing of the washer in order to avoid that problem with it, a servicing that would cost over $200.00 and which we declined. Then he casually asked when we were moving, to which he was told at 9:00 AM tomorrow AM (5/16/13), after which he then quoted us a total charge of $88.00 to secure the bolts in place properly, telling us that the $40.00 quoted by the office was a trip charge, which he was now reducing to only $20.00 since he would be doing something beyond the trip. The total now would be $108.00 plus tax, a figure for which we had no expectations and so explained to him. After re-explaining the charge to us, we were asked if he should do it or should he leave. It was now 6:45 PM and we felt that there was no choice. We could not get another appliance company out in time before the movers came early the next morning. It would make the move more difficult and even more costly than we were now being charged. In looking back at the incident, our feeling is that the lady at the office intentionally misled us and followed that up by scheduling the appointment to be at the last possible moment, even though she was given a 3-day window that could easily have avoided that. Then, when the technician knew the time frame involved in the move and that we were at that last moment, time-wise, he then quoted completely different pricing. After the move was over and we had a chance to calmly review what the appliance company did to us, we contacted the Gephardt Approved company on approximately Thursday (5/24/13), talking to a gentleman who said he would contact Famous Appliance and get back to us, probably the next day. We heard nothing. We followed up the lack of response on approximately Tuesday (6/4/13), talking to a different gentleman who said the person to whom we had talked previously was out on "medical leave," but there was a record that he did send an e-mail to Famous Appliance and, so far, they had received no response. The second person said he would also contact Famous Appliance and get back to us. Come Monday (6/17/13), we still had not heard back from him either, leaving us feeling like the "Gephardt Approved" concept is just a money ma

Desired Settlement: A partial credit for work done to correspond to what we were quoted over the telephone.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **** manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX This is a case of buyers remorse. They agreed to the charges before the tech did the work. After the work was done they want to haggle on the price. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 24, 2013/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) It looks like this is going to be one of your unresolved disputes. Not worth $75.00 to receive $30.00--- Please note that now they are saying they did not charge a trip charge, yet before they talked about it being $40.00 and,then, also how they cut that charge in half since they were doing additional work. Does it take a lot of common sense to understand this situation? Our only recourse, it seems, is to advise all our friends and family in the area to avoid this vendor for their needs. Vendor needs to learn that when disputes come up, and they will, you can win a loyal customer for life if it is handled well, which this was not. Final Business Response /* (4000, 22, 2013/10/09) */ Our Technician didn't charge a trip charge to go to this customer's home. He only charged labor to do the work. We're sorry that our charges were misunderstood, but we are unable to offer any thing besides the $30 coupon.

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I saw an advertisement for 1/2 off service call (Reg. $40) when you mention the ad shown on KSL.com was not honored I saw an advertisement for 1/2 off service call (Reg. $40) when you mention the ad shown on KSL.com, I informed the dispatcher that answered and she agreed that the charge would be $20. When the tech came out he quoted me much more than I could afford so I gave him my credit card to charge the $20 fee to. He let me know that I would receive a emailed receipt, which I never got. I checked my card account and saw that I was charged the $40 fee so I called the dispatcher back and she apologized and said she could have a check for me the following Wednesday. On the Friday following I called to be sure the check was on its way. It was not. I was told they dont know if they could do that now and that it would be easier to just refund my card which I agreed to. I also let her know that the diagnosis given was also incorrect (after a second opinion)and dont feel I should be charged for anything, she became defensive and rude and said I will need to send an invoice from the other company that gave me second opinion if I want the other $20 back. I said I would do that once the repair was complete. After not seeing the refund for the original overcharge for 2 weeks I called them again and all the sudden they dont remember saying that and I need to send them the invoice. I explained again how I'm still waiting on the original overcharge refund since the repair has not been complete. I was told they would call me back and still have not called.

Desired Settlement: I prefer the whole refund of the $40 charge since the tech that came out misdiagnosed the problem. I am willing to get them the invoice from the new repair man showing it was incorrect once the repair is complete but for now I want the $20 overcharge

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/09/19) */ We refunded the $21.37 to her a couple months ago. We need an invoice from the other company to show us that it was misdiagnosed then we will be able to refund the other amount. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 17, 2013/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The 21.37 was never refunded to me. When I called to check on it with the company the rep became very rude and demanded I turn in this invoice from the other company. I still have not had the repair completed due to the cost but I do expect the21.37 to be refunded. For the initial over charge. Final Business Response /* (4000, 19, 2013/09/25) */ This was a mistake on our part, we certainly apologize. I tried calling this morning to refund the $21.37 to our customer's card. We would like to send a $30 off coupon on the next service call.

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Replaced a part that did not need to be replaced. Sales rep, ******* ****** replaced part #XXXXXXXX on 6-17-13, same part we had put in just a few days earlier we had purchased from the Mending Shed in Orem. When we saw the part in the trash, we called the company to discuss and they were not willing to discuss it at all. He did fix the icemaker which we are willing to pay for but feel the charge for the part is unwarranted and should be refunded. Once they made it clear, they were unwilling to resolve this issue, we put a stop payment on the check. We received notice today in the mail that they have sent this to a collection agency. I will tell all I know that this company does NOT deserve the Gerhardt approval rating, they are dishonest and not willing to work with customers to resolve issues.

Desired Settlement: 204.44 for the part replaced that did not need to be replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2013/09/20) */ The part the customer bought and installed themselves was a defective part, our technician gave the customer an estimate to replace the part and they approved that the repair be made. The refrigerator is working now and has been since the repair. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2013/09/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We gave consent to repair frig as part of the work order process, but technician did NOT inform us that the part he was replacing was the new part we had just put in.

10/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Famous Appliance charged me for services they never rendered and tried to get me to pay for parts I did not need. Famous Appliance Service Company came out to fix our air conditioner that had stopped the night before. Their tech spent several hours at my house doing who knows what just to tell us that we needed to change 3 parts on the air conditioner and that he did not have those parts and would have to return the next day. The total bill was going to be about $900. After a long hot night of having to have my family sleep in my basement to keep cool, I had another company come and give me a second opinion first thing the next morning. Their tech had my air conditioner running in 15 minutes without changing any of the parts that Famous Appliance said I needed to buy. When I called to cancel Famous Appliance's services I was told by their tech that he was still waiting for the parts for my air conditioner. I told him not to come as none of those parts needed to be changed and my air conditioner had been fixed. Famous charged me the full $891.68 they had quoted for the repairs that I did not need. I called Famous 3 times demanding a credit. I asked them to refund those funds as they had not performed any services (and had tried to defraud me out of about $900) they ultimately refused to refund the full amount stating that their policy was to charge a 25% restocking fee for the parts for my air conditioner. This despite the fact that they didn't have those parts when they arrived at my home or when I called to cancel their repair. Currently the charge of $891.68 is still reflected on my account.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the full amount charged on my credit card and an apology.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/08/07) */ Contact Name and Title: **** manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX This complaint has already been resolved. A refund has already been sent. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2013/08/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company processed a partial refund, leaving a balance of about $225. I made a complaint with my credit card, and my credit card reversed that charge but indicated that if the business contests the reversal the amount will end up back on my statement. I have not received confirmation from the business that they are refunding that amount. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2013/08/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My last email to **** asked him to propose what he thought was a fair result given all of the time I have spent trying to get his company to refund my money.I want a complete refund of my money because **** has admitted in an email to me that his company did not incur any restocking fee. Final Business Response /* (4000, 29, 2013/10/01) */ On 9/30/2013 I tried contacting the customer to resolve this complaint. I am waiting until he calls back, then we can resolve this issue.

9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharged & underserviced w/o response from company for a part that should have taken 3 days to order & install. I knew my commercial fridge needed a new thermostat. I could have bought the part online for $55, but decided a commercial service company would LIKELY have the parts to complete the installation in a more timely manner. I lose money and product every day that my fridge doesn't work properly. I had Famous Appliance out on Friday, August 23, 2013. Service tech verified that the thermostat was bad, but said the part had to be ordered. Although they charged $193.68 for what I knew cost MUCH less, I let them go ahead and order it because I was told the thermostate part would be ordered that day and that it would be in by Tuesday and installed by Wednesday, August 28th. On good faith that this would be done, and realizing they were OVERCHARGING an obscene amount, I did agree to service because they said it could be fixed sooner than I thought I could do it myself. I heard NOTHING from the company all the next week, and called them on Thursday, August 29 to see why they hadn't called. Part hadn't come in, and wasn't expected to come in until the next day or TWO. STILL NOTHING FROM THE COMPANY ON Tuesday, September 3rd, so I called again to lodge a formal complaint. Was told I would be contacted by a supervisor or manager...that NEVER HAPPENED. I got a call later that day from ***** at Parts dept, he said the part "had just come in" and they could deliver the next day. I agreed, but stated again MY COMPLAINT about the cost and the delayed service, and ***** said he would talk with their finance manager and call me back that day. HE NEVER called me back. I called the company again on Wednesday, Sept 4th and spoke again with the operator and she deferred back to ***** and said he was supposed to have helped me. I lodged another formal complaint with *****, the operator. The company won't allow me to speak directly with a supervisor or manager. I was told by ***** that the supervisor who would handle this (didn't she just tell me ***** would handle it?!) would be out of town until Saturday, Sept. 7th. I am not a stupid person, I am not dumb. I knew the thermostat was the problem, I knew it would have only cost me $55 to get it myself, and have it installed by my husband, a skilled mechanic, but I gave this company the benefit of the doubt to have the product installed in a timely manner. Based the service rendered, and their seeming lack of desire to address my concerns, I will NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN, nor will I ever recommend them to anyone in my circle of contacts. I have still not received any care or concern or apologies from the company for any of this. I am livid with their service and follow up. They required a half deposit to initiate service; my biggest regret is that I paid in full; again, I was giving them the benefit of the doubt that they would take of my issue in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: I want a partial refund on the parts ordered. I lost money, product, and time each day that my fridge was not working properly. I am seeking a refund of $138.68 ($193.68 - $55).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/19) */ Contact Name and Title: ShyAnne-Admin Assistant Contact Phone: 801-397-0079 We communicated with the customer on 9/18/13 and she approved that we refund $35 to her. We put the $35 on her card that she paid with on 9/18/13. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Want to be done with this matter.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called to fix dryer, came out 3 times, have 4 invoice saying fixed but still no working drying and they want more money. won't honor warrenty called on 4/7/2013 told them my dryer just went phoof and stopped working, they came out on 4/8/2013 the guy told me that the back bearing broke and he would order the part and new heating element. came back on 4/13/2013 to fix, replaced parts, told me it was fixed and left. Tried to use it and it wouldnt' turn and if the circut breaker is on it would get super hot without being turned on. call again, sent out again on 4/16/2013, said belt wasnt' put back on by last tech, put on says he tested and all working but again I still don't have a working dryer it still heats up to the point that it could cause fire. the tech also told my 15yr daughter well just don't leave the breaker on turn off after each use so fire dont' start. to me that is not a fixed dryer. Now because i have complaned they won't honor warrenty or fix my dryer.

Desired Settlement: I want my dryer fixed, but if they can't fix it then I want my money back, they do have a 1yr warrenty but will not honor it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/05/29) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX On 4/8/13 we went to *****'s house to repair her dryer. She said the dryer would not heat. It had a bad back bearing on the tub and it shorted the element which needed to be replaced as well. We did the repair and only collected about half of the money. The other half we were going to charge the next week. We were trying to work with her and help her out. We usually collect the total at the time of service. The total was $207.92, we collected $107.92 then. On 4/9/13 ***** called back to say the dryer was getting to hot. we looked at it and determined the timer went bad because the element shorted out. She said she would replace the timer herself and declined our work. Replacing the timer herself is not recommended by us or any other appliance company. We can only warranty our work, not other peoples work. On 4/46/13 ***** called us again to say the dryer was still not working. We looked at it again and determined the motor was shorted out. she declined the work again. The following weeks ***** called us 10-15 times a day threatening and trying to intimidate the office staff. Demanding her money back or she was going to file all kinds of complaints with all kinds of agencies. She was very rude and would not listen to us or let us speak. She yelled at us and hung up on us on multiple occasions. The tech who went out to her house was in the area getting off the freeway. She pulled up beside him honking her horn and flipping him off. We will not send out another tech with this kind of hostility. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 29, 2013/07/22) */ so where are we on this as i just received a call that this company has turned me over to collections????????? Final Business Response /* (4000, 38, 2013/09/23) */ I have attached the history we have on ***** ******. She would not let us honor our warranty, we bent over backwards to help her out. I hope this helps in resolving her complaints. Thanks, ************** Appliance Service

8/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excessive price charged for part, refund of part not granted. Called for service request on 8/28/2013 to inspect a problem with our washer machine (Frigidaire front loader, drum out of balance). Technician ******** ****** came to the home and discovered problem with drain pump, offered to replace it for the total fee (labor/parts) of $372.14. I agreed under the impression that the price reflected a fair value for the part and labor and wrote a check for that amount. Upon paying the bill and receiving the invoice (Invoice #XXXXX) reflected the price for the pump (Frigidaire drain pump, Askoll Model #M222-5) at $240, more than double the highest retail price found elsewhere. I called the company to state our complaint of the excessively priced part and to request a refund for the part. The woman we spoke to (*****?) told us that we could do so for a restocking fee of $20 and that she needed to call the technician to see if he still had the old part to give back to us. I told her we did not need the old part back; we just wanted to return the part for a refund of the $240 part, agreeing to pay the charges for time/labor. She called back to inform me that she spoke with the technician and that he had discarded our old part and that the pump he installed was non-refundable because it had an electronic component. We were left without any recourse but to keep the excessively priced part. Furthermore, the technician demonstrated the pump was bad by the sound of the machine, which sound my wife nor I had never before heard the machine make prior to his arrival. Upon reflecting on the entire experience, we are skeptical that there was ever a problem with the drain pump to begin with. However, we do not have proof that he misrepresented the condition of the pump or deliberately sabotaged it in order to secure the additional revenue.

Desired Settlement: Ideally we would love for the company to refund a portion of the price of the pump to represent a fair retail price. However, if not, we simply want to make known our displeasure with the manner in which the entire transaction was conducted. It is true that we that we consented to the charges and therefore are not without responsibility with respect to the outcome, but we do want to make it known that we consider this company's conduct, while likely legal, to be unethical and beneath the dignity of an organization seeking to provide fair services for fair compensation.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2530, 6, 2013/08/30) */ The company has since reached out to me, and we have satisfactorily resolved the issue. I believe no further action is needed and that this case can be closed. Thank you.

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service