Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lagoon Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Lagoon Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lagoon Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 03, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1896 Business started locally: 01/01/1896 Business incorporated 05/04/1946 in UT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David W. Freed, Owner Ms. Jody Christiansen, Business Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David W. Freed, Owner
Business Category

Amusement Parks & Places Campgrounds & RV Parks

Alternate Business Names
Amusement Service Black Widow Cannibal Creator Fire Dragon Frightmares The Black Widow

Additional Locations

  • 375 Lagoon Dr

    Farmington, UT 84025 (801) 451-8000 (801) 451-8060 (801) 451-8001 (801) 451-8100

  • PO Box 696

    Farmington, UT 84025

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Even though 2 an under get in free We had to buy our son a ticket so he could go to lagoon a beach. I hope you realize that is is state law that babies wear little swimmer pants in the water. Further more you need more than just fine print on one sign that says "must wear water proof shorts over there diaper" how do we know that the water is sanitary? babies can be pooping and peeing all over the pool and you would never know! MOST OF ALL CHECK YOUR LIFE GUARDS ATTITUDE I couldn't tell you more than she was a blond cacasian female working the beach on Tuesday at 3 but we swam past 3 life guards for 15 minutes before she came over from another pool and RIPPED my husband a new **** **** for my son wearing a little swimmer diaper. we explained that it was a swimming diaper, and she said "I don't care either buy him swim shorts or get out." the person running the gate wouldn't even re stamp our hands after we got kicked out. our all day passes had washed off and, so we left because we did not have a stamp to show to get on any more rides. why do you feel that you are above the state law?

Desired Settlement: a refund of my childs ticket for $38.50 since we bought it just to get kicked out, and they refused to re stamp our hands.

Business Response:

Dear Sirs:

While Lagoon does not attempt to resolve complaints through the Better Business Bureau, we have responded to the complainant, a copy of which accompanies this response.  Our thought is that this adequatelyanswers the questions and/or comments from the complainant's e-mail. 

Thank you for contacting us.

Sincerely,

David W. F****, President, Lagoon Corporation

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have come to Lagoon for 3 years in a row and never been kicked out because of a swim diaper. and yes it IS small print. we had to find it in tiny little words on a sign because  I asked for a manager, and no one would assist me. our hands were not re stamped and we couldn't go on any more rides. you can claim all you want that they will re stamp them, no one did. your obviously not going to assist me with the wasted money, or admit fault. I will make sure to leave what happened and your response on every review website possible. it's no wonder you have a 2 stars on facebook.

Sincerely,

******** ******

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: With disrespectful, rude, people running the facilities my family struggled at every ride, booth or food place. We were treated extremely terrible. No one with autority was around when seeking it nor did the employees have a clue as to whom to get. At the old time photos, almost each employee back there was rude. The one whom worked the cash register couldn't be bothered with questions about the packages. One of the girls who helped my husband get dressed kept rolling her eyes at him with every questions. The guy who took our photo selection had a major attitude when we asked to look back at a previous photo. The girl who packaged our pictures threw or pics on the counter, rolled her eyes at me then walked awa . Didn't tell us that they were our pictures. So I asked if they were ours she them rolled her eyes again then turned and walked away. Extremely rude and made for a sad experience. In the ferris wheel the guts running it kept pulling people from one side of the line making our already long wait (30 min) even longer. Letting over 30 more people on before someone said something. While in that same line waiting, a supervisor came to ask why the line was so long and the employees were embarrassingly rude. And then I'm supposed to trust these guys with my families lives on the ride?!? Very scary. With my daughter crying on the water boat kid ride the employee couldn't be bothered because she was too busy having a personal conversation. I just won't my money back. We drove 6 hours to this amusement park to have wasted money because we didn't trust a majority of the people running the rides or the people running the facilities.

Desired Settlement: Refund of 8 tickets purchased

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******:

Lagoon does not have a policy to resolve guest complaints and disputes through the Better Business Bureau.  However, with regard to your complaint #********, we would offer the following information:

Complainant ******* ******* contacted Lagoon by e-mail on Sunday, September 27th indicating that she had purchased Lagoon tickets through Costco before coming to Lagoon.  She complained that on the day of her visit, her family experienced poor guest service from Lagoon's employees.  The poor guest service described in her e-mail to Lagoon does not match her complaint to your agency.  I personally responded to Ms. *******' complaint on September 30th indicating that since her tickets were purchased from Costco, Lagoon was not able to provide a refund.  I also apologized that the service her family received from Lagoon employees did not meet her expectation and that excellent guest service is among Lagoon's highest priorities, second only to safety.

Ms. *******' family spent the day on the Park, and we are not aware at any time did she bring her complaints to the attention of our staff or management.  We also are somewhat incredulous as to the veracity of this report.  We have not received any indication that Lagoon did not provide and/or make available the products and services for which the complainant's family made their purchase.

Our hope is that the above information may be useful in responding to your client.

Sincerely,

David *. F****, President, Lagoon Corporation

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


My email to BBB is exactly what was sent to Lagoon. The location of where the tickets were purchased should not be the issue. They worked to get us into the facilities. 
I understand that they work to have good customer service but, it doesn't mean it isn't a current problem within the park. I find it incredulous that the park continues with bad Customer service through their response. 

Sincerely,

******* *******

7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 30 our whole family went to Lagoon in the afternoon my son found a group of his friends and they decided to go on rattlesnake rapids. We were in line for hours when a group of police officers took my son out of the line for interrogation, because they suspect that my son had stolen a rock. The five police men and security circled my ten year old son for no reason, he hadn't even gone into a single store. He was on our watch the entire time. After an hour they took him back to the front of the park for questioning. They pointlessly took about two hours of our time because in the end they found that he had done nothing wrong. They told us "sorry" and that "everything is fine, they will talk to the security person who started it all to change his ways of handling these types of situations" well, it's not fine. They cannot waste our time and our money and our sons reputation, and say that everything is fine. This was the end of all of our plans and enjoyment for the day. My son was extremely embarrassed in front of his friends and somebody needs to take responsibility for this.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund or for them to someway fix our wasted day at the park; as well as a public apology directly to my son.

Business Response:

Dear Sirs:

This e-mail is in response to your inquiry BBB ID #********.  By now you should be aware that Lagoon does not attempt to address or resolve complaints through the Better Business Bureau ("BBB").  However, we are pleased to offer the following information in order for you to respond to your client, Sara Y*******.

On May 30th, Lagoon Security received a call at 6:13 p.m. to respond to a merchandise facility near the Rattlesnake Rapids ride.  A guest had reported seeing a young  man playing with a group of rocks that were for sale, following which he put some in his pocket and returned to the Rattlesnake Rapids queue line.  The guest provided a written statement for Lagoon Security. 

A Security officer in training and a Security supervisor responded to question the individual who was accompanied by a guardian who indicated he was the individual's "coach".  There were two Farmington City on-duty police officers in the area that observed the situation, but did not become involved.  At the request of the Security officer, the individual (Brennen) and his coach walked to the Security office to provide written statements.  The boy claimed that he had bought rocks earlier and wanted to exchange them, while admitting that he did not have a receipt.  In his statement, the boy admitted "switching" the rocks, saying it was a bad choice. 

As the value of the rocks was less than $5.00, the decision was made to release the boy without further action.  The same Security officers responded to the next call at 6:45 p.m., indicating that the entire affair took approximately 32 minutes.  We would also point out that your client's report that there was a long line at Rattlesnake Rapids is, in fact, not true. 

We hope that the above information will be useful to the BBB in evaluating the claims of your client.

Sincerely,

David *. F****, President, Lagoon Corporation

Consumer Response:  Obviously you don't have a clue of what really happened.  First of all our son did not take anything.  He didn't even enter the store.  Second of all no one was with a "coach".  I don't know how your "security officers" are trained to write down what happened but obviously they knew they screwed up so they changed the facts of what happened.  Another correction my son is not (Brennen).  Also the only reason I believe they took my son out of the line is because he is Hispanic.  THERE IS NO REASON WHATS SO EVER THAT MY SON SHOULD HAVE BEEN TAKEN OUT AND SURROUNDED BY 3 SECURITY OFFICERS AND 2 POLICE OFFICERS.  Another correction,  the security officer did leave to another call but he left us with another security wanna be "mall cop"  that kept interrogating my son.  Just for the simple fact that my son had to be surrounded by a group of officers for an amount less than $1 that wasn't even his fault and taken out of line and interrogated we should receive our money back.  Even after the whole situation was over the Farmington police officers said that your security officers way over reacted and they could of handled the whole situation on the spot a lot differently.  His phrase was "We all could spent our time better than encircling two 10 year old over 87 cents and wasting their and our time and scaring them".  This has caused our son a lot of emotional distress because now his whole basketball team makes fun of him as if he was a criminal and he wasn't even involved at all.  And just for your education, in the city of Farmington when someone steals something of a small amount and if they are under 14 years of age the courts won't even prosecute.  STOP WASTING PEOPLES TIME AND HIGHER SOME COMMON SENSE SECURITY OFFICERS THAT HAVE AN IQ HIGHER THAN THEIR AGE!
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

Sara Y*******

Business Response:

Dear  Sirs:

I have reviewed the response from your complainant, ID #********.  I think at this point, we will have to agree to disagree as our review of the situation, reports from involved employees, and generated statements conflict with the comments offered by the complainant.

We are sorry for Ms. Y*******'s disappointment.

Sincerely,

David *. F****, President, Lagoon Corporation

12/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lagoon Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)