Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dick Kearsley Service Center, Inc.

Phone: (801) 773-4836 Fax: (801) 773-4872 View Additional Phone Numbers 520 S State St, Clearfield, UT 84015 http://kearsleyservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dick Kearsley Service Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dick Kearsley Service Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dick Kearsley Service Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1970 Business started locally: 01/01/1970 Business incorporated 12/23/1985 in UT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DOPL - Professional Licensing
160 E 300 S 4th Fl, Salt Lake City UT 84111
www.dopl.utah.gov
Phone Number: (801) 530-6628

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Douglas Kearsley, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas Kearsley, Vice President
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Plumbing Plan Services Plumbers Plumbing - Renovation & Repair Heating & Air Conditioning Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Installation


Additional Locations

  • 520 S State St

    Clearfield, UT 84015 (801) 773-4836 (801) 292-1636 (801) 393-1265 (435) 553-4556 (435) 363-4571

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our water heater went out while we were out of town, leaving our son that was home alone with no hot water. He knew enough to look up the code of how many flashes on the controller and what it was telling him - that the thermostat had gone out and the controller. We called dick kearsley service center and told them that it needed a new controller and thermostat and they sent someone out to look at it. Knowing what had gone out he brought no parts to fix it. My son even ordered the broken part over the internet.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund We feel that since we made him aware of what was needed to fix the water heater and he brought nothing we feel that a refund of our 60.00 would be fare or at least part of it knowing that there could be other problems with it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/03) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Sorry for the inconvenience with your Water Heater. Unfortunately we are only able to stock commonly used parts due to limited space on our trucks and a electronic gas valve is not a common part. We stock thousands of parts in our store also that our Technicians can come in and pick up if needed, but they also are only parts we sell frequently.Some Manufactures require the home owner to call direct and get the parts as they will not sell to the service company for some silly reason, but we do run across that problem from time to time. I do not know if that is the case with your water heater. I feel a simple phone call could of resolved this matter. We at Dick Kearsley Service Center strive for excellent customer service. Please feel free to contact me and we can discuss a refund for you. I look forward to your phone call. Thanks, *****. XXX-XXX-XXXX Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We called and talked about a partial refund and was told no. We felt a partial refund was fair since we told them what had gone out when we called and the make and model. Since we gave them all that info we expected to come home to a working water heater but I understand there point. I guess since we told them what had gone out I expected them to say they did not have parts when we called. My wife is a long time friend with own of the people who work there. ****** Her name is *** ******. We have always been treated good in the past. She welcomes your prone call at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Thanks Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/02/05) */ We contacted the Customer and worked out a refund. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2014/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Great service and great people to work with. Wish we would have asked to speak to someone else instead of filling this complaint that we now regret filling.

11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues