This business is not BBB accredited.

Southern Vinyl Siding & Window Mfg Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 722-9966 Fax: (864) 843-3662 View Additional Phone Numbers 107 Alison St, Liberty, SC 29657 http://www.southernwindow.com ! There is an alert on Southern Vinyl Siding & Window Mfg Inc !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 4/20/2016 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.
  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 15
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 22

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that this business has a pattern of complaints concerning guarantee and warranty issues.  BBB determines the business failed to eliminate the pattern of complaint, at which time the rating deduction for failure to address a pattern of complaint shall be taken.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Southern Vinyl Siding & Window Mfg Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 10, 1996 Business started: 02/01/1995 in SC Business incorporated 08/02/1995 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LLR/ Labor Licensing & Regulation
110 Centerview Dr. Suite 102 Synergy Business Park, Columbia SC 29210
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/residentialbuilders
Phone Number: 803-896-4696

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Maria Gillespie, President Mrs. Michelle Moore, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Maria Gillespie, President
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Siding Contractors

Additional Information

According to BBB files this company's assets only were sold on May 2, 2016 to Southern Energy Solutions, LLC.  The  new owners have the same address and phone numbers as the previous business. 


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    107 Alison St

    Liberty, SC 29657 (864) 843-9966

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 2

    Liberty, SC 29657 (864) 843-9966

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have lifetime warranty on Windows, call business, say they have sold the business and no longer services their lifetime warranties. I have a window that needs fixing, I call them to schedule it and they got hostile with me on the phone saying that they about the business out but did not buy the warranties and they are transferable lifetime warranties. I have paperwork and everything

7/6/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought windows from Southern Vinyl Window Mfg. Inc on 6.15.2001. The contract had a LIFETIME WARRANTY with the contract by which any defective window (broken seal etc) would be replaced free of charge to me the customer. On 6.3.16 I called Southern asking about a 5.3.16 replacement and also added another set of panels which had failed. At this point, I was told that Southern Vinyl Window Mfg. Inc. NO LONGER EXISTED......THAT THE PRESENT COMPANY USING THEIR FACITLITY WAS NEW AND HAD NO RESPONSIBILITY FOR ANY WARRANTY THE THE "OLD" SOUTHERN HAD. I pointed out that the websites listed under the former Southern name gave me the phone number that I had used to reach them "the new company". After several calls......they said.....the official website (new company) is ***********************" and a disclaimer is posted that says "we are NOT affiliated with Southern Windows Mfg. and are under NEW management. This is absurd......changing a web address but still using all the phone numbers and the website of the old Southern in order to AVOID THE WARRANTY CLAIM WE CUSTOMERS ARE ENTITLED TO. This is a fraud of the first degree. I want a full investigation by authorities into the legal status of this "new company". NO ONE THERE WOULD GIVE ME THE NAME OF THE NEW OWNER OR THE NAMES OF ANY OFFICALS OF THE NEW COMPANY. THEY SAID THAT THE OLD OWNER (***** *********) COULD NOT BE LOCATED. THIS IS A PACK OF LIES.

Desired Settlement: My warranty at this point has been VOIDED. I want a return of my contract price of $6770.00 which I paid to Southern Vinl Window Mfg. Inc. on 7.25.01 the date the installation was complete for my home windows.

6/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 17 windows at $522.00 EACH in June 2013. These are large picture windows installed by the company in a two-story sunroom. They were warranted for life time. Within in a few months one of them broke and was replaced. Two more windows are NOW broken. One was reported in June 2015 and the other December 2015. Neither have been replaced. I have made more than 5 request to the company, by phone calls and stopping by the business, and even spoken with the owner and was told they would be replaced when they got to it. One of the windows is on the upper level over a door that enters the bottom level. I am concerned if the window breaks when the door is closed someone may be cut with falling glass from the upper level.

Desired Settlement: Windows repaired before July 2, 2016. I will have an event and the sunrooms will be used. I don't want anyone to be cut with falling glass from the upper level. The crack is on the other glass from top to bottom. It want take much to break.

6/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased 14 Heat Mirrow windows 10/10/2012 with a lifetime warranty. We called on April 27, 2016 and made a complaint that the windows had a defect with spots on inside of the windows. The windows have ugly spots on inside where the material is defective. ******** with Southern Vinyl Windows told us they were about to dissolve the company and they no longer guaranteed the **** ****** Windows. She said that the company who manufactured the windows is out of business. We spoke with them again and they said that the company who was buying them out was not going to honor the warranty. We confirm that we have at least 8 defective windows.

Desired Settlement: We would like for Southern Vinyl Window Mfg., Inc. to honor their Lifetime Warranty even if they do not sell heat mirror windows anymore to replace them with equal windows.

5/25/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Southern Vinyl in the fall of 2014 to have them do a warranty replacement on several windows installed at our church that have failed. A technician came out and inspected the windows and agreed that the company would replace them. After a few months of waiting for someone to schedule an appointing to replace the failed windows and hearing nothing, I began calling. I have called at a minimum of twelve times since early 2015. In every phone call, the employee I spoke with apologized that my calls had not been returned and assured me that someone would call me back. At no point has Southern Vinyl ever initiated contact with me. None of my phone calls have been returned. This is not the way to do business, especially with a church.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to honor the word it gave us after the windows were inspected and replace the windows that have failed.

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2008 I purchased windows from this company. The windows have a "Lifetime Warranty" that includes "All glass units are warranted against seal failure which result from dust, film, or condensation forming on the internal glass surface". I have a problem with three picture windows that that have condensation forming between the glass. I representative from the company came out and verified the windows in question should be replaced. I tried numerous times in 2015 to contact the company and was told that they were having problems and they would get to me when they got more profitable - which they never did (contact me or fix the problem). I called today (April 21, 2016) and was told that the owner was in bankruptcy

Desired Settlement: I would like my three picture windows replaced with comparable quality product.

4/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: September 2015 i call the company about replacing a sliding glass door they had put in a few years ago. They sent a guy out to check the door. The guy said that the door was faulty and had to replace a few due to the same pproblem with water getting between the panes. I have not heard from the company since. I called them up a few times and they knew about the door. I asked about how long till it gets replaced and they didn't know. I was told they were not selling any product because they did't have to job orders. It is now March and no call or anything from the company. When i call now all i get is {were sorry Mr. i don;t know what to tell u}.

Desired Settlement: The company should honor there warranty and replace the door reguardless if they making money or not. I would like for them to replace the door.

4/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/29/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our windows from Southern Vinyl in November 2004. They have a lifetime warranty. The seals have broken and the gas or whatever is between the panes has leaked out. They look very dirty and they sweat. On cold mornings I have to take a towel and dry them off.

Desired Settlement: To replace our windows since they have a lifetime warranty or give us the money to purchase them from another manufacture. The seals are broken on all the windows in our house except the sunroom and Southern Vinyl sent a worker here to check. He agreed that they need to be replaced and wrote out an order on January 15, 2016. I have called twice and was told that the materials for replacement has not been ordered and the Southern Vinyl employee (********) said there is nothing she can do until the materials are ordered.

3/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Southern Vinyl Window Mfg., Inc closed in a screen porch making a sun room in 2010. The windows are hard to close enough to lock. Every time a technician comes out, they tell me that some part of the window needs to be remade, that it was cut too big. They worked on one window the previous year and was supposed to come back and finish the job but never returned. In November of last year I called for them to come out and Never heard anything. I waited through the holidays and called back in January and the production manager came out. I was informed that he would have to rebuild a part on the windows and I would hear from them in two weeks. I waited two weeks and no call. I called back and talked with the lady that schedules the service and was informed that she didn't know when anyone would be coming out and could not get any answers. I ask who would not give her answers and she told me she didn't know. I asked her to have the owner of the company call since they would not give her any answers and was told that she would. That never happened either.

Desired Settlement: I want my windows made correctly and repaired or replaced or a refund of the cost of the project so I can get someone that knows how to finish a job.

2/18/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A service representative came out on Sept. 2 , 2015 to check windows. At that time determined a replacement was needed. I was told I would be contacted to schedule replacement. On Oct. 12, 2015 and Nov. 23, 2015 . I contacted them to see when they were going to replace the windows and I was told they had no glass and whenever they got some in they would call. Jan. 18, 2016 I contacted them again to which I was told their list was very long of people they had to replace and they didn't know when it would be. When I asked to speak to the manager or owner I was told she wasn't hardly ever there. When I asked "you do still sell windows" the reply I received was "very little". My concern is they are going to go out of business and not make good on the warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like my windows that are defective to be replaced as stated in the warranty that I was given when I purchased the windows.

Business Response:

***** said to let you know that she will try to have ****** ********* windows fixed by March 15, 2016.
 

Consumer Response:
This note is concerning complaint #********.  I have not heard from anyone from Southern Vinyl about replacing my windows.  I would like my complaint reopened because it has not been resolved by March 15, 2016 like ***** told the BBB that it would be.

Thank you,

****** *********
************

2/10/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a lifetime warranty on my windows. I have several that are fogging up, leaking between the glass. They sent a person out to get the numbers off the windows about a year ago but have not replaced the windows though I have called and talked to management 3 times and each time they tell me they will replace them.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to honor their contract with me and replace the faulty windows like they promised. I don't think over a year is a timely fashion.

Business Response:

We have scheduled Mr. ***** to replace his IG's in the three windows that had gone bad for Wednesday February 10, 2016 at 9:30 a.m. Hopefully this will take care of his problem. 

 

Thank You,

 

***** *********

11/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a window that is all fogged and you can't see through it. I reported it to Southern Vinyl and someone same out and measured the window for replacement. After many weeks of no word from the company I called and spoke with ******* She said the company had some money issues and would soon be better able to order and replace my window a little later. since this had always been a reputable business for many years, and I had remembered ****** from past business, I said I will call back. She also stated they were expecting a big order very soon, and they would be more financially stable. I agreed to wait at that time. I call again in the summer as I had in the spring and she said the big order they were to get didn't happen, and it would probably be fall before my window could be ordered and installed. It is now Oct 17, and this process started in March of the year 2015. I expect to have my window replaced as per my purchasing agreement.

Desired Settlement: I want my window replace ASAP, as I am concerned for any damages to my house from this defective product.

Business Response: Spoke to **** ****** on October 21, 2015 & told her that we had to order tempered glass for her bathroom window & as soon as it comes in we will schedule our service person to come replace the insulated glass unit.

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called svw in sept.2014 about some windows that had condensation between the pains of glass and one window would not let your raise it because of the ballics. they neede to be replaces.the guy came out and measured and said it would be a few weeks. well weeks turned in to months. so he came out after several phone calls and canceld appt. attempted to fix the window with the ballics but not completely. the windows didn't come with him. reminded him and he said a few weeks. called again the lady to me that svw didn't have the money to make the windows, and agin an employee had a wreak,the guylost his book, and now today 7/15/2015 they didn'tput the grid in the window and they will come out on the july23,2015 to install. i'm tired of being lied too and not doing what you are suppose too. those windows have a guarantee and I want it upheld. I want my windows fixed NOW!.

Desired Settlement: I want my windows replace and the one that wont raise fixed so this nightmare will end.

Business Response:

Dear **** *********

I am very sorry that this service call has taken so long to correct for you.  As I said this morning we did have the windows ready but it was my fault - plain human error - that the grids were not put in.  I can arrange for us to be out there on Monday the 20th instead of Thursday the 23rd to complete this repair.  Please let me know if Monday is a good day for you.

Sincerely,

****** *****
Job Coordinator
Southern Vinyl Windows
Liberty, SC   29657
************

 

 

1/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CONTACTED SOUTHERN WINDOW WEEK OF NOVEMBER 9TH REPRESENTATIVE "******" ASKED FOR WINDOW NUMBER AND ASSURED ME THAT MY CRACKED WINDOW REPAIR WOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF PRONTO. DECEMBER 2ND CALLED SOUTHERN AGAIN SPOKE TO "******" ASKED WHAT MY WINDOW REPAIR STATUS WAS?, TOLD ME SHE WOULD CHECK AND CALL ME BACK. DECEMBER 8TH CALLED SOUTHERN AGAIN ASKED "******" WHAT MY WINDOW REPAIR STATUS WAS? SHE REPLIED, " HAS SOMEONE NOT LOOKED AT IT YET?" I SAID NO AND SHE SAID SHE WOULD CALL ME BACK. DECEMBER 11TH CALLED SOUTHERN TOLD "******" I WAS TIRED OF BEING "STONEWALLED" ALL I WANT IS THEIR WARRANTY HONORED AND MY WINDOW REPAIRED. SHE TOLD ME I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT JANUARY 6TH 2015 AT 4:00 PM. NOT THE COMPANY OF YEARS AGO, THEY BEND OVER BACKWARDS UNTIL THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY AND THEN THEY ARE DONE. **** ** ******* **** ******** ** ****** **** **** SENDING "DEMAND FOR REPAIR" LETTER IN ACCORDANCE WITH SOUTH CAROLINA "RIGHT TO CURE". HATE IT HAD TO COME TO THIS, A LOT OF TROUBLE FOR ME JUST TO HAVE A COMPANY STAND BY THEIR WORD. I FEEL LIKE AN APOLOGY AND REPLACEMENT/REPAIR IS IN ORDER.

Desired Settlement: THAT THE COMPANY REPAIRS MY WINDOW AND LOOKS INTO THEIR WARRANTY CLAIMS, THEY DELIVERED MY NEW WINDOWS IN LESS THAN 2 WEEKS. THE REPAIR OF 1 WINDOW IS TAKING 2 MONTHS OR MORE WINDOW NOT REPAIRED YET.

Business Response:

We had been in contact with the customer since his problem began.  We replaced his damaged window on Tuesday - January 6th - 2015.  I called the customer on Tuesday - January 13th - 2015 to see if everything was to his satisfaction.  I have not heard back from him yet so I assuming that his complaint has be satisfied.

 

****** *****

Job Coordinator

Southern Vinyl Window Mfg.

8/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is directed to Southern Vinyl Window Mfg.,Inc. 864********* or 1-800-***************, SC. whose lifetime warranty guarantees replacement of defective/damaged windows. My windows have spotting and fog inside gas filled/uv window panes. Since early 2013 I have been contacting aforementioned company to replace the defective ones, here is summary of events:On 3-13-13 repair person arrived/identified 9 windows needing replacement. He said windows would be ordered and appointment would be made for installation. He said this would take a few months. After many calls, he returned a year later 4-14-14. Two windows were replaced and he broke another. He wasn't able to replace the others because he had brought wrong size windows. He left after he told us he would order correct windows and make follow up appointment.An appointment was set for 8-12-14 at 1pm, no show, no call, no explanation.I contacted company again (****** @ 864# listed above)and was told the building boom has put production behind and would contact me for new appointment date. Still waiting.

Desired Settlement: Replace defective windows immediately with verification that they are of equivalent quality.

Business Response:

Please note that the customer has been called and an appointment has been made for Friday September 12th to replace the missing units.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ******


5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased windows in 1999 and they came with a life time guarantee. I had to have them replaced 4 times due to defects on their end. I have been calling 2 times a month since June 2013 and no one will call me back. They did send a repair man out in June to see what the issue was and he agreed it was doing it again that the windows done in the past. But since they will not take my calls or return my calls. My next step will be a lawyer.

Desired Settlement: I want better quality windows so I do not have to deal with this company again or gets my windows replaced every few years.

Business Response:

We have spoken to the customer and offered to update her existing windows with an upgraded version.  She was in agreement with this and the replacement is scheduled for Thursday - January 16th at 10:00 am. 

Thank you,

****** *****

Job Coordinator - Southern Vinyl Window Mfg.

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

10/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Southern Vinyl Siding & Window Mfg Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)