This Business is not BBB accredited

Iron City Pools & Spas Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 206-0100 Fax: (864) 206-0105 807 Hyatt Street, Gaffney, SC 29341 http://www.icpools.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

On 12/17/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Iron City Pools & Spas Inc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate or mediate disputes

Factors that raised the rating for Iron City Pools & Spas Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Iron City Pools & Spas Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 10, 2005 Business started: 12/01/1974 in 0 Business incorporated: 12/28/1978 in SC
Business Management
Mr. Jimmy Bolton, President Mr. Dianne Bolton, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Bolton, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

Industry Tips
Swimming Pools

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2475 Boiling Springs Road Suite 100

    Boiling Springs, SC 29316 (864) 578-0558

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    807 Hyatt Street

    Gaffney, SC 29341 (864) 206-0100

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1537

    Gaffney, SC 29342

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My new pool liner was installed by Iron City Pools in the spring of 2012. I immediately informed the owner, Mr. ******, that the liner did not fit properly in the far corner of the shallow end of the pool. He told me the liner would stretch to fit when the temperature went up during the summer. The liner never seated properly in the corner. The coping and caulking of the pool steps had to be repaired by him shortly after the liner installation. The repair has continued to fail each pool season.In the spring of 2013 the corner of the liner failed and it dropped below the water line. I reported this to the owner and he came out to reattach the liner to the coping. I treated the pool a couple of weeks later and discovered two large wrinkles in the shallow end of the pool near the corner that failed. Mr. ****** inspected the liner and he told me the wrinkles were not that bad and he would return to repair the wrinkles when things slowed down. He stated that he might have to drain some water to get the wrinkles out. At no time did he mention charging me to repair the faulty liner installation and corner failure. He never returned to repair the wrinkles. I closed the pool in September, 2013.I opened the pool in May of 2014. In June of 2014 I came to Iron City Pools to remind Mr. ****** of the needed repairs. I talked to his wife and she wrote a note to give to him. He never responded. On August 8, 2014, I returned to Iron City Pools and reminded the lady (mother or mother-in-law) at the front counter that my liner still needed to be repaired. She said she would do a work order. Two hours later I received a phone call from Mr. ****** stating that he would repair the wrinkles for $500 to $600 dollars. I came to Iron City Pools to talk to Mr. ******. I attempted to share the details of the problem and he repeatedly interrupted me to insist that water had leaked under the liner. I tried to remind him of the numerous contacts with his business to resolve the matter; however, he continued to interrupt me. He also said, You need to walk out that door now! He yelled, I dont need or want your business. Mr. ****** also walked away and returned to his office.I have tried numerous times to communicate with Mr. ****** to resolve this issue and he has not cooperated.

Desired Settlement: The wrinkles in the pool liner are the direct result of the liner not fitting properly in the corner. The liner released and dropped below the water line that allowed water to seep under the liner which caused the wrinkles to form. I want Iron City Pools to repair the wrinkles and steps at no cost.

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Iron City Pools come to my house and give me an estimate on installing a new liner for my swimmimg pool. Iron City sent someone out to measure the pool prior to ordering the liner. I agreed to their price, so they ordered the liner. When Iron city came out to install the liner, they realized while installing the new liner, that they had ordered the wrong size liner. They had to reorder the correct size liner, and in the meantime, they left the wrong size liner in my pool with duct tape holding it around the edges. Dring the time this happened, until the correct size liner came in, we had several inches of rainfall. They had to pump put about two feet of rain water from the wrong size liner, before installing the correct one. One of the installers contacted me, and said they thought they had run into an old septic tank drain line, because there was an area of water running in behind the liner when they were attempting to install the new one. We did not have this problem before this area was left partially exposed, while getting such a large amount of rain. After installing the new liner, I now have a large crater in my deep end wall of the pool with what feels like sharp rocks behind the liner which could pierce the liner over time. Its probably a one foot in diameter crater, and is approximately 6 to 8 inches deep. I made numerous attempts to speak with multiple people, including *****, ******** mother, and I believe another family member of Iron City Pools about this matter. I was told that we should wait until it was time to close the pool because the water level would have to be dropped in order to check this, then I was told to wait until time to open the pool in the spring. I never have heard anything from Iron City, I've always had to call them. About three weeks ago, I contacted them and spoke with the mother. She said she would have ***** call me. Three weeks later, no call. I called back, she said the same thing. My pool liner is pulling away from the sides now. Need this resolve.

Desired Settlement: Fix the spot, either by filling the crater, or removing the sharp objects behind the liner. I'm not comfortable that the sharp objects have not already done damage over this time period...so replacement would be my best suggestion. They also left the duct tape residue all around my coping, that was freshly painted, and the duct tape pulled the paint off when they removed it. Customer service has been the worst, no communication after they received my payment for the install.

Business Response:

*** *******,

Thank you for directing this complaint to our attention.  Iron City Pools did intall a new pool liner for *** *** **** *****  When we removed the existing liner to prepare the substrate for the new liner install our crew witnessed water seeping from the side wall in the deep end.  This is fairly common during rainy seasons such as we were experiencing at the time.  But in this case the water had a very foul odor, after some investigation and discussion with *** ****, he indicated that he had encountered problems with sulphur springs on the property.  Ground water is an obstacle in some cases that homeowners must mitigate in order to regulate the pressures behind a liner with the pressure inside the pool to prevent liner float.  This pool was filled from the tap therefore it took a couple of days to fill and left a period of time for the ground water seepage to create a washed out area under the liner and when the pressure inside was great enough it pressed the liner into the wash out.

We explained this to *** **** and told him that we could lower the water level and go behind the liner and attempt to repair this later in the year when ground water levels were lower, and that we would do this at cost so that he would not incur any more costs than necessary, he stated that he "should not have to pay for this at all".  We at Iron City Pools and Spas, Inc. make every attempt to assist our customers with their needs knowing that a satisfied customer will be loyal in the future.

We are committed to customer care and are still willing to assist *** **** with his ground water issues at the cost of the process. 

 

Thank you,

***** ******

 

 

Business Response:

*** *******,

Thank you for directing this complaint to our attention.  Iron City Pools did intall a new pool liner for *** *** **** *****  When we removed the existing liner to prepare the substrate for the new liner install our crew witnessed water seeping from the side wall in the deep end.  This is fairly common during rainy seasons such as we were experiencing at the time.  But in this case the water had a very foul odor, after some investigation and discussion with *** ****, he indicated that he had encountered problems with sulphur springs on the property.  Ground water is an obstacle in some cases that homeowners must mitigate in order to regulate the pressures behind a liner with the pressure inside the pool to prevent liner float.  This pool was filled from the tap therefore it took a couple of days to fill and left a period of time for the ground water seepage to create a washed out area under the liner and when the pressure inside was great enough it pressed the liner into the wash out.

We explained this to *** **** and told him that we could lower the water level and go behind the liner and attempt to repair this later in the year when ground water levels were lower, and that we would do this at cost so that he would not incur any more costs than necessary, he stated that he "should not have to pay for this at all".  We at Iron City Pools and Spas, Inc. make every attempt to assist our customers with their needs knowing that a satisfied customer will be loyal in the future.

We are committed to customer care and are still willing to assist *** **** with his ground water issues at the cost of the process. 

 

Thank you,

***** ******

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

****** ****

My house was built in 1941. The pool is an older style pool, probably as old as the house is.  Iron City did not acknowlege that they did in fact order the wrong size liner, and that our pool was sat partially exposed to the several inches of rain that we experienced while waiting for the correct liner to come in.  When Iron city removed the old liner to install the new liner, there was no issues with any ground water problems. The only time that was ever mentioned was when they came back to install the new liner after the pool walls had been left exposed for this waiting time.  ***** himself told us that they needed to get the new liner in to keep the walls from collapsing without having the pressure of the water to hold it in place.  I'm sure over forty years that if the problem was with "ground water", there would have been problems before now. When ***** called me about the water he had found, his concern was that his crew had hit an old septic tank line. This is when I told him about some issues we had under our home with the smell of sulphur after extremely hard rains.  Again, there was no issue with the pool wall until it sat empty for several days, without water in it....because they had ordered the wrong size liner. ***** did mention a fix for this problem, in which he did say there would be a cost associated . I did say that I did'nt feel like I should have to pay anything extra, because of not having this issue prior to now. He then told me to wait until after the swimming season was over, because the water level would have to be dropped in order to see what could be done.  That time came, and after I called Iron city back...they said they were really busy, and that to wait until time to open the pool, and that they would come out then. I have all my call records, with times and dates, responses, and who I spoke with. Iron city has not once called me, I've made all the attempts to get this problem solved. I have several complaints here, but the most important one is that there are sharp objects...I'm assuming rocks behind my liner in this sunken in spot....sharp, and pointy enough that I'm afraid they'll eventually cut through the liner causing a leak. The freshly painted coping around the edge of the pool that Iron city attached duct tape to hold the wrong liner in place  that left adhesive on spots, and pulled the paint away from others. My pool liner is coming loose in several spots. Iron city also wasted what appears to be some blue glue or epoxy onto my concrete, that will not come off...they never mentioned it. I feel like they totally disrespected me, and my property...and continue to do so by ignoring the problem. Again, if they were so willing to take care of their customers...why haven't I had a returned phone call, and why does my problem still exist? I would like all of these issues resolved. As for the sharp objects behind the liner wall in this sunken spot. If Iron City wants to give me a written gaurantee for ten years, that if I ever have any leak issues in this area..they'll replace the liner at no charge to the homeowner.

Thank you,

****** ****


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

****** ****

My house was built in 1941. The pool is an older style pool, probably as old as the house is.  Iron City did not acknowlege that they did in fact order the wrong size liner, and that our pool was sat partially exposed to the several inches of rain that we experienced while waiting for the correct liner to come in.  When Iron city removed the old liner to install the new liner, there was no issues with any ground water problems. The only time that was ever mentioned was when they came back to install the new liner after the pool walls had been left exposed for this waiting time.  ***** himself told us that they needed to get the new liner in to keep the walls from collapsing without having the pressure of the water to hold it in place.  I'm sure over forty years that if the problem was with "ground water", there would have been problems before now. When ***** called me about the water he had found, his concern was that his crew had hit an old septic tank line. This is when I told him about some issues we had under our home with the smell of sulphur after extremely hard rains.  Again, there was no issue with the pool wall until it sat empty for several days, without water in it....because they had ordered the wrong size liner. ***** did mention a fix for this problem, in which he did say there would be a cost associated . I did say that I did'nt feel like I should have to pay anything extra, because of not having this issue prior to now. He then told me to wait until after the swimming season was over, because the water level would have to be dropped in order to see what could be done.  That time came, and after I called Iron city back...they said they were really busy, and that to wait until time to open the pool, and that they would come out then. I have all my call records, with times and dates, responses, and who I spoke with. Iron city has not once called me, I've made all the attempts to get this problem solved. I have several complaints here, but the most important one is that there are sharp objects...I'm assuming rocks behind my liner in this sunken in spot....sharp, and pointy enough that I'm afraid they'll eventually cut through the liner causing a leak. The freshly painted coping around the edge of the pool that Iron city attached duct tape to hold the wrong liner in place  that left adhesive on spots, and pulled the paint away from others. My pool liner is coming loose in several spots. Iron city also wasted what appears to be some blue glue or epoxy onto my concrete, that will not come off...they never mentioned it. I feel like they totally disrespected me, and my property...and continue to do so by ignoring the problem. Again, if they were so willing to take care of their customers...why haven't I had a returned phone call, and why does my problem still exist? I would like all of these issues resolved. As for the sharp objects behind the liner wall in this sunken spot. If Iron City wants to give me a written gaurantee for ten years, that if I ever have any leak issues in this area..they'll replace the liner at no charge to the homeowner.

Thank you,

****** ****