Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Altmann Roofing & Construction LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Altmann Roofing & Construction LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 640-4778 View Additional Phone Numbers 5000 OLD BUNCOMBE ROAD, Greenville, SC 29617 http://altmannroofingandconstructionllc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Altmann Roofing is a TAMKO® Pro Certified Residential Roofing Contractor for your roofing needs.
 In addition to offering a Better-Than-“Lifetime” Limited Warranty on Heritage® and Heritage Premium shingles, TAMKO Pros can offer Limited Warranty Enhancements on Heritage® Vintage® and Heritage® Woodgate™ shingles at no additional charge to their customers.
The Master craft Limited Warranty Enhancement, available on purchases of Heritage Vintage and Heritage Woodgate shingles, increases the full start protection period by 10 to 15 years and doubles the one-time transferability period from 5 to 10 years. I


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Altmann Roofing & Construction LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Altmann Roofing & Construction LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Altmann Roofing & Construction LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1992 in MO Business started locally: 04/01/2010 Business incorporated: 01/02/1992 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Labor, Licensing and Regulation
110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC 29210
Phone Number: 803-896-4580
Fax Number: 803-896-4424

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rusty Altmann, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rusty Altmann, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors Windows - Installation & Service Contractor - Flat Roof Contractors - Gutters

Products & Services

Altmann Roofing & Construction LLC sells the following brand(s): CERTAINTEED, GAF, TAMKO

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Check or Cash
Insurance billing
Refund and Exchange Policy

WORKMANSHIP
ROOFING WARRANTY
Warranty: Altmann Roofing and Construction, LLC hereby declares that all
labor associated with its work will be free from defects that result in leakage
for a period of (7) years following the date of completion of the work.  

Remedy:
Any leaks that are deemed the result of faulty installation by Altmann
Roofing will be repaired at no charge to the homeowner. Altmann Roofing will
remedy installation defects within fifteen (30) working days of notification by
the homeowner barring that any special order materials needed to carry out
repairs do not have to be ordered. Any repairs that require special order
materials will be completed upon receipt of special ordered materials.

This Limited Workmanship Warranty does not cover or extend to the
following:
Matters’ relating to the installation of Customer’s
roofing system wherein Altmann Roofing and/or its representatives did not
perform the original installation. Any alteration, addition or repairs
made by others that affect the installed roofing system including but not
limited to utility installations, additions to the structure, satellite
television dishes, antennas or any other penetration to the roofing system
caused by construction or installations performed after the completion and
acceptance by Customer.

Any damage to the roofing system installed by Altmann
Roofing caused or affected by natural
causes, manmade causes or occurrences such as lightning, fire, insect
infestation, earthquake, tornado, hail, sleet, hurricanes or High winds
with peak gust exceeding the roofing shingle manufacturer’s warranty and
specifications.
Any damage to the roofing system by intentional or
negligent acts, accident, abuse, vandalism, civil disobedience or other
such occurrences including Customer’s failure to use reasonable care in
protecting installed roofing systems from damage.

Any damage created by environmental conditions
affecting the roof such as chemicals, cleaning chemicals acids or any
other harmful material that contacts the roofing system and causes damage
including but not limited to pressure washing or other cleaning methods
using air or water under pressure.

Damages caused by a failure of any
part of Customer’s building components affecting the installed roofing
system such as roof substrate, roof trusses or building structural
failures, wall systems, brick or motor elements, defective or faulty
chimneys and chimney chases, HVAC and attendant systems.

This guarantee is warranted to the original purchaser
and is non-transferable. Unless agreed by owner 



This warranty shall not become effective unless and
until Altmann Roofing has
been paid in full in accordance with the agreement pursuant to which roof
was applied.


Alternate Business Names
Altmann Roofing and Construction LLC
Industry Tips
Choosing a Roofing Company

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1123 JOHN ST

    Rock Hill, SC 29732

  • 5000 OLD BUNCOMBE ROAD

    Greenville, SC 29617

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a new roof from them in October of 2013. They warrantee 6 years of workmanship/labor. I have a contract of this. Well in June of this year we started having a water leak in my bedroom, and downstair. We are talking puddles of water running down my wall on to my hardwood floors. I called our representative (***** **********) and had him come out ASAP to see the leak. He came and went in the attic to see the leak and we also took pictures and video. Less than a year I should not be having roof leaks! I was then told their guy was out of the country and they would try and get me someone out to fix it, but until then they sent a guy out to tarp the roof to keep from further damage being done. So the tarps were on for a long time, and after being told their guy would be there several times and no one showed up! Finally sent a guy out on August 29th, and (he was a subcontractor) he supposedly fixed. It wasn't leaking when he left, but keep in mind the sun was out! Couple days past and we get rain, a puddle of water was there again. I call my representative and was not as nice or as patient! He says his guys out of the country still and he didn't have anybody to send out. As my floors are getting ruined with all the water coming in from the leak. Ask what the company was going to do about the damage to floors and ceilings, never got a response.(and still haven't even after calling the main number and leaving messages) Their guy came out today(9/21) and hopefully fixed the problems. But our representative called and started giving us excuses to why it was leaking to get out of the responsibility of fixing the damage it caused. This is the same guy that went in the attic and seen it with his own eyes.The previous guy told us the vent was not properly sealed and the Flashing was not put in correctly. I can see us having to get a lawyer to get this taken care of. Our previous roof we had no leaking issues and now we do! No one from the main office has tried to contact me to resolve this issue!

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the damage fixed, inside and out. A call from a manager/owner would have been greatly appreciated! Beginning to wonder if this company is a legit one.

Business Response:

RE: CLAIM********
******* ******
* ********* ***

******** ** *****In regards to complaint the ****** have been hit with several severe high wind thunderstorms since we have completed the roof

replacement back in October 2013
one beng hit with 1" hail in MAY 2014 and several wind storms starting in January 11, 2014 and several more in June 10, 16,19 and

the 20. ********** contacted us on JUNE 27,2014
WHEN SHE ACTUALLY SHOULD HAVE CONTACTED HER INSURANCE COMPANY. If it was our company's fault on workmanship then the problems

would have started way before June 27, 2014. possibly around
the 1st part of May 2014 afer the hail and wind storms. And to inform you her insurance did not pay for flashing around the

chimney.These reports are from noaa weather reports. we would be more then happy to work with you and your insurance company.

Thank You,***** *******

Altmann Roofing and Cnstruction LLC

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

We reject this because when they came out the first time their own sales guy went in our attic to see where it was leaking and said they must not have sealed the boot completely and he would get a guy out to seal it and fix the flashing. Plus the two sub contractors(since they obliviously don't have regular employees) stated that it wasn't sealed correctly and the flashing wasn't butted up right! So who's telling the trueth the actual guys doing the work or an owner that doesn't care enough about his customers to even return their multiple calls and messages? Plus we don't know how long it had been leaking as I told our sales guy the leak around the boot had been leaking a long time we just didn't know where the leak was coming from till we traced it back to the boot. Plus I also told him that I had stepped in a puddle getting out of my bed before, but why would I think it was my roof? It was brand new!! When we really noticed the puddle is when we got all the rain in a short time. I don't feel I should have to get my insurance involved when it's their workmanship. This company has a 6year contract on their work, this was a selling point for us. That made us feel confident that we were getting a top notch roofing company. Seems like they aren't standing by there contract. Our old roof withstood a tornado touching down in our area and 15 years of hail storms and never once did we have a leak problem. So the storms we did or did not have should have no bearing on this. It all comes down to thier workmanship and lack of customer service. I just want this resolved. We are not asking for a lot, just for them to take responsibility for their shottie job and fix the damage it caused. I really hate and regret we ever chose this company and if nothing else hopefully other people won't fall victim to them. Whatever happen to trying to make the customer happy or at least working with them to resolve the problem? Instead of trying to find ways out of being responsible for your work. A phone call from someone would have been what a repreitable company would have done. Like I stated before no management ever called us back. We never even got ahold of an actual person! Our old roof never leaked, so I guess new is not always better. 
Regards,

******* ******




Business Response:

***** ** *** *** **** ***** *** *** ****** **** ** **** *** *** **** *** **** ***** ** ****** **** *** ***** *** ****** * **** *** ***** ** ****** ********* ** ******* *** ** **** **** *** ***** **** **** *** ****** ****** ** **** ** *** ***** ** ***** ** **** ***** ******* ** *** ***** *** **** ****** ** ** **** ******* ** ***** **** ***** *** *** **** ******** ** *** ******* ***** ** *** ** ***** **** ****** * ***** ******* ** ***** **** **** ***** ** ***** **** * ***** ******* ***** *** **** * ******* **** ***** ***** ** ***** **** **** **** ** **** **** *** ***** ***** ** *** **** **** *** *** ****** *** ****** ** **** *** **** ********* ******* **** *** ** ******* *** ***** *** *** ** **** **** **** ** *** ** *** ****** ** **** ***** ** ******* **** ****** **** ******* ** *** ****** ** ** *** * ***** ** *********** **** ****** ***** *** ** **** **** ****** ** *** * ******* ******* *** *** **** **** ****** *** *** ***** ** **** *** *** **** ** ** **** ** **** **** ** *** ** **** ** ********* *** ****** ** **** ***********

THIS IS PART OF THE REAR OF YOUR CONTRACT
Problem Occurred 6/27/2014

Company is not responsible for any interior or exterior damage to the property from rain, hAil, tornado,
windstorm, fire or other perils as are normally contemplated to be covered by homeowner’s insurance,
unless specifically agreed to in writing prior to commencement of work.
Company is not responsible for ice dams (thawing and re-freezing of ice,
water or snow) or any damage on or below the roof line due to excessive winds
(greater than 60mph) or leaks from excessive snow, ice, wind-driven rain or hail,
whether during or after warranty period. Company is not responsible for
pre-existing construction deficiencies that manifest themselves during work, i.e. nail pops,
wood rot, decking deflection, mold, etc.  If a problem is pointed out prior to commencement of work,
and Company is notified in writing, Company will try to assist Customer in correcting the problem on a time
and material basis.  Company is not responsible for slight scratching or denting of siding, gutters,
soffit or fascia; oil droplets in driveways; hairline cracks, compression or decompression of the home
or property which may result in wall, floor or concrete cracks, sheathing or drywall; minimal
damage to plants, shrubbery and landscaping. If excessive damage is caused by Company,
Company will repair or replace damaged area(s) only at Company’s
expense. Company is not liable for failure of performance due to labor controversies, strikes,
fires, weather, inability to obtain materials from usual
sources, other trades, or any other circumstances beyond Company’s control.
Company is not responsible for the installation of kick out flashings.

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New Roof was purchased 5-2011,roof leaked twice in 8-2011. Company came (8-22-2011) put down chalking on the outside and sprayed kilz in the inside. Leaked again 7-2013 & 9-2013 during a rainstorm in the spot as the last time. Came (7-2013) and chalked the outside again. Company will call and reschedule appointment for later date. Horrible customer service. I paid a lot of money for the roof to constantly leak and I haven't had it 5 years. Company hired a outside contractor to handle situation

Desired Settlement: would like for company to replace the entire section that has been leaking repeatedly

Consumer Response: *** ***** called BBB stating the company came out on Saturday, September 27. They removed the old ridge vent, closed up gap on deck with singles - installed new ridge vent. She is waiting for another rain to be sure the repair holds.