Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Greenville

Phone: (864) 220-1414 10 Woods Lake Rd, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.greenvillemrrooter.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Greenville meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Greenville include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Greenville
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 21, 2004 Business started: 11/15/2004 in SC Business incorporated 11/19/2004 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Labor, Licensing and Regulation
110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC 29210
Phone Number: 803-896-4580
Fax Number: 803-896-4424

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Geoff Darst, President Mr. Bob Thompson, Manager/Licensed party Mr. John Wheeler, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Geoff Darst, President
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

Method(s) of Payment
Checks, cash and all major credit cards

Additional Locations

  • 10 Woods Lake Rd

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 220-1414

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a plumber come to my home to clean something out of the main drain line for the house. He came and could not clear it but charge me $*** and scratched my floor and damage my walls. Just had the bathroom remodel. Called *** his manager to ask for refund and did not even receive an apology.

Desired Settlement: I feel he should completely refund the entire amount. As now I'm going to have to have my floors repaired from the damage that the technician it to them with the machines he used

Business Response: Here is the exact email that was sent to the customer.  He requests the additional $*** that he agree to pay to be refunded to him and we have already offered that to him via phone and email without any response.  


*** ****,

My name is ***** ***** and I am one of the owners of Mr. Rooter Plumbing of Greenville.  I understand that my manager has attempted to work through a recent issue with you without success.  Here is the bullets points of the issue as I see them:
  1. Came out to your home to attempt to remove a can of glue that was flushed down your toilet.
  2. Used every method available to us to remove the can of glue.  Traditional plumbing equipment wasn't able to remove it.
  3. My understanding is that you were able to eventually remove the can of glue using a magnet on a string.
  4. You posted a negative review on BBB due to the charges for the effort in removing the can of glue and also claimed damage to your flooring.
  5. My manager contacted you and asked you what would make you happy and you came up with the idea of paying $*** as a service charge and then a refund of the remainder.
  6. We agreed to this and sent you a refund.  We requested that you remove the negative review on BBB.
  7. In a subsequent email, we also agreed to refund the remaining $***, on the condition that the negative review was removed.  
  8. You still have not removed the review despite the fact that we have done what you asked.  We have not sent out the additional $*** refund as a result of this.  You also claim that we have damaged your flooring but you have not provided any evidence of this (pictures, estimates, etc)
  9. You are now requesting a full refund for all services rendered plus reimbursement for damages that have not been presented to us.  
The fact that you agreed to pay $*** as a service charge and then went back on that agreement makes the claim of damage to your bathroom somewhat questionable.   I assume you can understand why we are skeptical.   I would request that you provide pictures to us of the damage to your bathroom and I would also request that you remove the negative comment on BBB, as you originally agreed to.  If we eventually don't resolve your problem to your satisfaction, you are welcome to go back and put your comments on BBB.  The problem is that you agreed to pay $*** and to remove the review and that hasn't happened yet.  In a business relationship, it is important that both parties uphold their agreements.  We will not change our method of doing business just because somebody threatens us with a negative review, particularly if we are attempting to work through it.   We also have costs associated with running our business and do not make any kind of guarantee that we can fix every problem presented to us.  There are still costs associated with attempting to fix that problem.  I think most people would understand that a metal can of glue stuck in a bathroom pipe is not your normal clog and not what drain equipment was designed to extract.  We still spent time, effort and money in attempting to remove it yet still have offered to refund ***% of the cost.  This was not done as an admission of doing things incorrectly but rather simply as a way to make you, the customer, happy.  Obviously digging up the pipe wasn't the best idea, as it was located in your recently renovated bathroom.  

When you have a moment, please send me photos of the damages and an explanation of how specifically we created the damages.  We are in thousands of bathrooms every year and this is the first complaint of damages that we have had.  I'm not saying at this point that we didn't do any damage, but no evidence has been presented to me.  We also refuse to move forward with this complaint if it is not removed from the BBB.  I say that not to manipulate you but rather because that is specifically what you have agreed to and we have done everything that we have told you we would do to this point and we feel that we deserve the ***e in response.

If you have additional questions or comments, feel free to respond back to this email.   We would like to bring the matter to a resolution.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

******* ****


 The business is trying to use coercion tactics to hold the rest of my refund over my head. Very poor business practice in my opinion. This is the first mention that anyone wanted pictures of my floor. I wanted somebody to come out and see it. I will take the pictures and upload them  so that everyone can see the damage was done by rolling in a giant drain snake on wheels and a camera on wheels. The drain snake was operated sitting on my bare floor and vibrated a hole in the floor and several scratches I demand that it be repaired and that the entire amount that I paid  be refunded and my floor repaired. 

Business Response: I sent an email directly to ** **** without a response.  It seems that he only wants to communicate through the BBB.  Again to be clear, we called him and asked him what would make him happy and it was his idea to pay $*** and refund the rest, which we did.  We are not holding anything over his head.  We have offered to refund the rest if he will remove the BBB complaint and let us deal with him directly.  That hasn't happened.   He also has not sent me pictures of the damage.  I will send my manager out there once I see pictures.  I'm not sure what else to tell ** ****.  He doesn't seem to be very willing to try to work through this without simply threatening negative comments on BBB.  His demands have changed since our original conversation.  It's hard to work with a moving target.  I will wait for pictures from ** **** and he is also welcome to reply directly to the emails that I have sent him.