Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ken's Plumbing The Picky People's Plumber

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 242-5511 Fax: (864) 242-0702 2506 Poinsett Highway, Greenville, SC 29609 http://www.ThePickyPeoplesPlumber.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Ken’s Plumbing provides plumbing services to Upstate homeowners.  They specialize in older homes constructed more than three years ago.
The services they offer include the following:

Back Flow Preventer
Remodels
Drains
Tankless Water Heaters
Garbage Disposals
Water Heaters
Gas lines and repairs
Yard service water line
Sewer line repairs and replacement
Slab leaks repairs
Faucets repaired or replaced
Water Lines repaired or replaced


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ken's Plumbing The Picky People's Plumber meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ken's Plumbing The Picky People's Plumber include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Ken's Plumbing The Picky People's Plumber
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2001 Business started: 12/31/1990 in SC Business incorporated 03/08/1995 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LLR Labor, License and Regulation
110 Centerview Drive, Columbia SC 29211
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/POL/Forestry
Phone Number: 803-496-4800
Fax Number: 803-8964424
contractllr@llr.sc.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ken Flournoy, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken Flournoy, Owner
Related Businesses
Hot Wire Inc Ken's Plumbing The Picky People's Plumber
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Backflow Prevention Devices & Services Sewer Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Water Main Contractors Grease Traps Toilet Seats Pumps - Service & Repair Backflow Testing Water Heater - Tankless Drainage Contractors

Products & Services

Ken's Plumbing The Picky People's Plumber sells the following brand(s): All plumbing brands

Ken's Plumbing The Picky People's Plumber offers the following product(s): If it has Water going to it or a Drain leaving it almost 100% of the time we can service it.

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Checks
Credit Cards
Alternate Business Names
Ken's Plumbing, "The Picky People's Plumber" The Picky People's Plumber

Additional Locations

  • 2506 Poinsett Highway

    Greenville, SC 29609

  • PO Box 3769

    Greenville, SC 29608

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted ***'s via phone and e-mail on Jan 6, 12, 16, and 24 in an attempt to resolve this matter. The plumbers who work at ***'s Plumbing work on a commission basis. For someone who is honest that might be fine, but in my case it caused two primary problems: 1) While at our house to repair a leaking pipe, the plumber up-sold me on a hot water recirculation system that we never really asked for. That system was installed incorrectly and they spent over 8 hours of labor trying to get it to work. 2) Their plumber determined that the water pressure problem in the master bath was due to deteriorating galvanized pipes and ran pipes up into the attic to feed the master bath. However, I had a separate plumber come in. They unscrewed / replaced the aerator on the faucet (a $4 part) and we now have amazing water pressure. The new plumber also showed me that the master bath already had brand new copper pipes. As such, all the labor and materials associated with running the pipes up into the attic was wasted.

Desired Settlement: I spent nearly $6000 with ***'s Plumbing. No doubt more than half of it was wasted. However, I would consider this matter settled for a refund in the amount of $2200. I contacted ***'s via phone and e-mail on Jan 6, 12, 16, and 24 in an attempt to resolve this matter.

Business Response:

Hey ********
Just got a call from ******* ***** at ****** ******** about the plumbing we did at *** * **** ******.  For some reason I never saw you last email, wasn’t ignoring you by any means just waiting for a response and a copy of the invoice from ***** Plumbing.  I will summarize based on invoices for the service performed at *** * **** ****  Attached are copies of the invoices.
Invoice dated 11/10/14 for $546.00 was for a leak from an over head bathroom, tub and shower and mentions a mixing valve not mixing properly.  This also note leaking galvanize pipe in your home as well as rebuilding the tub and shower valve.  Not sure this has anything to do with the problem at hand.
Invoice dated 11/21/14 for $1,010.00 was to access the shower valve and to replace with new ***** single lever with posi-temp control.  Not sure this is related to the issue at hand.
Invoice dated 12/01/14 for $267.00 was to stop a leak on galvanize pipes under kitchen sink.  Not related.
Invoice dated 12/05/14 for $4,015.00  was for running water upstairs into the attic to service the shower and for future plumbing.  This invoice refers to the issues with mixed water.  From what I gather the recirculation pump was mainly to prevent freezing because of your pipes were in the attic by keeping the water moving.  It is always best not to run pipes in an attic but sometimes the situation doesn’t allow this.  There are basically 2 different styles of recirculation systems. One uses the hot and cold lines to move the water throughout the house.  The other, requires a return line connected to the fixtures hot water source and brought back to the water heater where the pump is usually placed.  Apparently we used the first.  **** was stumped and didn’t know how to solve this problem and I was unaware there even was a problem.  
I talked to *** ***** with ***** Plumbing told me where we went wrong.  **** cut in a tee for the future bath and that’s where the mix of water happened.  Other than this single issue we did everything else correctly.
As long as you have old galvanize pipe in your home you will always have small particles of rust collect in your aerators.  
Personally I feel we owe you for the cost of *** ***** to find and make the repair.  In addition another $500.00 for the inconvenience to you and Tonya for having to deal with this issue.  
Sincerely,
***
Note:  Just noticed while typing this email,  ******* ****** filed this complaint with the BBB.  I cut and pasted with is email.   Hope my reply above answers this complaint also.  I’ve bcc a copy to ***** at the BBB.
To the comment made about commission, to my knowledge all top company service plumbers salaries are based on commission.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

See below for my reply, by e-mail to Ken's Plumbing.

Regards,

******* ****** 
Hi ***--
I appreciate you taking the time to put together a detailed response.  Unfortunately, your propose is not acceptable.
  1)  You can't simply rely on the invoices.  The invoices do not tie out as cleanly as you might think.  For example, the galvanized leak was less than one hour of work.  He began other work that day.
  2)  He was off and on the phone constantly.  If I was ****ed for his time, then at least 20% of his time at my house was spent talking to folks on the phone.  It seemed like he was frequently talking to other employees, providing assistance and coaching, 
  3)  You said that "everything else was done correctly."  The pipes that were run to the attic were not part of the solution for the guest bathroom.  The new pipes to feed the guest bathroom stop before the attic.  You are forgetting that **** ran pipes into the attic to eventually supply the master bathroom -- completely unnecessary work as that bathroom already had nearly new copper supply lines.  His diagnosis was running the sink, seeing low output, and determining that those pipes needed to be replaced -- instead of unscrewing the aerator from the sink (at which point the pressure problem was completely solved with a $4 part).  Not sure if he was dishonest or sloppy, but the net effect was materials and labor to run pipes into the attic to eventually supply the master bath (work we never will have to do).  How in the world do you diagnose that pipes have to be replaced and your only due diligence is turning on a sink?  If he had looked around in the crawl space he would have seen the copper pipes and would have known that the problem in the master bath wasn't related to galvanized pipes.  Instead, I paid for the infrastructure, labor, and materials to run pipes up into the attic -- work that was unnecessary and will never be used.
This should have been solved on January 6 when I sent you the first complaint.  I'll settle this TODAY for $2189.  If I have to invest any more time into this then I'll expect compensation for lost time as well as a more granular analysis of all the charges.
Thanks

Business Response:




********

I’ve been waiting on you since our last phone conversation for you to let me know what the charges from ***** Plumbing was to resolve the problem.  For some reason your email slipped pass me, and for that I do apologize.  Please know that this has consumed every second of my thoughts since my conversation with ******* *****.

I mentioned yesterday to you that I would pay the **** from ***** Plumbing to resolve the problem and pay another $500.00 for your inconvenience.  Then I noticed where you filed a claim to the BBB so I included them in my email to you.  Since the BBB is a highly unbiased organization I think it might be in our best interest to allow them to set up mediation.  Then I notice all the threats in this last email from you.  I truly want to do the right thing here.

So would you consider meeting half way at $1,750 and let me buy you a drink and a cigar and put this behind us. 

For a peaceful solution,

***

 

 

 

 

KPI LOGO

************

 

Consumer Response: Hi *****--

This case is resolved to my satisfaction. *** provided the refund I requested.

I tried to update the case itself in your website, but was not able to, so I wanted to be sure that this was closed out.

--------------------------------------
 ******* ** ******
 Exec Vice President
 ********** ******** *********

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to look at the badly leaking toilet tank connection. Ken's Plumbing employee came to look and give estimate. First thing I asked is to turn the water off at the meter. Employee goes out to the meter and returns indicating that he turned the water off. (In reality, I am told he did not turn the water off). Meanwhile water was flowing on the floor of the bathroom heavily. After giving the verbal estimate, which was a lot more than we had anticipated and I told him I will have to talk to my wife before we proceed and I asked what I owed him. He said $49 for the trip. Not knowing that he had not turned the water off I paid him. He was very unprofessional, arrogant and stood in my shop giving me (I am 72) a lecture how my wife should have been there or I should have gotten prior approval for spending the money.He left with the money, did not even indicate that he had not turned the water off,and even for customer's protection suggest that he would recommend turning water off. Mr.***,the owner, when I asked about if he would have suggested turning the water off, said yes. What a company culture. I would have paid them the labor to turn the water off. Needless to say we ended up calling other plumber who did more for a lot less and professionally. Customer's be aware before calling this company with employee completely without integrity and with unprofessional attitude.Also company's ad in the yellow pages says $25 off on the first job, which I am sure would have paid the labor to turn the water off, while he was there.

Desired Settlement: The additional damage to the floors caused by not doing what was a common sense suggestion and action, the whole purpose of the trip was useless. The company should feel ashamed of the actions of one of its employees. If the water was turned off we would not have to spend hours cleaning the mess. I do not think trip charge and non action on company's part was justified. I do not expect total refund but as a good will some adjustment of the charge is necessary.

Business Response: This is Ken's Plumbing response to BBB Complaint #*******
***** took a call from *** ***** about a leak at a toilet on june 13, 2013.  ***** told *** that we would be happy to send a plumber out as soon as one was available.  *** was told that there would be a $49.00 dispatch fee to get a truck to his door and as soon as one of our technician gets there he would look at whats wrong and give him a straight forward price to repair the problem.  *** agrees and we send ***.  *** gets there and tells *** it would be $133.00 to replace the stop/cut off valve and stainless steel supple tube to his toilet.  *** needs to talk to his wife before he can approve the charge.  From what I understand his wife was at the movies and he wouldn't have an answer for a while.  *** doesn't give *** the approval to make this repair and *** collects the dispatch fee and leaves.

The next day *** calls the office complaining to ***** that he need to speak to me and insisted on getting my cell phone so he can call me.  ***** didn't give out my cell number and I called *** when I returned to the office.  I listened to *** ***** complain about how unprofessional and rude my technician *** was to him and that his main complaint was that *** turned off the water and because he didn't get the work turned it back on.  This is where I thought that would be a terrible thing for us to do.  I told *** let me talk to *** and I will get back with him.  I also told *** there would be no reason for *** to turn off the water to quote the repair.  Typically we need water on to understand better what is going on with the plumbing.

After talking to *** I learned the water was never turned off to begin with.  *** did let *** know where the meter was so when needed he could turn off the water, but *** never turned off the water.  *** also said he had a bucket under the toilet stop catching the dripping water.  I'll admit  *** was a little frustrated that *** ***** couldn't make a simple decision to go ahead with the repair without having to talk to his wife.  If that was the case why wasn't she there knowing a plumber was on his way. *** doesn't like wasting his time no more than *** like having his time wasted.  We were there ready and willing to do the job and were not allowed to help *** ***** with his toilet leak.

*** was told by me that if we did the job and he complained I could understand a little more about what he was complaining, but *** wants the dispatch fee refunded.  We did what we could do and that was to show up and give a price to repair the cut off valve.

I also attached to this complaint "******* *****"



***