Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing - The Punctual Plumber meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

15 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing - The Punctual Plumber
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 14
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 15

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 25, 2003 Business started: 09/25/2003 in SC Business incorporated 02/11/2004 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Workers Compensation Board
27 State House Station, Augusta ME 04333-0027
Fax Number: 207-287-7198

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. A Hallam Cottingham IV, President Ms. Kelley Griffith, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. A Hallam Cottingham IV, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelley Griffith, Office Manager
Business Category

Plumbers Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Plumbers - Commercial

Products & Services

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing - The Punctual Plumber sells the following brand(s): American, Danze, Delta, GE, Gerber, Grohe, Insinkerator, Kohler, Moen, Navien, Noritz, Price Fister, Rheem, Rudd, Takagi, Toto, Whirlpool, Wolverine Brass, Zohler, Zurn

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing - The Punctual Plumber offers the following product(s): Faucets, Sewer Lines, Sinks, Tankless Heaters, Toilets, Water Filters, Water Heaters, Water Lines

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit Cards & Financing
Refund and Exchange Policy
100% Satisfaction & a Lifetime Workmanship Warranty
Alternate Business Names
AHC Enterprises, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 3307 New Easley Hwy

    Greenville, SC 29611 (864) 626-6767


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir or Madam, I would like to file a complaint against Benjamin Frankiln Plumbing (BFP) in Greenville, South Carolina. The details of my complaint are below. On Wednesday, June 24th I called BFP because we had a leak underneath our refrigerator (possibly coming from the refrigerator). They told us they would be able to come on Friday, June 26th to check it out and give us an estimate. I also informed them over the phone that if they are coming to fix the leak, there are a few other things in the house to also check and maybe fix related to plumbing issues. They informed us that they would come sometime before noon. On Friday, June 26th, the technician from BFP arrived. He checked the refrigerator leak and informed us that he had to cap the saddle valve in ceiling and work on the ice maker supply line in order to fix the leak. Additionally, because we had a leakage in our basement due to the leak in the refrigerator, the technician advised us to change the tubing and move it under the kitchen sink so that it won’t leak through to the basement. He quoted us a price ($******) for the emergency shut off with ice maker supply and to replace the emergency shut off valve ($******). According to him and what he stated to me when he explained everything is that these things should fix and repair the leak. I also specifically asked him that if we agree to all these repairs, we won’t have any more leaks? And he said YES. Because he was there and he was going to work on the refrigerator, I asked him to check and repair the other plumbing issues we had in our house (including replacing a few sink traps and fixing a couple of toilets). He provided a quote for the entire job (see the attached bill) and we agreed to the repairs. Since he arrived past 11am on, he got done with checking everything around 2pm and at that point he said he would have to return on Monday to fix everything. On Friday when he left, he didn’t fix/repair anything. He just asked me to sign the form so that they could charge us for half of the repairs. The rest was to be paid on Monday when he would return to actually repair everything. One of the things that BFP advertises is that their trucks contain everything and that they usually fix everything in one stop because they have all the parts in their truck. I had also asked the lady on the phone when I had called BFP whether they would take care of repair everything on Friday and she insisted yes. Obviously that proved to be wrong when the technician left on Friday without repairing anything. I called BFP again on Saturday morning as well as early Monday morning that the technician should appear on time because we have to leave our house at 3pm to go to the airport. She assured us that he would be done by 3pm. On Monday, June 29th the technician arrived past 10:30am. He didn’t complete the entire job until around 4:30pm which was way past the stated time of 3pm. One of the other things that BFP also advertises is that if there is delay, it is you who we pay. Even though the technician was late in arriving and late in leaving, there was no compensation or discount provided due to the tardiness. It also has to be noted that I spoke to two staff members at BFP to indicate that he had to get everything done by 3pm and they ASSURED me it won’t be a problem and had already informed the technician about this. On Monday the technician completed all the work and left around 4:30pm. By around 8pm, we noticed a larger leak beneath the refrigerator and this time it was certainly leaking down to the basement ceiling as well. I called BFP right away and informed them that it would be great if someone could come right away. The phone receptionist tried to find someone but couldn’t. I had requested that a manager call me early in the morning to discuss this problem. On Tuesday morning I hadn’t heard back from anyone yet so I called BFP again. I was able to speak to the manager on duty (**. *****). They told us they would get someone back to our home on Wednesday morning (July 1st). I had requested this time for the technician to arrive and have everything done before 9am because we had to return to work that morning. At that time on Wednesday when the technician arrived, he told us that the problem was with our filter. He then proceeded to tell us that BFP does not repair refrigerators so we would have to call someone else to fix/repair it. As I mentioned earlier, the leak was now bigger (after everything the technician had done) and the leakage down to the basement was also larger. I find it odd that the technician would now mention that BFP does not repair refrigerators. If that is the case, we should have been informed on the phone the first time I called them. Even after he arrived at our house to repair everything and quoted us everything regarding the refrigerator leakage; to change the tubing and move it under the kitchen sink so that it won’t leak through to the basement. He quoted us a price ($417.00) for the emergency shut off with ice maker supply and to replace the emergency shut off valve ($192.00). That would have been the RIGHT time to tell us that they don’t work on refrigerators. Even better, he should have told us that what they do will not fix/repair the leakage. BUT that is not what we were told. We were told that making all the stated/above changes, would repair the leakage and prevent from future leaks. I spoke to the manager on duty again (**. *****) a few days later. At this time he again mentioned that BFP does not fix refrigerator. I explained the entire problem and timeline of events. I informed him that the leak was now larger and that if they weren’t planning on repairing they should have never touched it nor charged us for the repairs involving the refrigerator. I told him that in order to ensure 100% patient satisfaction, at this point they would have to repair the refrigerator leak or pay for it to be repaired. This is because we have already paid them a total of $609 in hope that the refrigerator would be repaired and the leakage would be fixed. **. ***** agreed to think about this and then called me back the same day. He informed me that they would pay for an a********* ******* technician to come by and check out our refrigerator. He also mentioned that they would cover the costs of the repair and have the leakage fixed. The only condition he placed on us at that time is that they would not be able pay for a replacement refrigerator. I told him that was acceptable and that would ensure customer satisfaction. On Monday, July 13th, the electrician came to check our refrigerator and told us that the filters have to be repaired. He called **. ***** at that point in order to get the quotation approved so that he could come back and fix the refrigerator. On Monday afternoon, **. ***** called me back and that is when his story changed. Now he mentioned that he could not pay for the costs to have the refrigerator fixed. According to him, the problem didn’t occur because of them so he could only reimburse for up to $150 but we would have to cover the rest of the expenses. We spent our entire day at home on Monday (away from work) and hoping that the technician would check and as **. ***** had mentioned, he would cover the costs. Now the story changed. I understand the problem wasn’t caused by BFP. That is NOT why I am asking them to fix our refrigerator. I am asking them to fix it because they falsely told us they WOULD fix it and repair the leakage. They also charged us $609 to address and fix the leakage which still remains. **. ***** disagreed and now mentioned that he didn’t want to cover the costs of the repair. We remain 100% dissatisfied. We have spent over 4 days on something that their company advertises is done in one stop because their truck contains all the necessary needed parts. We have had to take days and mornings off for them to fix these things. At the end of all this, our refrigerator remains with a large leak which has proceeded into our basement. I am now asking for a refund of $609 as well as any additional expenses incurred when we have to fix the refrigerator leak. Not only have they made the leakage larger and worse but they have also given us false hope they would fix it. The correct thing to do in this case would have been to upfront inform us that they do not fix refrigerators. The technician should not have touched or handled the refrigerator if this is not BFP’s expertise. Not only did he open it once, not twice, but he checked it out and opened and handled it THREE times. To make things worse, **. ***** falsely promised on the phone that he would take care of covering the costs of the refrigerator leakage and now he has decided he cannot do that. I think it is unethical to give your word on something and then back out because you changed your mind. I am asking for a refund of $609 and any additional expenses we incur when we pay to get our refrigerator repaired now. I am attaching the receipts that were provided to us for these costs. I have also now looked at other reviews from previous customers and see that the Better Business Bureau has had past cases against BFP. I hope you will sincerely consider our case and act accordingly. If you need any more information from us, I’d be happy to provide it. Thanks and I look forward to your favorable response. Sincerely, ***** ****


Business Response:

Good Afternoon, *****

I am writing to you today in reference to the complaint filed against our company by ***** ****, located at *** ******* **** ******** ** ******  The information provided in this e-mail is a more accurate, truthful synopsis of her experience with Benjamin Franklin Plumbing.  We, in the interest of providing superior customer service, have attempted to satisfy *** ****; however, she is not interested in what would be considered a more than fair agreement.  She instead is interested in being inaccurate and dishonest in an attempt to further her agenda--that agenda, in our opinion, is to take advantage of our very generous policies. 

Please feel free to contact me at ************ with any further questions you have.  Below is a more accurate and honest synopsis of *** ****'s experience with Benjamin Franklin Plumbing. 

On 6/25/2015, *** **** called Benjamin Franklin Plumbing at approximately 954am.  Per our recorded conversation, *** **** requested service to her home in *******, SC for several plumbing issues she had.  The plumbing issues she was having and stated exactly in this order were as follows:  one toilet not flushing properly, same toilet making a noise upon filling, one bathroom sink clogged, filter to kitchen sink needs to be replaced and also has low pressure, and LASTLY, there was LEAKAGE from what she dubbed "wiring" from the back of her refrigerator.  She also said the leak appeared to be going down to a guest bedroom.  Sheila Norwood, one of our Customer Service Reps, provided *** **** with exactly what she could expect from her service visit with us.  After going over all details, *** **** chose one of our guaranteed appointment windows between 8am-12pm on 6/26/15.  The correlating dispatch fee for this appointment was $** at the time of service. 

Our service technician **** *******, was dispatched to *** ****'s residence on 6/26/15 at 850am, arrived to her residence at 1015am, and left her residence at 140pm.  To that end, clearly we were not late for her scheduled appointment.  

As with all of our customers, we show up in fully stocked service vehicles prepared to take care of the job at the time of service.  Our professionals diagnose the issue at hand and then provide customers with options for repair and straight forward pricing.  This is all documented on our invoices and the customer must sign the invoice in three specific areas.  Please see attached invoice signed by *** ****.  The reason our technician could not complete the repair on our first visit and a second visit was scheduled for 6/29/15,  was due to the fact that *** **** had to get the approval of someone else before she could agree to proceed with recommended repairs.  Additionally, she continually micro-managed **** which made it impossible to complete the repair that day.

Due to *** ****'s inability to be able to approve the repairs on her own coupled with her insistence on micro-managing the service call, **** was not able to complete the repair on 6/26/15.  She agreed to and was scheduled for **** to return to complete repairs on 6/29/15 between 8am-1215pm.  On 6/29/15, **** dispatched to *** ****'s residence at 9am, arrived to her residence at 10am, and left her residence at 438pm.   

*** ****'s refrigerator continued to leak and as such, she wanted to talk to a manager.  Benjamin Franklin Plumbing's Owner, ****** *********** called *** **** to see what we could do to help her.  *** **** was dishonest when she spoke with Owner, ****** **********, and told him the ONLY reason she called originally was to have a leak repaired on her refrigerator.  Additionally, she said we should never have scheduled an appointment for her if we do not offer appliance repair as a service.   As evidenced by our recorded phone call, this is simply not true.  In her own recorded words, she stated that she had several plumbing issues.  *** ********** did not have access to the recorded conversation at the time he spoke with *** ****.  He facilitated getting an appliance repair company to *** **** in the interest of providing the  level of service our customers' deserve.  An appliance repair technician from *** was scheduled to go to *** ****'s residence on 7/13/15 between 8am-1pm.  *** **** called Benjamin Franklin  on 7/13/15 inquiring when someone would be coming to her house.  When we contacted *** on *** ****'s behalf, the technician from ***  informed us that his dispatch department had him scheduled to go to *** ****'s residence between 1pm-6pm.  He arrived to *** ****'s residence between 1-130pm.

The technician from *** determined that *** ****'s refrigerator was so old that a repair was not her best option, and that if she did choose to have her appliance repaired, the appliance was so old that it would require special order parts.   ****** offered *** **** $*** in an attempt to provide her with satisfaction; she declined.  

Fast forward to today and *** ****'s complaint filed with The BBB. 

*** **** is being dishonest and at the end of the day, wants to take gross advantage of us.  Simple synopsis but accurate,in our opinion, nonetheless.  She is not interested in negotiating in a fair, mutually agreeable manner.  

Thank you for your time, and again please let me know it if there is anything else you need regarding this matter. 


***** ********




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


***** ****

I believe the accounts stated in the response are untrue. I still strongly stand by the fact that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing should provide a refund because when their technician left our house after the so-called repairs he performed, he told us that our refrigerator will not leak and that he had repaired it. This was untrue and our refrigerator has a leak. If Benjamin Franklin Plumbing does not work on refrigerators, they should not have opened and handled it in the first place.
It is also completely untrue that after the first visit, we had to schedule a second visit because I had to consult someone else. I didn't have to consult anyone else after the first visit on Friday. If i had to consult someone else, why would I provide my credit card information or sign the invoice? I not only signed the document and provided my credit card information, I asked the technician if there is any way he can complete the job on Friday itself. He didn't even START to work on the repairs. Instead he left ALL the repairs to be conducted during his second visit. **. ****** is lying if he says they came a second time because i had to consult someone else. I SIGNED THE PAPER WORK THE SAME DAY and PAID FOR IT TOO!!! What is stated in the response by this business about me micro-managing is untrue and is a false reason for them to have to take more than one day to complete repairs. Again, as he mentioned his technician left at 4:38pm after the second visit even though they had promised they would be done and would leave by 3pm!!!
When  the *** technician came to our home, he indicated to us that the fridge can be repaired. I find it ridiculous at this point that the manager **. ****** has decided to change his mind. He was the one who suggested that they would pay for the repairs. If they weren't going to pay for the entire set of repairs on the fridge, he should have never said that. And he has clearly stated that their communication with the *** company technician was poor. We were told the technician would come before 1pm. However, it sounds like Benjamin Franklin Plumbing was told that the technician would come between 1pm and 6pm. Delays in time is something I am consistently noticing with this company. They have poor time management and continue to make customers like us wait. We also have jobs that require us to take time off. Not respecting our time is something that I find unfair! 
Lastly, we paid $**** for this entire job. I feel that **. ****** is acting like they are doing us a favor. It is NOT a favor. We are consumers that paid for something to be done. At the end of the day, I feel like we have spent 4 days out of our work time to get these things done. And instead of telling us they couldn't fix or repair the refrigerator, Benjamin Franklin Plumbing is making us run around as if they are doing us a favor. Compensation of $*** is hardly fair. 
I have also looked at the other complains against this company. Now I see many other complains on *** and on ***** This company has a habit of quoting large sums/amounts to customers, yet their job is still half done or completely undone.  I do not accept their response and believe they are FALSELY stating many of their facts. I request a refund and will never give my business to this company. They should grant a refund because they touched and handled our refrigerator when they aren't experts on electrical appliances. They should grant a refund because they have continued to be tardy and late in their time. They should grant a refund because even though they said the refrigerator was repaired it wasn't. They should grant a refund because even though they first said, they would pay *** to repair the fridge, now they have changed their mind. 
That is not how a business works. Integrity in a business is VERY VERY important. You must deliver what you state. You must keep your word on what you have promised. You must deliver services that customers pay for!!! I am unsatisfied on all accounts with Benjamin Franklin Plumbing.
***** ****

Business Response:

Good Morning, ***** 

We stick by our initial response.  *** **** was vague and unaware, as a consumer, to what was wrong with her refrigerator.  We can absolutely work on the plumbing lines to such an appliance, and without a better description from *** ****, there was no way to determine where the leak was coming from.  But, more importantly than that and I cannot state this enough, the refrigerator "leak" was the LAST item she mentioned when she called to make her original appointment on 6/25/15. 

Again, we offered her $****** towards the repair of her refrigerator in an attempt to satisfy her.  Her requests are without merit and though we really strive to provide superior service and satisfaction, we have to draw the line somewhere when it is clear someone is trying to take gross advantage of our fair and reasonable offer. 

Thanks Again, 

***** ********  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


***** ****

Hello *** ******

Thanks for your prompt response. I appreciate it.
My biggest issue with this company is that if they are NOT in the business of repairing refrigerators, they should have never opened our refrigerator and handled it. They took it apart not just once but three times! And then they charged us for the repairs on the refrigerator in false hopes that it would fix the refrigerator. 
My second issue with this company is that when i contacted the manager (**. ******) about this, he said they would pay to get it repaired through another company. But then he changed his mind and decided he wouldn't pay for all of it to get repaired. I do not think he should be able to easily tell us one thing, then change his mind, and choose to do something else....after making us spend another day away from work, sitting at home waiting for them to fix this!
At this point, I remain unsatisfied and truly hope that the BBB will help mediate. I will continue to stay in touch about this. Thanks, once again, for your time and help.


Consumer Response: Hello *** ******

Thanks for your e-mail. I did receive the check from the post office today. 
I want to thank you for all your time and efforts into making this happen. I appreciate the work of the Better Business Bureau and appreciate all your assistance. I will go ahead and put in a note on your site to mention that this complaint has been resolved. I will also go ahead and write to the Consumer Protection Unit to let them know.
Thank you, once again, for all your time and help.

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 19, 2015, two plumbers from Benjamin Franklin Plumbing arrived at my home to unclog my drain. The dispatcher had told me that they would call me before they arrived and there would be a window from 5pm to 8pm; no one called, they showed up at my door. I explained the issue to them and they informed me that they would have to go under the house, using the crawl space, to "take a look around." When they were finished, they informed me that there were a number of issues that needed to be repaired. They provided me with an estimate and explained the charges. It was agreed upon that they would run a cable down the drain in the laundry room in an attempt to unclog the drain. They poured in two bottles of a liquid bacteria that is designed for routine maintenance of the pipes rather than unclogging a drain. They put the cable down the drain, brought it out and then poured two bottles of liquid down the drain. He instructed me to run an empty wash machine, using hot water, to determine whether or not the drain was still plugged. The drain was still plugged, and it was now backing up and running down the sheet rock. I contacted the plumber to let him know. He explained that they would have to remove the sheet rock from the laundry room wall, as well as removing the cabinet and the counter top in the kitchen, so they could get to the pipes that were in the wall. My husband is currently working out of town, so he called the plumber as well and discussed the cost to remove the sheet rock and the cabinets, then asked if we could save some money by removing them ourselves. The plumber stated that it would save us a "few bucks." My husband and I agreed to remove the sheet rock and the cabinet and the counter top. After getting some feedback from others, I contacted another plumber, who came to my home to give me an estimate. He explained that there were several other ways to unclog the drain rather than cutting things up to get to the pipes in the wall. My husband contacted the owner of Benjamin Franklin and complained about what had happened. My husband requested a refund of $******* which will not cover the cost to replace the sheet rock, or the cabinet and the counter top. The owner agreed to refund us $******* and then the owner attempted to talk my husband into allowing them to return to complete the job. Prior to contacting Benjamin Franklin Plumbing, I checked with the BBB website and their were no complaints against them. We are waiting for the refund check so we can pay a different plumber to unclog the drain and to make some additional repairs. I am very dissatisfied with the two plumbers that came to my house, their lack of professionalism, the services they provided and the suggestions they made, which resulted in the removal of the cabinet, counter top and the sheet rock. The cost of the refund will not cover the cost to replace the sheet rock, the cabinet or the counter top.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that BF Plumbing pay to replace the cost of the sheet rock, the cabinet, and the counter top.

Business Response:

Hi, *****
per our conversation, **. **********, owner of Benjamin Franklin Plumbing, spoke with and resolved BBB complaint made by **** ******, with *** ****** 4/10/15.  *** ********** refunded the ******** $*** on invc.# ****** per the agreement with *** ******.  *** ****** said that he was unaware that his wife posted this complaint on the BBB forum and that he would have her talk to a rep at the BBB to let rep know that they are satisfied with resolution.
We wrote them and sent them a check, check # **** for $****** on 4/15/15.
Please let me know if you need anything else from our end.
Have a great rest of your day,
***** ******** 
Benjamin Franklin Plumbing 
**** *** ****** ******* 
Greenville, SC 29611 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 


******** ******

3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 16, 2015, I has Ben Franklin come out to my house because when we flushed the toilet, it was coming up through the drain in the bathtub. They said I had a clogged line. They put in a clean-out and unclogged the drain. I was charged $1318.00. On Feb 7, 2015 I had to call them back out.When they came back out, they gave me an estimate of $2893.00 to dig up and replace the sewer line. They weren't even sure of what the problem was. The cleanout they installed is leaking raw sewage into my yard. The owner of the company said he would credit me the 1318.00 towards the 2893.00 and as of today...Feb. 11, they are only going to credit me half of the 1318.00, which will leave me owing 2200.00. I got another estimate from another company, the total their estimate was more than $1000.00 less than what Ben Franklin was charging. I paid Benn Franklin all the cash I had to pay and the problem still isn't fixed and the raw sewage is still flowing!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to finish what they started and stick to what I was told by the owner.....he would give me credit for the 1318.00 that I have already given them! They need to do right by me. I have a chronic illness and have very little money. They charged me what most plumbing companies only charged $250.00.

Business Response:

*** *****
I'm sorry to see you believe the BBB plays a role in our discussions, as we are and have always been available to you. I'm sorry they don't handle price complaints.
Recap for those new to this communication chain:
During our initial call we found *** ****** line completely clogged. Since the sewer line did not have a required clean out installed we offered **** a price to install a clean out and cable the line to attempt to clear it. **** was informed cabling is a tool to clear a line and is not guaranteed to clear a line if line has collapsed or separated. We  performed these tasks and restored flow to the line. Informed her that we removed a large volume of roots and located a separation. We also offered her a repair option at that time. She informed us (to the effect) "don't worry about, it doesn't matter, I don't have any money for that". We concluded the call. 
She called and complained the next day that we "left her yard a mess". We sent a technician over that day to address any issues but found none, yard was as we found it due to the fact that before we dig we lay plastic down to protect the surrounding area from unsightly mud.
Then, a few days later she called and complained of a clog again. We sent a technician out and at no charge, cabled the line to restore flow. Again she was informed a repair was imminent and provided cost options.
A few days later she blasts us on social media. We immediately responded in attempt to resolve issues. Again we agreed to send out a technician to asses the problem. To no surprise, we found the same issue. 
We informed **** we would happily credit her back 100% of her initial investment towards a replacement and or credit her back 50% of her initial investment towards a repair.
This offer has not been taken off the table.
Few days later same thing, she blasts us via email, we respond immediately. This time we send out a video inspection team to clear the clog and document the issues further. Paper and roots in a failed line are the cause. Again, we offered repair / replacement options and again you informed us of your financial position.
Now with the BBB. 
We have been happy to help you with your needs and assist you in determining the best possible solution for your failed line. We have provided you with numerous options of potential solutions. Understanding your present financial situation we also offered you a full / partial refund of work previously completed be applied to repair / replacement of your line. Additionally, at no charge to you and in an attempt to save you money, we sent a Video Inspection team to your home to determine if a potential lesser intrusive option may save you money. We have tirelessly responded to you.
We informed you that based on our findings, you have numerous failed joints compromised by root intrusion. Due to the extreme failure of your line we Do Not recommend repair as a viable option and thus have suggested replacement of your line from house to sewer lateral.
As you are aware, we as your service provider have gone to extensive lengths to provide you with a cost effective solution and satisfaction.
Part of owning a home is owning a sewer line. Maintenance, repairs and or replacement responsibilities fall on the home owner, regardless of financial situation. 
It is not clear to me how we could have done more for you in this situation. I am sorry this has happened to you. I'm sorry you blame us for your troubles. I'm sorry your financially challenged. I'm sorry you won't communicate with us regarding how we can take care of you better. I am sorry you think leveraging the BBB will get you different results.
It seems, days after each time we service and or provide you with viable options you blast us online, ******** or now BBB because you still have issues. Your issues are not going away until you pay someone to correct the failed line.
 If money is your only concern and you believe you have found a licensed contractor that can perform the replacement for less, then go for it, please have them do it.
If not, how can we help you move forward?

* ****** ********** **
**** *** ****** ***
Greenville, SC 29611
Service ************
Vendor  ************
Fax        ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

They never offered me credit. When I called they made all kinds of promises but never did what they said. I don't blame them for my problems but I do blame them for leaving me with sewage leaking in my yard, and constantly making the price go up. Either way, Seeing how they feel like they are faultless in this matter, they will just keep making excuses for what they didn't do for me. They have no concern for me as a customer and I hope they don't conduct business like this with anyone else. I only blasted them to them.......never blasted them on social media.


**** ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

15 Customer Reviews on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing - The Punctual Plumber
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart