Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Benjamin Franklin Plumbing

Phone: (864) 236-1776 Fax: (864) 269-5520 View Additional Phone Numbers 3307 New Easley Hwy, Greenville, SC 29611 http://www.benfranklinplumbinggreenville.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial plumbing services and commercial sewer jetting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Benjamin Franklin Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Benjamin Franklin Plumbing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Benjamin Franklin Plumbing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 25, 2003 Business started: 09/25/2003 in SC Business incorporated 02/11/2004 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

SC Labor, Licensing and Regulation
110 Centerview Dr, Columbia SC 29210
Phone Number: 803-896-4580
Fax Number: 803-896-4424

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. A Hallam Cottingham IV, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. A Hallam Cottingham IV, President
Business Category

Plumbers

Alternate Business Names
AHC Enterprises, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 3307 New Easley Hwy

    Greenville, SC 29611 (864) 236-1776

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 19, 2015, two plumbers from Benjamin Franklin Plumbing arrived at my home to unclog my drain. The dispatcher had told me that they would call me before they arrived and there would be a window from 5pm to 8pm; no one called, they showed up at my door. I explained the issue to them and they informed me that they would have to go under the house, using the crawl space, to "take a look around." When they were finished, they informed me that there were a number of issues that needed to be repaired. They provided me with an estimate and explained the charges. It was agreed upon that they would run a cable down the drain in the laundry room in an attempt to unclog the drain. They poured in two bottles of a liquid bacteria that is designed for routine maintenance of the pipes rather than unclogging a drain. They put the cable down the drain, brought it out and then poured two bottles of liquid down the drain. He instructed me to run an empty wash machine, using hot water, to determine whether or not the drain was still plugged. The drain was still plugged, and it was now backing up and running down the sheet rock. I contacted the plumber to let him know. He explained that they would have to remove the sheet rock from the laundry room wall, as well as removing the cabinet and the counter top in the kitchen, so they could get to the pipes that were in the wall. My husband is currently working out of town, so he called the plumber as well and discussed the cost to remove the sheet rock and the cabinets, then asked if we could save some money by removing them ourselves. The plumber stated that it would save us a "few bucks." My husband and I agreed to remove the sheet rock and the cabinet and the counter top. After getting some feedback from others, I contacted another plumber, who came to my home to give me an estimate. He explained that there were several other ways to unclog the drain rather than cutting things up to get to the pipes in the wall. My husband contacted the owner of Benjamin Franklin and complained about what had happened. My husband requested a refund of $362.00, which will not cover the cost to replace the sheet rock, or the cabinet and the counter top. The owner agreed to refund us $362.00, and then the owner attempted to talk my husband into allowing them to return to complete the job. Prior to contacting Benjamin Franklin Plumbing, I checked with the BBB website and their were no complaints against them. We are waiting for the refund check so we can pay a different plumber to unclog the drain and to make some additional repairs. I am very dissatisfied with the two plumbers that came to my house, their lack of professionalism, the services they provided and the suggestions they made, which resulted in the removal of the cabinet, counter top and the sheet rock. The cost of the refund will not cover the cost to replace the sheet rock, the cabinet or the counter top.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that BF Plumbing pay to replace the cost of the sheet rock, the cabinet, and the counter top.

Business Response:

Hi, *****
per our conversation, **. **********, owner of Benjamin Franklin Plumbing, spoke with and resolved BBB complaint made by **** ******, with *** ****** 4/10/15.  *** ********** refunded the ******** $362 on invc.# ****** per the agreement with *** ******.  *** ****** said that he was unaware that his wife posted this complaint on the BBB forum and that he would have her talk to a rep at the BBB to let rep know that they are satisfied with resolution.
We wrote them and sent them a check, check # **** for $362.00 on 4/15/15.
Please let me know if you need anything else from our end.
Have a great rest of your day,
***** ******** 
Benjamin Franklin Plumbing 
**** *** ****** ******* 
Greenville, SC 29611 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******** ******

3/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 16, 2015, I has Ben Franklin come out to my house because when we flushed the toilet, it was coming up through the drain in the bathtub. They said I had a clogged line. They put in a clean-out and unclogged the drain. I was charged $1318.00. On Feb 7, 2015 I had to call them back out.When they came back out, they gave me an estimate of $2893.00 to dig up and replace the sewer line. They weren't even sure of what the problem was. The cleanout they installed is leaking raw sewage into my yard. The owner of the company said he would credit me the 1318.00 towards the 2893.00 and as of today...Feb. 11, they are only going to credit me half of the 1318.00, which will leave me owing 2200.00. I got another estimate from another company, the total their estimate was more than $1000.00 less than what Ben Franklin was charging. I paid Benn Franklin all the cash I had to pay and the problem still isn't fixed and the raw sewage is still flowing!

Desired Settlement: I would like them to finish what they started and stick to what I was told by the owner.....he would give me credit for the 1318.00 that I have already given them! They need to do right by me. I have a chronic illness and have very little money. They charged me what most plumbing companies only charged $250.00.

Business Response:

*** *****
I'm sorry to see you believe the BBB plays a role in our discussions, as we are and have always been available to you. I'm sorry they don't handle price complaints.
Recap for those new to this communication chain:
During our initial call we found *** ****** line completely clogged. Since the sewer line did not have a required clean out installed we offered **** a price to install a clean out and cable the line to attempt to clear it. **** was informed cabling is a tool to clear a line and is not guaranteed to clear a line if line has collapsed or separated. We  performed these tasks and restored flow to the line. Informed her that we removed a large volume of roots and located a separation. We also offered her a repair option at that time. She informed us (to the effect) "don't worry about, it doesn't matter, I don't have any money for that". We concluded the call. 
She called and complained the next day that we "left her yard a mess". We sent a technician over that day to address any issues but found none, yard was as we found it due to the fact that before we dig we lay plastic down to protect the surrounding area from unsightly mud.
Then, a few days later she called and complained of a clog again. We sent a technician out and at no charge, cabled the line to restore flow. Again she was informed a repair was imminent and provided cost options.
A few days later she blasts us on social media. We immediately responded in attempt to resolve issues. Again we agreed to send out a technician to asses the problem. To no surprise, we found the same issue. 
We informed **** we would happily credit her back 100% of her initial investment towards a replacement and or credit her back 50% of her initial investment towards a repair.
This offer has not been taken off the table.
Few days later same thing, she blasts us via email, we respond immediately. This time we send out a video inspection team to clear the clog and document the issues further. Paper and roots in a failed line are the cause. Again, we offered repair / replacement options and again you informed us of your financial position.
Now with the BBB. 
We have been happy to help you with your needs and assist you in determining the best possible solution for your failed line. We have provided you with numerous options of potential solutions. Understanding your present financial situation we also offered you a full / partial refund of work previously completed be applied to repair / replacement of your line. Additionally, at no charge to you and in an attempt to save you money, we sent a Video Inspection team to your home to determine if a potential lesser intrusive option may save you money. We have tirelessly responded to you.
We informed you that based on our findings, you have numerous failed joints compromised by root intrusion. Due to the extreme failure of your line we Do Not recommend repair as a viable option and thus have suggested replacement of your line from house to sewer lateral.
As you are aware, we as your service provider have gone to extensive lengths to provide you with a cost effective solution and satisfaction.
Part of owning a home is owning a sewer line. Maintenance, repairs and or replacement responsibilities fall on the home owner, regardless of financial situation. 
It is not clear to me how we could have done more for you in this situation. I am sorry this has happened to you. I'm sorry you blame us for your troubles. I'm sorry your financially challenged. I'm sorry you won't communicate with us regarding how we can take care of you better. I am sorry you think leveraging the BBB will get you different results.
It seems, days after each time we service and or provide you with viable options you blast us online, ******** or now BBB because you still have issues. Your issues are not going away until you pay someone to correct the failed line.
 If money is your only concern and you believe you have found a licensed contractor that can perform the replacement for less, then go for it, please have them do it.
If not, how can we help you move forward?


* ****** ********** **
**** *** ****** ***
Greenville, SC 29611
Service ************
Vendor  ************
Fax        ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

They never offered me credit. When I called they made all kinds of promises but never did what they said. I don't blame them for my problems but I do blame them for leaving me with sewage leaking in my yard, and constantly making the price go up. Either way, Seeing how they feel like they are faultless in this matter, they will just keep making excuses for what they didn't do for me. They have no concern for me as a customer and I hope they don't conduct business like this with anyone else. I only blasted them to them.......never blasted them on social media.

Regards,

**** ****

2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service