Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Terminix Service Inc. - Piedmont Region

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 235-1842 Fax: (864) 421-0411 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Chick Springs Road Suite 117, Greenville, SC 29609

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Terminix Service Inc. - Piedmont Region meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Terminix Service Inc. - Piedmont Region include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Terminix Service Inc. - Piedmont Region
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 06, 1983 Business started: 07/01/1947
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Clemson Department of Pesticide
511 Westinghouse Road, Pendleton SC 29670
Phone Number: (864) 646-2150
Fax Number: (864) 646-2179

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Randy Hunter, Piedmont Region Manager Mr. James Brown, Seneca Branch Manager Mr. Jeremy Forrester, Greenville North Manager Mr. Vic Fox, Piedmont Region Assistant Mr. Greg Hansen, Spartanburg Branch Manager Mr. Tom Hill, Manager - Anderson Mr. Eric Maquire, Greenville South Manager Mr. Billy Miller, Piedmont Region Assistant Mr. Galen Roche, Greenwood Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Hunter, Piedmont Region Manager
Business Category

Pest Control Services

Alternate Business Names
Terminix Service Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1 Chick Springs Road Suite 117

    Greenville, SC 29609

  • 185 Alice Street

    Spartanburg, SC 29303 (864) 582-0726

  • 213 Anderson Circle

    Greenwood, SC 29649 (864) 229-4999

  • 214 N Walnut Street

    Seneca, SC 29678 (864) 882-8799

  • 2611 Rutherford Road

    Greenville, SC 29609

  • 51 Kitty Hawk Road

    Greenville, SC 29605 (864) 292-6411

  • 800 S Murray Ave

    Anderson, SC 29624 (864) 224-8729

  • P O Box 1450

    Spartanburg, SC 29304

  • PO Box 535

    Seneca, SC 29679 (864) 235-1842


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for pest control from Terminix for several years, paying yearly in advance, for my rental property at *** ******* *** ************ SC. I elected not to renew this past year as I transitioned to a new service. Terminix is claiming they treated the property even without my renewal, and turned me over to collections for non-payment. I made no request for treatment, and did not renew the contract.

Desired Settlement: I want any further collection efforts cancelled and any report of non-payment removed.

Business Response: On behalf of Terminix Service Inc., I would like to apologize for the inconvenience of this complaint. All Bad Debts for this account are adjusted off and the Collection Agency will cease to pursue this amount. There should be no blemish on *** ********* Credit History. *** ******* was an excellent customer for many years and we appreciated his business. Please let me know if we can help further. Sincerely, ***** ****** Terminix Service Inc. Piedmont Region Assistant *************************

9/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was told that y'all offer quarterly services for $75 by the receptionist answering the phone, I asked her did we have to get the year she said no after the quarter is up you don't have to renew it. I called back the day that Terminix came to my house and the contract did not say that.

Desired Settlement: Terminate contract with no fee.

Business Response:



I talked to *** **** this morning and we are going to charge him for a one time Service ($75), with a 30 day guarantee.  I believe that there was a miscommunication on someone’s part.  I will assume it was on our part, and cancel our 1 year contract with him. 


**** ** ******** ***Branch Manager
Terminix Service, Inc.
** ***** **** **** * *********** ** ***** ***** ************* *** ************************************** * *********************

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had a contract with Terminix since 1999. We were told of the termite damage and spent over $15,000 on replacing the floors that were eaten up, then another $3500 to Terminix to begin the treatment, added a sump pump under the house a year or so later. They inspected the ********* system every 3 months until the past 2 years when they began using a stronger system and began inspecting only annually. Every couple of years they have recommended new things we needed - vents under the house, vapor barrier, etc. 2 weeks ago we had our annual inspection where they crawl under the house and inspect the wood and check for termite activity. The inspector told me there was no activity, no damage and wanted to sell me another item, a de-humidifier for under the house ($4500). I did not have the money as our central heat just had to be repaired. We began a kitchen renovation project and the contractor realized that the entire floor (12 floor joists) were eaten up with termites. They even saw several live termites. I immediately called Terminix to come out and look at the damage. They informed me that they were not responsible for any of the damage as my contract was not the DAMAGE CONTRACT. I was only offered this one contract which apparently only protected against termites. He talked to his boss who said they were not responsible for any cost of replacing the floor. He explained to me that his big boss would be calling me the following Monday and that they would have someone out to TREAT the area where the live termites were seen. We have not heard from them at all. I believe they would like me to forget the issue and just cancel our service. He now wanted to sell me another contract which would include damage (after the fact is a little late). My husband is totally bed to wheelchair bound (he has Multiple sclerosis) and had he gone into the kitchen his wheelchair would have surely fallen through the floor - that is the extent of the damage - it was falling through.

Desired Settlement: I would like Terminix to reimburse us for the cost of the new floor joists and the flooring as I believe they did not do their job during their inspections to the floor - this damage did not happen in a matter of 2 weeks time and someone was negligent in their inspections.

Business Response:

**** *******

Thank you for contacting us about 96 Owens Piedmont SC, 29673, ID: *******.  Terminix Service Inc. is always concerned about our customers, and always tries to meet or exceed their expectations.  Upon receiving your letter I researched our records, and talked to the inspector involved.

In doing my investigation I found the following:

4/29/99  Treated house for active termites $1376.00

               Inserted drain system $2207.00      

               Due to amount of existing damage, home owner was given a Service Plan.

               Our original graph dated 4/29/99 shows all original damage.

Over the years, we have inspected crawl space and monitored the moisture conditions. Since moisture has always been a factor in our fight against termites we try to recommend improvements to the crawlspace. July 2002 we installed a vapor barrier to help with moisture.  From 2008 through 2013 moisture reading ranged from 17% to 21%. This year our inspector did recommend installing a Encapsulation to permanently stop excessive moisture readings. The owner declined.

The damage in the crawlspace that was found by the contractor is in the same area as the damage on the original graph.  The same Inspector who performed the  inspection, this year, was called out to verify this damage but no live activity was found.  We did perform a precautionary retreat to ease customers mind.  The Supervisor and the inspector explained to the owner that we were not responsible for the damage do to the contract specifications and the original damage.

In summary, we are not responsible for any damage per the terms of our contract. We have the original graph documenting damage, and no live termites were found upon our inspectors revisit.

Customer was not given a damage contract at time of sale due to the extent of damage noted on

Graph dated 4/12/199.

Termite Contract and graph are attached,  Feel free to call me with any questions.

**** ** ******** ***
Branch Manager
Terminix Service, Inc.
** ***** **** **** | Greenville, SC 29605
***** ************* *** ************
************************** |

Business Response:


After reading the Homeowners response to my answer, I would  like to go out and re inspect home.  This way I can put my own eyes on the situation.  If this is acceptable please have ****  ******* give me a call.


**** ** ******** ***
Branch Manager
Terminix Service, Inc.
** ***** **** **** * *********** ** ***** ***** ************* *** ************ ************************** *

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will call **** at Terminix and have him come by and re-inspect the house (although we have already totally and completely rebuilt the kitchen floor and replaced all of the wood - I do have a lot of the wood saved and pictures of this).  Once **** comes out and determines if they wish to accept any responsibility for a portion of the damage I will reply again.   



******* *******