BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Hired Killers Pest Control

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 271-6104 Fax: (864) 848-0238 1360 Lake Cunningham Road, Greer, SC 29651 http://www.youkill.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hired Killers Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hired Killers Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1994 Business started: 08/22/1986 in SC Business incorporated: 08/22/1986 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Clemson Department of Pesticide
511 Westinghouse Road, Pendleton SC 29670
http://dpr.clemson.edu
Phone Number: (864) 646-2150
Fax Number: (864) 646-2179
hlizott@clemson.edu

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ross Woodall II, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ross Woodall II, President
Business Category

Pest Control Services


Additional Locations

  • 1360 Lake Cunningham Road

    Greer, SC 29651

  • P O Box 1260

    Greer, SC 29652

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have lived in this house for over 14 years and never had a problem with bugs until about three years ago. When we did have a problem we called and looked around for a good price. We chose Hired Killers. We have been with Hired Killers (100% Satisfaction Guaranteed) for over two years. They keep a great detailed account of their customers so it should be easy to see how many times we called and complained. In the beginning we complained about baby cockroaches in our family room. We have called several times about the same issue. One of the ladies on the last call told me to gather some in a baggie so "we could see what we were up against". Well.....we did that two years ago and it did NOT do any good! He just threw them out and continued spraying. He DID TELL ME THAT THESE WERE NOT GERMAN ROACHES so that is a good thing but I don't understand why they cannot get rid of them. This past Labor Day weekend 2014 on Saturday Night we had five baby cockroaches appear in the same room, family room..three on the wall, one on the sofa arm, and then one on the back of my neck on the sofa. On Sunday we had nothing. Monday two more in the same spot. Then we had three in the bathroom near the family room over the next day or two. I called Hired Killers and had an appointment on Tuesday at 6pm. At 6:05 pm the guy called and said he was in Easley, SC and had to go to Liberty but he could get to us around 8:30 or 9pm. He was SURPRISED that after two years we were still having a issue. I told him if it was after 8pm not to come. He called at 7:50pm and I told him not to come, my wife was not happy about the late hour, but it was fine.....just do it another day. He said that THEY WOULD CALL ME AFTER 11:30am the next day on Wednesday. NO ONE ever called. It is now Thursday night and not heard a word from Hired Killers. We have roaches, tons of spiders outside and we have been with Hired Killers for over two years. Not sure what we have paid for????

Desired Settlement: REFUND

Business Response: We are unable to treat areas such as sofas , bedding couches, chairs etc.. These areas must be kept clean and sanitized or insects will be attracted to the areas mentions. If the individual would like a refund on their last service. They may contact ***** ** ************ and give her a credit number and she can apply a refund from their last service. THANK YOU

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *****

8/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $100 for a CL100 inspection letter for a house we had made an offer on. The guy came out and did an inspection. He came up and provided verbal feedback stating that the previous owners had only done a partial termite treatment according to SC regulations. He also said the moisture levels were borderline under the kitchen. So we waited to see the inspection letter as he said he was going to pass the house. Since then we have withdrawn our offer on the house partially because of the verbal feedback provided. We still have yet to receive a copy of the inspection report. I have called and left a voicemail message with no response. I emailed with no response. At this point I feel like we paid for a service that was never completed.

Desired Settlement: refund of services

Business Response: Hired Killers performed Cl-100 report as stated. ******* ******** gave verbal report at time of inspection as mentioned in ** ******** statement. The following day after field inspection was done the original were sent out. Hired Killers delivers all closing doucuments to the closing attorney office, or has realtors occasionaly pick up from office. WE dont release orignal to buyer, or seller directly. In the past we have had letters changed, and or munipulated before reaching attorney's office. Therfore in 1995 we began the practice of delivering directly to the  attorney's office.  The CL-100 was delivered to the ****** *** firm in ******* ***. as information shown in the attched service slip signed by ******* ********. We contacted the law firm and they confrimed they had received the documnets from Hired Killers. Please contact them for further questions. We  have checked all copy sheets of phone and email messages over the past 3 weeks. We have no record of contact attempts made as stated by ** ********.. We have given verbal and written report to all parties necessary in this transaction.

6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hired Killers sent a tech to treat an area of bees in the ground on Wed., May 22, 2013. Not only did the treatment not get rid of the bees, but we now have even more bees. The tech was paid $150.00 and he said that if the bees were still in the same area in the next couple of days(and they are) that they would come back and treat the area again at no extra charge.Today is Friday, May 24th. I called the company and they said they would send the tech back out. I waited and called and they did not answer. I then called from another number (they did answer) I left a message with the receptionist to have a supervisor call and about 30 minutes later a lady named "*****" called. I told her I had been waiting 2 hours for "****" the tech and he never showed up. She said she would check with him and call me back--She never did call me back and thats been over an hour ago. I waited a the church from 1p.m. until 4 p.m. and went home to write this letter to the BBB. I sincerely hope that someone will see this and delve into this matter. $150 is a lot of money to spend for extremely POOR service-- and an even POORER response from a "CUSTOMER SERVICE" perspective.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the money paid to Hired Killers. They were paid by a check from ******* ******* ******

Business Response: DEAR*****, WE SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH A GENTLEMAN FOR THE BEE SERVICE FOR THE 22ND.  A GENTLEMAN MET WITH ****. AS EXPLAINED ON THE PHONE AND IN PERSON. ALL BEE TREATMENTS PERFORMED TAKE 7-10 DAYS BEFORE  TOTAL ERADICATION IS ACCOMPLISHED. THIS IS STANDARD PROCEDURE NOT “A COUPLE OF DAYS”.  THIS WAS  EXPLAINED AGAIN AT TIME OF SERVICE , BEACAUSE THE INDIVIDUAL INFORMED US OF AN EVENT PLANNED OVER THE WEEKEND. ON FRIDAY MORNING THE SAME GENTLEMAN CALLED REPORTING BEES. AT 9:12 A SERVICE TECH WAS DISPATCHED BEACAUSE THEY NEEDED TO TRY TO GET MORE BEES ELIMANATED BEFORE THE WEEKEND EVENT.. AT 10:13  “SEE ATTACHED TRACKING INFORMATION SHEET” OUR GSP TRUCK INDICATORS SHOW ARRIVAL TO THE LOCATION. NO ONE WAS THERE ***** WILLIS WAITS FOR 30 MINUTES AND RETREATS THE AREA. WE CALLED ************ NO ANSWER. AFTER 12:00 THE GENTLEMAN CALLS BACK AND INFORMS US HE WAS NOT THERE TO MEET ***** THAT MORNING. COULD WE PLEASE RETURN THAT AFTERNOON.  AT JUST AFTER 3:00 WE RECEIVE A CALL FROM A LADY THIS TIME AND NOT THE GENTLEMAN WE HAD BEEN SPEAKING WITH. SHE SPOKE WITH******* AND WAS INFORMED YES WE HAD BEEN THERE EARLIER AND WOULD BE RETURNING THIS AFTERNOON. WE HAVE NO CALLER ID SYSTEM AT OUR OFFICE. WE CAN NOT DETERMINE WHICH NUMBERS AND CALLING IN , ONLY THE LINES  THAT ARE RINGING IN  AT THE TIME. WE HAVE ANSWERING MACHINE AND NO MESSAGES FROM ******* ****** ARE ON OUR MACHINE. AT 4:05 IN THE AFTERNOON “PLEASE SEE ATTACHED TRACKING INFORMATION SHEET” **** ARRIVED AND AGAIN NO ONE WAS THERE. THE ******** WAS CALLED AGAIN AND STILL NO ONE ANSWERED. **** AND HIS ASSISTANT RETREATED THE AREA FOR A 3RD TIME AND LEFT AT 4:21.  HIRED KILLERS HAS CALLED THE******** ON TUESDAY THE 28TH AS REQUESTED BY THE GENTLEMAN ON FRIDAY. HE REQUESTED WE CHECK BACK ON WEDNESDAY TO INSURE ALL BEES ARE GONE. WE HAVE AGAIN LEFT MESSAGES TODAY AND STILL HAVE RECEIVED NO RETURN CALLS. IF YOU HAVE ANY OTHER NUMBERS THAN THE ******** NUMBER PLEASE FORWARD TO US SO WE CAN MAKE CONTACT. THE SERVICE IS GURANTEED FOR THE BEES TO BE ELIMANATED. WE STAND BEHIND THIS PROMISE , PLEASE HAVE SOMEONE RETURN OUR MESSAGES. THANK YOU.. HIRED KILLERS 1-800-KILLER1

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We arranged to have an exterminator out with Hired Killers Pest Control a few days ago. The appointment was scheduled for Wednesday 4/10 at 5pm. We left work early to be home a few minutes before the scheduled appointment. At 5:15pm we placed a call to the Greenville Office. A woman answered, we mentioned that the exterminator had not shown up, and she immediately replied, "He will be there any second." She did not ask for our name, or address, or time of appointment. We waited 30 more minutes. At 5:45pm we called again since nobody had shown up, and the offices in Greenville and Greer were closed. This morning I called the Greenville office & asked to speak with a manager. I spoke with *******. I explained to ******* the situation and that nobody showed up yesterday at 5pm. She looked up the name/address on the appointment, and the first 3 digits of the address were wrong. I told her that I understand that those things happen, however at 5:15pm yesterday it should have been corrected when we called to confirm. Furthermore, I would have expected a phone call if the technician was truly at the wrong address to confirm where we were actually located. Not once did ******* apologize, she only offered another appointment at a $25 discount. $25 is better than nothing, however she didn't even empathize or explain why one of her employees would give that type of response. We cancelled a different company to get this appointment and took time off work to prepare for them to come. At the very least I would expect them to be apologetic and address the situation, not just throw me a discount and reschedule. So far we are very disapointed in the level of service, and we haven't even received the actual product yet! Our appointment now is at 9am tomorrow, if they actually show up when scheduled.

Desired Settlement: A follow up response from the company if the actual scheduled appointment happens tomorrow.

Business Response: , WE WENT TO THE INCORRECT ADDRESS. THE NEXT MORNING ***** ******* CALLED TO SAY NO ONE HAD SHOWN UP FOR THE APPOINTMENT. SHE WAS RESCHEDULED FOR THE DATE OF HER CHOICE AT 9:00 WITH A $25.00 DISCOUNT “20% PERCENT”. ***** ******* AT A LATER TIME CALLED AND CHANGED THE APPOINMENT TO 2:00 PM. THIS SERVICE WAS COMPLETED AT THE REQUESTED 2:00 RE SCHEDULED TIME.. SINCE THEN WE HAVE SPOKE WITH A ******* ****** WHO ALSO STATED HE RESIDES AT THIS RESIDENCE. ALL SERVICE INFORMATION FOR THIS ADDRESS IS IN HIS NAME. HE STATED TO DEBORAH HE FELT WE SHOULD NOT CHARGE HE AND ***** ******** FOR THIS INITIAL SERVICE. DEBORAH AGREED TO NOT CHARGE FOR THIS SERVICE DUE TO INCORRECT ADDRESS INFORMATION, AND MORE THAN ONE PARTY NAME CONFUSION.. IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTION CONTACT **** ******* ************

 

3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service