Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Piedmont Natural Gas

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 752-7504 Fax: (864) 576-0039 501 West Blackstock Road, Spartanburg, SC 29301 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.piedmontng.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Piedmont Natural Gas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Piedmont Natural Gas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Piedmont Natural Gas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 18, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1950
Business Management
Mr. Mike Perry, District Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Perry, District Manager
Business Category

Natural Gas Companies


Additional Locations

  • 501 West Blackstock Road

    Spartanburg, SC 29301

  • PO Box 170189

    Spartanburg, SC 29301

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shut off gas. Immediately paid all bills, however, they have yet to turn on the gas for almost a week. No hot water and no one is answering calls or emails. My family is suffering greatly due to this.

Desired Settlement: I just want a resolution. No customer service or help is unexceptable.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint and our records indicate the customer was disconnected for non pay on 5/6/15.  The customer made payment on 5/7/15, however did not request a reconnection of service.   We do not automatically issue orders for reconnection , once the required payment is made it is the customer's responsiblity to notify us of the payment, pass the idenity verification and request a reconnection of service.

Our records indicate an email and a customer request was received 5/11/15 to restore the service.  All criteria has been met and we have scheduled the turn on fo 5/12/15.

3/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February 24th got a call from ******** saying that I have not paid bill(s). They had the wrong address. Ask them to send a bill to the correct address, so I could pay the bill. I talk to ****** on that date. March 3, I get a disconnect person at my font door with a hand written bill. Saying pay it or we will disconnect service. Still no bill was sent. In less than 5 business days of talk to their customer service with corrections with no bill, they wanted to disconnect service. What if I wasn't at home! I would not have any service.

Desired Settlement: Still need bills!

Business Response:

I have reviewed this customer complaint.   Our records indicate the customer applied for service on 9/16/14 with a start date of 10/1/14.   The customer was billed in November, December, January, and February. No payments were received so the customer received a collection call for the past due bills.  On 2/24/15 the customer calls and advise us and she was not a customer nor had she received any bills. She verified with her landlord that this address did have a gas service.  We determined the mailing address was incorrect, we updated the mailing address and sent copies of bills to the correct address on2/25/15.  An order was issue automatically on 2/26/15 to disconnect the account for non pay.  The was sent for disconnection on 3/3/15, the customer paid the past due amount and the service was not disconnected.  

It appears there were several factors which resulted in this incident.  First, we had the incorrect mailing address. Second, the customer was not aware they had gas service, therefore did not question not receiving a gas bill. Thirdly, the timing of the disconnection and our failure to place the account on hold from collections.

We have corrected the customer address.  The customer's account is current and the service was not interrupted.  I apologize for the inconvenience this has called and I hope going forward we can restore this customer confidence in us as a reliable source of energy.

 

7/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reside in a small home and have gas service connected to hot water heater. It is also connected to logs and gas grill. Grill and logs are never used. Overly past 2 years my bills have been extremely high. Especially in winter month. My usage remains the same yet my bill changes from winter to summer. I ask gas company why this is true and they simple stated rated is high for all so deal with it. My service is currently disconnected due to non-payment but my bills have been over charged and I feel the has to be a leak that is causing the high bills jeopardizing my safety, the safety of my home and community. Otherwise, Piedmont Natural Gas is over charging their customers. Notice left on my door while I was at work states I owe $154.71. Once I called company they stated that I owe $180 plus dollars plus $200 deposit. I never received a bill stating I owe such a large amount for gas or you would have heard from me before now. Piedmont Natural gas lost service to 500 customers due to company error on 06/21/2014. I was without service for entire weekend. There was no mentioned when they came out to restore service that I had any outstanding balances. There has also been no mention of compensation for lost service during that time. I expect my gas service restored. I will reluctantly pay the outrageous bill amount of $154.71 but I expected an investigation into why bills are so high. I want confirmation gas company has not put my life at risk by over looking a negligent leak . I demand compensation for lost service. This matter has been both troublesome and inconvenient. I expect resolution to this matter today.Sincerely****** *******

Desired Settlement: expected an investigation into why bills are so high. I want confirmation gas company has not put my life at risk by over looking a negligent leak . I demand compensation for lost service. This matter has been both troublesome and inconvenient. I expect resolution to this matter today.

Business Response:

I have reviewed this customer's complaint regarding high bills. Our records indicate the customer’s gas usage to be in line based on the premise history. The usage is higher in the winter months due to the colder weather and rates which vary from summer to winter.  The customer did not inquiry about high usage until July 14, 2014 ,after the service was disconnected for non-pay.

On Saturday, June 21, 2014 there was an interruption of gas service due to the South Carolina ******* ************ contractor, damaging a 6 inch main on Highway *.  Service was lost to approximately 500 of our customers.  Piedmont Natural Gas went to each premise and turned off each meter until repairs were made. After repairs each premise was visited to restore service.   If we were unable to have access to the premise a door tag was left advising the customer to call and schedule a time an order to restore the service.

Our records  show our technician was at this customer premise to restore service on 6/21/14 at 2:51 PM but no one was home; a door tag was left instructing customer to call a schedule a time for us to turn his meter back on. Service was restored on Sunday, June 22, 2014 at 11:01 AM. The service technician would not have mentioned any past due balances at this time; his primary concern was to restore gas service.

The service at this address was disconnected on July 14, 2014 at 12:46 PM due to non-pay.  The customer was notified of possible disconnections with disconnection notices that were included in the May and June billing.  On July 9th, the customer was called and a message was left advising of pending a disconnection.  No response was received and the service was disconnected on July 14, 2014.  The customer’s account shows his actual balance is $183.93.  His last payment was received April 18, 2014.  If the customer restores service before the account final bill he will be required to pay the past due amount of $154.71 plus $40.00 reconnection fee for total $194.71.   If the account final bills the customer will be required to pay all utility charges, a security deposit of $158.00 and the reconnection fee of $40.00.

On July 14, 2014 at 5:59 PM we received a call reporting gas odor inside home. An emergency order was dispatched. Upon arrival the technician checked for gas leak inside home and outside at meter set, no leaks were found.  He also checked sewer water boxes, valve boxes and foundation of premise and no readings registered on the GMI (gas indicator).  The service line and the main were probed and no readings registered.  The meter was left off and sealed.

Based on this information Piedmont Natural Gas has not been negligent in investigating this premise for a gas leak.  Piedmont Natural Gas was not responsible for the loss of gas service and timely manner to restore the customer’s service; therefore no compensation for loss of service is warranted.  Once the service is restored we will gladly do a high bill investigation at the customer’s request.

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Piedmont NaturaL Gas Agent *****l ID ***** refuses to have my Gas connected the same day after making my payment. I paid my bill and after making my payment they still refuses to reconnect the service. I was told that the company don't send their agent back out the same day. She siad that she was sorry about my feelings and I would have wait until they can find someone to come to my house to connet the gas. I called Piedmont Natural around 3 oclock during the day.Agent *****l ID # **** refuses to let me speak to manager after request to speak to manager she told me that she was the supervior and this the high I can go at the time. I f I paid fo my bill I should have the my service on.

Desired Settlement: I need my Gas on

Business Response: This customer was turned off for non pay on 4/15/14.  She called in to make payment on 4/15/14 @ 4:28 pm.  The next available time to reconnect the gas was the next day, 4/16/14.  This customer is on the schedule for today.  Per notes on the account, customer changed her mind about wanting to speak to a supervisor.  I will pull the call recording and follow up after that. 

12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lost my job almost 3 mths ago and tried to get help with getting the gas turned on. no one in my area was able to help. called in and spoke with an agent and he stated that i only needed to pay like 300 something to turn on in my name. finally started working i emailed the company and set up for my payment and to have someone come out to hook up my heat. someone emailed me back stating that i had to pay over 800 to turn back on i explained i wasnt working and could they help. the person emailed me back stating because i benefited from the gas i w3as responisble for the payment. i dont have any gas that is the issue. i dont appreciate being talked to the way that i was and i feel very disrespected. last time i called i was placed on hold for almost 10 min. im jsut trying to get back on my feet from not working and no one seems to want to help. and i feel that i dont owe what they stating me for 800 something when the alst gas that was on in the house was not in my name

Desired Settlement: if they can help me with jsut turning my gas on i will pay my monthly bilk i have two girls that stya with me and with it being an old house with wooden floors does not help my situation

Business Response:

I have reviewed the complaint and our records indicate the following.  This address was turned off on 6/6/13 for non pay under another name.   No payment were received and the account has been charged off and turned over to collections.  We received a request for service on 9/26/13 from this customer.  The customer who has issued this complaint is the contact person on the previous account.  She has been linked to the previous account by payment information, noted calls and emails.  Therefore, in order to establish service under her name she was advised the old bill of $472.67 plus security deposit of $314.00 would need to be paid. On 11/29/13 we agreed if she would pay the old bill of $472.67, we would bill the deposit in two payments of $157.00.

 

Consumer Response: Better b Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

******* *******

I have not received any emails or calls personally.  When I received a letter for the balance I called and was sent to an automated system to make a payment. The person I finally spoke with stated that they could not Discuss the account with me. I lost my job and was unable to make payments and I was denied my unemployment and still waiting on my appeal.  when I called about to get in my service is turned back on they stated me 300 something because I'm Putting it in my name. If I had 800 something the gad would have not got turned off.


2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service