Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Techtronic Industries Power Equipment

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 226-6511 Fax: (864) 964-3360 View Additional Phone Numbers 1428 Pearman Dairy Rd, Anderson, SC 29625 http://www.ttigroup.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Techtronic Industries Power Equipment meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Techtronic Industries Power Equipment include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 59 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

59 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 28
Problems with Product/Service 28
Total Closed Complaints 59

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Techtronic Industries Power Equipment
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 20, 1995 Business started: 08/08/2000 in DE Business incorporated 08/07/2000 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Gibson , Director of Service Ms. Bette Ann Braeutigam , VP Treasurer Mr. Mike Farrah, President Mr. C Doug Newton, Vice President of HR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Gibson , Director of Service
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers

Products & Services

Techtronic Industries Power Equipment sells the following brand(s): Homelite Outdoor Products , Ridgid Power Tools, Ryobi Outdoor Products , Ryobi Power Tools

Alternate Business Names
Homelite Consumer Products Inc One World Technologies, Inc. Ridgid Power Tools Ryobi North America, Inc. Ryobi Technologies Inc. Techtronic Industries Co., Ltd.

Additional Locations

  • 1428 Pearman Dairy Rd

    Anderson, SC 29625

  • PO Box 1207

    Anderson, SC 29622

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have a ***** compact ******* *** ***** * **** ***** ****** that i had purchased june of 2014, i no longer have the receipt, and the serial # is/was on a sticker on the side of drill, over last 2 years it has worn off and is practically gone, as with another drill, and saw zaw. they will NOT honor the warranty! due to this why is the serial # on a sticker on the side of tool, rather in the battery compartment, where the battery would keep the #'s NEW FAR longer, than the exposed sides npr can i find where i could have registered my product when purchased, like you do with printers, and other electronics

Desired Settlement: I want the warranty upheld, and replace/repair the drill as the warranty states or i will NEVER purchase these products again, and replace current system with another company like *****

Consumer Response: Product has a 3 year warranty

Business Response:

We spoke with ** ***** and have agreed on a solution to this issue

3/18/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi I bought the **** ******* *********** ******** ****** ************* ****** ****** that comes with the battery and charger on 5/10/13 and the battery has stopped charging. When I bought it I was told that it had a 3 year warranty. The charger is saying that the battery is defective. After contacting ***** through their support ticket system online they sent me to **** ***** where I originally purchased the item. I then went to **** ***** which in turn called ***** and said that I needed to contact ***** because there was a problem. Something about the serial numbers between the tool and battery being too far apart on their manufacturing date. They gave me this reference number **********. So I called. The rep from ***** said it was odd and then was asking if I had any other batteries, but I do not. I bought this prepackaged together from **** ****** She said she would investigate and get back to me. I missed her call back, but called back immediately only to get voicemail. I then left a message and waited a few days for a call back of which I got none. I called back again a few days later, but once again straight to voicemail at the number I was given - *********** *** ****. I then went back to the support ticket system online, and they are not answering anymore either. This is ridiculous now. I do not appreciate being accused of wrong doing, and now I'm pretty sure I will never buy another ***** product again if this is how they get around their warranty by packaging different manufacturing dates on the bundles. I want a resolution and a new battery now at this point. All I did was buy a bundled product, if they packaged it wrong from the factory, I'm not sure how that is my fault. If anything that is some real shady business practicing.

Desired Settlement: I want ***** to replace my battery under the warranty.

Business Response: we have resolved ** *********** issue and are attempting to contact him

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *********

3/14/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased numerous items through a branch of Techtronic Industries* ****** ***** ****** The primary reason I decided to exclusively buy ****** ***** ***** ****) since 2007 was because of their Lifetime Service Agreement (LSA). Every *** automatically comes with a 3 year warranty, and requires a customer to go online and register the purchase date and receipt code with *** to qualify for the LSA. I have done that with every *** I have purchased except for two, and those are not visible on my account because they were never registered. Recently I purchased another *** and had an issue registering for the LSA, and in trying to get that sorted out I noticed that all of my registered equipment is no longer covered by the LSA. So if every *** comes with a 3 year warranty, the only reason to register a *** is to get the LSA, so why would I bother going online, making an account at **** if I didn't submit the purchase date and *** when I registered the products.

Desired Settlement: Reinstatement of the LSA on all equipment that I registered online with my *** account.

Business Response: we've tried calling ** ********* multiple times without success. We emailed him last Thu. We will update once we have made contact

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a RYOBI 10 INCH MITER saw WITH LASER, LASER ONLY WORKED FOR A MONTH AND THE LASER NEVER WORKED I was doing hardwood floors, messed up about $*** IN HARDWOOD FLOORING DUE TO THIS SAW. THE GUARD MOVED AND SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABLE TO MOVE AT ALL AND IT BECAME CROOKED AND MESSED UP MY CUTS OF MY HARDWOOD FLOORING, I THOUGHT THE ROOM WAS OFF. **** ***** REFUSES TO TAKE BACK THIS SAW, THEY HAVE THE NEWER VERSION BUT IT SLIDES, SAME PRICE $180, BIG DEAL, STAND BY YOUR PRODUCT TRADE THIS OUT OR REFUND , YOU HAVE COST ME MONEY. I WILL NEVER PURCHASE YOUR PRODUCTS AGAIN AND WILL LET MY COLLEGES KNOW AS WELL ABOUT THE OUTCOME. HOME DEPOT COULD CARE LESS HOW ABOUT RYOBI. YOU QUIT MAKING THIS BECAUSE OF THESE PROBLEMS. I WANT THE NEW 10 INC 15 AMP MITER SAW OR A REFUND..PERIOD

Desired Settlement: REPLACEMENT/ STORE CREDIT, REFUND, HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE BY BOTH HOME DEPOT AND RYOBI

Business Response: We contacted the customer, discussed situation, made recommendations and came to agreement on solution.

1/12/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Ryobi Generator Model RYI 2200 at **** ***** in ************* ** on 11/16/2013. This generator is manufactured by Techtronic Outdoor Products. This unit has always been run on fresh E10 gasoline and the oil has been changed with ******** 10W-30 every 6 months. It has approximately 400 hours usage on the engine. Recently, during a power outage at my home, I started the unit. It was running fine, but it said there was an overload and would not output any power. I tried to reset it, with no luck. The next day, I tried it again, it still said overload, and the motor seemed to be idling funny. I immediately took it to an authorized repair center (***** ******* ******* in ********** **) to have it repaired under warranty. Approximately a week later, they said that they took the engine apart and it was a valve issue with the engine. Ryobi would not repair under warranty. I told them the engine was always operated with proper fuel and oil, and changed regularly. They told me it was either run low on oil, or had over 200 hours on the motor. Well, it did have over 200 hours, but should be covered under warranty. So I called to speak with Vick at Ryobi, and he informed me that the technician said that the generator was abused, which was not the case. It will not be repaired under the 3 year warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like this unit repaired or replaced under warranty.

Business Response: we have contacted ** ******* and have agreed on a resolution

Business Response: we have contacted ** ******* and have agreed on a resolution

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *******

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sent me to a repair center to get product repair. The repair center charge the costumer no matter what. This company is doing a scam by sending costumer for warranty service , but the costumer are going to get charge no matter what.

Desired Settlement: Pay for the unauthorized charges from their repair center. $*****

Business Response:

customer signed paperwork with service center stating he would be responsible for any non-warranty related work required once unit was inspected. ASC found old fuel in unit and was required to clean fuel system including fuel lines, diaphragm and carb gasket, which is outside the scope of warranty.

We have contacted the customer and are working with him to resolve the issue.

12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a reconditioned Ryobi blower/vac from CPO tools on April 28 of this year. In October, the blower stopped working during use, and would not restart. The Ryobi authorized repair center I took it to told me it wasn't worth fixing, and refused to fix it for the $** that was offered to repair it by TTI. The repair center told me to contact TTI myself, and take the blower with me. He said that as this was already a reconditioned unit and could have already had damage from the last repairs. I've made two additional calls to TTI trying to get some sort of warranty replacement or repair. The first phone call about two weeks ago, ***** told me she would get back to me, but never did. I spoke with ***** again today, and she asked me to take it to one of two other service centers for their opinion, both of which are about 45 minutes away. She also said I could take it to a **** ***** and they would ship it out for repairs, but I'd have to pay a $** shipping charge, and they would refund it if they decided it was a manufacturer's defect. I shouldn't have to jump through hoops to get warranty service on a defective unit. A Ryobi certified repair shop says the unit isn't worth repairing and I should demand a new unit, then Ryobi wants me to get second opinions? If they don't trust their own certified repair centers, that's no excuse to run me all over ******** just trying to get this thing repaired or replaced.

Desired Settlement: Considering it was a refurbished unit with the same warranty as a new unit, I would like a replacement blower of equal or greater value. I don't care if it's another refurbished unit so long as it comes with a warranty.

Business Response: We spoke with ** ***** and are resolving the issue as agreed.

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ryobi 40 Volt electric outdoor leaf blower and a 40 volt electric string trimmer submitted for warranty repair to a facility in ***** ** fulfilled by ******** tools and Equipment. After almost 4 month and numerous calls to Ryobi, products are not repaired. Ryobi failed to fix or replace the defected products, always finding excuses that the parts are in back order and the service department at ******** Tools and Equipment not responding and Ryobi needs more time to investigate the situation. Today I asked to talk with a manager and Ryobi representative transferred me to a person that was a support team and lying that is a manager. His name was ***** *****. Once I started asking more aggressively for a solution he admitted that his was not the manager and transferred the call to the managers voice mail. I left a message for her to call me back before the end of the day without any luck. Ryobi send me only half part of the string trimmer directly to my house. The part is useless because it needs the other half to work. Also the repair facility and the technician should assembly the product and tested and verify the good working condition. This way the remaining warranty of the product stays valid.

Desired Settlement: I asked Ryobi to replace the products directly with new because of the inconvenience and hassle. I am also disappointed with ******* Tools service because never ever called to update me about the progress. The actual blower as NEW tool is $** dollars on **** ***** and the String trimmer is $120 with the battery. I guess is less money without the battery. I had to borrow tools to do my work all summer long because Ryobi a multi million dollar company failed to replace tools that probably cost them 50 dollars together with shipping.

Business Response: we've contacted the customer and arranged a resolution

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here is a copy of the letter I sent to Rigid Tools 27/10/2015.Please regard the following letter as a request for LSA or the start of the complaint process with the Better Business Bureau.I search for disambiguation in my search for product registration. I have acted in good faith. I do not believe you have. I submitted three attempts at product registration. The information I supplied I received from The **** ***** **** ****** ****** *****, ******* *** *** ******, the company from which I purchased your combo kit.From your records, you will see that my first two attempts, based on the information I received from the **** *****, were deemed, quite correctly from your point of view, to not benefit from your LSA. I point out again, that the information I supplied came from the **** *****. My third attempt based on the information from the supplier was for a COMBO KIT - R9611 that you deem to be a three-piece set. Understand I bought this combo kit in ****** not the USA. It is not a three-piece set. Please attempt disambiguation and understand from my attempt at product registration that it is a six-piece set as followsComponents:18V X4 HAMMER DRILL18v X4 IMPACT DRIVER18V MINI RADIOCharger18V High capacity Battery18V High capacity BatteryI do not wish to receive another email from you with a nonsensical ************************ I deem that an unfair practice.My case against you, if you do not respond adequately, is that you are involved in unfair business practices. I have act good faith and expect you to do the same. You have received enough information that the Canadian COMBO KIT - R9611 is a six-piece set and I have sent you valid information.I expect an LSA within three days of your receipt of this letter. If I do not receive an LSA via the Internet from the information I have already sent you then my next course of action must be with the Better Business Bureau and the Canadian Consumer Agency.Sincerely*** **** *******.

Desired Settlement: A Lifetime Service Agreement for the six-piece COMBO KIT - R9611

Business Response: we have worked with ** ******* to resolve this issue

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *******

10/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am unsatisfied with a Home lite Pressure washer powered by Honda and requesting full refund of the amount paid for the product to include the additional 2 year warranty. The machine started to experience issues with the water not spraying with any pressure. Therefore I took the machine to Haywood Sales and Service for repair. They preformed a diagnostic test which was also given to Home lite and found that the machine was not operating properly due water pump damage. The Diagnostic Code # is S*********; it concluded that either no water was supplied to the washer while it was on or hot water was supplied to the washer as it was being operated which could void the the warranty. However I stated my claim to Home lite Service Representative ********) that neither of those situations ever happened and that the product was being operated according to the owner's manual and quick reference guide therefore would make Home lite reason for pump failure inconsistent with how I actually used the machine.

Desired Settlement: I am dissatisfied with Home Lite products and service and and would like a refund for the cost of the product to include additional 2 year warranty.

Business Response: spoke with ** ********** and in process of resolving issue

Business Response: customer picked up PW on Saturday. there was no charge.

10/19/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/13/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Ryobi 1/2" cordless impact driver from **** *****. It was sold as the tool only, and did not come with a charger or batteries. I had an issue with the tool after only 6 months of moderate use, and tried to return it for service. I was informed that I had to also include the battery and charger, and that I would be without all the tools for up to 90 days. This would essentially take me out of business, as I only have one charger and just a few batteries, and most of my other tools are Ryobi as well. Ryobi customer service told me these requirements were written in the warranty and there was no recourse. I read the warranty and it stated specifically that: "you must ....return all original equipment packaged with the original product." I called customer service back (another 20 minute wait) and read them the actual warranty language. She was unimpressed, and said that policy was it had to be returned with a charger and battery. Since I bought the impact driver as the"tool only" I should not have to return my separately purchased charger or battery. A warranty is a contract, and both parties MUST adhere to the contract language. The language does NOT require me to send in equipment purchased separately. Besides violating the contract, this is an obvious attempt to avoid their warranty obligations by imposing additional financial burdens on the customer. I already have wasted several hours of time, and 40 miles driving to resolve this issue for a $99 tool.

Desired Settlement: I originally sought repair or replacement of the tool, but after discovering that they do not honor their actual warranty language, I do not want to be obligated to use their tools anymore, therefore I request a full refund.

Business Response: we have contacted ** ******* and expect resolution to his issue shortly

Consumer Response: Hi ******

Its
**** ****** *** ******* ** *****

The rep was very courteous and recognized that their service department did not properly handle the warranty claim, so I think we are definitely on the right track now.

10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May I purchased a set of Ryobi TEK4 headphones from ****** for $49.95. Upon receiving the headphones the battery charger did not work. I called Ryobi's customer service for help. The Ryobi agent directed me to take the item to my locate Ryobi service agent which the agent told me was **** ***** in ********* **. **** ***** charged me $18.95 for base labor as they called it. After one month they returned the item and told me " The **** ***** does not repair this item". **** ***** would not refund the 18.95 labor charge. I called the Ryobi customer service line again and spoke with an agent ( *******) after being placed on the several long holds, she came back with a resolution of this. Mail the headphones to them at my own cost and they would refund the purchase price.

Desired Settlement: I would like Ryobi to refund me the purchase price of the headphones, the return postage, and the labor cost from **** ***** that Ryobi directed me to.

Business Response:

We have contacted ** ****** and have agreed on a solution.

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Weed eat les than a year ago. I have used it two times this year and it has stopped working, contacted the Homelite company and was informed that the weed eater does not work because gas was left in the product in the winter , but has been used twice this summer. The customer service was very ugly to me and disregarded me as a customer. I am still without a weed eater and no one wants to offer any type of solution. I purchased the weed eater form **** *****. Can you help me find a solution to this problem? product still under warranty. Was informed to take to the warranty shop to be looked at. then was told it was the gas used that caused the problem

Desired Settlement: I would like a exchange, but not able a refund.

Business Response:

Our service provider confirmed that this trimmer contained old gas with a very strong odor. The air filter and muffler were clogged and the spark plug was crusted. The fuel tank contained a gum-like substance as did the carburetor. These are all conditions that occur as a result of improper maintenance, and as a result, this unit will not be covered under warranty. However, we are sending ** ***** an air box cover, spark plug, and filter at no charge as a one time courtesy.

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After a long wait I Still couldn't get the part that I need for my lawn mower. Homelite Lawn Mower Model:******* is under warranty and has broken a part. I contacted the company on June8th2015 and they said they will send me the part (work order number is **********, and it will arrive to my home in 2.5 weeks. I never receive it so I called them again on July6th2015, and they said they currently don't have the part in stock and they don't know when they will have it in stock.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund from **** *****. By the time this complaint will be processed, I will have waited 7 weeks for a part that shall have sent to me long time ago. My family can't go on with our lives without a working lawn mower, so I have already purchased a new lawn mower. I have made numerous requested for the part, I have given the company more than enough time to fulfill their warranty, I feel I did what I have to do, but they couldn't fulfill the warranty.

Business Response: ** **** had been instructed to return his mower to **** ***** for a refund

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

*** ****

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a RYOBI Lithium battery. It would not charge. I took to **** *****, they tested it and told me it is a dead battery but could not exchange or refund because I bought it from ****** *****. So I called ****** *****, was told to call ****** tool and supply *************** I called them but they do not service RYOBI products. So I called back to ****** *****, they then gave me the number to RYOBI factory,*************) The factory told me that besides **** ***** there was no other store within 100 miles that service RYOBI, and that a faulty item should be refunded from where purchased. Although the bottom of the shipment form says to call for a RMA number to return merchandise, ****** ***** told me they would not refund my money.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back.

Business Response: We are replacing the customer's battery

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** *****

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a 40V Ryobi 14" chainsaw a few months ago at **** *****. Finally got a chance to open it up and 'use' it. Did my due diligence and read the manual. To my surprise I found the following statement: 'Although the chainsaw will work with all battery packs listed on the correlation supplement [nice language], for best performance, avoid [AVOID!!!] using first generation Ryobi 40V lithium-ion batteries [****** (part numbers ********* or *********) and ****** (part number **********)] The chain speed will be significantly reduced if these batteries are used.' Turns out that ***************) was the battery included with my chainsaw! Called Ryobi customer service and was told that the battery was not defective and will still work. A replacement will have to be approved by a supervisor. I'll hear back from them. (Note: I was told I would hear back from Ryobi CS within an hour, which did not happen) So, there are a number of issues: 1.) Ryobi is shipping the warning to AVOID using this battery in the same box as the battery that you're supposed to avoid using. If you know you've got a substandard battery and you're asking customers to avoid using it, then why on earth would you ship it? The answer is probably quite simple: from a corporate sales perspective it is much easier to sell the poor performing batteries and then put up road blocks for replacement (for the few who actually read the manual and double check), then it is to take the financial loss of dumping potentially thousands of defective batteries. (Note: the Ryobi CS person insisted that the battery was not 'defective' - I would like everybody to imagine buying a new car and then finding out that it only reaches a maximum speed of 35mph. Would you consider that car to be 'defective'?) The alternative answer is that Ryobi's quality control is so poor, that this substandard battery was shipped accidentally. 2.) When calling customer service I was told that it was okay to use the battery, when the manual clearly states that I should avoid using the battery (yes, I do expect 'best performance' out of a brand new product). 3.) It seems there is no process in place at Ryobi to deal with this issue. They'll get back to me for a replacement, pending supervisor approval. Ryobi is obviously not interested in dealing with this manner in fair and straightforward way.

Desired Settlement: There are a number of desired outcomes I am pursuing: 1.) Immediate shipment of a new, non-defective 40V 94Wh (or greater) Li-Ion battery 2.) Improved customer service/support: a.) no road blocks such as 'I need to get this approved by my supervisor and I'll call you back' b.) actual follow-through on promised actions (i.e. calling back within the promised time)

Business Response: an order for a new battery was entered for ** ******* and our Service Manager is attempting to make contact with him to discuss.

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a 2700 PSI pressure washer from **** *****, used the washer two times in 5 months and now it is not working. Contacted **** *****, no help. Contacted Homelite and was given instructions that didn't work. Called a local authorized Homelite dealer and they explained that the pump goes out on these if you don't use them frequently. The cost to repair the washer is $300.00, which is the cost of the original unit. Customers need to be warned that this is defective and poor quality piece of equipment and the support from the company is just as bad. Anybody want to buy a $300.00 paper weight (I didn't think so!!)

Desired Settlement: My only recourse is to get a replacement, but it will have the same problems.

Business Response: we will cover the cost of repair at our authorized service center.

6/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Ryobi 24 volt weed trimmer from **** ***** in March of 2014...the trimmer has a 3 year warranty on it. But has stopped working already with very minimal use. I contacted the manufactor over a week ago, was told that since the nearest repair center was over 60 miles away. So he told me to take it to the local **** *****, I called them he told me there was nothing they could do for me. Called manufactor again, spoke with someone name ****, she told me to take it in to **** ***** have them test it once they figured out it no longer work the manufactor would send me out a replacement. Took it in to **** ***** was once again given the runaround. After 45 minutes he keep calling someone and told me they told him to test it and what parts worked to give them back to me those that didn't return them. He gave me the battery back and when I got home he'd left a message saying he needed me to bring it back before he could do anything. I live over 40 miles away and don't drive therefore I was not able to do that. I called the manufactor back spoke with **** again, explained how I had been getting the run around for days. She was going to speak with her supervisor and get back with me the following day...which was Friday 5/28, still have not heard from her. I called again this evening and spoke with someone named ****, he transferred me to another dept. responsible for repair & replacement. The representive was so rude and unempathetic. I spend my hard earned money with people not to be disrespected when something goes wrong with it. I'm closing in on 60 years on this earth and taking things 40-60+ miles for repair is not something I'm able to do. One reason I look for things with sufficient warranty on it. Only to be given the run around when I need that warranty that I'm paid for!!! I'm about as frustrated as any one person could be with the rude people and run around I've been given!!!!!

Desired Settlement: At this point I have went to ****** and purchased a ***** *** ****** trimmer..****** is a place I know I will not have any problem with a return or making the manufactor honor their warranty. I just want my money back!! The trimmer had to be faulty to begin with because there is no way it should be torn up already. This trimmer has very minimal use, I weed around a few flowers in my yard...myself. Therefore it has had very little use!!!!

Business Response: we're refunding *** ***** for the cost of her unit.

6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RYOBI 3100PSI PRESSURE WASHER purchased above item from **** ***** ************* 7/2/14. took washer home and used, noticed big leak from wand. After close inspection, saw o-ring was torn and washer was unuseable. Contacted **** ***** corporate and reported problem. They advised me to return washer to **** ***** ************* for replacement. I did 7/13/14. used replacement washer several times and was very pleased w/unit. Then used and noticed unit was not producing near the pressure it once did. Contacted **** *****, they advised me to contact ryobi. Contacted ryobi and they advised me to contact *****. Contacted *****, they advised me to take unit to authorize warranty repair shop, ******** ********* ******. I did on 10/15/14. repair shop called and reported that throttle cable anchor bolt was gone, all mounting bolts were loose and air filter needs to be replaced. Advised them to do it. Picked unit up on 10/23/14, and it cost me $51.95, took home and used washer. Unit still was not producing pressure that it once did. Unit kept dying, then stopped running. Tried and tried to get started without any success. Took unit back to repair shop that very afternoon and reported the problems. Called repair shop on 11/21/14 to see why my unit wasn't ready, they advised unit needed a new carburetor and were waiting for ryobi to authorize replacement.

Desired Settlement: authorized ryobi service center stated that ryobi would not pay for repairs. so they billed me for $151.54 for repairs covered under warranty. i expect a check from ryobi in amount of $151.54. and not a penny less.

Business Response: we're refunding ** ******** the expense of the repair

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,
**** ********

subject company contacted me several days ago requesting copy of receipt. I emailed the next day. as soon as I have check in hand, i'll contact you and advise to drop complaint.

 

thank-you very much,

****

6/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: One of my Christmas gifts from my wife this passed Christmas was a Ryobi 18 volt hybrid Blower. I did not need to use the blower until recently. The first time I used it was May, 2015 and when it died after 15 minutes I called the company thinking the battery was defective. According to customer service it was not defective the life of the battery is 15 minutes. This is not noted ANYWHERE on the box or in any of the paperwork. I was able to blow a small portion of my walkway! I want Ryobi to provide me 3 additional batteries at no charge so with the battery I have and keeping the 3 batteries I want charged I will have an hour's worth of battery time...which is still kinda short in time.

Desired Settlement: I want Ryobi to provide me 3 additional batteries at no charge so with the battery I have and keeping the 3 batteries I want charged I will have an hour's worth of battery time...which is still kinda short in time.

Business Response: We spoke with *** ***** and have agreed to send her one battery at no charge. *** ***** has agreed with this solution.

5/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a NEW Impact Driver in late-2014. It has never performed as advertised, so I called Ryobi tools many, many times. It has a stated torque value which in real practice isn't even close to it's advertised value. I spoke to "******", a technician, several times for resolution. I ended up sending my BRAND NEW tool back for checking and servicing. I also spent hours detailing the problems and testing it myself, which I then emailed ******. In return, they sent me back a dirty, beat up tool that had "RECON" melted into it. The new ones come with a 3-year warranty but this reconditioned unit only has a 1-year, hence I lost two years of warranty. When I called and asked for a new one, ****** said he would send one out and that I shouldn't have gotten a reconditioned one. A month went by so I called and talked to ****** again. He said that the company wouldn't let him send a new one out to replace my new one! I have left him, and others, many voice mails that have NEVER been returned. This is not only lousy business practice, but actually cheating me from my new tool warranty.

Desired Settlement: Since the P234 is falsely advertised and SO underated, I would like the higher rated model, the P260 impact wrench AND battery. I originally bought these tools because of their advertised torque ratings. I have now tried FOUR of their tools, and they are barely half of what they are advertised at. Secondly, I'd love to see their P&P's for dealing with defective tools and complaints.

Business Response: Our Technical Service Supervisor spoke with ** ***** and agreed to ship his original P234G unit back to him.  He will be keeping the recon P236 unit, with a one year warranty. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

****** *****

I had no choice in the matter and I never wanted the reconditioned tool. I was told that my unit was working properly, and that it would be shipped back. The person NEVER addressed my concerns for the actual torque value/readings which is where the problem lies. I wanted a MINIMUM of 100 ft/lbs from whatever tool they sent me. I'm still awaiting for the measured torque value from any of their tools from their tests. The reconditioned unit is still FAR below their advertised ratings.

Business Response:

     
 
 
Hi ******

When our rep spoke to ** *****, she stated that he appeared pleased and the issue was closed. The resolution was that we would ship his original tool (P234G) back to him and he would keep the reconditioned unit we sent him at no charge. We explained his testing procedures differ from ours and he was appreciative that we took the time to look into his problem. We were very surprised to see his post that we did not resolve his issue since he did not state this or ask for anything further when we spoke with him.

He is saying that his testing does not produce the torque we advertise. We have proprietary testing procedures and torque results are influenced by repeated calibration of the torque wrench, specific bolt and nut sizes, fixtures, new tools, new fully charged battery packs, etc. I don’t know what more we can do for him. Let me know your thoughts. 

  

**** ******

Techtronic Industries Power Equipment

***** ********

http://www.ttigroup.com/assets/images/logo.jpg

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

****** *****

Like I said initially, I wasn't asked what it would take to resolve this, and said that I wanted a tool that delivered 100ft/lbs. I never wanted two overrated tools, justone that worked as advertised. I will be happy to send both bad ones back for their the P260. HOPEFULLY, it will be near the advertised torque ratings which is all that I ever wanted from the start. I will accept nothing less than a tool that works NEAR what is advertised.

5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Ryobi 42cc RY08420 from **** ***** on 08/10/14 Used it 5 times. Went to use it in April of 2015 not working. was told the nearest service center was *** POWER EQUIPMENT in ********* ** (which necessitated me traveling over a bridge to a location that was not close and difficult to locate) when **** ***** (1 minute from my house) could have serviced it. *** POWER EQUIPMENT has had it for 2 weeks and is still waiting on a part. It may come this week and he would work on it next week which makes it 4 weeks without this blower which I need for a spring clean-up! This is totally UNACCEPTABLE!!! Spoke to ****** and ****** at Ryobi. Made lame excuses and said Ryobi stands behind their products. NO THEY DON NOT! I want a new blower shipped to my house or a refund of $***.

Desired Settlement: I want a new blower shipped immediately or a check refund. I prefer a refund because they do not stand behind their product!! What product fails after 5 uses (and it was a problem w the motor not a minor problem!

Business Response: ** ****** Ryobi Blower has been repaired and is available for pickup. Our Service Group and the Authorized Service Center have left a number of messages for ** *******

12/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a *********** Generator Model:*********** **** ************** at ****** in ******* ** on 11/30/2014. This generator is manufactured by Techtronic Outdoor Products. On 12/13/14 I took the generator out of the box, completed the assembly instructions, added the oil provided and put brand new fresh E10 gasoline in the generator. I started the generator and it ran poorly and surged when under load. I took the generator to an authorized service center (******* Hardware, ************ **) The service center told me the carburetor needed to be cleaned and that *********** would not pay for it. I am having to pay $45 + 6% sales tax to have it repaired. This condition existed when I purchased it and should be covered under the warranty. It failed to work directly out of the box. I contacted ********** at************** and was told that carburetor cleaning is normal maintenance and would not be covered under warranty. A product should be guaranteed to work the first time you use it.

Desired Settlement: Pay for the repair. Either directly pay******* or refund me the repair cost

Business Response: we spoke with the service center and approved this repair to be completed under warranty.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  

The repair was approved under warranty.  Very quick response.  

Regards,

***** *************


12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Ryobi Model # ******* on June 2, 2014 from The **** ***** online for in-store pickup. On October 18, 2014 I went to go use it and it started right up. When I went to go pull the trigger, the pressure washer did not throttle up it was stuck on idle. I called Ryobi that day and they told me I had to bring it to the closest authorized repair shop which was in a different state over an hour away and the lady told me there was nothing closer. I brought my unit there the same day. The repair shop had to replace the pump and I my unit was not repaired until 11/7/14. When I went to go use it for the first time, it had no pressure at first. I would pull the trigger and get pressure for a second and then it would go away. I kept pulling and releasing the trigger and eventually about 2 minutes later I got it to work. When I would release the pressure the unit did not idle properly. It would keep throttling up and down when the unit should be idling. I take very good care of this pressure washer and always keep it in the garage. It looks brand new and there is no reason for it not to work. I do not want to keep bringing it back to the repair shop in a different state. It is a big inconvenience to me because I work Monday through Friday 8:30-5 and I am only able to get to the repair shop Saturday. But I do not want a unit that is going to keep having problems.

Desired Settlement: I would like my Pressure washer replaced for the same model but a NEW unit. I do not want a unit that is going to keep needing repair especially with it being so new and being taken care of very well.

Business Response:

*** **** agreed to take his unit to his local **** ***** TRC (Store# ***** for repair.  We did explain if the TRC cannot repair the unit, it will be sent to the RLC for repair.  We are also sending a new hose and nozzle free of charge. Order # ********

 

Customer requested his warranty start on 12/4/14 instead of 6/2/14 and we made this accommodation.

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a tablesaw model RTS21 and it did not have features that were shown on the product website as well as in the item description. I contacted them about this and was initially told they did not see what I was claiming on there site. I responded telling them to look again and then they admitted to having the wrong images shown for this item as well as the wrong description. I have the communications and screen shot showing the incorrect information. It showed that the saw could be connected to a vacuum for dust collection and the description stated it also came with a dust collection bag. This model has no vacuum port or a way to attach any dust bag, making it useless for me to use since there is no way to collect dust, it is extremely messy to use.

Desired Settlement: I would either like some sort of compensation so i can purchase a model with a vacuum port or to be sent the model that has the vacuum port.

Business Response:

** ******** had made us aware of an image error on our website previously through our Ryobi Website Dashboard.

We apologized for the inconvenience and have emailed** ******** that he may return his Ryobi Table Saw to **** ***** for a refund or credit toward another saw.

Images on **** ******* website and the carton the table saw is sold in are correct and accurate.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I am very pleased with the professionism and quick response to this issue. They quickly fixed the website and contacted the store Where I purchased the item and are allowing me to return/exchange the product. 

Regards,

***** ********


10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately six months ago, I bought a ryobi power 18V plus one hammer drill and impact driver combo kit at **** ***** in ************* ** complete with two 18V plus one batteries and battery charger included. Over time, I have discovered that neither battery charges after being placed in the charger stand compelling me to buy another 18v one plus battery just to use my tools. This is frustrating. I am not a construction worker and only DIY projects every so often. Consequently the drill and impact driver (and batteries) have hardly been used. Looking at them, one can see this right off. I doubt that either battery has been charged more than 10 times. But, at this time, neither will charge. This is frustrating beyond words. I don't believe that it is right to have to buy spare batteries to use the tools that supposedly had batteries that were not defective. .

Desired Settlement: I would either like reimbursed for the full value of these relatively new batteries or I would like both of these batteries replaced.

Business Response:

We have contacted ** ********** a few times by phone, however have been unable to reach him.  We left a voicemail stating that we would be sending him an email with instructions how to get his product serviced, but that he was welcome to contact us back with any further questions by phone or by email.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I will attempt to return the batteries to **** *****, as requested.  However, I want to know what to do if **** ***** takes the same "out" and states it's a Ryobi problem, since I believe this is exactly what will happen!
 
BTW, I CONTACTED THE CUSTOMER SERVICE representative  3x so I want to set the record straight!

Regards,

***** **********




Business Response: We have made several attempts to contact ** ********** since Sep 6th, but have not reached him at home or received a response to our emails.

10/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called *********** to report that the handle on my power washer was leaking terribly after only 3 uses. They were quick to point out that though the box states a 2 year limited warranty, the handle is only warranted for 90 days. Apparently that is clearly stated somewhere in my paperwork, and since it is a wear item, I must pay for the replacement. I am disappointed that the company did not try to make good on a part that they know is weak. They were quick to feel justified in not helping a customer because they were standing behind the legality of their written words. In the meantime my power washer is not working and the part they want me to purchase is not available until the end of power washing season.

Desired Settlement: trigger handle or power washer with a trigger handle that is supposed to last longer than 90 days.

Business Response: We shipped a new trigger assembly to ** ****** overnight on 9/30

10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'll start this description with a confession that I am a Ryobi tool lover. I am a DIYer and the majority of my tools are Ryobi. This is the first really frustrating issue I've had with Ryobi. I purchased a 40volt Ryobi lawn mower last fall from **** ***** online. The unit was refurbished. When I first received the unit I charged it and tried it out. The unit wouldn't start. I chalked it up to user error and figured I'd mess around more with it in the Spring when I needed a lawn mower. Spring arrived and we let our neighborhood lawn mower mow the yard for awhile, as we had before owning our own lawn mower. In late May I got out our lawn mower and the manual and wen to get it fired up. After a few hours or making sure I was doing everything correctly, I realized that there must be something wrong with our unit, it still wasn't working. We did some research and it turns out that Ryobi had had an issue with this particular battery and this particular model. People all over the internet were describing the very same issue. We contacted Ryobi about the issue and they told us indeed it was likely a manufacturing issue and we could go to **** ***** to get it resolved. We felt good about things at that point, issues happen and we appreciated Ryobi's willingness to take ownership over the issue and help us fix the problem. We then went away for a few weeks. By the time we got back in town and got the mower into **** ***** it had been past the year mark of ownership. We didn't think this was a problem since our manual clearly states that it's a 3 year warranty. **** ***** told us that it was an issue with the battery. They filed a replacement form with Ryobi, but were denied. It turns out that with refurbished units, even though the manual we received says 3 years, only come with a one year warranty. We do not feel that it was made clear that the unit only had a one year warranty. Knowing that would have made us act a before the warranty expired. Our paperwork says three years.

Desired Settlement: Since this is a very well known issue with Ryobi's mower batteries, and the paperwork was inaccurate, we believe the right thing for Ryobi to do in this instance is to replace the battery free of charge.

Business Response:

we have attempted contact with ** ********* on Sep 15th, 16th, and 25th, leaving messages each time, but we have not received a return call. We also emailed him yesterday.

***** ******, at************** Ext* **** or *************************** is the gentleman here who has been assigned this issue and is prepared to assist.

10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pressure sprayer from **** ***** on June 24, 2013. I used it for the summer. This summer when I went to use it, it would not work. I called Home lite and was directed to the customer service center in my area. On July 4,2014 I dropped the pressure sprayer off to be repaired. It is now Sept 18 and I still do not have my pressure sprayer back. I have called the local repair shop several times and the last conversation, I was told they were still waiting on parts. I have called Homelite twice and was told to be patient. I do not see the point of purchasing a product with warranty when it takes over 2 and a half months to get fixed. I would like a partial refund or a new sprayer. I required this pressure sprayer this summer as we were re staining our deck. I had to borrow one from my parents. I find this level of service unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: Either the pressure sprayer gets replaced or I want a partial refund and I will purchase a new one from a different manufacturer

Business Response: We will send ** **** an upgraded Pressure Washer

8/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 12, 2012 I purchased a Homelite Pressure Washer Model ZRHL80835 pressure washer thru Sears which was delivered on December 30, 2012. Homelite provides a 1 year warranty on this product. I used the pressure washer for the first time on April 7, 2013 wherein it malfunctioned in a very dangerous manner by its crankcase exploding causing and oil spill on my driveway. I filed a warranty claim with Homelite on April 9, 2013 by facsimile. When I didn't receive a response to my initial letter, I called Homelite and was advised they wouldn't entertain my warranty claim unless I dropped of the unit at an authorized repair center. Whether as intentional act to discourage claims, none of the repair centers were open on weekends or close to my home. As a result of working 5 days during the week, I dropped off the unit during Thanksgiving Holiday Break (11/27/13) at an authorized service center, ********* ***** *********. I never heard back from ********* and with Spring coming, I began calling them in March of 2014. It was clear that they had done nothing but did a good job making excuses for their lapse in service. In fact, as of last week, according to my phone records I had called them 24 times without a single call being returned to me. (Often I was told that someone would call me back). I was asked on two separate occasions, to fax my proof of purchase which I did. Also on at least two occasions, I was told that the delay was due to a new tech guy at Homelite being a "ball buster". I repeatedly asked ********* for the contact info that person so that I could expedite/facilitate the claim. I was told they were not permitted to share that information. After becoming thoroughly frustrated, I called Homelite and spoke with *** ******** in customer service. After relating the History, he seemed to be concerned and said he'd look into my claim. However, *** ******** seemed to relay that he was being stonewalled by someone in the technical department.

Desired Settlement: I would preferable like a refund of the 230.26 that the Pressure Washer had cost but would be amenable to replacement with a new unit.

Business Response: we are replacing ** ****** unit and picking up his unit to be returned to our facility

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

**** ****

8/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Homelite will honor warranty they state dirt and debri in motor and bad gas . The service center I took it to said it failed though no fault of mine own and said the gas tested good. I called and talked with service and they said they were not going to honor the warranty it only one year old.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to honor their warranty .

Business Response: We will replace ** ******* unit

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

***** *****

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Ryobi backpack blower last October and started having issues with it only a few months after it was purchased. I took it back to where I purchased it and was told that it would have to be sent out for service and that I might be charged. The blower would shut off when I powered it up and after paying for it to be serviced I was told that the carburetor was "way out of adjustment" and was charged $32.10.

Desired Settlement: refund of $32.10

Business Response: We reimbursed ** ** ***** $31.10. 

6/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Homelite Blower in November of 2013. I started to use it in April of 2014. After using it approximately 3 to 5 times, it would no longer start. It has a 2 year warranty, so it is still under warranty. I took it to a repair shop and now Homelite will not honor their warranty and refuse to pay for the repairs even after the repair shop has spoken with them and explained what the repairs will be and said the repairs should be covered under the warranty. Homelite is not returning my phone calls and will not uphold their warranty. I need my blower repaired, I have only had it for a few months and cannot get a ligitimate reason from Homelite as to why they will not pay for the repairs. ****** @ Homelite advised me she was waiting on pictures from the repair shop and would call me back. I called again on the 27th of May,and talked to *****,she advised she would give ****** the message, to this date, no one is returning my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Homelite to pay to have their product, which is still under warranty, repaired.

Business Response: we've contacted the service center and informed them to repair under warranty. The service center must order the part needed, and will complete work at no charge to customer.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards, I would like to thank u for getting the matter resolved with out u this matter would still be unresolved than u so very much  

****** *****

6/2/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted a number of people with Homelite company,I bought a string trimmer have had nothing but issues with it.Iam a mechanic for 33 yrs I tried everything to keep the trimmer running.It will start run for 2seconds and shut off.I looked at the reviews for homelite products and 3% of people that wrote a review gave it a 5 star.People said at one time homelite was a good product but now the quality has went down hill.And a number of people are having the same issue that Iam.It is still under warranty to have it looked at from a service center is an hour away from my home.I do not drive and to have it shipped there I was told it was $35.00.I paid $100.00 for the trimmer and from the other reviews I would say it's a lemon.I hope you can help me out with this issue ,thank you very much.

Desired Settlement: Refund or replacement,or if I can only get it repaired that the company has it shipped and pay the amount to be shipped to the service center and then back to my home.

Business Response: ** ****** was given authorization to return to**** *****.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ******

5/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a all RYOBI lawn and garden tools last June. One of the batteries died before even a year was up/ I contacted RYOBI about the dead battery and they sent me an email saying to return it to **** ***** where I purchased the product.They contacted RYOBI and the rep she talked to said I had to bring in the tool the battery goes to, the charger for all the other RYOPI products and the trimmer that the battery goes to. **** ***** had already tested the battery and it is dead just like I said. The RYOBI rep and the person who has been emailing me never told me any of this info. I had to turn around, drive back to my house and get everything just to satisfy them.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back for all the money I wasted on buying RYOBI products from a company that refuses to honor their warranty. I am getting tired of companies not honoring their warranties and what they promise

Business Response:

We spoke ** ***** last week and *** didn’t have any of the items with her. We arranged for *** to email the information on *** equipment so that we could take care of *** replacement, however, *** has not yet sent the information over. We will reach out again today to see if we can get this taken care of. 

4/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ridgid tools implies a LIFETIME SERVICE AGREEMENT on thei websit, on their box,and in the box. What they don't tell anyone is that if you do not buy the tolls at **** ***** the warranty does not apply. I purchased my BRAND NEW set on **** from an **** store just to find out after I unpacked the set and charged the batteries that I cannaot get the LSA(lifetime service agreement).It cost me $30.00 to have the tolls shipped to me as a gift, if the seller will take it back it will cost an additional $30.00 to return the tools.

Desired Settlement: All I would like is for Ridgid to honor the LSA they claim .

Business Response:

January 2, 2014

RE: Mr. **** ****

* *** **** *** ******** ***. NY 12533

To Whom It May Concern:

I have reviewed Mr. ****** complaint and found the following:

RIDGID brand tools manufactured by *** and eligible for the Lifetime Service Agreement are sold only to *** **** *****; therefore, any RIDGID brand tools acquired through other outlets are considered to be second-hand sales. It is stated in the Full Terms and Conditions of the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement (Appendix A), “The RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement is only available for eligible RIDGID tools purchased at *** **** *****.” It also states “The Lifetime Service Agreement status on a tool is not transferable to persons other than the original purchaser.” These full agreement details are available online at www.RIDGID.com or by calling customer service at ************, as noted on the outer gift box of all RIDGID brand, Lifetime Service Agreement eligible products (Appendix B). Furthermore, the full terms and conditions can also be found on the Lifetime Service Agreement insert found inside the box for all eligible RIDGID brand products.

Due to the reasons listed above, Mr.****** RIDGID kit, *****, purchased via**** is not eligible for coverage under the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement.

Sincerely,

***** **** *** Warranty Supervisor ************ ext. **** *********************.com

Appendices:

Appendix A: Full Terms and Conditions of the RIDGID Lifetime Service Agreement found at http://www.ridgid.com/Tools/Power-Tool-Warranty

Appendix B: Information regarding the Lifetime Service Agreement found on the packaging of all eligible RIDGID branded products

Techtronic Industries North America, Inc. **** ******* ***** Road, ******** SC, USA Tel************ ************** www.**************

11/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a five piece combo kit and had all the tools fixed a numerous of times. They are in the shop now again for the fifth time. I tried contacting customer service and get no where with them it is getting to be an inconvenience to me and I can't get my job done properly without proper working tools. It is affecting my job and work load.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure if they can replace it but I need something done it is affecting my job greatly. At least a phone call to resolve it and let them know the issues with the tools.

Business Response:
From:******** ****" <***************************
Date: October 21, 2013 at 11:01:51 AM EDT
To: "info@upstatesc.bbb.org" <info@upstatesc.bbb.org>
Cc: "******** ****** ******************************Subject: ID: *******

We contacted ** ********* on Sep 16th. Here is report from ***** **** who spoke with him.
I spoke with **. ********* regarding his BBB claim. He never actually wanted us to do anything for him. He just wanted to make sure that he got someone on the phone that was willing to listen to his complaint. He is satisfied with the fact that I called and doesn't want us to do anything further. 
 

10/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a Homelite electric trimmer model *******, series number********** on February 14, 2013. On September 17 the trimmer's motor just burned. I bought it in **** *****, they said that for the first 2 years the warranty is thru Homelite.Homelite said that I had to take the trimmer to a local center (** **** ** *** ************* **** ************), so they could look at it. I took the trimmer on September 19 at 1:20 pm. After waiting several days, they called me certifying that the trimmer was burned, but that Homelite decided not to honer their warranty because it was not a factory defect. I feel scammed, because I used this trimmer less than a year and now I have lost my money on a tool that has a two-year warranty on it. Please, help me in this matter.

Desired Settlement: I only want a new electric trimmer or my money back.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I have provided my physical address so Homelite can send me the replacement. Thank you for all your help to resolve this matter. 

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: 10-22-2013

To Whom it May concern:

We are replacing *** ******* unit but hve been unable to reach him at the number provided to get a full shipping address. Unit will ship shortly after getting this information.

**** ******
Director of Service

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ryobi (Techtronic Industries of North America) does not offer any replacement parts for their Model ***** 18 volt blower after the warranty is over. This fact is not presented on the packaging, advertisements, or owners manual. I Believe that omitting this important bit of information is misleading. I would not have purchased this item had I known this beforehand. I guess I should be happy that car manufactures don't have the same policy as Ryobi does.

Desired Settlement: Either offer replacement parts for a reasonable amount of time, or make this fact known very clearly to prospective buyers.

Business Response: we offer blower tubes, batteries and chargers for the Ryobi 18v blower. Due to the price of the unit, making internal motor/electrical parts available would be cost prohibitive since a complete unit can be purchased without battery and charger for $49.97 at **** *****. If a problem occurs that is covered under Ryobi's warranty, we will replace the entire unit for the customer.

Consumer Response:
******* ******* ******************* *** *

Dear ***** ** *******:
 
I received your message regarding my complaint against Techtronic Industries of North America (Ryobi) last Friday.  (ID 9734579)  When I clicked on the "Reject Business Response" step, it does not, for whatever reason,  allow me to type anything in the text area.  As a result, I hope that replying to your message in this manor is acceptable. 
 
First of all, let me emphasize that I am not seeking any refund, replacement, or monetary considerations in any way.  I am simply stating in no uncertain terms that I believe that Ryobi is using deceptive and unfair marketing practices regarding the sale of their 18volt cordless blower.  Allow me to make the following two points:
                                        1.  Ryobi sells this exact same blower as a reconditioned item.  (****** *** **** *****)  If reconditioned models are available, then someone somewhere is doing
                                             the reconditioning.  That means that replacement parts must be available to someone somewhere.  Why not to their customers?  Their solution is for me to go to
                                            **** ***** and buy a $49.97 replacement.  I'm sorry but this ordeal has not exactly instilled a lot of confidence in me to want to buy any more Ryobi products at a
                                            price.
                                        2.  The part that I really feel is being deceptive by omission is not telling their prospective customers that replacement parts are not available anywhere after the 
                                              warranty period expires.  Put this fact on the packaging and advertising so prospective customers can make a intelligent and valid decision as to whether to still  
                                              purchase one of these great Ryobi products.
I find it quite unacceptable for Ryobi, or any company for that matter, to choose to handle their customer service in this manner.
Thank you for your time and consideration.
 
 
Regards,
 ******* ** *******

Business Response: thank you. We will take your concerns into consideration.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 



Regards,

******* *******


I am not really rejecting Ryobi's offer, nor am I accepting it.  There actually hasn't been any offer made.

Regards,

 

10/10/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February of this year (2013) I was using my ***** 3650 Generator with an electric staple gun to staple plastic wire on a fence post. The Generator portion of the system started smoking and smelled of burnt wiring and the engine started to shake. I immediately shut down the generator. The generator has been used only 3 times for no more than 2 hours of running time total. I purchased the generator at **** ***** in ****** ****, AL on 22 May 2011. The operators manual lists a 3 year warrantee if the product is used solely for personal, family, or household use.I called the Homelite Consumer Products warrantee representative (*****) from information found in my operators manual and was directed to take the generator to ****** *** Works in ****** ****, AL for repair. When I got to ****** *** Works I was told by an employee that they do not work on generators, only small engine repair. The supervisor ******* stated that they have another ****** *** Works in ********, GA and that the ******** shop does fix generators and that she would send it there. I called ****** *** works every week after the first 2 weeks for a total of 9 weeks to get a status on the repair work. Finally after 9 weeks I was told that the generator was repaired and ready for pick up. I picked up the generator and not only was it not repaired; the engine shook more violently than ever and again smelled of burnt wiring. I again called Homelite and told ***** the warrantee representative that the generator had not been repaired. ***** told me to take it to ******* Small Engine Repair, in **** ********* Alabama. I did in May and the generator has been there for 21 weeks and has not been repaired yet. I have called ******* Small Engine Repair several times. I kept getting answers such as, I need to get started on that and I had to move my business 1 August, I called the Homelite Consumer Product Representative and reached a representative that was sarcastic in tone and kept trying to talk over me. She stated that I could go pick up the generator and take possession of it. I explained that it still hasnt been repaired. She said we cant control when they fix it.17 September, I received a call from the owner of *******, in which he asked me for the purchase date and location of where I bought the generator. I gave him the date and location and then he stated that he had lost the copy of the receipt. He stated that due to the amount of repair that was required, Homelite would either buy-out or replace the generator. 23 September, I called the Homelite Representative and asked to speak to the Manager. I was connected to **** who stated that she had been trying to call me, but had transposed the numbers in the area code. She asked if I would wait for the generator to be repaired and I explained that I have been waiting since February of this year and didnt want to wait much longer and that I have a project I have been putting off.**** said she would call me back on 24 September with resolution. Today is 2 October and I have not received any information.I have been a very patient customer. I dont understand the value of a warrantee when I have to wait 8 months with still no solution. I am at this point very frustrated.

Desired Settlement: Replacement

Business Response:
Techtronic Industries North America, Inc.
Better Business Bureau Upstate South Carolina 408 N Church St Ste C
RE: *******T0 whom it may concern;
We have replaced ******* ******* generator. It is shipping Fri, 10/4 via************ Freight. We notified ** ***** and he is satisfied with this resolution.
**** ******Techtronics Iudustries North America, Inc

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******* SERIAL NUMBER: ************** I purchased a Weed Whacker which has a manufacturing date of 02/17/2013 and it was purchased on 4/6/2013(Have receipt to verify) and it already stopped working for no reason at all. Service centers argue that warranty is different than what is specified by Ryobi. Plus, service center are far to travel too and one center is no longer open. Customer service gave me the run around and did not know how to look up the product information based on the serial #. They told me to go to a service center that was out of business. The product should not fail after 4 months of normal use. This is absurd that I have to get it repaired already.I would like a Full Refund.

Desired Settlement: Plain and simple I want a Full Refund, even if I have too I will send the product back to there Headquarters.

Business Response:

We called *** ********** and he has agreed to take his unit to his local ** store # **** ***** ******** for warranty repair.  We spoke with **** in the tool rental dept., explained the situation and gave him an authorization number to repair the trimmer. *** ********** has the direct extension number of our Tech Service Leader (*****) if he needs further assistance. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

****** **********

Absolutely, Unbelievable I am still dealing with this product. I took the product to **** ***** asked for **** and he was not there. I told them I was sent here from Ryobi to get the product repaired. They obviously cared less why I was there or about any authorization # and were completely negative in every way. They said that the product's carburetor is not covered under warranty and sent me on my way making me look like a fool, even after I told them that Ryobi said it is covered. I WANT MY MONEY BACK. I DO NOT EVEN WANT TO LOOK AT THIS PRODUCT ANYMORE. This is starting to affect my health having to argue with everyone under the sun just to get justice. 

I am very unhappy with Ryobi for sending me first to a place that is out of business then to a place that did nothing for me. I do not understand how this company has a A+ rating for the BBB. This is a terrible product and customer service. 

 

Business Response: ******

We spoke to the **** ***** Store Manager where he purchased the unit and he agreed to refund his money. We gave ** ********** a block of time he should be at the store and who to speak with to get his refund.
We didn’t hear back that anything went wrong, so nothing further was done.
We’ll call the **** ***** to confirm that a refund was provided and get back to you.

 
 
**** ******
Techtronic Industries North America, Inc
***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** **********


Business Response:
Hello*****,
We finally were able to contact ** **********, and he did receive his refund on August 19th. 

 
**** ******Techtronic Industries North America, Inc
***** ********

9/26/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased RIDGID tools R9222 with a lifetime service agreement. I sent my warranty form in the day after I purchased the tools. They said they never received the form. I sent them all the backup I had with as well as the receipt from Nov., 2005. Now, I have a tool that isn't working, and wanted to take it to get fixed, and they are saying it is not covered. I would like to file a complaint, and have it resolved if possible.Thanking you in advance.

Desired Settlement: Replace the tool and make sure the lifetime service agreement is available from now on.

Business Response: *************** tools are not eligible for coverage under the Lifetime Service Agreement because the registration wasn’t completed, but we did agree to replace the tool she is currently having issues with. Because she was having issues with the tool and the batteries, we went ahead and sent out a R86115601 along with batteries and charger. 

9/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were victims of the last 2 hurricanes in the East Coast, Irene and Sandy. For this Hurricane Season, I thought it would be prudent to invest in a generator. I went to **** ***** and bought a Homelite 5700 Portable Generator and this is when my 'nightmare' began. I bought it back in February of this year and being a large, generator with at least 2 hours of assembly, I pushed out assembling it until July of this year. After 2-3 hours of assembly, I tried starting it and the recoil to start the engine does not retract. After contacting both Homelite and ****** (which is the engine/guarantees the engine), I was given the run around and were pointing at each other for warranty claims. More calls led me to bring the almost 100 lb. equipment from 1 dealer to the other. Finally, I was able to find one local shop that would take the equipment and work on the claims for the parts/warranty. A week later, I was told not only was the recoil the problem but also other parts that would require them to contact not only ****** for the engine but also Homelite for the rest of the failing parts of the generator. It has now been 4 weeks since I took it to the local repair shop (*** ********* **** in ***** *******) and I was told they were still waiting on a part (part ************) from Homelite and was told that the part is on backorder and that they do not know when it will be in-stock. My concern is we're already in Hurricane season and I don't have a working generator that I can use in the event that a similar hurricane strikes, which is the primary reason I bought the product. I'm extremely frustrated about the poor customer service and the product itself, which obviously didn't go through a QA, even if it is a product that is relatively pricey. I spent at the minimum 2 man days for something that should really be working in the first place.

Desired Settlement: $800.00 for the cost of the generator and the labor I paid for the person who accompanied me to bring the generator from my house to 2 service shops or at least a comparable, working generator.

Business Response: Dear Ms******:
Upon calling Mr ******** to resolve the issue, we were told that **** ***** had replaced his unit and he is satisfied.
Sincerely,
Director of Service Operations

8/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a brand new pressure washer last year. has a 2 year warranty. last May i Used it a few times and water pump broke Called homelite company. They advised me to bring it to the nearest service center which I did. It's been 3 months now and not fixed. Called homelite several times all i get from them it's attitude. Not a real answer or idea on when the part will arrive. I requested my money back or a new pressure washer the representative ****** or ****** told me flat out That's not going to happen. The part is coming from China and no Eta. Called the manager **** several times. Left 2 voice mails still waiting for a phone call. This is ridiculous . For a company like this to have poor customer service and not able to handle this matter right away. I will never buy or recommend this product to anybody.

Desired Settlement: Just would like my money back and buy another from a reliable company. At this point I don't even want a replacement from them

Business Response:

Our Records indicate ** ****** called our customer service operation this Monday (8/12). He placed another call to **** yesterday. Unfortunately, **** was in training and planned to return the call this morning. ** ****** also placed a call yesterday to ****** who consulted with the Dept Manager and returned ** ****** call today. ** ****** opted for a replacement unit which was processed and is scheduled to ship to  in 24-48 hrs. 



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Techtronic Industries Power Equipment
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)