Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Comfortaire?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Comfortaire

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 759-0594 Fax: (864) 277-7276 View Additional Phone Numbers 103 Shaw Street, Greenville, SC 29609 http://www.comfortaire.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a manufacturer of air mattresses and other specialty sleep products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Comfortaire meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Comfortaire include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Comfortaire
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1987 in SC Business under new ownership as of: 01/18/2013 Business incorporated: 03/17/1997 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Shelly Ibach, President, CEO of Minneapolis Mr. David Callen, Executive VP, CFO Mr. David E. Karr, General Manager Mr. Mark Kimball, Executive VP
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Shelly Ibach, President, CEO of Minneapolis
Customer Contact: Mr. David E. Karr, General Manager
Business Category

Manufacturers & Producers

Method(s) of Payment
For details go to www.comfortaire.com
Refund and Exchange Policy
For details go to www.comfortaire.com



Additional Locations

  • 103 Shaw Street

    Greenville, SC 29609

  • PO Box 9219

    Greenville, SC 29609

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have on my bed for approximately four years unzip her to make sure that there weren't any issues with the mattress leaking as we were having some problems with that stain inflated upon unzip rain we found black mold on the phone to air mattresses to side foam pieces and the top cover contacted customer service on March 19 was told the parts would be replaced immediately on Monday, March 23I received an email to confirm my address in which I did confirm on Thursday with customer service Jessica Noris she also stated today that her supervisor which is ****** **** stated that they would only be replacing the two air mattresses in the top phone not the cover nor the two side pieces as they believe this is not mold the mold is on the top cover the same exact place that is on the bottom phone and it is black mold. I am requesting for all pieces to be replaced such as the two air mattresses the top foam covering the air mattresses and the two side pieces of foam as well as the top cover that in cases the whole entire mattresses and foam as stated and send pictures to the company this is mold on all items. Black mold is a higher rate risk health issue that can actually cause many medical issues just in the past year I have been diagnosed with several medical issues and have filed for disability I have contacted my doctor and she stated that this black mold could be a cause of the issues I am experiencing. All I am asking is for the parts to be replaced no other issues I have stated that of the parts are not replace that I will retain a lawyer and file a civil class-action lawsuit for my medical issues and the parts as well.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for the parts to replace as stated above

Business Response: We are replacing all components of the mattress (excluding the air pump).  These parts are shipping today.  Customer service emailed her earlier today to provide this information.   Customer will receive tracking information later this afternoon - around 5pm Eastern time.    

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we received our new bed from comfortaire the instructions said to fill beds to %100 each morning when making the bed so that the appearance was nicer under the comforter. I followed these instructions for a very long time until one day I didn't. The reason these instructions were given is because the pump will not actually hold the air in the mattress and it leaks. This problem can be covered up by telling their customers to reset their bed every day. As time has gone on the leaks got much worse so that my side of the bed will not actually hold air all night and I wake up sunken into the bed. When I called about this issue they claimed that their pumps have been redesigned because of the air leak problems and I requested a new pump. They will not cover the cost of the new pump, $400 even though they agree their original pump is defective. I bought this bed as a long term investment and that is what their website claims it to be. My husband's side of the bed is losing air now within 3 hours of filling it up. I believe they should stand beside their product and replace fualty components at their own cost.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive one of the newly designed pumps that has fixed the leak issues. I am willing to pay for the shipping, but that is all.

Business Response: This Sona mattress has a 20 year warranty with 2 years in the full coverage and 18 years pro-rated which is calculated based on the date of purchase.  The owner's manual containing warranty certificate information is attached.  We do stand behind our product and honor the warranty as it is listed.  We noted your you call on Sept 12, 2014 and we the quote $202 for swapping your existing pump OR a reduced cost of $250 for the upgraded model 7200 pump.  How you use your pump is a matter of personal preference - daily inflation to make your bed, or leave the pressure idle for years at a time - the choice is yours, there is no mandate for one method versus the other.  Most consumers set the pressure and then don't touch the pump for years at a time - this is most common.  We will split the cost for either pump option with you.  Replace the same pump you have for $101, or upgrade to the higher model pump for $125.  We will pay the shipping costs to you and return of the existing pump to us.  Sales tax will be added to the cost 101 or 125, in accordance with the law.  Our goal is to get your mattress operating properly to provide a great night's sleep for you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
We would like to try the new design pump since the old design is obviously faulty.

Regards,

******* ***********

12/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i bought a bed from this company after having some issues with the sale they had even talked to i think owner and time he took care of me really well i asked him about beds he said the beds they sell will last at least 4 times longer then and reg spring bed us made with pride 20 year warranty i have had bed almost 3 years awls in same place and well taking care of started to notice air going down i called lady on phone said we will run test to find out if mattress of pump did the test turns out pump was bad this pump has been used less the 10 min total it just leaks so i called and spoke to a regina me and my wife did she was rude for starters tells us out of warranty at first tell her it has 20 years she told us 180 for pump that is prorated for starters that would make this pump that still has 17 years left on warrenty 1000s of dollars if that what they came up with on an 900 bed she said sorry is what it is i was sold this bed by one of the head people telling me this is the best you will ever have and after 3 years and a faulty product they want me to pay 180 for a plastic motor that was junk that is in no way standing up to what they sell that show the junk they sell and don't honer a real warranty I'm sickened that i have now a broke bed after almost 3 years could have spent less on old style and had it last 4 times longer i spent hard earned money in which i have none now on a company i put faith in my name is ***** **** **** *** ***** ****** ** ***** *** *******

Desired Settlement: i want this taking care of i was told when i got this bed 20 years it would last

Business Response:

Comfortaire's warranty is a 20-year limited warranty with 2 years full coverage and 18 years prorated coverage.  In the interest of a positive resolution, we are willing to split the prorated cost of the pump with him.  Under the prorated portion of the warranty, his pump model IFC2001 would be $150 plus tax and shipping.   His total will be $95.64.  A second option we offer is an upgraded pump with digital display - model WF7200 - at a cost is 249.99 plus tax and shipping.  If he chooses this option, the price will be $148.87 to get the upgraded model. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

***** ****

i would like to say wow   again   20 years yes is what the warranty says but    no tell me just how much is this plastic pump cost new ????????????????  first off your charging  the new price that plastic motor does not cost 1000 dollars i have 17 years worth of warranty on this left and you are still saying same thing yes now you will do half price when really i should be paying  what 30% of retail  and i called one of your competitors and there pupms new for basic are under 200  so  your math is way off here your not covering this under warranty a all which is what needs be done  a fair price for some one who paid for your 20 great american made bed that outlast all others  i am outa of work i have a daughter i tae care of don't rip people off  I'm am so sick this christmas that i have to be treated this way by you i have have this 3 years out of 20  i would like to see in righting  how you come up with that price  all i know is i have 17 years worth of pro rated motor warranty and for a 150 motor that clearly  was not made well  charge me new price even cut in half is more then what should be paid have some pride in your american made products  and stand behind your warranty  just the fact you site says now 25 years of sleep comfert  and no other spring bed can match  well i had spring mattress for over 30 years taking care of never a prob  this now with your bed 

Business Response:

We have included a copy of your owner's manual.  The limited warranty information is listed inside this manual which is also included with every bed purchase.  This warranty is a limited warranty which has a full coverage period of 2 years and the remaining coverage is prorated.  The prorated portion is 20% plus 4% for each year you have owned the bed.  We are offering to replace the pump for you at half the normal prorated cost - your cost will be $95.64. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

***** ****


again i asked you how you came up with this price show me i guess that would show people you lies i know how your warranty reads   again your telling me at 3 years i would owe 200 that means that that pump was over 1000 new i have made a video also put it on you u tube about this problem i would never by from you again and i will make sure anyone who deals with you knows  show me the break down new price and how you come up with that them I'm willing to go from there i would like to see something showing new price for plastic pump then break down of my cost

Business Response: Your pump model IFC2001 is $470 new.  The proration schedule is 20% plus 4% each year you have owned the bed.  Your warranty is currently in year 3, which is 32% = $150.  Years 4, 5, and 6 would be 36%, 40%, and 44%, etc.  Sales tax and shipping costs are determined by your zip code. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

***** **** that is such a load of**** my bed was 699 your saying that bed  foamd air chambers  cover is 199 and thats the usa made parts what  a joke  i just think  anyone should see just how much there warranty   the great 25 year warranty is going to help them after  year 3    thanks but i would just as soon leave this for all to see     sleep number will sell me new one for to my home for 199 new tells me your price is a farce    keep it I'm going to share with all i can just how bad your you all are and never to believe your warranty is worth anything   a non usa plastic pump that is junk in 3 years      me and my wife would like to tell you and comforter  merry christmas as i sleep on the box spring for your great long lasting product      




12/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The air chambers in my bed are either defective or worn out. Customer service wants to me to purchase new foam padding for the price of $199. This will not correct the problem. I was led to believe this bed came with a 25 year warranty. The bed is only 8 years old but we can no longer use it because of the air chambers. Very dissatisfied with product quality and customer service.

Desired Settlement: Replace needed air chambers and pads at no charge.

Business Response: The air chambers in this bed are warrantied for 10 yrs full and 10 yrs prorated.  The full coverage warranty is still effective for the air chambers to be replaced at no charge.  We don't understand the reference to replacing the foam, however we have proceeded with shipping a replacement of both air chambers and the foam layer to ensure that the problem is resolved.  UPS tracking for the parts: 1z5801w60300087002.   You may discard the old parts as we do not need those returned.  Please contact ****** in customer service if there are any further issues.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I'm pretty sure there was a communication gap between customer service and myself.

Regards,

******* *********

2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered Comfortaire's Silhouette Adjustable Base from their website to go along with one of their mattresses. What I received was a Leggett & Platt Adjustable Base. I contacted their sales department and asked to return the base due to the fact I did not want a Leggett & Platt adjustable base that is not what I ordered. The sales person **** informed me that bases were a non-refundable item. She informed me, in a not so nice way, that if I would have ordered by phone, not from their website, a salesperson would have told me the bases are Leggett & Platt and this problem would not have happened. I asked her to have a supervisor please call me. I received an email from**** ***** stating she was sorry I was not happy with my purchase, bases were non-refundable and I could contact Leggett & Platt, for help. I explained in an email back to **. ***** Comfortaires website states numerous times our adjustable base nowhere on the website does it mention the base is a Leggett & Platt base. The base I received has a Leggett & Platt serial number and owners manual. I believe that if it is a Comfortaire base, manufactured by Leggett & Platt, it should have a Comfortaire serial number and manual. I received this reply back from **. *****. We are sorry that you are not happy with your adjustable base purchase. The bases are non-returnable which is clearly listed on our site and also with your order confirmation - which you placed directly on our site. It is unfortunate that such crucial information did not occur to you to ask - as we would have happily told you the manufacturer's name. Why would I ask a company who manufactures your product when their website clearly refers to the product as theirs? I was also aware when ordering that the bases were non-refundable, if it were indeed a Comfortaire base I would not be requesting a refund. I have print screen and pdf scans of Comfortaires website describing the adjustable base as theirs, which I believe is false advertising.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the adjustable base, at Comfortaire's cost, and receive a refund please.

Business Response:

We are truly sorry that ** ***** is not happy with her adjustable bases.    From our records, here is the sequence of events:  ** ***** spoke with 2 different sales representatives on Nov 10, 2013 and on Nov 19, 2013 and then placed her order directly through our site on December 16, 2013.  Her order, which consisted of a mattress and the Silhouette adjustable bases, was delivered and setup on December 31, 2013.  On January 13, 2014 ** ***** called to discuss the foam in her mattress at which time we agreed to swap it out with different foam at no charge to her.  On January 18, 2014 ** ***** called to express her displeasure with the noise of the adjustable bases and stated that she wanted to return them.  She also stated that she had already been communicating with Leggett & Platt (the manufacturer of the adjustable bases) about the noise.

The adjustable bases are non-returnable items.  This no-return policy is available on our site prior to making a purchase and is included on the email confirmation when the actual purchase is submitted on the site.  The adjustable bases meet all the standards and specifications listed on our site and do not have a defect or functional problem with them.  Available on our web site we provide the owner's manual, a quick setup guide, and a remote control guide for the Silhouette adjustable base.  All 3 of these guides were produced by Leggett & Platt and their information is clearly listed on the guides.  We sympathize that ** ***** is not happy with her purchase; however we disagree with her claim of false advertising. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I am dissatisfied by my purchase because I did not want a Leggett and Platt adjustable base; I wanted a Comfortaire adjustable base.  According to the description on their website the base is referred to as “ours”, that would lead a person to believe it is their product not another companies.  Why when speaking to Comfortaire's sales person would, I ask "does the adjustable base have your name on it?”, in my opinion that makes no sense.  Yes, the website does say the bases are nonreturnable, nowhere on the site does it say the bases are Leggett and Platt.  I am not returning the base because I am displeased with it, I am returning the base because it is a Leggett and Platt base, which I do not want, I wished to purchase a base by Comfortaire.  Comfortaire is placing the blame on me, when in my opinion they are in error for not listing the information on the website.  If they feel their sales people need to give you additional information before ordering, then Comfortaire should not have web ordering it is as simple as that.  I am basically stuck with a product I do not want because I did not order from a sales person, that doesn't not seem fair.  I have attached a PDF file showing the websites description.  Thank you for continuing to look into my case.  


Regards,

****** *****




Business Response:

You may find the aforementioned Leggett & Platt brochures here:  www.comfortaire.com, CUSTOMER CARE, INSTALLATION AND ASSEMBLY, then choose any of the 3 brochures:  Silhouette Premium Adjustable Base Owner's Manual, Quick Setup Guide, or Remote Control Guide.  These provide specifics about product, function, use, and contact information for warranty service. 

Leggett & Platt manufactures this Silhouette kit especially for us with an included headboard bracket kit, adjustable leg kit, and a specialty retainer bar to accommodate our higher profile mattresses.  This adjustable base is customized to match perfectly with our mattresses and is backed by the longest-standing company in the bedding industry. 

If she has any issues with the product, we would love the opportunity to address those with her; however the product itself is non-returnable.   

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I did not want to purchase a Leggett & Platt Adjustable base, I wanted to purchase a base by Comfortaire.  Comfortaire's website states it is their base, no where on the site does it say made for us by Leggett & Platt.  The manuals the accompany the bed have Leggett & Platt on them not Comfortaire, if is was manufactured for Comfortaire by L & P it should have their name on the base and manuals which it does not.  I am requesting a refund because I didn't wish to purchase a Leggett & Platt base, the request for a refund has nothing to do with me not liking the base or not knowing how to operate it.

Thank you,
****** *****



Business Response:

For all purchases made through our website, customers must confirm that they agree with the terms and conditions.  These terms clearly state that adjustable bases are non-returnable and customer agreed to this.  The customer acknowledges that the return is not due to dislike of the bases, nor issues regarding the functionality, rather simply that she does not like the company name on the bases.  We use Leggett & Platt to manufacture the bases for us because of their outstanding reputation for quality and service and their 130-year history in the bedding industry.  Comfortaire is dedicated to providing a high quality adjustable base to our customers and we stand behind this product’s quality.   

In the interest of goodwill, Comfortaire will accept the return of this adjustable base.  Customer will arrange for packing and shipping product back to our warehouse – this will include all costs associated with packing, shipping, and freight to return the product to our warehouse.  Upon receipt of the merchandise, Comfortaire will issue a full refund of her purchase price including applicable sales tax.  The original “in-home set-up” charges are non-refundable. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I am very aware that the bases are non-returnable I agreed to the terms and conditions, believing I was purchasing a Comfortaire adjustable base.  To reiterate, I would not have purchased an adjustable base if the website stated it was a Leggett and Platt product.  I am aware that Leggett & Platt is a quality product I am not debating or disagreeing with that.  This complaint is over the fact Comfortaire's website never mentions the adjustable base is manufactured by another company.  Comfortaire's uses the word OUR adjustable base in three different places on their website.  If Leggett & Platt make the base; then it is not THEIRS (Comfortaire's).  I would NEVER have purchased the adjustable base; if it stated Leggett & Platt made it for Comfortaire, which means I never would have agreed to the terms and conditions.  I do not like Leggett & Platt's bases.  I do not like the way they function, I currently own one and would never buy one again.

 

I am grateful Comfortaire will allow me to return the bases, but I will not pay for a return shipping.  I will not pay to return an item I never would have purchased had Comfortaire's website gave an accurate description of their product. 


Thank you,
****** *****



10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first issue I notice was that the mattress appeared to be somewhat thinner than the published height on Comfortaires internet advertisement. I measured the Comfortaire mattress after I fully inflated it and it measured approximately 10 in profile. The profile published on the internet clearly stated that this mattress had a profile of 12. This was as published on Comfortaires website (http://www.comfortaire.com/ special-edition-adjustable-beds) before September 29, 2013. After complaining to Comfortaire, I went back to their website on Oct 4, 2013 and I noticed that they had modified the advertised profile height. It now reads 10. This was specifically done after my complaint to Comfortaire.Furthermore, the mattress did not function as advertised. One of the basic functions of the air mattress was that it inflate and allow for varied firmness settings. Acceptable adjustments of the firmness settings were achieved for approximately one week and then the pumping system on the mattress failed. The pumping system did not allow for adjustment of the mattress firmness. When I attempted to adjust the mattress firmness the handheld digital controller would oscillate between 1% and 100% firmness as displayed on the handheldI considered this miss representation in Comfortaires advertisement and poor product quality as unacceptable and thus my funds should be immediately reimbursed to me. My request for a refund was made based on the fact that Comfortaire advertised a product that did not meet its basic specifications and yet the company refused to refund my purchase price because they considered this a final sale.At the time of the purchase of the Comfortaire mattress it was explained to me that the sale was a final sale; but that the mattress came with a warranty. I understood and accepted the final sale condition based on the guarantee that the mattress would meet the as advertised specifications and perform/function as advertised. This mattress meet neither condition.

Desired Settlement: My request to Comfortaire is that I receive a full refund of my purchase price of $1,960.92. I have contacted Comfortaire and offred to return the mattress to them in its original packaging and I will cover the shipping costs. They declined my offer.Finally, I have screen shots of Comfortaire's web page that clearly shows the 12" profile specification before and the 10" profile after my complaint. I also have a video of the air controller not peforming as advertised after 1 week of use.

Business Response:

We are sorry that ** ******* has experienced any problems with our mattress.  It is not our policy to have inaccurate information on our site and as soon as the height discrepancy was pointed out, we reacted quickly to correct that information on our site.  We offered a free upgrade to our CC800 which exceeds his height expectations and has several other upgrades above the original mattress that he ordered from us; however he declined this offer.  ** ******* would not speak with us about the functional problems with his mattress so we are not sure if their origin is user error or actual product malfunction.  Whatever the cause, we completely stand behind our product quality, function, warranty, and customer service.  Even though this bed is not available for return as acknowledged by ** *******, we want to accept the solution that ** ******* has proposed.  We will accept his offer to ship the mattress back to us (at his cost).  We will inspect the return and issue a full refund as soon as the product is returned to us.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response:

Dear Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by Comfortaire (i.e. Lisa Jones) in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me based on the following conditions:

  • Comfortaire supplies to me a Return Merchandise Authorization tracking number
  • I will then return the item in dispute to Comfortaire for inspection
  • Comfortaire will issue a full refund to my credit card  as soon as the product is received by their company (as stated in their response)
  • The full refunded amount is $1,960.92
  • I will then consider this matter close

If the above conditions do not occur then I will proceed with further actions towards Comfortaire

Regards,

***** *******

 

P.S. I would like to thank the Better Business Bureau of Upstate South Carolina for your prompt attention to my request


10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The business failed to deliver what was ordered. The website comfortairedirect.com shows a two piece system of the air mattress resting on a fabricated foundation. I ordered the **** set. The**** Owners' ****** on the website shows the air mattress mounted on a fabricatd foundation. When the order was received the foundation had been omitted. The sales person without my knowledge had substituted a metal platform frame that rests on the floor. The company website recommends the foundation be mounted on a metal bed frame. I have the bed frame and didn't need the metal platform frame that was sent. After contacting the company to explain the omission they refused to send me the fabicated foundation that I had ordered and paid for. I was also told I would be billed for state sales tax of $168.29. The invoice I received indicates that amount as "Miscellaneous".

Desired Settlement: Please publish this complaint for the benefit of future on-line shoppers. I also request the BBB to follow up with the State Sales Tax Audit Division to verify this company is reporting the Miscellaneous collection as sales tax to Tennessee.

Business Response:

********** received the metal platform on February 5th, however he contacted us a month later on March 8th to say that the item was not what he expected.  We are happy to correct any order mistake or discrepancy.  We want to send the customer the product that he wants and was expecting to receive.  We are prepared to pay the freight to ship the new foundation to him and to pay the return freight to get the incorrect item (metal platform) back to us.  We will send the new foundation to ** ******** and ask that he return the incorrect item to us AFTER he has received the new foundation and completed the installation of it with his mattress.   

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  Very well.  I will need to return the metal platform in the box that is being used to ship the fabricated queen foundation.  We have since lost the box the platform was originally shipped in.  Please send return shipping labels with the foundation and we will return the platform since we are not going to use it with the fabricated foundation and air mattress.  Please forward shipping arrangements as soon as possible.

Regards,

 

***** ********

 

 

 

3/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Comfortaire Alure mattress over the internet from the ComfortaireDirect website on 2/23/2013. I received e-mail confirmation of my order, an amount to pay and an order ID# (*****). The e-mail went on to say I should make a check or money order payable to Comfortaire and send it along with a printed copy of the invoice to Comfortaire @ 6801 Augusta rd. Greenville SC 29605.I did as they asked and sent the check by certified mail.I received a late night phone call from a lady saying she works for the company. I was uneasy having a sales person calling me after I had gone to bed, but spoke briefly with her. I was not sure that she worked for Comfortaire and was reluctant to give her any information. She said in addition to the sale price for the mattress I would have to pay sales tax. I pointed out that that was contrary to what the web site stated. The web site in fact stated that only residents of South Carolina had to pay sales tax. I told her I wasn't sure about the purchase and would think it over. The next evening I received another unsolicited phone call telling me my order which I had placed online would not be accepted. I told her if they denied my order which was accepted on the website, I would simply buy another mattress.She and the sales manager who I spoke to on 2/25/2013 said the company had been bought out by another company on January 18th and that I had to pay the tax because the buyer had stores in all states.Comfortaire had plenty of time to change their website to reflect this (Jan 18th to Feb 25th), but did not do. I believe this represents @ the very least negligence and perhaps deception. In my opinion,it is false advertising to tell me what I owe, tell me where to send a check, and then after I have done so tell me I owe more money. All they had to do was change one line on their website to say that sales tax had to be paid. That should take five minutes, not five weeks

Desired Settlement: It was Comfortaires mistake (intentional or unintentional) to not have the correct information on their website. They should discount the mattress the amount of the sales tax and correct their website.

Business Response: Date Sent: 3/5/2013 12:00:00 AM

This consumer purchased his mattress after the sale of Comfortaire. However, the new tax information was not yet posted online and this is why we reached out to let him know of the increase in price. We have not received payment for the mattress. The consumer said that he mailed a check, which we intend to void and return upon receipt. Also, Comfortaire will continue to operate as usual, the difference being that our new corporate parent has a retail footprint in most US states, creating nexus and therefore requiring that we collect state tax.

We have made every attempt possible to explain to this consumer that since he purchased his mattress after the sale to our new owner, we have no choice but to collect the state tax.

In addition, he states in his reply that he has already purchased a new mattress so I’m not sure what we can do other than return his voided check when it arrives.

Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks,

**** ****
Comfortaire Corporation
********************* ************ ******** ************ ***** *****P.O. Box 9219
Greenville,SC29604

Consumer Response: Dear *** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. However, my only intention was to let other consumers know what happened to me with this company. I do not want anything from them. If they have corrected their website so that other potential customers are not deceived as I was, that is enough. By the way I received my certified letter with payment back today with a return to sender sticker. I have no interest in any further communication regarding this issue.

Regards,

******** *******

 

 

6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service