Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Andy OnCall

Phone: (864) 244-2111 Fax: (864) 244-5560 View Additional Phone Numbers 3305 Rutherford Road Suite L, Taylors, SC 29687 http://www.andyoncall.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a handyman repair service that matches homeowners who need repairs with a craftsman.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Andy OnCall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Andy OnCall include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Andy OnCall
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 14, 2003 Business started: 11/01/2002 in SC Business incorporated 11/01/2002 in SC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Greg Keels, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Keels, Owner
Business Category

Home Improvements

Alternate Business Names
Keels Enterprises LLC
Industry Tips
Home Improvements/Contractors New Regulations for Home Renovation and Painters

Additional Locations

  • 3305 Rutherford Road Suite L

    Taylors, SC 29687 (864) 244-2111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First experience with **** ** ***l was excellent. Called again for additional service: hang 11 curtain rods. Serviceman told me twice to not tell him how to do his business when I gave him specifics on the placements of the brackets above the window and alongside the window. He hung the first bracket without measuring, stretched the rod across the window, and marked the second bracket. The rod was crooked. I said so. He put to rod down, took his tools and walked out, again telling me not to tell him how to do his business. His mark is one-quarter of an inch off. I emailed **** ** **** and have had no reply. I am perplexed how to rate this service; clearly the second service person is not qualified. Not responding to a complaint is egregious.

Desired Settlement: Had hoped to use this service for half-a-dozen projects. Had excellent business emails with the business contact person. Would like explanation of why no response to complaint.

Business Response: I apologize for the delayed response.  I spoke to the craftsman and he just thought it was better that he not perform the job.  He is very skilled at many trades, but hanging window treatments which is very subjective is something that he discovered at the time that he is not comfortable doing.  I regret that he could not satisfy the customer, as that is always our ultimate goal. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I would, however, wish that Andy on Call, contact me personally since my original correspondence with them listed several other projects waiting to be done. The first project they did was excellent. That person is not available I am told.  I would like to know if they have as well a qualified person as substitute.

Regards,

****** ****** *******

1/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 14th, I called Andy on Call to fix a leak in my bathroom. They came out, said it was ****** to fix. They didn't tell me what they were fixing, how they were fixing it. They just said they were fixing it. Didn't even give me a chance to turn down their estimate. *** was already on the roof supposedly making repairs. After he's done, he tells me that they caulked the pipe boot and all should be well. But that I needed a new roof. My roof is only 8.5 years old according to the home inspection and owner disclosure I received when buying the home. On November 19th, I contacted them again, as the roof had started to leak again. They informed me that they could come out November 25th. Now keep in mind, there was a 1 year warranty for this repair that they did. Still made me wait 6 days before they would come out and we were due rain again. They come out on the 25th. Owner, of Andy on Call comes out with roofer. They again caulk the area, and say I need a new roof. My roof is bad. Roof was only leaking in one area, where the pipe boot was. Was told by someone else, all that needed to be done was the pipe boot replaced, and a couple of new shingles, along with new flashing. They tell me that is not the problem. I need new roof. But they assure me that this time the caulking will take, and I will not have anymore issues. December 17th rolls around. Wake up to flooded bathroom because roof is leaking AGAIN! I immediately contact Andy on Call. I believe the lady I spoke with was ***. Now granted, they won't call me, they keep e-mailing me. I work, I can't check my e-mail 24/7. She informs me that "******", I guess their "main roofer" will call me at 3 or 3:30. I take my break at work at that time, HE NEVER CALLS. So I call ***. She tells me ****** will call her and she will call me with time he will be coming out. I never hear from him until the next day. He finally calls. Said he will come out December 22, on a Tuesday. So I request to be late to work. I get an e-mail (NOT A PHONE CALL) from *** saying he has changed the time to Monday, the 21st. What if I hadn't checked my e-mail? I wouldn't have known that, because for some reason they can't pick up a phone. They come out on the 21st, and the main roofer and his helper go up on the roof, do whatever it is they are doing. Claim they are going to put a new pipe boot in. Because that's what I told them I wanted. Yeah, turns out they didn't. Started leaking again on December 27th. I contacted them AGAIN, and am told ****** will be in touch. ****** never got in touch. I had to call another company to come out and repair the job they didn't do. They told me, it was one of the crappiest jobs they had ever seen done. They said I had another 3 or 4 years on my shingles, and they replaced the pipe boot, flashing, and shingles, that Andy on Call refused to do. Andy on Call charged me $****** to repair my roof and they didn't repair it. I feel like I was taken advantage of, and ripped off by this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my money ($******), and if possible payment for what I had to pay other roofing company which is $*******

Business Response: As it clearly states on our invoices, there are no warranties on roof repairs. Roof repairs are one of the few things that Andy OnCall cannot guarantee, which is common in the roofing industry because of the difficulty to locate some leaks. But, in good faith, Andy OnCall will refund the $*** service fee to the customer. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Andy on Call in November 2013 to help complete a kitchen renovation (including painting and construction/contractor work. After a rocky start where they cancelled the initial consultation appointment by leaving me a voice mail less than 15 minutes prior to the appointment time (after I had already taken off work to be there), they gave me a quote and began work on my project in December 2013. The work was mostly well done except at the end. The finishing touches left a lot to be desired (doors hung with gaps, etc). During the job, they installed a kitchen vent hood for me. The vent hood worked exactly three times and stopped working. I contacted Andy on Call in March 2014 and asked them to come fix it as they warranty their work. They said the vent hood was under full warranty and they would take care of it. It is now May and it has not been fixed. There have been multiple last minute cancellations of appointments, drop bys with no notice, and most recently a flat out no show. I have called and complained about this unprofessional behavior and it has gotten me nowhere.

Desired Settlement: I would like my vent hood fixed ASAP without anymore no shows, last minute cancellations, or no notice drop bys. I would like someone to make an appointment and actually keep it.

Business Response: The issue has been resolved.  The failure was a manufacturers defect and we replaced the part.  The fan is working fine now.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that the problem has been corrected.  I am extremely unhappy with Andy On Call's extreme lack of communication, lack of timeliness,  and general disinterest they showed in my issues until I involved the BBB.  I am thankful for your organization's involvement in helping to prompt this business to resolve this.

Regards,

****** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Andy OnCall
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart