BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

This Business is not BBB accredited

Backyard Company

Phone: (864) 275-0566 1754 Woodruff Rd., #233, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.backyardcompany.net

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sale of fences, decks and arbors.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Backyard Company include:

  • Failure to have a required competency license.
  • 9 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 6
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Complaint Information

BBB has contacted business concerning consumer complaints alleging company not honoring warranty repair after installation of fence.  Business has failed to respond.   

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 05, 2006 Business started: 11/30/2004 Business incorporated: 06/17/2004 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LLR/Labor, Licensing & Regulation
110 Centerview Drive Ste. 102 Synergy Business Park, Columbia SC 29211
https://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/massagetherapy
Phone Number: 803-896-4588
On 11/17/2011 BBB confirmed that the license from LLR/Labor, Licensing & Regulation expired. On 11/17/2011 BBB confirmed that Backyard Company had not obtained a necessary license from LLR/Labor, Licensing & Regulation.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Charlie Olague, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charlie Olague, Owner
Business Category

Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fence Contractors


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1754 Woodruff Rd., #233

    Greenville, SC 29607

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a fence and gate from Backyard Company in August 2012. The gate was originally supposed to have 3 henges on it to prevent the gate from pulling the gate post over. The company added a 3rd henge after several weeks from the original installation date, however, the gate had already begun to lean and make it difficult to open and shut. I have called the company for the past 6 weeks to come and fix the issue but nobody answers the phone. The fence and gate was to come with a 2 year warranty that I would like the company to make good on.

Desired Settlement: Please come and fix the gate so that it is easy to open.

Consumer Response: The fence has been repaired. Thank you!

7/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a fence installed by this company in August of 2012. One of the posts holding the gate has now failed causing a side of the fence to tilt precariously. I have called the company a number of times to have them examine/repair the post in question but have not received a response after speaking with someone over 2 weeks ago when I was told they would be back in touch. Considering that we were promised a 10 year warranty on materials, and a 2 year complete warranty on the fence, I believe it is their responsibility to fix the fence.

Desired Settlement: I would ideally like them to replace the problematic post. This is not much in terms of material and labor, but considering that part of the reason I purchased the fence from them was because of the warranty I believe it is their responsibility.

Business Response:

There is not a 10 guaranty on the fence. As it is stated and can be read on the bottom of all of our work work orders. However I can make an exception and replace this post if desired as it's not a big deal.

Thank you

*******

3/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have been calling this company since April 2013 about the gates to our fence not working properly. The gates stick causing worry about children pinching fingers. I have smashed my fingers in them already.The gates do not open or close freely they must be pulled forcefully.We have a warrany with company for 10 years. This fence was installed September 2012.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my fence in working condition.

10/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our fence still falls under the 10 year warranty this company advertised when we chose them. Previously, they had to replace some posts that had rotted to the point where one broke and almost took part of the fence with it. It took about three weeks to get that done. Now there's another post showing the same issue and I called to get that replaced as well. I received one call back, to tell me they would send someone out to inspect it - that was in August. Since then, I've received no communication from this business. Not. One. Call. I have called them repeatedly and left messages several times - no joy. Since my fence issue is obviously not resolved, any help you can provide would be appreciated. Sincerely,***** *******

Desired Settlement: Inspect and replace all rotting posts, slats, and/or pickets; honor their warranty from now on if a similar issue arises.

10/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were told that if there was any problem with our fence, once it was complete that back yard company would come and correct any issue. This was their guarantee. However, we have called back yard company 5 times about a warped pole, they installed. This company refuses to return our phone call or come and make this right.

Desired Settlement: I want the fence fixed, or if this is impossible then I want compensation so I can have it fixed.

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When purchasing a fence from the Backyard Company in 2009, we were informed of their 10 year warranty on the materials used. We currently have several slats that have split due to knots in the wood.I have made several phone calls to the company and sent an online request through their website to have these replaced under the warranty. For about 10 days, I did not receive a call back. When I did receive a call back one Friday, I was informed that someone would be by Monday to take a look, and they would call me back. This never happened. I called again the following Thursday, and they asked what the specific issue was. They told me someone would be out "early next week" to replace the damaged pieces.It has been 10 days since I last spoke with the company, and no one has been to our property to repair the fence.

Desired Settlement: I would like Backyard Company to honor the materials warranty. The broken slats in our fence should be replaced in a timely manner.

Business Response:

As it states on the contract  "This is Not a warrantly issue". However as a courtesy in this case,  I did send a crew out to replace aprox 20 pickets three weeks ago to resolve/satisfy this complaint .  

I feel this complaint should have been closed by now and satisfied.

 

Thank you

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******.  While the final result is satisfactory, the process is not.  When purchasing the fence, the warranty was presented as covering all materials, with examples provided relating to pickets and fence posts.  Additionally, at no point when I was attempting to contact the company did they respond with a statement of whether the issue was covered under warranty or not.  In fact, the company did not return any phone calls related to a warranty inquiry.   

 

Again, the result is satisfactory; my fence has been repaired in the manner represented when purchased.  The company needs to improve the process related to their customer response.

Regards,

 

 

******* ************

 

 

 

 

4/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AS I was living away from the area and needed a fence installed on new property, I went online and found Backyard Fence Company in Greenville. The company had a BBB rating of A- with complaints being resolved. So with this confidence, I agreed to purchased a ********** Fence. The********** Fence on their website showed wooden caps on each post. When the fence was installed there were no caps on the posts. When I called the seller, I was told that they did not have them, and I could go to ****** and purchase them and they would glue them on for me. Can't understand why Backyard Fence would not have done this in order to assure the customer was satisfied. I feel I paid a premium price that should have included this. Also the fences already installed by owners on either side of my property had the back fence with the attractivly finished side facing inward---not facing a wooded easement property as mine was installed. He attributed this to some covenants don't allow this. With two on each side not facing the easement, I think he would have been safe to install the same. I must say the fence is very well built and the gate and front fence were installed perfectly. The seller was kind and always apologetic for understandable installation delays and not returning calls promptly, but in the end the product was not what I had viewed online and thought I was paying for.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see wooden caps put on the 10 posts at their expense: I believe there are (8) 4 inch caps and (4) 6 inch caps. I can compromise on the back fence if a small strip of wood is added to the top of the fence as it is on the easement side.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

 

---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ****** ******** <********************>
Date: Mon, Apr 15, 2013 at 9:17 AM
Subject: Re: You have a new message from the BBB servinb Upstate South Carolina: complaint #*******
To: complaints@upstatesc.bbb.org


My complaint was filed on January 4, 2013.  It has been over 3 1/2 months since I have heard anything.  I have bought the caps from ****** and had them installed.    I understood they had 60 days to respond, and after 90 days  I decided it was not going to happen.  My son-in-law who lives in Greenville had called **** ******** (who I dealt with )  several  times and left messages, but his calls were not returned so we just decided end all and add the caps to the beautiful fence.   I am pleased to see that they have added caps are EXTRA COST in their online ad.  This will be helpful to  others purchasing their lovely ********** fence.  They  will know what they are getting upfront.   As far as their resolution, it came a bit late.

Business Response:

Hi ***** and *****
 
The decortive post tops are not included in the fence order. They are an option and cost extra. However in this case for resolution we will give and install them for free.
   
 
******* ******
Owner
Backyardcompany

2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service