Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Mister Sparky

Phone: (864) 277-2759 116 Charmar Road, Taylors, SC 29687 http://www.electriciangreenville.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mister Sparky meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mister Sparky include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mister Sparky
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 04, 2005 Business started: 03/01/2004 in SC Business incorporated 04/13/2004 in SC
Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Mr. Jamie Wilkie, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jamie Wilkie, President
Business Category

Electricians


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Mister Sparky after discovering a dimmer switch in my home being hot to the touch. Mister Sparky advertises that upon arrival at your home they will evaluate the problem and provide upfront pricing prior to performing any work. The Mister Sparky electrician arrived at my home several minutes before my wife (i was not at home) but my painters (who were already working inside my home) let the electrician in whereupon he called me to discuss what needed to be done. I explained that the dimmer switch felt warm to the touch and he agreed he would look at it to determine what was going on. I also explained that my wife would be home within several minutes and he could discuss his findings with her. He indicated that that was not a problem. My wife arrived home several minutes after I spoke with the electrician and much to our surprise, he announced that he had already replaced the dimmer switch (without authorization) and the cost for doing so would be $295. When my wife questioned the amount due and the fact that the work had not been authorized, the electrician offered to remove the newly installed switch and replace it with the original one (which he acknowledged was not suitable for the application). When my wife suggested that the electrician remove the new switch due to the high price, the electrician reluctantly agreed to deduct $50 from the total bill. While my wife reluctantly paid $245 for the service (she felt as if she was pressured to pay the bill on the spot), most disturbing was the fact that the price was never discussed or agreed upon before work being commenced. This practice was contrary to all of the initial information provided by the Mister Sparky phone operator as well as the information contained on the Mister Sparky website, invoice and satisfaction guarantee. I have made multiple attempts to contact Mister Sparky but have not received any response.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a full refund or in the alternative at least a 50% ($125) refund from Mister Sparky which would result in my out of pocket expense being approximately $120. This amount is more consistent with what the typical electrician would have charged for the same service. Had Mister Sparky commnicated its pricing up front as promised and allowed my wife and I an opportunity to discuss before the work was performed we would have elected not to use Mister Sparky.

Business Response: I could no agree with you more. 


My employees are trained to and required to provide every customer with an exact price before any repairs are made. Unfortunately, one of my employees decided otherwise on this service call. I cannot explain why, other than he made a bad decision. I sincerely apologize for the aggravation this may have caused you and your wife. I have removed him from our service position. 

As soon as I learned of this, I instructed my office to refund 100% of the money you paid to us. I appreciate your offer to only want a partial refund, but that's not how we operate. We want you to be 100% satisfied. Because of our guarantees and commitment to customer satisfaction, we put every customer in a can't lose situation. As you've seen, we are far from perfect, but we make sure our mistakes are never at your expense.

I can only hope that you will accept our apology.

***** ******
General Manager
Mister sparky #32