BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Duke Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Duke Energy include:

  • 43 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Duke Energy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 43 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

43 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 24 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 25
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 43

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 17, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1905
Business Management
Mr. George Acker, Business Relations Manager Mr. Mike Wilson, District Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Acker, Business Relations Manager
Business Category

Electric Companies


Additional Locations

  • 1636 Pearman Dairy Road

    Anderson, SC 29625

  • 201 North Main Street

    Travelers Rest, SC 29690

  • 40 W Broad Street Suite 690

    Greenville, SC 29601 (864) 370-5061

  • 425 Fairforest Way

    Greenville, SC 29607

  • 664 Issaqueena Trail

    Central, SC 29631

  • 808 Reidville Road

    Duncan, SC 29334

  • 821 Main Street SE

    Simpsonville, SC 29681

  • 848 Bypass 72 North West

    Greenwood, SC 29646

  • 920 Beaumont Avenue

    Spartanburg, SC 29303

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (864) 370-5183 (Fax)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being charged an excessive amount considered to be a DEPOSIT from Duke Energy. Per the representative that I spoke with and per the last page of the billing statement "ATTENTION: EXISTING ACCOUNTS WITHOUT SATISFACTORY SECURITY THAT CARRY A PAST DUE BALANCE OR HAVE BEEN DISCONNECTED FOR NONPAYMENT, MAY BE CHARGED A DEPOSIT. " I am being informed that due to the fact that I have been late on my utility bill more than twice that I am being charged this deposit. I am disputing the amount of the deposit as it is not relayed anywhere in the billing statement prior to being charged the deposit the amount that will be charged. One would think that a deposit at the most would be 200, but I am being charged $567 which the representative said is the highest bill times 2. I am not sure this is legal at all for the representative to have information on how much the deposit charge will be, but this information is not communicated to the customer prior to them being charged this amount.

Desired Settlement: I would like this charge removed from my bill and I will agree to place my account on a auto-pay. It is hard when only getting paid twice a month to calculate if you will have enough to cover the bill which is why I have been reluctant to do so in the past, but it is even harder to tell your children that they will not get anything for Christmas based on an unexpected 567 bill from a Utility company .

Business Response:

Deposit was charged due to unsatisfactory payment history.  Agreed to put balance in equal payment plan balance and increase her monthly payments to give time to pay off.

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Out of work since july,made several late payments, getting stuck with 200+ dollar "deposit" fee and will get power shut off unless I make it. I have been out of work since July of this year, I go to school and work as best I can when I get the opportunity, but it is not considerable income, so I have had trouble making payments on time, but I have made them. This month I have been slammed with a 200+ dollar "Deposit" fee that according to their fine print, they may attach when they see fit essentially. The first person I talked with was VERY rude and I should have a recording of that conversation, and she would not transfer me to anyone in management so I could discuss my situation with someone a bit more level headed. Hung up and called back, got someone else, also not willing to transfer me to a higher up person, but at least was more pleasant to talk to.They explained this deposit would be refunded in 12 months or so of on time payments. I'm not even sure i'll be here in 12 months as if I cannot find a job, i'm going to have to move.They also stated I could find someone to cosign but im not sure what that entails for me or the person I would get to do that. I have been late on several payments but I have been paying them and the associated late fees, and have not gone over two months without a payment for sure.The wording in the bills I have recieved indicating they may add on a deposit is very vague and also states they "may" include this, which indicates to me that it is optional, and thusly not set in stone as the first rude lady told me several times.

Desired Settlement: I just want to pay my bills, and will happily pay the late fees I've incurred with this current billing cycle, even though I was caught up before this ridiculous billing cycle for this month, but there is no way I can pay an additional 200 plus dollars in addition to my normal payment. my current bill due should be between 60-90 dollars which does include the late fee for this month, and I can and will pay that but not this sneaky scam fee they are trying to pull.

Business Response:

Reduced deposit to $150.00 and offered a 5 month payment arrangement. Customer declined the payment arrangement.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I've been out of work since july, if i dont find a job soon i may be leaving the area. I am willing to set up an automatic payment plan to avoid further late payments but cannot handle a fee/deposit of that size with my lack of income at this time. 

Regards,
 
***



Business Response: Due to the  payment history on the account we will not remove the deposit.  The deposit was lowered out of condisderation for customer's situation and we offered to spread the payments over 5 months. We are closing this complaint. 

12/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved here on **** in august was to pay a 795 deposit in which was to high so was able to make an arrangement to pay on 138 until october. On october 13 the payment was due i called duke and ask if can pay on friday october 17. The representative stated that it was ok and didnt said anything about a disconnection or any other trouble with my account. Well on the next day october 14 my services were shut off i called duke and asked what was going on they stated i was on the disconnection list i wasnt informed about being on there and i also explained what i was told. Now they was saying i would have to pay 385 to get services on. I wasnt able to pay at the time so me and my children left for a minute because it was starting to get cold. While i was away there was an issue that happened being that my lights were turn back on illegally and they are telling me i have extra charges total of 870 to pay and to open another account. I shouldn't be charged because of this just because the lease is in my name they are saying im responsible so now i gotta try to pay 870. I dont have any other place to go for me and my five children. My mother dont have room, and i wont save up spending at a room all the time they wouldnt even work out a payment arrangement with me. I dont hardly run anything in the house and mostly my children barely watch tv. This is too high for me to pay i reallt hope that i can get something worked out here becauss its getting cold and my kids need to be home.

Desired Settlement: I would like a payment plan worked out if i can pay.224 to get the services back on and make a paymenf arrangement or something for the rest im willing to do any payment plan if possible.

Business Response: We are unable to reach the customer at the phone number provided in the complaint to work out any arrangements, and the customer has not paid the $224 as stated in her offer.   We are closing the complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

*** ****** ** ** ******** **** ****** ** * ****** ****** *** ** **** ***** *** *** *** ********* *** ***** **** ** *** **********
I am rejecting because they have not called me I did get help from pee dee community of this matter and suppose to get lights on today. Also I am still waiting for them to be turned on and I did paid 99.30 and had to pay 642 deposit still not on
********




Business Response: Moot issue...new account established and to be connected today 11/14/2014.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********


10/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2013, we set up the Equal Payment Plan (EPP) to help our monthly bills be more steady. We paid $79 a month through April 2014. May's bill was raised to $181 a month, then to $197 a month in August 2014. The initial raise in May was due to the fact that our EPP could be reviewed and adjusted quarterly to keep things even. So that was fine, just odd to have that significant of a jump. Then in July 2014, our bill was $1188.26. Also note that in order to be enrolled in the EPP, you must also be enrolled in autopay. The morning that we received notification from our bank that $1188.26 was coming out, we immediately called Duke and just requested that the payment be stopped and we'd call back later in the day to sort things out. The representative confirmed that the payment would be stopped and we'll talk later.Well that payment was not stopped. Countless phone calls and rude representatives later, we finally got the $1188.26 returned to us, but it would have to take some time. That's half of a paycheck hanging out in limbo while we have an infant to feed and other bills to pay because a representative never did what she agreed to do.In the end, this $885.72 adjustment was because our EPP was never reviewed and adjusted until April 2014. We were told that we have to monitor our bill and call them when things get out of hand so they can review. Please.We had to wait a few months until receiving a disconnect notice so we could set up a payment plan. In the meantime, we've been charged late fees for not paying the full bill, although we have been paying our normal monthly amount on time. We got the plan set up and now I'm looking at this month's bill which is for $683.32. After calling, it was learned that the payment plan set up did not include the EPP balance AND prior balance. This plan cannot be changed and is binding. The only help offered was to seek out local charities to help us pay the bill.

Desired Settlement: Duke Energy has taken zero accountability for this mistake of not adjusting our EPP earlier on or for not including our total balance in a payment plan. What I would like to happen here is for the payment plan to be adjusted to include our $224.45 EPP balance and $185.05 prior balance (right now its just the $185.05). I would also like the late fees removed from this bill and future bills including our payment plan. Finally, Duke needs to re-visit customer service with its rep's and managers.

Business Response: We reworked the customer's payment arrangement so it was more manageable with her budget. We will close this complaint, thank you. 

Consumer Response: A representative with Duke Energy did contact me to resolve this. She rearranged our payment plan to include the full amount of money owed (excluding current usage cost) just like we had originally understood the payment plan to be. This representative was very helpful and kind. It is sad that one has to go this far with Duke Energy to be able to have a conversation with common sense. 




10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So recently I moved. We lived with a friend and was paying 400 a month to live there...she was responsible for all the bills. We called to set up power at our new house and I had a old bill. So we went ahead and paid it up, paid our deposit and we moved. We got our first bill and it was 1426.00. This is because our room mate put our names on her power account and she did not have a account. That amount includes our current bill and her old bill. I have tried contacting a supervisor concerning this and I get told everytime there isn't anything I can do. Well our old room mate now has duke power again and they are refusing to put some of this old bill on her account. How can they pick and choose who pays what bill? I don't have 1400 dollars just lying around to pay someone else's bill.

Desired Settlement: I want some of this bill placed on her account. I also want a reasonable payment plan established so this bill can get paid.

Business Response: We were able to confirm with the apartment complex that **** **** is not on the lease at this address. We removed the old bill in the amount of $774.62. Advised customer and he is  satisfied.  Thank  you.

Business Response: We were able to confirm with the apartment complex that **** **** is not on the lease at this address. We removed the old bill in the amount of $774.62. Advised customer and he is  satisfied.  Thank  you.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******


9/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duke Energy is a poorly run organization that doesn't seem to be able to communicate within its walls and treats its customers with thurough disregard. I have spent over 3 hours (and still racking up the time) on the phone trying to get an erroneous account set up by an inattentive employee straight as well as credits on the correct account straight. The people in "Customer Service" (what a joke) continue to apply credits to the erroneous account and then can't understand why they see the credits already in place and just drop the issue. As such, bills continue to come in on the correct account that are incorrect in amount. Each time you call you have to go through the base representative who gets pissed off when you ask to speak to a management level representative! Unbelievable, this is exactly why there needs to be free enterprise and not companies given franchises to operate their monopoly in a politcal jurisdiction!

Desired Settlement: I would just like to have the credits Duke Energy has already agreed to applied to my correct account (a total of $65) as well as late payment fees that are accruing.

Business Response: Adjusted customer's deposit and refunded late fees and connection fee. We will close this complaint.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this action would resolve my complaint, but I have not yet been advised by the company that this has in fact taken place.  On Friday, August 8th, ***** called to advise that the deposit had been adjusted and the connection fee had been refunded, but that I still had a credit balance of $.97 (late payment fee).

I called this morning and ***** is on vacation and advised to call another representative, ***** ***.  I spoke with him and he advised he would check into the matter and get back with me.  He called back later and left a voice mail for me to call him, no specifics were advised.  He was not available when I called back and I left a voice mail.

As of now, to my knowledge, the issue is still not fully resolved. 

Regards,

******* *********



Business Response:

I contacted the customer and addressed all his concerns, he is now satisfied. Please let me know if you additional questions. Thank you.

 

***** *** ******* 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *********


8/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: How can a company like Duke Energy charge people another deposit just because they are late. Duke Energy needs to know that the common people have to combine two pay checks to pay their bills. I can not afford to pay my regular bill and another 200 dollar deposit just because I am late but my power never got disconnected. I went from a job making 11.00 dollars an hour to a job making 7.75 an hour, I work 25 hours a week and get paid bi-weekly. I don't get any help from any agency. I try to pay my bills on my own. This practice that Duke Energy is doing is wrong for many hard working people trying to make ends meet. I do not want a hand out I just want the rich owners to know how this decision affects their customer who live pay check to pay check. stop this practice I am sure you don't need more money and never had to scrape by, But try to see it from your customers side for once. AGAIN I AM NOT ASKING FOR A HAND OUT I PAY MY BILLS BY MYSELF THIS DEPOSIT FEE FOR BEING LATE IS NOT FAIR. I HAVE NEVER BEEN DISCONNECTED.I PRAY YOU CAN SEE THE BURDEN YOU PLACE ON YOUR CUSTOMER WITH THIS DECISION. IF I PAY THE 200 DOLLAR DEPOSIT THAT IS ONE OF MY PAY CHECKS BY ITSELF, I CAN NOT AFFORD THAT. I WILL GLADELY PAY A RESONABLE FEE FOR BEING LATE IF THAT IS WHAT YOU WANT JUST NOT 200 DOLLARS.

Desired Settlement: stop charging another deposit fee for being late, people are still not making enough money to pay another deposit on top of monthly bills. If you just need the money for being late make it a fair amount. even the banks charge 35 dollars fees for things. NOT 200 DOLLARS LIKE DUKE ENERGY DO. MAKE IT A RESONABLE AMOUNT FOR LATE FEES.

8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a payment plan setup to pay part of my bill on the 11th of July and the rest on the 11th of August.I sold something to a friend because I was short on money so she paid part of it over the phone. I always go to the same place to pay my bill but was unable to go there that day so I was told I could pay the rest by western union, so that's what I did. I was unaware that it wouldn't go through for 3-5 business days. My power was cut off that coming Monday and when I talked to duke power I was told that if I faxed my receipt showing that I did pay my bill and they would turn it back on. I talked to several different people there, including supervisors, and was given three different fax numbers because they were claiming not to receive my faxes. Although on my end it showed it went through. So because I kept getting the run around from different people at duke power my power was off long enough for my account to go inactive. I paid my bill and I have the proof but now I have to pay a big deposit to open a new account. I'm a single mother of two and I don't receive any help from the other parent. I don't make enough to pay the large amount they want and I shouldn't have to because I paid my bill and I sent my proof multiple times.

Desired Settlement: I want to pay the $143 left on my inactive account so I can open another account and get my power back on but I don't think I should have to pay the $200 deposit they want because I did everything I was told to do in order to get my proof to them. Thank you for listening to my request, I appreciate it.

Business Response: We have agreed to accept the past due balance of $32.62 and we will bill the deposit of $200.00. Customer is scheduled to get power connected on 7-30-14. We will close this complaint  

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duke Energy, our one and only choice for electrical services, is threatening to charge my family with a deposit penalty for having two late charges in one calendar year. We have been 20+ year faithful customers. We have never not paid, nor do we owe any past due monies. The payments were received a matter of days (2-3) past the due date.We are paid twice a month. I called asking to have the due date moved back 5 days in order to verify on time payments. Duke Energy said no and offered no solutions other than automatic draft. I will not do automatic drafts as this places the control of my family's money in the hands of company and machines, one's money should always be allowed to remain in the care of the individual. They offered no solutions, and refused to work with us at all. It is wrong to give any company total control, leaving them no reason, at all, to provided a fair business relationship with it's clients (prisoners).

Desired Settlement: Provide real solutions, and a variety, that will help paying families. We need our due date to be moved out 5 days to ensure we are able to pay our bill on time, and not to be forced to accept unnecessary penalties!

Business Response: Spoke to customer and explained why the warning letter was sent. Apolozized that she was not offered any solutions by customer service. We will close this complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I appreciate the prompt call from the Duke Energy representative. My initial call to Duke Energy Customer Service Department resulted in no help in finding a solution for payment due dates.   I did, however, find an option on my own and do hope that the Duke Energy Customer Service Department is made aware of all options available to its customers.  Because we have no other choices for energy providers, it is important that we are allowed to work with Duke Energy, and are not forced into situations we can not manage.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *********

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had Duke Energy service at my current residence for 9 years. On my most recent bill from Duke Energy, I was charged an additional $147. The bill was accompanied by a disconnection notice and a deposit notification. The "notification" stated that any payments made would first be applied to the deposit. I do not think it is fair to charge existing customers with "deposit" fees. $147 is a lot of money to request without notification and above a person's expected charges.

Desired Settlement: I think the "deposit" charge should be removed from my Duke Energy account.

Business Response:

 

We reviewed the ******’s account and found out that on 5/06/14 the account in fact was assessed a $147 security deposit. The account originally had a security deposit that was paid when the account was established in 2005, however the deposit was returned, refunded or credited to the account in 2006.

After 2011, all accounts that have 2-3 late payments within a 12 months period are assessed a security deposit. The amount of deposits is based on a 24 months average usage.

We notified the customer several times with a bill insert (see attachment) about bringing the account current or facing the possibility of being assessed a security deposit.

Unfortunately, we are unable to remove the deposit. We regret the inconvenience and look forward to answering any question the customer has in this regard.

The customer also complained to the North Carolina Utilities Commission and our commission response staff answered the complaint; a DPA was offered. Please let us know if you have additional questions, thank you.

***** *** *******

 

 

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to get my lights on in my name but they telling me that I will have to pay a deposit, an old bill that I owe, and my sisters old bill. The thing is my sister will not be staying with me and at the time I called to gwrong my lights in my name at my new place my sister called Duke Power to see if she owed any money to them. Some how my sister got some of the questions confused and put a application in for my apartment when she just wanted to see if she owed any money. Me and my landlord told them that my sister is not on my lease and that she will not be staying with me but they say since she filed out an application that she will either have to pay the old bill she owe or send in a lease with her name on it and two utility bills. My sister stays with my grandfather and she don't pay any bills. My landlord and I have tried to ask them if I can send in my lease but they keep telling me the same thing. At the moment I am unemployed and I have an section 8 voucher, if I don't get my lights on in my name I can loose my voucher for me and my kids. I have the money to pay my old bill but they still want cut them on in my name unless that bill my sister owe ain't paid and I don't see why I have to pay that bill when she not on my lease.

Desired Settlement: I just want to be able to pay what I owe and my deposit to get my lights in my name.

Business Response: ******* ***** would need to send in proof in the form of a lease and two utility bills in her sister's name to show that she is not living at this residence. If they are unable to provide that then the old bill would need to be paid.  I offered to bill her deposit of $200.00.  Thank you.

5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duke Energy has put a temporary hold on $221.00 on my bank account. I paid my bill on the phone and they charged my account twice. On February 22, I made a payment with a customer service rep on the phone with my bank debit card. Duke Energy charged my bank account for 2 payments, each $221.00. I only made on payment. I discovered they were holding this payment twice when I want to the grocery store and my card was declined. I have contacted Duke Energy a number of times now asking them to release the money they have put a hold on in my account, as the payment has already cleared and they were paid the amount I was to pay. They tell me that they cannot rectify this without me faxing a copy of my bank statement to them. The bank I use is an online bank and I do not receive statements in the mail. It is all online. Duke says they can't accept a print out of my statement printed from online. I have tried and tried to get Duke Energy to release the hold on the money in my account, but they insist on me sending my bank statement. The hold not only caused me to not have ANY money in my account for groceries, gas, etc. It has also caused my account to overdraft. Which has created other issues. I do not think I should have to jump through hoops for them to get them to rectify a situation that was their fault. They should fix this!! I did my part in paying my bill. They have caused me great hardship putting a hold on another $221 in my account. Today is 2/28, and the money is still being held in my account. Why should they put the burden of correcting this on me when it was their mistake. I want my money back!!

Desired Settlement: I want my $221 they are holding released back to my account and I want them to cover any overdraft fees I have had to pay because of this error.

Business Response:

  

Good morning ****** 

I had this complaint for quite some time. *** ****** also complained to our ethics line about the same. I have attempted to contact in three separate occasions (03/04-03/06-03/16) and have left messages to not avail. I investigated and could only find one payment/one withdrawal.  

All we are asking is that she provides the bank statement showing the double draft in order to refund her anything. We are not saying we did not do what she says we did, however we cannot refund her any money that she cannot prove we took. As far as I am concern, we can close this one as unanswered  from the customer’s side. Please advise, thanks*****.

3/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duke energy shut my power off with no warning whatsoever. Their was a billing issue on their end that they refuse to accept responsibility for. Their auto bill pay stopped charging me but never informed me of this issue. They are required to call me prior to termination of services but never called, they claim to have sent me multiple warnings none of which ever made it to me. They then shut my power off the night of a major snow storm. Then they found it appropriate to charge me to turn it back on which is standard if it was my fault but due to their lack of admittance to dropping the ball, refuse to refund me the money.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for treating me like a second hand citizen and a refund for the 15 dollars they robbed me of and the propane required to run my lantern for light.

Business Response:

We reviewed **. **** Complaint and determined that there was no error in the disconnection of service that occurred on 02/10. **. **** was enrolled in our e-bill program and we continued to notify **. **** about the past due balance that needed to be paid via email.

We verified that the last time he logged in to his account was at the end of November. At that time he made a payment, which was his last until the service was disconnected.

We also sent a 24 hours’ notice via regular mail to inform of the disconnection that would take place if payment was not received by 02/09. At this time his bills continue to be delivered via email to the email we have on file: ************************

We also verified that none of the emails we sent was returned not delivered. Based on that information we are unable to refund any reconnect fee assessed for the disconnection. We are closing the complaint and regret the inconvenience; we look forward to answering any question **. **** has.

Please let us know if you have further questions, thank you.

***** *** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

****** ****



I am rejecting this offer due to the fact that I never recieved any emails from duke, nor did I receive any mail warning me of an impending termination of service. However I did receive a disconnection notice the day after my utility termination. They have yet to even accept responsibility of not emailing or mailing or even a phone call at all. I never even received an apology. 

Business Response:

Unfortunately, based on the evidence we have we are unable to refund the reconnect fee. Bills are due upon received and as stated before, the account was not paid for over 60 days before it was disconnected. Our records show that an E-bill was sent and did not return undeliverable. We truly regret the inconvenience, but we cannot return the fee. Please let us know if you have additional concerns.

Thank you,

***** *** *******

 

 

3/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a house at *** ***** **.**********, SC.*****, which I have leased to a relative of mine for the past ten years or more. I had him evicted about six months ago.He left an unpaid power bill, and I was told that becouse he is a relative of mine, I would have to pay that bill before I could power turned on to do repairs to the house. I did not co-sign for him to get service and did not consent pay any unpaid bills. I do not see why Duke Energy would expect me to pay the bill for a renter just becouse he is a relative. I don,t think it is legal charge the property owner for unpaid bills of a renter?

Desired Settlement: I would like to have service at *** ***** *** ********** SC. turn on so I can do repairs to the house for the normal fee of $15.00.

Business Response: We removed the prior bill on* * ********* account and have scheduled the service to be connected 2-28-14. Spoke to customer and he is satisfied, will close complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

* * ********

2/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been paying extra money the last three months for extra deposit you have requested and it is not showing on account. Your company needs to get it together. Also you do not extend payment however I have been paying on time for the last three months including the extra you want for deposit which you are not putting toward my account for the last three months. Your accounting is not accurate something needs desperately to be done and commented to the better business bureau. Look you know you are not doing right take care of this.

Desired Settlement: Would like the extra deposit to be shown as well as if extra days required for payment give it to me. The only reason that I had power turned off in the first place is because the customer service reps were deceiving and lying however I honestly believe they were lying because they thought they would lose job because upper management at "DUKE ENERGY" will replace them with no problem with more untrained employees. Its not customer service level it is upper management level that is nervous.

Business Response:

February 12, 2014, Duke Energy Florida’s response to **. *****’s complaint is below:

 

On October 8, 2013, Duke Energy******* (***) interrupted the electric service due to a past due balance in the amount of $294.73. That same day, *** received a payment in the amount of $294.73, and services were restored. A reconnection charge in the amount of $40.00 was assessed to the account. *** reviewed the amount of deposit on hand ($205.00) and found it to be deficient. The 12 month average bill at **. *****’s premise is $200.00, which equates to a $400.00 deposit requirement. Due to the non-payment service interruption, *** assessed an additional deposit in the amount of $195.00. A letter was mailed to **. ***** advising of the deposit requirement.

 

On November 22, 2013, **. ***** contacted *** Customer Service to inquire about the deposit requirement. The representative agreed to bill the $195.00 deposit requirement into 3 monthly installments of $65.00.

 

On December 10, 2013, *** issued a monthly statement, via electronic billing, in the amount of $263.25 ($193.25 current usage + $65.00 deposit installment + $5.00 late payment charge), with a current bill due date of January 2, 2014.

 

On January 7, 2014, *** received a payment in the amount of $263.25.

 

On January 9, 2014, *** issued a monthly statement, via electronic billing, in the amount of $243.57 ($178.57 current usage + $65.00 deposit installment), with a current bill due date of January 31, 2014.

 

On February 3, 2014, *** received **. *****’s complaint from the BBB. That same day, **. ********* ******, Consumer Affairs Specialist, contacted **. ***** to discuss her complaint. A voicemail was left requesting a return call.

 

On February 6, 2014, **. ****** attempted to contact **. ***** to discuss her complaint. A voicemail was left requesting a return call. **. ****** reviewed **. *****’s account and  extended the current balance in the amount of $243.57 until February 27, 2014.

 

On February 10, 2014, **. ****** mailed a certified letter (attached) to **. *****, acknowledging receipt of her complaint and requesting a return call.

 

On February 11, 2014, *** received a payment in the amount of $243.57.

 

As of February 12, 2014, **. ***** has not returned **. ******’ phone calls.

 

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My business experienced a power outage due to underground line installed by Duke Energy. The location had been open approx two months when the power issue occurred. Duke responded quickly to restore power to the building. They had to remove a small section of my new paving to fix their line and assured me that they would be back to repair the asphalt. They have not come back to fix the asphalt and I now have a pothole in my lot. Almost one month has passed since that time and I have called/emailed customer service several times. I have confirmation numbers for each call/email. I have been told by the customer service representative that their department has been notified and that they would contact me with a time frame on resolving the issue. With that said, I have not heard from them at all. Losing power (and business) due to faulty workmanship on their part was bad enough. Now I have a pothole in my brand new parking lot that Duke Energy has not only ignored but not even had the courtesy to return my phone calls and emails.

Desired Settlement: Fix the pavement promptly and in full.

Business Response: We spoke to the customer and the asphalt was repaired last week.  We are closing this complaint, thank you.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday Jan 6,2014 a power surge hit our home @ approx. 8:00 pm. It blew out the washing machine, installed microwave, stove, refrigerator, tank less hot water heater, ** * * ******* equipment, WII, sensor light, street light, security system and several surge protectors. As we walked inside the house the electric smell was so strong. Called Duke Energy and @ approx. 2:30 am on Tuesday, Jan 7,2014 two Duke Energy gentlemen came to the house and after a few minutes told us the "Neutral" underground to our house was bad and to completely shut off the power. Duke Energy Claim # ****************. This was also the coldest night on record in the past 20 years. On Tuesday, Jan 7,2014 @ approx 1:30 pm two gentlemen from**** ******** came to the house and said we had corrosion on the "neutral" on the line side at the meter. They cleaned it and said everything was fine. Meanwhile we had to get all appliances affected repaired. No charge for any of the appliances due to the extended warranties we purchased when we purchased them. All were fairly new. The claims adjuster just kept telling my husband keep all receipts, so we did. The tank less hot water heater had to be completely replaced because it was so fried. We had to eat out cause we couldn't cook and had no refrigerator for 11 days. Finally got all repaired and or replaced on Tuesday, Jan 21, 2014. Then last night it happened again. Called Duke Energy #******* and **** was there within the hour. Come to find out everyone was wrong. It was the "Allen Splice" on the power pole that was bad and no one even looked at it until last night. We have all receipts like we were told and the total amount that Duke Energy cost us was exactly $3297 and some change. $339 to eat for 11 days, $315 to replace the food lost in the frig (which we didn't even replace it all) and $2643.00 for electrician, plumber, HVAC check, security equipment replacement and tank less hot water replacement. If we had not come home our house would have burnt down!

Desired Settlement: Duke Energy feels we only deserve $2549.70. They didn't have to pay for any appliance repairs. They wont pay for the total cost of replacing the tank less hot water heater, the amount we spent due to having to eat out, $30.00 per day or the full grocery replacement. We are having to eat the difference of approx $747 due to an incompetent claims adjuster by the name of ***** *******.

2/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their online bill pay has been down for over 2 months and they can not tell you when it will be fixed. For the past month I have been calling and emailing them to find out what the problem is and when it will be fixed. No one can tell me they just keep telling me that they are aware of the issue and are working on it. If they want their money each month from their customers they should have a website that works, and if they can't figure out how to work their website then they should shut it down and not encourage people to sign up for "e-bill", a system that clearly doesn't work. I can only view the amount that is owed to them on their website I can not even view my bill without receiving an error. I was told today that they have many other options for payment...none of which are convienant. They give you the option of driving a across town to pay a bill...not convienant....they give you the option to pay over the phone but charge almost $3 to do...not convienant especially when it is not our fault as customers THEIR system doesn't work or you buy checks and send them checks via mail...which not to many people buy checks anymore because most reputable companies have websites and online bill pay options that work! Their customer service operators are rude and unresponsive and just say the same thing over and over again. You can't speak to a supervisor as they can only "call you back" I have requested that and never received a call.

Desired Settlement: Bottom line, their website needs to be fixed or they need to un-enroll all of their customers from their "e-bill" system that doesn't work and stop advertising it to new customers. They should mail out bills each month if they can't get their act together and have a working website and e-bill system. We as customer should not have to inconvenienced by their lack of customer service and technological advances...if they can't figure out how make something WORK they shouldn't be able to offer it.

Business Response: We worked extensively with our IT Department to resolve this consumer's issue.   It took time to correct the situation.   Our system automatically deactivates a closed account from internet billing and transfers the internet billing to the consumer's new account.   That is what happened but the customer went in and deactivated the closed account simultaneously and what that in essence did was cancel her new account in the internet billing system.  IT had to do a data repair and we contacted the customer to advise her to re register in our system.    As of January 22, the consumer stated she did that and she can now view and pay her bill in the system.   Even though we were unable to work within BBB's timeframe, we stayed in direct communication with the consumer.

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Security Deposit Rude CSR After being a customer with Duke Energy in South Carolina for almost 9 years, I and my husband are being told to pay a deposit or else. We did not have to pay a deposit with them due to having good credit. Never have we had our power cut off but are told to pay or go without power. Now we are told that because we a few days late, we now have to pay a $400 deposit. How is it right for a company to do this? They are very rude when on the phone trying to resolve any problems. I have been hung up on and lied to. We have online bills so we never get a paper bill at all. All CSR's have told us that information is on the back of the bill, which we cannot see. I have searched every link on my account and cannot find any information on this.

Desired Settlement: help trying to resolve this affair. Either payments or not having to pay a deposit when it is not warranted.

Business Response: I have tried to contact this customer on 3 different occasions and have not received a response.  We are closing this complaint.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:

This is the first time I have seen email regarding my complaint
 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

******** ****




1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Annoying payment arrangement policies, and inadequately experienced customer service agents to help resolve payment arrangement problems. During the last billing cycle I lost electricity for two days because I forgot about a silly policy requiring payment arrangements be made at least 5 days prior to the due date. I called about making payment arrangements prior to the due date, and within five days of the due date, but not before 5 days. I explained that I needed only two days until my payday when I could pay the balance. No help was given, no resolution made, and the only advice given was to call a number for some agency that might be able to help pay the bill. There apparently is no alternative to calling an outside agency. This billing cycle I again have a past due balance, but Duke Energy decide to charged a deposit for "inadequate payment history". Any payment I make now will not go to pay for electricity I used, but will instead go to the deposit. So I have this situation of pay the extra deposit or have electricity disconnected again. Also, Duke Energy scheduled for disconnection on the 30th of December prior to the due date of December 25th. I have been told that payment is due the 25th of each month after which the balance is considered late. To summarize the problems I have are as follows: 1 -- The 5 day payment arrangement requirement with no leeway 2 -- No customer service willing to resolve problems in house without referral to some agency that might be able to help 3 -- Scheduling of disconnection prior to the due date in the winter with lows projected in the 30's over the next ten days 4 -- A deposit requirement for "inadequate payment history" with no specific reasoning considering that every bill has been paid regardless of timeliness If there was another electricity company I would switch companies, but since Duke Energy is the only one the practices I have described are an exercise of tyranny.

Desired Settlement: Besides the total elimination of Duke Energy I believe the problem can be resolved in one of two ways: 1 -- Elimination of the deposit requirement with the remainder balance to be paid by me on December 27th by 5 pm. or 2 -- To satisfy the company's greedy need for a $141 deposit allow an extension to pay the deposit and the $143.21 for a total of $284.21 to be made on January 3 2014 to allow for me to receive my pay for that week.

12/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is a charge on my power bill for $193 dollars that was taken from a former clients account and placed as a charge on mine. When asked for an explanation, the bill is my charge now because this former client and I had a mutual roommate. This roommate was on neither contract, and the former client and I did not board with this person at the same time. The former client claimed to have called and set up a payment plan so that she would be paying the charge and not me, but the charge has not disappeared from my account, nor does it appear to have been paid. Now, this charge is threatening my power usage, and the company has declared they will be shutting my power off on 12-20-13. This will deprive my two-week old baby of necessary heat and the power required to care for her.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charge removed from my account, and if it is to be paid, I would like the charge to be sent to the rightful account owner.

Business Response:

We reviewed the account and the charges that were transferred are valid. We  set up a payment arrangement and stopped the disconnection. 

***** *******

Customer Experience Associate

*************

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unfairly Charged Deposit 4 Years Later I have been a Duke Power customer for 4+ years and always paid my bill accordingly. I accidentally missed a payment in Sept, but paid it in Oct and avoided any disconnection. However, this past month along with my normal bill I received a deposit request for almost $200. Is it a normal practice for Duke Power to bully it's customers?! My bill has always been paid and my power has never been turned off. This is absurd!

Desired Settlement: Please remove this deposit request from my account or I will be forced to pursue legal action.

Business Response:

The customer did not provide a good phone number in the complaint. I attempted to contact him using the phone number that was on his account but could not reach him.  Please have customer provide a valid phone number and we will be glad to contact him.  Thank you.  

 

***** *******

Customer Experience Associate

*************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

As a client they should have all of my contact information and I should not have to provide it to them again.  I have not received an acceptable response and no action on their part to resolve this "deposit" issue has happened. Therefore I cannot accept their response.

If they wish to credit my account the deposit they charged me they can reach me at ************. No other response will be acceptable.


Regards,

******** ******



Business Response:

Good morning,

We checked the account and verified that *** ****** found a guarantor who signed for the amount of the deposit. The deposit has been removed from the account because of the guarantor’s commitment and will remain off the account for as long as the guarantor remains.

If the guarantor removes the name from the account the deposit will be placed back on the account and will be removed only when the account is in good standing. Deposits are assessed to accounts with more than two late payments in a 12 months period and deposits are refunded with 8.5% interest when that condition no longer exists.

We attempted to contact *** ****** to explain, but he was unavailable. A voice mail was left and he never returned the call. We are closing this complaint; please let us know if you have questions. Thank you.

***** *** *******

 

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been on the phone with Duke Power consistently for 2 months trying to get the issue of a fradualant situation removed off of an account I NEVER created or opened up. I have submitted a police report showing this has been filed. I have sent in ALL the paperwork asked of me several times. I have been told I would get a call back and that the issue would be resolved. But this issues still continues and the supervisor that i spoke with was very nasty and did not assist me in any way.

Desired Settlement: i would like to have this issues resolved because i am paying for an apartment that i cant stay in due to i dont have service because of this account that i did not start.

Business Response:

Hello *****, 

We received this one and have been in communication with the customer . She was asked to send us additional documentation to prove that she is not responsible for the charges added and that part is still being investigated. I contacted her today to let her know that we are still investigating and will get back with her as soon as we hear from the investigation group. She understood and was thankful. 

My peer ***** has been handling this one, but she is out sick today, I told the customer that we will get back with her when ***** is back, probably tomorrow. Anyway, let me know if you have additional questions. Thanks and happy Thanksgiving!

Consumer Response: I have sent everything they have asked for and its been two months and nothing has been done. They have not been in contact with me and i was informed that it would been taken care of within in 15 days and now my power is off. I talked to a sup today and he was very rude abd was no assistance to me. I am very aggravated and me and my children are in the cold with no power and no one can do anything.Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********


9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Damage to my property. Duke Energy was servicing neighbor and using my property for access. My permission wasn't obtained. My reason for this complaint is due to the fact of one of Duke Energy's drivers damaged my yard and covered my private driveway in mud. The added problem to this is the fact that they were doing work on someone else's service and were using my driveway for access without my permission. My driveway is not a public access just because they have a difficult time having access to a utility pole. They can go back to using a ladder if this is the case. My driveway happens to run between my neighbors property and my home sits behind their property. Even so, it is obvious that it is not a public access from the point of where they drove into my grass to access their property to get to a utility pole. I'm sorry that they have a difficult time getting to their service location, but using my property, while damaging it is not acceptable. When I saw the two trucks, I told the man that he had to leave because he was blocking my private driveway and that I had to leave. I am landlocked and have no other way out. He then asked me if my address was**** ******* **. I said no. They installed a night light on a utility pole. By some chance that they return to take it down or move it, I do not want them using my driveway or grass. They can march to the pole carrying their ladder or what they need. That is rude and inconsiderate to use my property without permission and then damage it. If this happens again, I will file a police report and go to the magistrate for compensation of damages.

Desired Settlement: I do not want them using my property whatsoever unless it is to service my property for my sole benefit. If this happens again, I will demand compensation for damage. The best thing for everyone involved, is to not use my property and trespass upon it without permission.

Business Response:

Good morning,

Someone from our field services contacted *** ******** and discussed his concern. We have noted the account with the remarks he requested to avoid future issues. We are closing this complaint; please let us know if you have any question. Thank you.

8/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On multiple occasions, Duke Energy has generated "phantom fees" which include supposed unpaid balances and deposits that come out of nowhere. Example: 1 Jun 2012 I was required to pay a 100$ deposit, one year later, with absolutely nothing different on my credit report, I am being required to pay a 200$ deposit for power, on top of a 15$ dollar unpaid balance fee that was completely paid off. I have been treated rudely by their customer service team non many occasions, on top of having my power disconnected with 25$ (TWENTY FIVE) balance on my bill including a reconnection fee. On top of that, this is the only power provider in my area, effectively tying my hands with their monopoly on the power industry here.

Desired Settlement: I just want to make sure Duke Powers practices and standards are exposed. Horrid company that unfortunately has a lot of people enslaved in the upstate.

Business Response:

Hello,

We received the above complaint and we are investigating; we attempted to contact *** ****** to discuss, but he was unavailable. A message was left with his mother to call us back. We will update the results when *** ****** calls back. Please let us know if you have questions, thank you.

***** *** *******

 

7/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to pay my energy bill in the amount of 227.92 with an E-Bill system on 2/18/2013. I was informed both over the phone and via email that I am unable to use that system at this time. When I was on the phone with an employee double checking all this I was told it would be ok to remove the funds from my bank account and pay at a ******** *** ******* Payment Location. I did so and was also informed that funds would not be processed to my bank in addition to what I was paying in cash. They went ahead and processed a second in the amount of 227.92 on the 22nd. If I were prepared for this it would have been ok but I was told everything was processed with my cash payment and nothing would be going through the bank. Secondly it incurred fees to me in addition to being paid. They have also made false promises in how they are rectifying this and the time in which they would do so. This has also affected my mortgage because its running late while waiting on them. I would like to see my fees and 227.92 back. I would also like someone to take charge to get this handled.

Desired Settlement: I would like the 227.92 plus the two fees incurred b/c of this in the amount of 33.00 each; so a total of 293.22

Business Response:

May 13,2013, Duke Energy *******’s response is below.

On May 7, 2013, *** ****** ****, Senior Consumer Affairs Associate,  attempted to contact *** ****.  ** **** left a message for *** ****, requesting a return call.  Later that day, *** **** spoke to *** ****.  *** **** explained that she contacted Duke Energy ******* (DEF) to inquire about the payment she submitted through Checkfree.  Checkfree allows PEF’s customers to submitted a payment for their bill via the customer’s banking institution. *** **** stated that the representative explained to her that her check writing privileges were suspended, due a previous return item, and that the check would not be processed. *** **** stated that the representative advised her to go to the payment station and make a cash payment.  *** **** stated that she withdrew money from her bank account and made a payment at a local pay station.

On March 22, 2013, the payment *** **** submitted via Checkfree debited from her bank account, resulting in two $32.00 overdraft fees. *** **** apologized for the inconvenience caused by the matter. *** **** confirmed that she had received a refund check for the overpayment of $227.92, but feels DEF should reimburse her for the bank fees in the amount of $64.00.

*** **** explained that she faxed a second copy of her bank statement to DEF. *** **** advised that she would further investigate the matter and contact *** **** with an update.  

On May 8, 2013, *** **** contacted *** **** and advised that she had obtained ******** bank statement and received approval for reimbursement of the bank overdraft fees. *** **** explained that a check would be issued to *** **** in approximately 2 weeks.

*** **** expressed satisfaction with the resolution of her complaint.

******* ** ******

Consumer Affairs Analyst

Duke Energy *******

Internal  ********

External (**** ********

cid:image001.png@01CE3C91.1EE2FD40

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged $15 reconnect fee but never received disconnect notice. On March 8th my power was turned off because I did not make a payment of $54.06 by 5pm on March 7th. Unfortunately,I NEVER received a REMINDER NOTIFICATION, that the FINAL DISCONNECTION NOTICE claims. I would have made the payment or made a payment arrangement had I had prior notification. I am disappointed because I have asked DUKE POWER in the past to communicate better with me and yet again I was not provided information that would have saved my the $15 RECONNECT FEE, a fee I cannot afford.

Desired Settlement: To resolve the problem, I would appreciate the $15 RECONNECT FEE be refunded. Enclosed are copies of the only notification I received, FINAL DISCONNECTION NOTICE, which was received on March 8th after my power had been disconnected.

Business Response:

Good morning, 

We received the above complaint and investigated. We discovered that *** ******* contacted us via email on March 05, 2013 inquiring about payment arrangement for her past due bill. We responded on 03/07/2013 @1:59pm, the day prior to the disconnection informing her of the actions that needed to be taken to avoid the disconnection on 03/08/2013.  

*** ******* currently receives her bills via email from us and in her previous bill dated 02/12/2013 we included a disconnection notice (copy of bill included) with the amount needed to avoid disconnection and date and time when the balance needed to be paid. 

Based on the evidence we have we are denying *** ******* request to have the reconnect fee refunded. We regret the inconvenience and look forward to providing great customer service. Please let us know if you have questions, thank you. 

***** *** ******* 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

 

Regards,

******* ******* 
 I am rejecting because I NEVER received notice prior to my power being disconnected. I asked for a copy and was told that THEY are unable to replicate the notice. So its my word against their word, and I am a small customer and they are BIG BUSINESS. 

In addition to the document that I've attached I sent a request to Duke Power (via their Customer Service Page) requesting to make an arrangement to pay my bill approximately 72 hours before my power was disconnected. Wouldn't a reasonable person, who received prior notice to her power being turned off have contacted Duke earlier or just paid what was due to avoid the issue of disconnection and a re-connection fee?

I do not accept the response made by the business to resolve the complaint.

 

Business Response:

Good morning Linda,

I thought we had closed this complaint denying to refund the reconnect fee. *** ******* alleges she was unaware of the disconnect order and it was being disconnected. I think I responded previously with screenshot of the disconnect notification in her bill and another screenshot of her email inquiry to our web support. Based on the information we have we can’t refund the reconnect fee because she was not disconnected in error. We refund reconnect fees if there a mistake in our part and the customer is disconnected in error, but in *** ********* case there was not error. Please let me know if this answers your question, thanks.

 

cid:image001.png@01CE3C91.1EE2FD40

***** *** *******

Customer Experience

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

 

******* *******

I am rejecting the offer because just because the representative showed a screen shot of a letter alegedly sent to me does not mean that said letter was received by me. This is becoming a 'he said she said' thing which I do not have time or patience for. In good faith and customer care DUKE would refund the re-connect fee, but since they apparently do not follow the tenents of CUSTOMER CARE I will drop the matter and DUKE ASAP.

 

Thanks!

******* *******

 

 

4/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I apply for service at my current new address that I just moved in the location in Jan. I applied to get the light turned on and they told me I had some old bills that needed to be paid. I agreed with the old bills. At the time, I wasnt in a hurry because my landlord still hand power in his name. An ex of mine took it upon hiself to put in an application for my address. I guess he thought that this would help and I have NOT been able to get my lights on since. Duke Energy INSIST that he was an occupant of my residents and that I now have to pay his old bill plus mine. My kids and I have been without power for about a month and I dont know what to do to resolve this matter. I never dispute what I owe them but to have to pay both bills is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: Drop the addition bill

Business Response:

Contacted customer concerning her complaint. ******* ****** and ******* ********** have both applied for service at same location back to back. He added her as roommate and both have charge offs. Informed **** ****** will need proof of resident for him before charge offs will be removed. Informed her,would be willing to work with her and offered agencies help. Please let us know if you have any questions. Thanks

*** *******

 

4/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I moved into a rental house on December 1, 2012 I had to have the utilities put into my name. When I called Duke Power to have the electricty transferred to my name they said there should not be any service at the house and there was. They came and turned it off. In order to have power restored I had to agree to have $162.12 added to my bill from the previous tennants. The landlord agreed to have it taken care of. When the landlord contacted the previous tennants the man had passed away and the wife said she had the power turned off on October 30, 2012. The $162.12 is from Duke Power not turning the power off and power being used while the house was vaccant. Duke Power is trying to make me pay a bill that is not my responsibility. I was living in ********* at the time the power was being billed. I want this to be taken off of my bill and not to effect my credit. I have paid them from December 2012 until we moved out on February 5, 2013.

Desired Settlement: To have the remaining balance taken off of my bill.

Consumer Response: The address for the Duke Power account was *** ***** ***** ********* ***** ********* *****.

Business Response:

Contacted customer concerning her complaint. We have reached a resolution. She is satisfied.

*** *******

3/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to discuss my bill with several different workers because some of them where not addressing my problem or just didn't care. I asked them to come out and check meter because it had been tampered with. They told me it was nothing they could do it was a police matter even though I told then the lock was broken off.

Desired Settlement: My bill for the past 3 months has been 400 dollars per month and now it is over 700$. When I first moved n for bout four months its been no more than 135$. I know something is wring because I live in a little house so either some one us stealing it or I'm being over charged. Please help me get thus Bill back to normal.

Business Response:

Contacted customer concerning her complaint and resolved her issue.

*** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined tha

Regards,

******* *******

 

 i understand that he said he put a new meter in but what about the bill. i feel that it is duke energy fault that the meter was bad so i feel that i should get a credit.

Business Response:

Per previous rebuttal; we contacted the customer concerning her high bill complaint.  On 02/07/13 a new meter was installed and on 02/18/13 her new meter was re-read at her request. All readings were in line. Also her regular reading was on 02/22/13 for new bill and bills still seem to be high. Explained to customer she may have some equipment problems and she stated she will get in touch with landlord to have equipment checked. We are closing complaint based on the information above, nothing else we can do.

*** *******

 

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Numerous payments for the same bill have been made. Out of the 7 payment, Duke only refunded one so far. They keep adding late payment charges even though the first payment was early. The same amount stays on current bills. Charged already one reconnection ($250) charge due to their billing problems which is probably the reason they maintain this mess to begin with

Desired Settlement: Fix their incredible mess, refund the 6x overpayment

1/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service