Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Duke Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Duke Energy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 48 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

48 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 29
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 16
Total Closed Complaints 48

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Duke Energy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 17, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1905
Business Management
Mr. George Acker, Business Relations Manager Mr. Mike Wilson, District Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Acker, Business Relations Manager
Business Category

Electric Companies


Additional Locations

  • 1636 Pearman Dairy Road

    Anderson, SC 29625

  • 201 North Main Street

    Travelers Rest, SC 29690

  • 40 W Broad Street Suite 690

    Greenville, SC 29601 (864) 370-5061

  • 425 Fairforest Way

    Greenville, SC 29607

  • 664 Issaqueena Trail

    Central, SC 29631

  • 808 Reidville Road

    Duncan, SC 29334

  • 821 Main Street SE

    Simpsonville, SC 29681

  • 848 Bypass 72 North West

    Greenwood, SC 29646

  • 920 Beaumont Avenue

    Spartanburg, SC 29303

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i have been trying to get duke to move my underground power for over a month. i have been in touch with the engineer and have completed all paperwork. i first contacted them on june 14th. the engineer met with me and we went over what i needed. he said that he was gonna put the request in and it should take no more than 14 business days to complete. so after the 14 days were up not counting weekends and holidays no show. i called him back and was told that they had storm damage to get to first (keep in mind this is during a drought). i said ok i understand and he assured me that it would be done within the week. week came around still no call no show. so i reached out to him agian only to get no answer or return call back. i had to call the main office to get in touch with someone. the engineer finally called me back and said he didnt know a date for the job that he will be in touch when he gets one. so after another week goes by i had to call him again and he said he didnt know when its gonna be done so i told him to just lets us know and get it at the earliest chance. well after a week my wife calls and they said that we were on the schedule for july 27th 2016. so today is the 27th no show no call. i call back up there and they completely denied that we were on schedule for that day and are now saying that its gonna be aug 3rd . so now after almost two months we have got nothing but the run around and very unprofessional treatment. all were trying to do is get it moved so we can have our family pool put in. the summer is almost over and with all the frustrations and lies we may just cancel the pool and get a boat. they have the market cornered on the whole power scam whom else can i call to move power? no one!

Desired Settlement: quit promising customers service when you clearly are too incompetent to do so.

Consumer Response: I am just looking for the company to complete the task of moving my underground power 

Business Response:

Duke Energy completed the underground work on July 28, 2016 and confirmed with the customer the yard work completed to customer's satisfaction.

We apologize for any inconvenience or delay with the service installation. Duke Energy closing the BBB based on this resolution.

3/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a bill for $707 and immediately contacted Duke Energy to find out why my bill went from $100/mth to now $707. I was advised that my ex wife had an account that they linked me to and transferred her outstanding balance to my account. They advised that since she (without my permission) listed me as her spouse on her account even though at the time we where legally separated and residing in separate residences. The end of November at our divorce hearing the court awarded me the home at *** ***** ** ********, SC the home my wife was living in but I was ordered to transfer all utility accounts in to my name and she was to disconnect any services that where in her name. I then moved in to the residence after paying a $250 deposit I now had a Duke Energy account that was solely in my name. Now just weeks ago they put her outstanding balance of over $500 on my account. It is my understanding that she had her mother listed as a Personal Guarantor on the account of hers which she closed. Considering South Carolina is not a spousal debt state, they being Duke Energy never had my permission or consent to add me or list me on the account in any way, we where legally separated, and I did not reside in the residence during the time this account was opened and debt was incurred there is no legally standing for Duke Energy to apply her outstanding balance to my account. If anyone should be liable it should be my ex wife and/or her mother/personal guarantor ***** ********.

Desired Settlement: Immediately remove the unjust charge from my account and bill the party whom opened the account her address is: **** ******* *** *** ********** ** ******, SC 29627

Business Response: We have contacted the customer and addressed his concerns and the issue is resolved. Please let me know if you have additional question.

2/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So frustrated. I've been a customer of Duke Energy since moving to SC in May of 2014. Never had any issues. In December & January of the past year, I completely missed a payment. It was a mistake on my part. January 12, my power was disconnected with NO notice. No phone call, no email, no letter, no notice on my residence. I called to pay the full amount & inquire why I never received notice. I would have happily paid but never even received ANY bills in both Dec or Jan via email. Since I started with their service, every bill has come via email & paid. Never received those the bills. Four days AFTER my power was reconnected, I received the disconnection notice dated 1/7/16. Since Jan, I received another late bill last Friday. Again, I called because my bill could not possibly be late as its always due the same time every single month. I was given NO answers why, immediately went online during our conversation and paid the "past due amount". Now today, 2-11-16, I received a bill showing I now owe a security deposit of $172! I've never even had a monthly bill over $80 and have never had to pay any deposits for electricity in my life. I called to inquire & was told it was due to my extreme delinquencies. ???? I have called numerous times to speak to a manager or someone who can explain these bills to me. I would gladly pay my bill every month - it's a small amount. And I NEVER want to jeopardize my credit for something so small! I just cannot understand why they come different times each month, some months they never arrive. I'd like to have a reasonable explanation why the HIGH deposit amount. Please help any way you can. After five calls trying to work this issue out, I'm beyond frustrated.

Desired Settlement: I'd love to have the security deposit explained to me and get an understanding why NEITHER December nor January bills made it to me. A $172 deposit on a two year old account when I've been accidentally late twice seems a bit inflated.

Consumer Response:

My apologies for my hasty email complaint yesterday. I was BEYOND frustrated that no one at Duke Power could answer any of my questions, nor explain why all these charges kept piling on. I was able to speak with someone last night who was kind enough to go over everything with me. While the fee still seems high, I completely understand why they did it now. I've paid the fee this morning and all is resolved on my end. I tried to explain to them all I wanted was answers and I'd pay it. 

Thank you for the work you do! And again, I apologize for issuing a complaint before exhausting all options. I hope it hasn't wasted any of your time. 

Thanks -
********* ********
Complaint ********

11/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Because we wanted to avoid the possibility of a late payment, I signed up for automatic pay which put us on the equal payment plan. Occasionally, I get a notice that the price has to be adjusted to better reflect our energy usage. Great. Perfect. We don't have much extra money in a typical month so it helps us plan our budget and not be blindsided by a huge out-of-the-blue bill amount. ...Until it get's to the end of the year and were charged $885 (up from $175). That's more than 5 times our normal amount. It really hurt us financially. It's 3 months later at the time of this complaint and we still haven't recovered. This aspect of the automatic payment plan is so dangerous i have to say it's irresponsible. It has sparked a ton of stress and uncertainty about our ability to pay all of our bills this fall.

Desired Settlement: I want someone to acknowledge the problem and change the communication about the equal payment plan. It seems to me that if the service offered is to make a predictable payment, than (other than seasonal adjustments) Duke aught to absorb that remaining balance if they want it off the books at the end of the year. That's probably the best solution as it would motivate the company to do a better job estimating payments to avoid the issue. I understand the big lump sum amount we were charged was to even the balance of energy charges and payments collected but it would go a long way to repair the damage that was done to our household finances after we were blindsided by the experience.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer and addressed his concerns. We appreciate the feedback that he had concerning our EPP program.

9/1/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After falling behind on our bill our power got turned off after paying almost $*** they now want another $*** plus 2 months payments balancing out to $*****! I can't afford the regular bill so I am baffled on how Duke expects anyone much less a family that can't afford this do this! We are against the wall no other company in the area provides electric so Duke has the monopoly. It is criminal and cruel to be at the point where the local agencies can't help since they are stretched thin and Duke has informed me they WILL NOT adjust anything and nothing can be done. Either pay or we will again be without power during the worst part of summer.

Desired Settlement: I would like either the deposit to be less or removed. No one can afford this it is borderline criminal to drive families into the ground like this.

Business Response: We contacted the customer and addressed her concerns and the customer is satisfied. Please let me know if you have additional questions.

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am looking for credit for a deposit that was charged after I had been a customer for over a year. i started service in April 2014 when I moved to Greenville, SC. Duke did not require a deposit at that point and time to start service. My bills were paid monthly. I received one notice in 2025 that I was scheduled for interruption and the payment was made. I receive emails monthly telling me my balance is due and then I log into their mobile portal to pay it. When I logged in for July I noticed that my bill was higher than normal. I pulled up the statement this time to see why. Apparently there was a deposit charged. I called and spoke with a representative who wasn't able to give any insight other than her say she could not waive it. I asked to speak with a supervisor and spoke with ******. They also gave no options and said it would need to be paid. They explained that the account has been past due since July 2014 and that it was disconnected twice. I was unaware of this as I have been making payments and never went without power. I paid the balance due on the account and was advised that everything was up to date, I asked to speak with the person above ****** because I would like a credit for the $203 seeing as I was unaware all this was happening behind the scenes. ****** said he would be unable to credit and he said I would be able to speak with *********. This was over 3 weeks ago and I have yet to hear from her.

Desired Settlement: I am only looking to have the deposit of $203.00 credited to my account.

Consumer Response: Hi ******

I received an email back on 8/10 with your contact info at the bottom. When I checked the status of the complaint it said I could send additional information. 
I received a call from a rep **** at the Duke on 8/12. I called back and left her a message requesting a call back to which I never received one. I came home on 8/13 to no power. I called and was transferred to their HQ department and spoke with ******. She stated **** never made any note on the account and if I wanted power back I was forced to pay the very amount I was disputing, 214, now including a $15 reconnect fee. I paid this to have power restored and have requested a call back from ****'s supervisor ******* ******. I am not sure how to proceed as no one with authority who handles these issues is returning my call.
Thank You,
******* **************

Business Response: We have contacted the customer and addressed her concerns and the customer is satisfied. Please let me know if you have additional questions.

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duke Power failed to disconnect service at apartment, continued to bill for the apartment we bought and new address since march 2015 Called today after discovering I have been paying for old address' power bill AND home we bought since March 2015. Rude supervisor refuses to address issue, blames us. HOW WOULD THEY HAVE THE NEW ADDRESS IF WE DIDN'T CALL? I am disabled and spend weeks in the hospital. Everything came in under same account, so I would be out of hospital, pay bills, be sick and just caught on today that something wasn't right. I want a refund back to March 1st. I paid the balance on the account today to keep service and stated to rep it was being paid UNDER PROTEST TO KEEP SERVICE. My husband called to switch service and I submitted a form online. This is absurd. I am owed a refund.

Desired Settlement: A refund of power bill paid to old address after March 1st on the account. An apology from the supervisor that was rude and condescending.

Consumer Response:

I don't know if I was able to be clear in my original complaint. We bought a new house in October. I filed a change of address date for March online with Duke Power. We were continuing to rent the apartment we were in until March as the house was being renovated. My husband called Duke Power in March to give them the information that the move was happening and to stop services at the apartment. Duke Power failed to do this. I am disabled. I literally spend weeks in the hospital. I was in the hospital all of May. I thought the bills were coming to close together but thought it was carry over from amounts due. I would be away and come back home after treatments. Finally I caught on that I was being billed too much and called Duke Power today. Duke Power refuses to accept responsibility and made me pay BOTH accounts. I paid under protest and stated to the rep I was paying under protest to keep service and had her to note this on my account. The supervisor I had spoke to before this was rude and blaming me. If I didn't call duke power to change service locations then how do they have my new address to know to bill the purchased house also??? Good question huh. Maybe that they messed up and are using their power as the only available service provider to take advantage?

Consumer Response:

Please update my complaint number #******** with this information. Spoke with the apartment manager this morning.  The tenants made several attempts to have power put in their name and were refused by duke power. The apartment manager also called duke power and told them we weren't there and duke power still did not put the power in the new tenants name. The apartment manger is preparing a statement and I will forward this to you. Thank you.

Consumer Response: To whom it may concern: 
I have included an attachment of a letter written by the apartment complex stating our move out date, this was the date I was told the power would be cut off to that unit by a Duke power employee. Please feel free to contact me, or Mrs. ***** ***** at ******** at ******** if you have any questions or concerns. 
Best regards, 
**** ******* * ********* ******** *** *********** * ********* ***** ***** ******* **** ** 

Business Response: We have attempted to call customer 3 different occasions at ************with no response. There has been no answer and the voicemail box has not been set up. We are closing this complaint.

Consumer Response: Please have Duke Power contact me at ************, also i have faxed the required documents to Duke Power at the fax number their customer service provided, can they please review those documents?          Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: The customer did not call in to cancel service at their old location. I reviewed the calls: Customer called on 11/3/14 to request service in the new location and specifically said the power has to stay on at the old location because they were not ready to move. Customer called on 11/6/14 to go on the equal payment program. Customer called on 2/19/15 to make sure they were on the equal payment program. Even though they moved out on March 3, 2015 they are still responsible for the billing because they never called to cancel the service. We have attempted to contact the customer at ************and still have not gotten a response. We are closing this complaint.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

******* *******

That is false. Firstly there was no phone call on 11/6- that was the online form I first submitted for changing over services. The phone call to give exact service dates change was in mid-february. Duke Power is lying. I do not accept this verdict, however thank you BBB for your efforts. 

7/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had continuous service for nearly 3 decades at this location without issue. I inadvertently underpaid for two months after being paid in full due to email issues. Duke turned of the power and the day Afterward I received a letter advising that they would disconnect

Desired Settlement: After 28 years of Service history you should notify your customer before discontinuing service, not after the fact. Shame on you. please refund the token disconnection and improve your communications with senior citizens.

Business Response: We reviewed the customers concerns and their account has been credited. We tried to contact the customer but did not receive a response back. Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *******

6/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a previous bill that I owed for a previous address ** ***** Street.Spartanburg, SC 29307 and I called in to have service moved to.another address *** ****** * ******* *** **** * Spartanburg, SC 29306 I was told that I had to pay my past due amount of 575 plus 200 for a security deposit. I asked for a payment plan and just pay the security deposit I was told no that I needed to pay what was owed plus security deposit just to have service turned on. So I borrowed money to.have service turned on at new address. Once service was turned on I thought everything was taken care of. For the first few months I got a bill of 0.00 so I called in to see why I.wasn't getting a bill. The representative stated I didn't consume.any energy and I explained that I did but she insisted that it was 0.00 so I left it alone. So from January to September I didn't get a bill and the bills stopped coming. So when I.moved out I called to stop service and asked again about not getting bills the story was the same. So a few weeks later I got an overage check and I definitely was confused as to why I got this Check. So I called in and I.waited on hold for almost 2 hours just to be told they will.check into it for me and a supervisor will call me back in 2 business days so I waited about 3 days no call. So I called back and I.was told that what I owed for the previous address (** ***** Street) was applied to my account for the new address. So I was upset because I was told that in order to start service at my new address I had to pay the past due for my old address and pay a deposit for the new address. So I asked to speak to a supervisor and was denied because one was.not available so I was told that I would get a call back. I received no call for a week so I called back and finally spoke to a supervisor and I explained the entire issue with Him and he told me that he understood my frustration and that he would call the district office and run it by his manager to see what they could do to rectify the situation considering it was an error on their end and not mine. So a few weeks went by I didn't hear anything back so I called in just, to find out that he did not go into details in his notes. So I was extremely upset no because for months I was trying to figure out what was going on so a rep stated that the 575 I owed at the previous address was still due because they took what I sent in and just applied it to my account for the new address that's why I didn't have a bill. I explained that I was upset because they just took my money and did what they wanted to do without even letting me know because they told me absolutely not as far as a work out plan for past due amount owed. And when I called in about the 0.00 balance I still was not told this until after they sent an overage check because if I would of known this I would have stopped it and asked for them to apply that money to my account like we discussed before I moved. So upset I got tired of explaining it over and over. I spoke with a supervisor 2 weeks ago and she stated that the rep made a mistake and didn't apply it to my old address and that I still have to pay the 575 because I still.consumed energy at.my new place. I explained to.her I.don't have anything to do with an error from the representative because I have to.pay a bill due to an error on their end. She stated that she would find out who the rep is and make sure this.same mistake don't happen. This process went on for.months with no resolution still acceptable on my end. She stated it.was supposed to be 2 transactions a deposit and the the past due but being that the rep charged.it as one transaction it was applied to.my new address causing me to still owe for the old address. This still was not my problem because I.don't.work.there to know this.procedure. so the.supervisor stated I can pay the deposit when I want.to.start service and do a work out plan for the 575. I wanted to do this before but was denied because they stated they cannot offer a work out plan unless services were active at same address. I have been getting lie after lie and I don't feel.its fair as a consumer to pay for a mistake or error due to a representative. Especially when I called in.numerous time inquiring about why I was getting a 0.00 bill. Never has my past due bill come up in the conversations until months after I moved but I called because of the.overage check. If I wouldn't have called I would of been surprised again about this matter once I wanted to.move and start service at a new location. I borrowed money last time and I will.not be paying a deposit and the past due amount because.that places.me in the same situation as before and its so.unfair to me.

Desired Settlement: Due to their error I want them to comp the balance due to their error and I will pay my security.deposit as normal.

Business Response:

Offered *** ***** a 6 month payment arrangement to pay off the chared off account.  *** ***** did not accept the offer. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

******* *****

It is such an inconvenience to me to be stuck with a bill that I've already paid! I shouldn't be held accountable for the actions of an untrained representative that made an error with my money.  It's like I didn't have an option to stop my money from being wrongfully applied to my account.

Business Response: Customer's payment that was supposed to pay off his old bill went instead paying 7 months of his current bill. The old bill is still owed and needs to be paid. We can offer a payment arrangement to give him time to pay it off. We are closing this complaint

6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yes I have filed a complaint against Duke energy and I didn't like the reply that they made so I am making anther complaint like I said before duke engery set me up not one but two deferred payment aragments so when I go to pay my first payment they said that they couldn't accept it so Iccalled them and they tell me that i should have been called and told why but they didn't know why I wwasn't inform of this desion so they cut my power off the same day but if they had call me like they should have I would have had time to come up with the rest of the payment but since they didn't I have to suffer because of their not doing their job and really just not caring so when y'all submited my complaint theyreply that since i had took it to yy'all they couldn't do anything so they closed it but I Dontthink that was right just bbecause they are a big business they can do whatever and caring about the outcome on their customers like they say in pamphlets.

Desired Settlement: I would just like for them to keep their word as they would expect me to keep my aragments that's all I would expect of them.

Business Response:

The customer needs to contact the SC Office of Regulatory Staff in order to resolve this issue. He has already contacted them and it has now escalated beyond this department's ability to assist.  Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. I have not file any complaints with anyone but the bbb .


Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: The customer did contact the South Carolina Office of Regulatory Staff and in doing so he must contact them back to get this resolved. Their phone number is **************. We are closing this complaint with the BBB. 

6/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Yes I had called to set up payment arrgments and not once but twice they set the payments up but as I went to pay the 300.00 dollars they inform me they could not accept the money and called and all they told me that I should have been called and told but they did not know why I wasn't so I think its there fault for not contacted me to let me know so I could have came up with the rest of the payment but I couldn't do it in one day so now I am suffering because of there mistake not mine I isn't fair nor right

Desired Settlement: I would like my power turn back on and I make the payments if possible thank you

Business Response: Customer has taken complaint to commission. In doing so, escalated beyond my dept's ability to assist. We are closing this complaint.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

***** *****

5/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The web site clearly states, " Call us when you need a repair any time, day or night.We'll dispatch a professional, qualified service technician to your home within hours." It took them over 72 to hours to replace my water heater. I've been paying on this plan for over 10 years and was treated like it was my problem. No one from costumer service ever called back, and no response to my e mails. Product_Or_Service: Duke Energy's Home Repair Plan

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund $400.00 half of what I payed for was not provided through their service.

Business Response: We have attempted to contact him and there has been no response. Could you have the customer contact me directly at ************. Thank you.

5/11/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company shut my electric off on 5/5. However, in April, I worked out a payment plan with them. I paid $71 dollars & agreed to pay $202 in May. I am under doctors care with congestive heart failure, asthma, lung hyper tension, & a stomach issue. I told them this. When I called back to ask about their procedure if I could get a doctor's letter stating I needed electricity to house certain foods in my fig & use my neutralizer, etc. This would help since keep my lights on while I try to get the $202 since I am not working due to my illness. Their instructions to me were to get the letter from my doctor, They gave me a fax # & the name of the department to fax it too & said it would take 48hrs for approval. I did this early April as they instructed, but this week they still turned off my lights.. I called on 5/5, they said the letter wouldn't have prevented shut off, only for them to notify me several times before they shut it off. I only 1 notification while I was in the hospital. They said I had to pay the $202 plus current amount = $300 something to get the electricity back on regardless of my health situation. That same night I got very ill in the house without electricity. This been 80+ degrees here all week. I can't turn on my a/c. One of my medical symptoms is vomiting. I vomited all night more frequently due to being so hot at home. the next morning 5/6, I was admitted to the hospital where I am still today 5/7. My son called them & told them what happen. He asked if they would turn the electricity off & he could work out a payment plan to pay at least $50 a week. They said no. And that the letter that my doctor fax last month was not approved because I didn't sign it. they said had it been signed, the electricity would still be on. First they never told me when I called them last month for the instructions of the doctor letter, that I had to sign it. Second, they never notified me when they got the letter that they were missing my signature. If so, the shut off could have been avoided early last month, Lastly, have some compassion. I have multiple chronic illness. I have called to make arrangements but they wont accept

Desired Settlement: I desire that they look at my individual situation and be will to change their policy. I have multiple chronic illness. I have called to make arrangements by giving they money weekly but they wont accept. If I could do more , I would. I am applying with ****** as well, a energy assistance program. Not having electricity has put me in the hospital . Surely, they can make an exception 1 time. I have never had them to turn off my lights before. This is my son's cell if they are willing to talk to me or him to make this arrangement. ************. I truly believe what they are doing is criminal.

Business Response: We have contacted the customer and addressed her concerns and the customer is now satisfied. Please let me know if you have additional questions.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  They have restored my electric and are willing to work a repayment plan with me. I hope his repayment plan will be affordable.  However, I don't like that Medical issues/ letter are not  given more weight to avoid disconnection. 

Regards,

******* ********

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi I'm having issue after issue every month my bill gets higher and higher. I am a single mother and my 5 children live with me. I barely be home I turn everything off before leaving the house. I contacted Duke several times also by email and I haven't gotten no reply. They try to say at first it'd the wires in the house but my landlord checked everything and even installed new wires. I even tried to work something out to pay half or something within my budget and they tell me they can't. I am fed up with duke every since getting my lights on I been having problems they could at least work with me almost my whole paycheck goes to duke and that isn't right. I have kids to take care of and also myself I can't afford to be paying 500 a month. They need to at least work out problems with their customers but it seems like they aren't concern at all.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a billing adjustment or have someone come out and check my meter instead of going back on history of the house. Also if I'm indeed if a refund I would like it in hand not on my deposit

Business Response:

A meter test has been issued for this address and once complete the results will be shared witht he customer. Currently the account is in final notice status for the amount of $519.68 due by April 29, 2015. This amount was suppose to be paid via agreement on April 22nd. *** ******** may want to seek assistance with her by contacting *** *** Community Action.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 
And i also spoke with duke they asked me to pay $411 in order to go on an installment plan.
Regards,

******* ********

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My service was disconnected abruptly because of an error on duke energy's part. Had to pay to get a room for my family to stay the night. Service should have been completed after normal hours because of the cause. I would like reimbursement for the hotel stay only.

Desired Settlement: Refund and apology

Business Response: We have attempted to call customer 3 different occasions at ************ with no response. We are closing complaint due to no response.

3/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They charge me a many times of the return check fee which is ridiculous, and I called the customer service the operator did not allow to refund me with rude manner without any reasonable explanations.

Desired Settlement: Hope refund me the total of return check fee.

Business Response:

We contacted the customer and addressed his concerns and the customer is now satisfied. Please let me know if you have additional questions. Thank you.

2/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ******** and I have the following complaint against the billing department of Duke Energy. I previously had a commercial and residential account with Duke Energy. I paid both accounts on line automatically with my checking account. After 12/2014 I only have a residential account with Duke Energy. I sold my business in December, 2014 and informed Duke Energy to make a final meter reading and charge it to my account which I had set up on line at their web site. Duke Energy did complete a final meter reading but I just now learned they never took the money out of my account I set up on line for this purpose. Last week I received a bill for $188. I usually pay $70-$80 a month during the winter. I called on 02/13/2015 and spoke with a representative from Duke Energy. She stated they did not take the money I owed from my commercial account back in 12/2014 as I instructed. Instead, they placed it on my residential account in February 2015. That is the reason for the increase on this month’s bill. She assured me everything was alright and my account was up to date. She said they would take the $188 out of my account automatically on March 10th. I discontinued my phone conversation and went to Duke Energy’s web site to make a payment that same day. I made the payment of $188 on the morning of 02/13/2015 and my account on their website showed a zero balance. That afternoon (02/13/2015) I received a letter from a collection agency that Duke Energy told to collect the $188 from me. I never received a letter or phone call from the billing department at Duke Energy. They went straight to the collection agency after I called them and got the all OK from their representative. Today, 02/16/2015 I called to check on my Duke Energy account. They said the account still showed a balance of $188 and they had not received payment. I spoke to one supervisor named ********** who said she saw no bank activity on my on line account. I asked to speak to another supervisor named ******* who said my bank “aborted” the payment this morning 02-16-2015 and that I should call my bank. Today while on the phone with the billing department I was lied to multiple times by people claiming to be supervisors in my vain attempt to pay a simple bill. I believe this is entire episode was wrong and deserves an investigation. I asked twice to talk to a supervisor and no one cared to even call me back. Duke Energy is too large to care about it's customers and this has to change if the little guy is going to get a fair shake against this giant. I called **** and spoke to ****** When I told her about what the supervisors at Duke Energy’s billing department told me she started laughing. She said today is President’s Day and that the bank had taken no such action with my account. She further stated that **** could not stop a check from being cashed by Duke Energy. I called Duke Energy and asked for a supervisor to call me this afternoon to explain what exactly is going on. No one called. This is the second time in 2 weeks that I requested a supervisor to call me and not receive a follow up.

Desired Settlement: (1). I believe the billing department at Duke Energy requires a top to bottom review from an outside source since they are a monopoly. This is important since they have the power to damage people's credit. They went straight to a collection agency without telling me about it. This is totally unprofessional and needs to be addressed. (2).Ensure me this error will not go against my credit rating. (3). Inform me of the outcome of the review.

Business Response: Apologized to customer for misinformation regarding his payment and for receiving collection letter. We appreciate *** ********** comments and feedback from his experience. Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** ********

2/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are several issues with this company. My bill is outrageous every month when I am hardly home, didn't use heat and they refuse to help me. I am one person who's power Bill is higher than a family of 5 who's 2 miles away and abuses power. Secondly, I get treated beyond bad, I don't have words to really describe it but I can tell you I've gotten off the phone crying several times. Also I called and called worried about a payment that I couldn't find, they kept refusing to help me and then yelled at me that there was nothing wrong. Then I find out they lied to me and the Payment was return and I was charged $20. And after being yelled at that nothing was wrong, I made another payment thinking it would be fine only to finally figure out that there was an error. So that one employee cost me another $20 just because she didn't want to do her job and help me. I always pay my bill, I am never late or delinquent Regardless of amount. But that shouldn't matter, I should at least get proper help. If I could choose a different power company I would but I'm forced with one choice.

Desired Settlement: I'd like my $40 back, someone to figure out why my power Bill is so high, and an apology from them. I really doubt this will happen and that's ok, but something has to be done about duke energy's employees and their attitudess.

Business Response: We contacted the customer and addressed her concerns and the customer is now satisfied. Please let me know if you have additional questions.

1/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lived in greenville, sc from 2010-2014 and had an account with duke energy. When I got the account in 2010 I never had to pay a deposit. I paid my bills on time, never had an interruption in service, and I left in good standing with duke energy. I had some financial problems and had to file for bankruptcy in 2014 . That is when I lost my house and had to move in with family. Now that I am getting my own place again, duke energy is trying to charge me a $200 deposit to turn on my electricity. When I asked why customer service told me it was because of my credit report. Granted my credit is not as good as it was when I first did business with duke energy but they know my payment history is good. It is unethical and immoral to charge somebody a deposit that has already proven their reliability to you. It is even worse with duke energy because they have a monopoly on the industry. There are no other power companies that I can use if I am not satisfied with duke's service and they know it. I can understand that they have to do a credit check on people they have never dealt with but I am a previous customer. Just because I have had some financial issues, that should not give duke energy the right to charge a deposit that is unmerited.

Desired Settlement: they need to refund my deposit. there should not be a deposit for credible, upstanding, returning customers

1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am being charged an excessive amount considered to be a DEPOSIT from Duke Energy. Per the representative that I spoke with and per the last page of the billing statement "ATTENTION: EXISTING ACCOUNTS WITHOUT SATISFACTORY SECURITY THAT CARRY A PAST DUE BALANCE OR HAVE BEEN DISCONNECTED FOR NONPAYMENT, MAY BE CHARGED A DEPOSIT. " I am being informed that due to the fact that I have been late on my utility bill more than twice that I am being charged this deposit. I am disputing the amount of the deposit as it is not relayed anywhere in the billing statement prior to being charged the deposit the amount that will be charged. One would think that a deposit at the most would be 200, but I am being charged $567 which the representative said is the highest bill times 2. I am not sure this is legal at all for the representative to have information on how much the deposit charge will be, but this information is not communicated to the customer prior to them being charged this amount.

Desired Settlement: I would like this charge removed from my bill and I will agree to place my account on a auto-pay. It is hard when only getting paid twice a month to calculate if you will have enough to cover the bill which is why I have been reluctant to do so in the past, but it is even harder to tell your children that they will not get anything for Christmas based on an unexpected 567 bill from a Utility company .

Business Response:

Deposit was charged due to unsatisfactory payment history.  Agreed to put balance in equal payment plan balance and increase her monthly payments to give time to pay off.

12/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Out of work since july,made several late payments, getting stuck with 200+ dollar "deposit" fee and will get power shut off unless I make it. I have been out of work since July of this year, I go to school and work as best I can when I get the opportunity, but it is not considerable income, so I have had trouble making payments on time, but I have made them. This month I have been slammed with a 200+ dollar "Deposit" fee that according to their fine print, they may attach when they see fit essentially. The first person I talked with was VERY rude and I should have a recording of that conversation, and she would not transfer me to anyone in management so I could discuss my situation with someone a bit more level headed. Hung up and called back, got someone else, also not willing to transfer me to a higher up person, but at least was more pleasant to talk to.They explained this deposit would be refunded in 12 months or so of on time payments. I'm not even sure i'll be here in 12 months as if I cannot find a job, i'm going to have to move.They also stated I could find someone to cosign but im not sure what that entails for me or the person I would get to do that. I have been late on several payments but I have been paying them and the associated late fees, and have not gone over two months without a payment for sure.The wording in the bills I have recieved indicating they may add on a deposit is very vague and also states they "may" include this, which indicates to me that it is optional, and thusly not set in stone as the first rude lady told me several times.

Desired Settlement: I just want to pay my bills, and will happily pay the late fees I've incurred with this current billing cycle, even though I was caught up before this ridiculous billing cycle for this month, but there is no way I can pay an additional 200 plus dollars in addition to my normal payment. my current bill due should be between 60-90 dollars which does include the late fee for this month, and I can and will pay that but not this sneaky scam fee they are trying to pull.

Business Response:

Reduced deposit to $150.00 and offered a 5 month payment arrangement. Customer declined the payment arrangement.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

I've been out of work since july, if i dont find a job soon i may be leaving the area. I am willing to set up an automatic payment plan to avoid further late payments but cannot handle a fee/deposit of that size with my lack of income at this time. 

Regards,
 
***



Business Response: Due to the  payment history on the account we will not remove the deposit.  The deposit was lowered out of condisderation for customer's situation and we offered to spread the payments over 5 months. We are closing this complaint. 

12/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved here on **** in august was to pay a 795 deposit in which was to high so was able to make an arrangement to pay on 138 until october. On october 13 the payment was due i called duke and ask if can pay on friday october 17. The representative stated that it was ok and didnt said anything about a disconnection or any other trouble with my account. Well on the next day october 14 my services were shut off i called duke and asked what was going on they stated i was on the disconnection list i wasnt informed about being on there and i also explained what i was told. Now they was saying i would have to pay 385 to get services on. I wasnt able to pay at the time so me and my children left for a minute because it was starting to get cold. While i was away there was an issue that happened being that my lights were turn back on illegally and they are telling me i have extra charges total of 870 to pay and to open another account. I shouldn't be charged because of this just because the lease is in my name they are saying im responsible so now i gotta try to pay 870. I dont have any other place to go for me and my five children. My mother dont have room, and i wont save up spending at a room all the time they wouldnt even work out a payment arrangement with me. I dont hardly run anything in the house and mostly my children barely watch tv. This is too high for me to pay i reallt hope that i can get something worked out here becauss its getting cold and my kids need to be home.

Desired Settlement: I would like a payment plan worked out if i can pay.224 to get the services back on and make a paymenf arrangement or something for the rest im willing to do any payment plan if possible.

Business Response: We are unable to reach the customer at the phone number provided in the complaint to work out any arrangements, and the customer has not paid the $224 as stated in her offer.   We are closing the complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

*** ****** ** ** ******** **** ****** ** * ****** ****** *** ** **** ***** *** *** *** ********* *** ***** **** ** *** **********
I am rejecting because they have not called me I did get help from pee dee community of this matter and suppose to get lights on today. Also I am still waiting for them to be turned on and I did paid 99.30 and had to pay 642 deposit still not on
********




Business Response: Moot issue...new account established and to be connected today 11/14/2014.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********


10/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August 2013, we set up the Equal Payment Plan (EPP) to help our monthly bills be more steady. We paid $79 a month through April 2014. May's bill was raised to $181 a month, then to $197 a month in August 2014. The initial raise in May was due to the fact that our EPP could be reviewed and adjusted quarterly to keep things even. So that was fine, just odd to have that significant of a jump. Then in July 2014, our bill was $1188.26. Also note that in order to be enrolled in the EPP, you must also be enrolled in autopay. The morning that we received notification from our bank that $1188.26 was coming out, we immediately called Duke and just requested that the payment be stopped and we'd call back later in the day to sort things out. The representative confirmed that the payment would be stopped and we'll talk later.Well that payment was not stopped. Countless phone calls and rude representatives later, we finally got the $1188.26 returned to us, but it would have to take some time. That's half of a paycheck hanging out in limbo while we have an infant to feed and other bills to pay because a representative never did what she agreed to do.In the end, this $885.72 adjustment was because our EPP was never reviewed and adjusted until April 2014. We were told that we have to monitor our bill and call them when things get out of hand so they can review. Please.We had to wait a few months until receiving a disconnect notice so we could set up a payment plan. In the meantime, we've been charged late fees for not paying the full bill, although we have been paying our normal monthly amount on time. We got the plan set up and now I'm looking at this month's bill which is for $683.32. After calling, it was learned that the payment plan set up did not include the EPP balance AND prior balance. This plan cannot be changed and is binding. The only help offered was to seek out local charities to help us pay the bill.

Desired Settlement: Duke Energy has taken zero accountability for this mistake of not adjusting our EPP earlier on or for not including our total balance in a payment plan. What I would like to happen here is for the payment plan to be adjusted to include our $224.45 EPP balance and $185.05 prior balance (right now its just the $185.05). I would also like the late fees removed from this bill and future bills including our payment plan. Finally, Duke needs to re-visit customer service with its rep's and managers.

Business Response: We reworked the customer's payment arrangement so it was more manageable with her budget. We will close this complaint, thank you. 

Consumer Response: A representative with Duke Energy did contact me to resolve this. She rearranged our payment plan to include the full amount of money owed (excluding current usage cost) just like we had originally understood the payment plan to be. This representative was very helpful and kind. It is sad that one has to go this far with Duke Energy to be able to have a conversation with common sense. 




10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: So recently I moved. We lived with a friend and was paying 400 a month to live there...she was responsible for all the bills. We called to set up power at our new house and I had a old bill. So we went ahead and paid it up, paid our deposit and we moved. We got our first bill and it was 1426.00. This is because our room mate put our names on her power account and she did not have a account. That amount includes our current bill and her old bill. I have tried contacting a supervisor concerning this and I get told everytime there isn't anything I can do. Well our old room mate now has duke power again and they are refusing to put some of this old bill on her account. How can they pick and choose who pays what bill? I don't have 1400 dollars just lying around to pay someone else's bill.

Desired Settlement: I want some of this bill placed on her account. I also want a reasonable payment plan established so this bill can get paid.

Business Response: We were able to confirm with the apartment complex that **** **** is not on the lease at this address. We removed the old bill in the amount of $774.62. Advised customer and he is  satisfied.  Thank  you.

Business Response: We were able to confirm with the apartment complex that **** **** is not on the lease at this address. We removed the old bill in the amount of $774.62. Advised customer and he is  satisfied.  Thank  you.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *******


9/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duke Energy is a poorly run organization that doesn't seem to be able to communicate within its walls and treats its customers with thurough disregard. I have spent over 3 hours (and still racking up the time) on the phone trying to get an erroneous account set up by an inattentive employee straight as well as credits on the correct account straight. The people in "Customer Service" (what a joke) continue to apply credits to the erroneous account and then can't understand why they see the credits already in place and just drop the issue. As such, bills continue to come in on the correct account that are incorrect in amount. Each time you call you have to go through the base representative who gets pissed off when you ask to speak to a management level representative! Unbelievable, this is exactly why there needs to be free enterprise and not companies given franchises to operate their monopoly in a politcal jurisdiction!

Desired Settlement: I would just like to have the credits Duke Energy has already agreed to applied to my correct account (a total of $65) as well as late payment fees that are accruing.

Business Response: Adjusted customer's deposit and refunded late fees and connection fee. We will close this complaint.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this action would resolve my complaint, but I have not yet been advised by the company that this has in fact taken place.  On Friday, August 8th, ***** called to advise that the deposit had been adjusted and the connection fee had been refunded, but that I still had a credit balance of $.97 (late payment fee).

I called this morning and ***** is on vacation and advised to call another representative, ***** ***.  I spoke with him and he advised he would check into the matter and get back with me.  He called back later and left a voice mail for me to call him, no specifics were advised.  He was not available when I called back and I left a voice mail.

As of now, to my knowledge, the issue is still not fully resolved. 

Regards,

******* *********



Business Response:

I contacted the customer and addressed all his concerns, he is now satisfied. Please let me know if you additional questions. Thank you.

 

***** *** ******* 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* *********


8/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: How can a company like Duke Energy charge people another deposit just because they are late. Duke Energy needs to know that the common people have to combine two pay checks to pay their bills. I can not afford to pay my regular bill and another 200 dollar deposit just because I am late but my power never got disconnected. I went from a job making 11.00 dollars an hour to a job making 7.75 an hour, I work 25 hours a week and get paid bi-weekly. I don't get any help from any agency. I try to pay my bills on my own. This practice that Duke Energy is doing is wrong for many hard working people trying to make ends meet. I do not want a hand out I just want the rich owners to know how this decision affects their customer who live pay check to pay check. stop this practice I am sure you don't need more money and never had to scrape by, But try to see it from your customers side for once. AGAIN I AM NOT ASKING FOR A HAND OUT I PAY MY BILLS BY MYSELF THIS DEPOSIT FEE FOR BEING LATE IS NOT FAIR. I HAVE NEVER BEEN DISCONNECTED.I PRAY YOU CAN SEE THE BURDEN YOU PLACE ON YOUR CUSTOMER WITH THIS DECISION. IF I PAY THE 200 DOLLAR DEPOSIT THAT IS ONE OF MY PAY CHECKS BY ITSELF, I CAN NOT AFFORD THAT. I WILL GLADELY PAY A RESONABLE FEE FOR BEING LATE IF THAT IS WHAT YOU WANT JUST NOT 200 DOLLARS.

Desired Settlement: stop charging another deposit fee for being late, people are still not making enough money to pay another deposit on top of monthly bills. If you just need the money for being late make it a fair amount. even the banks charge 35 dollars fees for things. NOT 200 DOLLARS LIKE DUKE ENERGY DO. MAKE IT A RESONABLE AMOUNT FOR LATE FEES.

8/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a payment plan setup to pay part of my bill on the 11th of July and the rest on the 11th of August.I sold something to a friend because I was short on money so she paid part of it over the phone. I always go to the same place to pay my bill but was unable to go there that day so I was told I could pay the rest by western union, so that's what I did. I was unaware that it wouldn't go through for 3-5 business days. My power was cut off that coming Monday and when I talked to duke power I was told that if I faxed my receipt showing that I did pay my bill and they would turn it back on. I talked to several different people there, including supervisors, and was given three different fax numbers because they were claiming not to receive my faxes. Although on my end it showed it went through. So because I kept getting the run around from different people at duke power my power was off long enough for my account to go inactive. I paid my bill and I have the proof but now I have to pay a big deposit to open a new account. I'm a single mother of two and I don't receive any help from the other parent. I don't make enough to pay the large amount they want and I shouldn't have to because I paid my bill and I sent my proof multiple times.

Desired Settlement: I want to pay the $143 left on my inactive account so I can open another account and get my power back on but I don't think I should have to pay the $200 deposit they want because I did everything I was told to do in order to get my proof to them. Thank you for listening to my request, I appreciate it.

Business Response: We have agreed to accept the past due balance of $32.62 and we will bill the deposit of $200.00. Customer is scheduled to get power connected on 7-30-14. We will close this complaint  

7/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duke Energy, our one and only choice for electrical services, is threatening to charge my family with a deposit penalty for having two late charges in one calendar year. We have been 20+ year faithful customers. We have never not paid, nor do we owe any past due monies. The payments were received a matter of days (2-3) past the due date.We are paid twice a month. I called asking to have the due date moved back 5 days in order to verify on time payments. Duke Energy said no and offered no solutions other than automatic draft. I will not do automatic drafts as this places the control of my family's money in the hands of company and machines, one's money should always be allowed to remain in the care of the individual. They offered no solutions, and refused to work with us at all. It is wrong to give any company total control, leaving them no reason, at all, to provided a fair business relationship with it's clients (prisoners).

Desired Settlement: Provide real solutions, and a variety, that will help paying families. We need our due date to be moved out 5 days to ensure we are able to pay our bill on time, and not to be forced to accept unnecessary penalties!

Business Response: Spoke to customer and explained why the warning letter was sent. Apolozized that she was not offered any solutions by customer service. We will close this complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I appreciate the prompt call from the Duke Energy representative. My initial call to Duke Energy Customer Service Department resulted in no help in finding a solution for payment due dates.   I did, however, find an option on my own and do hope that the Duke Energy Customer Service Department is made aware of all options available to its customers.  Because we have no other choices for energy providers, it is important that we are allowed to work with Duke Energy, and are not forced into situations we can not manage.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

****** *********

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had Duke Energy service at my current residence for 9 years. On my most recent bill from Duke Energy, I was charged an additional $147. The bill was accompanied by a disconnection notice and a deposit notification. The "notification" stated that any payments made would first be applied to the deposit. I do not think it is fair to charge existing customers with "deposit" fees. $147 is a lot of money to request without notification and above a person's expected charges.

Desired Settlement: I think the "deposit" charge should be removed from my Duke Energy account.

Business Response:

 

We reviewed the ******’s account and found out that on 5/06/14 the account in fact was assessed a $147 security deposit. The account originally had a security deposit that was paid when the account was established in 2005, however the deposit was returned, refunded or credited to the account in 2006.

After 2011, all accounts that have 2-3 late payments within a 12 months period are assessed a security deposit. The amount of deposits is based on a 24 months average usage.

We notified the customer several times with a bill insert (see attachment) about bringing the account current or facing the possibility of being assessed a security deposit.

Unfortunately, we are unable to remove the deposit. We regret the inconvenience and look forward to answering any question the customer has in this regard.

The customer also complained to the North Carolina Utilities Commission and our commission response staff answered the complaint; a DPA was offered. Please let us know if you have additional questions, thank you.

***** *** *******

 

 

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am trying to get my lights on in my name but they telling me that I will have to pay a deposit, an old bill that I owe, and my sisters old bill. The thing is my sister will not be staying with me and at the time I called to gwrong my lights in my name at my new place my sister called Duke Power to see if she owed any money to them. Some how my sister got some of the questions confused and put a application in for my apartment when she just wanted to see if she owed any money. Me and my landlord told them that my sister is not on my lease and that she will not be staying with me but they say since she filed out an application that she will either have to pay the old bill she owe or send in a lease with her name on it and two utility bills. My sister stays with my grandfather and she don't pay any bills. My landlord and I have tried to ask them if I can send in my lease but they keep telling me the same thing. At the moment I am unemployed and I have an section 8 voucher, if I don't get my lights on in my name I can loose my voucher for me and my kids. I have the money to pay my old bill but they still want cut them on in my name unless that bill my sister owe ain't paid and I don't see why I have to pay that bill when she not on my lease.

Desired Settlement: I just want to be able to pay what I owe and my deposit to get my lights in my name.

Business Response: ******* ***** would need to send in proof in the form of a lease and two utility bills in her sister's name to show that she is not living at this residence. If they are unable to provide that then the old bill would need to be paid.  I offered to bill her deposit of $200.00.  Thank you.

5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duke Energy has put a temporary hold on $221.00 on my bank account. I paid my bill on the phone and they charged my account twice. On February 22, I made a payment with a customer service rep on the phone with my bank debit card. Duke Energy charged my bank account for 2 payments, each $221.00. I only made on payment. I discovered they were holding this payment twice when I want to the grocery store and my card was declined. I have contacted Duke Energy a number of times now asking them to release the money they have put a hold on in my account, as the payment has already cleared and they were paid the amount I was to pay. They tell me that they cannot rectify this without me faxing a copy of my bank statement to them. The bank I use is an online bank and I do not receive statements in the mail. It is all online. Duke says they can't accept a print out of my statement printed from online. I have tried and tried to get Duke Energy to release the hold on the money in my account, but they insist on me sending my bank statement. The hold not only caused me to not have ANY money in my account for groceries, gas, etc. It has also caused my account to overdraft. Which has created other issues. I do not think I should have to jump through hoops for them to get them to rectify a situation that was their fault. They should fix this!! I did my part in paying my bill. They have caused me great hardship putting a hold on another $221 in my account. Today is 2/28, and the money is still being held in my account. Why should they put the burden of correcting this on me when it was their mistake. I want my money back!!

Desired Settlement: I want my $221 they are holding released back to my account and I want them to cover any overdraft fees I have had to pay because of this error.

Business Response:

  

Good morning ****** 

I had this complaint for quite some time. *** ****** also complained to our ethics line about the same. I have attempted to contact in three separate occasions (03/04-03/06-03/16) and have left messages to not avail. I investigated and could only find one payment/one withdrawal.  

All we are asking is that she provides the bank statement showing the double draft in order to refund her anything. We are not saying we did not do what she says we did, however we cannot refund her any money that she cannot prove we took. As far as I am concern, we can close this one as unanswered  from the customer’s side. Please advise, thanks*****.

3/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duke energy shut my power off with no warning whatsoever. Their was a billing issue on their end that they refuse to accept responsibility for. Their auto bill pay stopped charging me but never informed me of this issue. They are required to call me prior to termination of services but never called, they claim to have sent me multiple warnings none of which ever made it to me. They then shut my power off the night of a major snow storm. Then they found it appropriate to charge me to turn it back on which is standard if it was my fault but due to their lack of admittance to dropping the ball, refuse to refund me the money.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology for treating me like a second hand citizen and a refund for the 15 dollars they robbed me of and the propane required to run my lantern for light.

Business Response:

We reviewed **. **** Complaint and determined that there was no error in the disconnection of service that occurred on 02/10. **. **** was enrolled in our e-bill program and we continued to notify **. **** about the past due balance that needed to be paid via email.

We verified that the last time he logged in to his account was at the end of November. At that time he made a payment, which was his last until the service was disconnected.

We also sent a 24 hours’ notice via regular mail to inform of the disconnection that would take place if payment was not received by 02/09. At this time his bills continue to be delivered via email to the email we have on file: ************************

We also verified that none of the emails we sent was returned not delivered. Based on that information we are unable to refund any reconnect fee assessed for the disconnection. We are closing the complaint and regret the inconvenience; we look forward to answering any question **. **** has.

Please let us know if you have further questions, thank you.

***** *** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Regards,

****** ****



I am rejecting this offer due to the fact that I never recieved any emails from duke, nor did I receive any mail warning me of an impending termination of service. However I did receive a disconnection notice the day after my utility termination. They have yet to even accept responsibility of not emailing or mailing or even a phone call at all. I never even received an apology. 

Business Response:

Unfortunately, based on the evidence we have we are unable to refund the reconnect fee. Bills are due upon received and as stated before, the account was not paid for over 60 days before it was disconnected. Our records show that an E-bill was sent and did not return undeliverable. We truly regret the inconvenience, but we cannot return the fee. Please let us know if you have additional concerns.

Thank you,

***** *** *******

 

 

3/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a house at *** ***** **.**********, SC.*****, which I have leased to a relative of mine for the past ten years or more. I had him evicted about six months ago.He left an unpaid power bill, and I was told that becouse he is a relative of mine, I would have to pay that bill before I could power turned on to do repairs to the house. I did not co-sign for him to get service and did not consent pay any unpaid bills. I do not see why Duke Energy would expect me to pay the bill for a renter just becouse he is a relative. I don,t think it is legal charge the property owner for unpaid bills of a renter?

Desired Settlement: I would like to have service at *** ***** *** ********** SC. turn on so I can do repairs to the house for the normal fee of $15.00.

Business Response: We removed the prior bill on* * ********* account and have scheduled the service to be connected 2-28-14. Spoke to customer and he is satisfied, will close complaint.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID******** and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

* * ********

2/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been paying extra money the last three months for extra deposit you have requested and it is not showing on account. Your company needs to get it together. Also you do not extend payment however I have been paying on time for the last three months including the extra you want for deposit which you are not putting toward my account for the last three months. Your accounting is not accurate something needs desperately to be done and commented to the better business bureau. Look you know you are not doing right take care of this.

Desired Settlement: Would like the extra deposit to be shown as well as if extra days required for payment give it to me. The only reason that I had power turned off in the first place is because the customer service reps were deceiving and lying however I honestly believe they were lying because they thought they would lose job because upper management at "DUKE ENERGY" will replace them with no problem with more untrained employees. Its not customer service level it is upper management level that is nervous.

Business Response:

February 12, 2014, Duke Energy Florida’s response to **. *****’s complaint is below:

 

On October 8, 2013, Duke Energy******* (***) interrupted the electric service due to a past due balance in the amount of $294.73. That same day, *** received a payment in the amount of $294.73, and services were restored. A reconnection charge in the amount of $40.00 was assessed to the account. *** reviewed the amount of deposit on hand ($205.00) and found it to be deficient. The 12 month average bill at **. *****’s premise is $200.00, which equates to a $400.00 deposit requirement. Due to the non-payment service interruption, *** assessed an additional deposit in the amount of $195.00. A letter was mailed to **. ***** advising of the deposit requirement.

 

On November 22, 2013, **. ***** contacted *** Customer Service to inquire about the deposit requirement. The representative agreed to bill the $195.00 deposit requirement into 3 monthly installments of $65.00.

 

On December 10, 2013, *** issued a monthly statement, via electronic billing, in the amount of $263.25 ($193.25 current usage + $65.00 deposit installment + $5.00 late payment charge), with a current bill due date of January 2, 2014.

 

On January 7, 2014, *** received a payment in the amount of $263.25.

 

On January 9, 2014, *** issued a monthly statement, via electronic billing, in the amount of $243.57 ($178.57 current usage + $65.00 deposit installment), with a current bill due date of January 31, 2014.

 

On February 3, 2014, *** received **. *****’s complaint from the BBB. That same day, **. ********* ******, Consumer Affairs Specialist, contacted **. ***** to discuss her complaint. A voicemail was left requesting a return call.

 

On February 6, 2014, **. ****** attempted to contact **. ***** to discuss her complaint. A voicemail was left requesting a return call. **. ****** reviewed **. *****’s account and  extended the current balance in the amount of $243.57 until February 27, 2014.

 

On February 10, 2014, **. ****** mailed a certified letter (attached) to **. *****, acknowledging receipt of her complaint and requesting a return call.

 

On February 11, 2014, *** received a payment in the amount of $243.57.

 

As of February 12, 2014, **. ***** has not returned **. ******’ phone calls.

 

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My business experienced a power outage due to underground line installed by Duke Energy. The location had been open approx two months when the power issue occurred. Duke responded quickly to restore power to the building. They had to remove a small section of my new paving to fix their line and assured me that they would be back to repair the asphalt. They have not come back to fix the asphalt and I now have a pothole in my lot. Almost one month has passed since that time and I have called/emailed customer service several times. I have confirmation numbers for each call/email. I have been told by the customer service representative that their department has been notified and that they would contact me with a time frame on resolving the issue. With that said, I have not heard from them at all. Losing power (and business) due to faulty workmanship on their part was bad enough. Now I have a pothole in my brand new parking lot that Duke Energy has not only ignored but not even had the courtesy to return my phone calls and emails.

Desired Settlement: Fix the pavement promptly and in full.

Business Response: We spoke to the customer and the asphalt was repaired last week.  We are closing this complaint, thank you.

2/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday Jan 6,2014 a power surge hit our home @ approx. 8:00 pm. It blew out the washing machine, installed microwave, stove, refrigerator, tank less hot water heater, ** * * ******* equipment, WII, sensor light, street light, security system and several surge protectors. As we walked inside the house the electric smell was so strong. Called Duke Energy and @ approx. 2:30 am on Tuesday, Jan 7,2014 two Duke Energy gentlemen came to the house and after a few minutes told us the "Neutral" underground to our house was bad and to completely shut off the power. Duke Energy Claim # ****************. This was also the coldest night on record in the past 20 years. On Tuesday, Jan 7,2014 @ approx 1:30 pm two gentlemen from**** ******** came to the house and said we had corrosion on the "neutral" on the line side at the meter. They cleaned it and said everything was fine. Meanwhile we had to get all appliances affected repaired. No charge for any of the appliances due to the extended warranties we purchased when we purchased them. All were fairly new. The claims adjuster just kept telling my husband keep all receipts, so we did. The tank less hot water heater had to be completely replaced because it was so fried. We had to eat out cause we couldn't cook and had no refrigerator for 11 days. Finally got all repaired and or replaced on Tuesday, Jan 21, 2014. Then last night it happened again. Called Duke Energy #******* and **** was there within the hour. Come to find out everyone was wrong. It was the "Allen Splice" on the power pole that was bad and no one even looked at it until last night. We have all receipts like we were told and the total amount that Duke Energy cost us was exactly $3297 and some change. $339 to eat for 11 days, $315 to replace the food lost in the frig (which we didn't even replace it all) and $2643.00 for electrician, plumber, HVAC check, security equipment replacement and tank less hot water replacement. If we had not come home our house would have burnt down!

Desired Settlement: Duke Energy feels we only deserve $2549.70. They didn't have to pay for any appliance repairs. They wont pay for the total cost of replacing the tank less hot water heater, the amount we spent due to having to eat out, $30.00 per day or the full grocery replacement. We are having to eat the difference of approx $747 due to an incompetent claims adjuster by the name of ***** *******.

2/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their online bill pay has been down for over 2 months and they can not tell you when it will be fixed. For the past month I have been calling and emailing them to find out what the problem is and when it will be fixed. No one can tell me they just keep telling me that they are aware of the issue and are working on it. If they want their money each month from their customers they should have a website that works, and if they can't figure out how to work their website then they should shut it down and not encourage people to sign up for "e-bill", a system that clearly doesn't work. I can only view the amount that is owed to them on their website I can not even view my bill without receiving an error. I was told today that they have many other options for payment...none of which are convienant. They give you the option of driving a across town to pay a bill...not convienant....they give you the option to pay over the phone but charge almost $3 to do...not convienant especially when it is not our fault as customers THEIR system doesn't work or you buy checks and send them checks via mail...which not to many people buy checks anymore because most reputable companies have websites and online bill pay options that work! Their customer service operators are rude and unresponsive and just say the same thing over and over again. You can't speak to a supervisor as they can only "call you back" I have requested that and never received a call.

Desired Settlement: Bottom line, their website needs to be fixed or they need to un-enroll all of their customers from their "e-bill" system that doesn't work and stop advertising it to new customers. They should mail out bills each month if they can't get their act together and have a working website and e-bill system. We as customer should not have to inconvenienced by their lack of customer service and technological advances...if they can't figure out how make something WORK they shouldn't be able to offer it.

Business Response: We worked extensively with our IT Department to resolve this consumer's issue.   It took time to correct the situation.   Our system automatically deactivates a closed account from internet billing and transfers the internet billing to the consumer's new account.   That is what happened but the customer went in and deactivated the closed account simultaneously and what that in essence did was cancel her new account in the internet billing system.  IT had to do a data repair and we contacted the customer to advise her to re register in our system.    As of January 22, the consumer stated she did that and she can now view and pay her bill in the system.   Even though we were unable to work within BBB's timeframe, we stayed in direct communication with the consumer.

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Security Deposit Rude CSR After being a customer with Duke Energy in South Carolina for almost 9 years, I and my husband are being told to pay a deposit or else. We did not have to pay a deposit with them due to having good credit. Never have we had our power cut off but are told to pay or go without power. Now we are told that because we a few days late, we now have to pay a $400 deposit. How is it right for a company to do this? They are very rude when on the phone trying to resolve any problems. I have been hung up on and lied to. We have online bills so we never get a paper bill at all. All CSR's have told us that information is on the back of the bill, which we cannot see. I have searched every link on my account and cannot find any information on this.

Desired Settlement: help trying to resolve this affair. Either payments or not having to pay a deposit when it is not warranted.

Business Response: I have tried to contact this customer on 3 different occasions and have not received a response.  We are closing this complaint.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:

This is the first time I have seen email regarding my complaint
 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

******** ****




1/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Annoying payment arrangement policies, and inadequately experienced customer service agents to help resolve payment arrangement problems. During the last billing cycle I lost electricity for two days because I forgot about a silly policy requiring payment arrangements be made at least 5 days prior to the due date. I called about making payment arrangements prior to the due date, and within five days of the due date, but not before 5 days. I explained that I needed only two days until my payday when I could pay the balance. No help was given, no resolution made, and the only advice given was to call a number for some agency that might be able to help pay the bill. There apparently is no alternative to calling an outside agency. This billing cycle I again have a past due balance, but Duke Energy decide to charged a deposit for "inadequate payment history". Any payment I make now will not go to pay for electricity I used, but will instead go to the deposit. So I have this situation of pay the extra deposit or have electricity disconnected again. Also, Duke Energy scheduled for disconnection on the 30th of December prior to the due date of December 25th. I have been told that payment is due the 25th of each month after which the balance is considered late. To summarize the problems I have are as follows: 1 -- The 5 day payment arrangement requirement with no leeway 2 -- No customer service willing to resolve problems in house without referral to some agency that might be able to help 3 -- Scheduling of disconnection prior to the due date in the winter with lows projected in the 30's over the next ten days 4 -- A deposit requirement for "inadequate payment history" with no specific reasoning considering that every bill has been paid regardless of timeliness If there was another electricity company I would switch companies, but since Duke Energy is the only one the practices I have described are an exercise of tyranny.

Desired Settlement: Besides the total elimination of Duke Energy I believe the problem can be resolved in one of two ways: 1 -- Elimination of the deposit requirement with the remainder balance to be paid by me on December 27th by 5 pm. or 2 -- To satisfy the company's greedy need for a $141 deposit allow an extension to pay the deposit and the $143.21 for a total of $284.21 to be made on January 3 2014 to allow for me to receive my pay for that week.

12/31/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is a charge on my power bill for $193 dollars that was taken from a former clients account and placed as a charge on mine. When asked for an explanation, the bill is my charge now because this former client and I had a mutual roommate. This roommate was on neither contract, and the former client and I did not board with this person at the same time. The former client claimed to have called and set up a payment plan so that she would be paying the charge and not me, but the charge has not disappeared from my account, nor does it appear to have been paid. Now, this charge is threatening my power usage, and the company has declared they will be shutting my power off on 12-20-13. This will deprive my two-week old baby of necessary heat and the power required to care for her.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charge removed from my account, and if it is to be paid, I would like the charge to be sent to the rightful account owner.

Business Response:

We reviewed the account and the charges that were transferred are valid. We  set up a payment arrangement and stopped the disconnection. 

***** *******

Customer Experience Associate

*************

12/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unfairly Charged Deposit 4 Years Later I have been a Duke Power customer for 4+ years and always paid my bill accordingly. I accidentally missed a payment in Sept, but paid it in Oct and avoided any disconnection. However, this past month along with my normal bill I received a deposit request for almost $200. Is it a normal practice for Duke Power to bully it's customers?! My bill has always been paid and my power has never been turned off. This is absurd!

Desired Settlement: Please remove this deposit request from my account or I will be forced to pursue legal action.

Business Response:

The customer did not provide a good phone number in the complaint. I attempted to contact him using the phone number that was on his account but could not reach him.  Please have customer provide a valid phone number and we will be glad to contact him.  Thank you.  

 

***** *******

Customer Experience Associate

*************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

As a client they should have all of my contact information and I should not have to provide it to them again.  I have not received an acceptable response and no action on their part to resolve this "deposit" issue has happened. Therefore I cannot accept their response.

If they wish to credit my account the deposit they charged me they can reach me at ************. No other response will be acceptable.


Regards,

******** ******



Business Response:

Good morning,

We checked the account and verified that *** ****** found a guarantor who signed for the amount of the deposit. The deposit has been removed from the account because of the guarantor’s commitment and will remain off the account for as long as the guarantor remains.

If the guarantor removes the name from the account the deposit will be placed back on the account and will be removed only when the account is in good standing. Deposits are assessed to accounts with more than two late payments in a 12 months period and deposits are refunded with 8.5% interest when that condition no longer exists.

We attempted to contact *** ****** to explain, but he was unavailable. A voice mail was left and he never returned the call. We are closing this complaint; please let us know if you have questions. Thank you.

***** *** *******

 

12/9/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been on the phone with Duke Power consistently for 2 months trying to get the issue of a fradualant situation removed off of an account I NEVER created or opened up. I have submitted a police report showing this has been filed. I have sent in ALL the paperwork asked of me several times. I have been told I would get a call back and that the issue would be resolved. But this issues still continues and the supervisor that i spoke with was very nasty and did not assist me in any way.

Desired Settlement: i would like to have this issues resolved because i am paying for an apartment that i cant stay in due to i dont have service because of this account that i did not start.

Business Response:

Hello *****, 

We received this one and have been in communication with the customer . She was asked to send us additional documentation to prove that she is not responsible for the charges added and that part is still being investigated. I contacted her today to let her know that we are still investigating and will get back with her as soon as we hear from the investigation group. She understood and was thankful. 

My peer ***** has been handling this one, but she is out sick today, I told the customer that we will get back with her when ***** is back, probably tomorrow. Anyway, let me know if you have additional questions. Thanks and happy Thanksgiving!

Consumer Response: I have sent everything they have asked for and its been two months and nothing has been done. They have not been in contact with me and i was informed that it would been taken care of within in 15 days and now my power is off. I talked to a sup today and he was very rude abd was no assistance to me. I am very aggravated and me and my children are in the cold with no power and no one can do anything.Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* ********



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Duke Energy
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)