Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Crowns Now Dentistry

Phone: (864) 297-7232 View Additional Phone Numbers 2080 Woodruff Rd, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.crownsnow.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This practice offers dental implant and general dentistry.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crowns Now Dentistry meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Crowns Now Dentistry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crowns Now Dentistry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2003 Business started: 08/01/2002 in SC Business incorporated 08/13/2002 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LLR/ Labor Licensing & Regulation
110 Centerview Drive Ste. 202 Synergy Business Park, Columbia SC 29210
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/dentistry
Phone Number: 803-896-4599

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Thorpe Jacob, Partner Dr. John Armbruster, Partner Mrs. Jerri Harman, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Thorpe Jacob, Partner
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Periodontist

Industry Tips
Dental Complaints

Additional Locations

  • 2080 Woodruff Rd

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 297-7232

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a simple tooth extraction and I was billed for a surgical extraction instead. When I telephoned I was repeatedly told that someone would get back to me and this has been going on for months. I finally got a return call and was told basically it was too bad that it was billed according to the dentists interpretation. At no time did the dentist have to use ANY surgical instruments for the extraction, NO incisions had to be made and no surgical procedure was done. I had a local shot of lidocane and the tooth was removed. I paid my ****** deductable, they submitted a claimn to my insurance for a SURGICAL procedure and it was NOT a surgical procedure and then they sent me an additional bill stating that I owed another ****** because my insurance said that the amount Crowns Now charged exceeded thre amount reasonable and allowable. How can they bill my insurance for a procedure they did not perform and also bill me for more money.

Desired Settlement: That they take this OFF my credit report and accept what my dental insurance gave them as they billed them for a more expensive procedure even though they did not perform the more expensive procedure. They they be investigated for INSURANCE FRAUD as I have heard they have done this to others but they bullied them into paying so it wouldn't reflect on their credit.

Business Response:

Re Complaint#********

*****,

I believe that Crowns Now Dentistry has tried to communicate the reason that the ****** balance remains on *** ********** account in the conversations that we have had with *** ********. On 4/29/2014 *** ******** was given an ESTIMATE of what his patient portion would be for the service that he needed, a surgical extraction of tooth #5, the fee was $****** and the estimated patient portion was $*****, patient signed the treatment plan estimate that clearly stated the extraction was to be surgical, prior to services being rendered and paid $***** at time of check out after services were rendered. 

Crowns Now has never intentionally filed an incorrect code to any insurance based on the higher fee. We code all services provided to our patients within ADA guidelines.

We have attempted to explain to *** ******** that the balance due is the result of *** being applied to his deductible. We have also sent the patient copies of the EOB’s and the treatment plan estimate that the patient signed from the date of service 4/29/2015. We have discussed his concerns with his insurance company and they agree that the claim was filed correctly with the correct code and that the ****** balance on the account is truly the patient’s responsibility.

We have not submitted *** ********'s account to a credit agency, so this balance is not affecting *** ********** credit in any way as of 7/07/2015.

We are truly sorry that *** ******** feels that he was in any way taken advantage of but we have been very honest and forthcoming with him and all of our patients.

 

Sincerely,

***** ******