Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Carolina Foothills Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 585-6838 View Additional Phone Numbers 280 Commonwealth Drive, Greenville, SC 29615 http://www.cffcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carolina Foothills Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carolina Foothills Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carolina Foothills Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1960
Business Management
Mr. Scott Weaver, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott Weaver, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • 280 Commonwealth Drive

    Greenville, SC 29615 (864) 585-6838

  • 520 N Church Street

    Spartanburg, SC 29303 (864) 585-6838

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carolina Foothills Federal Credit Union blocked my Debit Card from being used. When I called and questioned them about it they informed me that there was "fraud" on the account (this is the second time in 5 months). As a result of my card being blocked I was forced to use my other debit card for a different bank. This second account is not normally used and did not have much money in it. I would write myself a check to the other bank and then use the DC for the second account. The checks did not clear very quickly causing me to get overdraft fees, that would have been avoided if CFFCU had been working. I requested CFFCU refund the cost of the overdrafts as they were their fault and was told that I could not have them refunded. When I asked why and explained my reasoning for why I felt they should be, I was informed that they had tried to contact me before the card was deactivated and therefore I knew the card was going to be deactivated and should have made arrangements to use some other form of payment. I never received a call from anyone until after my card had been deactivated and I had already called them twice.

Desired Settlement: I would like CFFCU to refund my overdraft fees caused by their negligence. in the amount of $272. $34 for each overdraft with a total of 8 overdrafts.

Business Response:

I have looked into the situation regarding **. ******** and have determined that we did the appopriate thing by blocking his card.  His card showed up on a fraud alert list and we followed the normal procedure which includes calling the member to verify the transaction in question.  The member had moved and didn't change his address or contact information with us, therefore we were unable to reach him and took the next appropriate action which was to block his card.   This is done as a percaution to prevent unauthorized access to his account.  When he couldn't use his card he called us and we were able to verify the transaction and release his card, whch was done the same day he called us.  He was then able to use the card unencumbered.

As far as charges being refunded, we did not charge him any fees and have no control over what another institution does or charges.  Therefore there is no action for us to take.  We have encouraged the member to contact the institution that charged him the fees and ask them for leiniency.  We are more than happy to work with the member to resolve any issues conccerning his accounts with the credit union.

 

***** ******

Presidetn/CEO

5/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a notice of collections for an account that was closed in 1997 when I relocated to ******* from South Carolina. I was advised that this was membership dues from 1999 - 2013 and it was being placed on my credit report. I asked for documentation that the accounts were re-opened but was advised that when they got around to it they would send me the documentation. I adivsed that I was not paying for accounts that were closed.

Desired Settlement: Removal from credit report.

Business Response:

In response to **** ***** complaint, first *** misunderstood the letter.  It was not for the collection of membership dues and  I cannot disclose the detailed nature of the letter because of privacy issues.  I can provide copies of the letter if *** agrees to it.  

**** ***** called the office on April 9th and talked with three of our employees who each  tried to explain the nature of the letter to her.  *** was adament that *** did not, nor ever had an account with Carolina Foothills.  We explained that we had merged with the credit union that she had the account with, etc.  On April 10th a letter from *** expressing *** dissatisfaction was faxed to my attention.  I was out of the office at the time, so my VP of operations responded to *** by mailing copies of signature cards and other maiterial proving the legitamacy of the relationship.  We have not heard from *** since.

 

Thank you.

 

***** ******

President/CEO