Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Century Properties of the Piedmont, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (864) 304-5350 5 E Creekside Park Court, Greenville, SC 29615 http://www.custombuildersc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Century Properties of the Piedmont, LLC include:

  • Failure to be transparent about ownership, location, or products/services offered

Factors that raised the rating for Century Properties of the Piedmont, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Century Properties of the Piedmont, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 30, 2012 Business started: 07/01/1995 in SC Business incorporated 06/19/2000 in SC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

LLR/ Labor Licensing & Regulation
110 Centerview Dr. Suite 102 Synergy Business Park, Columbia SC 29210
http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/residentialbuilders
Phone Number: 803-896-4696

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Clyde Rector, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Clyde Rector, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services

Industry Tips
Home Builder and Remodeler Contract Tips

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5 E Creekside Park Court

    Greenville, SC 29615 (864) 304-5350

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P O Box 25506

    Greenville, SC 29616

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the first day of the job, Century Properties ("CP") broke a large front window because it did not properly jack up and support the clearly rotted front corner pillar. $600 mistake, which CP refused to compensate, that came to epitomize the poor workmanship and obstinacy with which CP conducts its business. Over the course of the work, we continued to notice obvious defects in simple, routine tasks that we had to twist CP's arm in order to perform a professional job (e.g., painting over exterior wood rot, instead of fixing the root problem, so he could save costs). After countless, tedious arguments with the proprietor over substandard work, I paid other contractors to fix problems to avoid headaches: for example: 1) Poor electrical work on deck receptacles; the outlets were never functional 2) Incomplete/improper reparation of tile grout: drain was clogged as the subcontractor attempted to wash the grout down the drain: clearly evident CP did not oversea the subcontractor or did not understand best practices 3) Improper wood-work on the deck railings; I had to fully remove and replace because CP didn't understand the concept of 'bark side down'. Several splintered spindles also needed to be replaced I paid CP general contractor fees, as I didn't want to continuously supervise the project. Unfortunately, either due to lack of knowledge, obstinacy or a desire to cut corners and increase margin, we continuously had to check every aspect of his work. I was highly dissatisfied with his service; however, despite all this, I paid CP every cent in his original quote. Nevertheless, CP filed a frivolous mechanic's lien, in an attempt to extract more money: very disappointing and unprofessional.

Desired Settlement: Removal of mechanic's lien

Business Response:

I am responding to your recent e mail concerning the complaint Mr. ********** has placed against Century Properties of the Piedmont, LLC.

First of all, I have never met Mr. ******* **********.  All work was coordinated and approved by Mr. ************ father, ***** **********.  My only contact with Mr. ******* ********** was via e mails, mostly dealing with the financial end of the work and request for payments.

I was not aware of any substandard work or any substandard materials used on the job.  No complaints have ever been brought to my attention about the quality of the work.  One of ********* final e mails to me stated " I appreciate your work; the pictures of the property looks beautiful, so I will pay you as soon as feasible for the additional cost you've incurred."  He also had a one year warranty on all work performed by Century Properties of the Piedmont, LLC.

The reason for Mr. ************ dissatisfaction at this point is because he does not want to pay for the additional amount owed for framing repairs, sheetrock repairs in the carport ceiling, and electrical repairs that were not in the original scope of work.  In an attempt to work with Mr. ********** on his final invoice, I didn't invoice him for the final work done, plus, I omitted my contractor fees, plus I removed charges for some of the other work completed.

I tried to work through his father, *****, to save him money, and still have a quality job.  For example, by using my HVAC sub contractor, instead of one ***** had selected, it saved him from buying a complete new HVAC system. Some of the work was done at cost, plus Mr. ***** ********** elected to use other contractors for various jobs, ie. roof repairs, etc.

Mr. **********, having agreed to pay the outstanding invoice, failed to pay it.  I advised him on 14 November, 2014 that a Mechanics Lien would be placed on the property.  He has had every opportunity to work with me to settle this matter, but has made no attempt to contact me.  Legal action has been ongoing since December 2014.  For over six months, Mr. ********** has refused to respond to any of the legal notices.  The SC Secretary of State finally had to serve legal notice to him, since he refused to accept notices through the regular channels.

It is my contention that this complaint is not over substandard work and materials, but just a method to discredit Century Properties of Piedmont, LLC and try to force me through discrediting to remove the lien on his property.

This is now in the court system where it will be settled.

If you have any questions concerning my response or need any clarification, please let me know.

***** ** ******, Owner, Century Properties of the Piedmont, LLC


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 1*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

A warranty was never provided in writing.  ***** was told multiple times about:

1)  Painting over raw wood

2)  Poor grout and tile work

3)  Painting over rotted wood

4)  Poor appearance of a rough  cut 2x6 top deck rail..

5)  Electrical outlets that were installed and did not work.

Therefore, he must have selective hearing to claim that certain issues were never communicated. Moreover, his final comment to me after our failed negotiation was "You'll never be happy with any contractor", making it look like it was all my fault for wanting a good job at the quoted price..

As it relates to not watching to pay for additional work, we paid for the carport sheetrock and electrical repairs; we only dispute the framing repairs, which we paid the quoted amount but not the arbitrary amount on the mechanic's lien. 


Regards,

******* **********

Business Response:

This is in response to Mr. ************ most recent remarks.

1.  I don't understand his complaint about painting over raw wood. New wood is considered raw wood.

2. Poor grout and tile work- I was never told about poor tile and grout work.  I have used the same tile sub for many years and have had nothing but praises from our customers about his work.

3. Painting over rotted wood- We never painted over rotted wood.  Some wood that had minor damage and was not in our scope of repair was painted and ***** ********** requested removing the wood and replacing it, which we did and it was repainted.

4. Poor appearance of a rough cut 2X4 top rail deck- I was never informed about this.

5.  Electrical outlet installed that did not work- The outlet we replaced was connected to an interior GFI that tripped.  That was the only issue that I was aware of.  Again, I have used the same electrical subcontractor for years and have had only good work from him.

If you have any questions concerning my responses, please let me know.

***** ** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

******* **********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Century Properties of the Piedmont, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)