Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dimitra Designs, Inc.

Phone: (864) 467-0801 Fax: (864) 467-0133 View Additional Phone Numbers 303 N Pleasantburg Drive, Greenville, SC 29607 http://www.dimitradesigns.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail fashion and custom designs and alteration services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dimitra Designs, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dimitra Designs, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dimitra Designs, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 03, 1996 Business started: 11/01/1994 Business incorporated 03/17/2005 in SC
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dimitra Mandala, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dimitra Mandala, Owner
Business Category

Bridal Shops

Alternate Business Names
Dimitra Mandala Designs Brides & Beauties
Additional Information

This company's special order policy states that orders may not be cancelled and the consumer must take the merchandise. Additionally, there are no refunds, exchanges, or in-store credits. "In the event of dispute, the purchaser will be responsible for reasonable costs for collection or cost for any disputes including attorney's fee."

Industry Tips
Bridal Gown Tran-shipping

Additional Locations

  • 303 N Pleasantburg Drive

    Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 467-0801

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a tux for my son and me for my daughters May 2, 2015 wedding. When my son put his tux pants on about 1 hour before pictures, his pants waist adjuster would not snap. We ran to Dimitras to try to get it quickly corrected. After dealing with rude associates, the alterations person was unable to correct. I told the clerk we had picture in 30 minutes but they made no effort to try to help. They were more concerned with continuing to take other peoples orders. I literally had to get a sewing kit brought to the wedding venue to make an alteration so the pants were wearable without falling off. The pant leg hem also came lose before he got out of the car so he had to keep rolling it under the entire night. I paid $*** for the rental. I suggested they refund us $** since we did not get what we paid for. I was given excuse after excuse but was told since the coat and shirt were ok that a refund was not going to be issued. Other future customers need to know that this could happen to them. Had I had this information when making my choice of vendors, I WOULD NOT HAVE used this company

Desired Settlement: As I told ****, the manager, I feel a 50% refund is more than fair for the trouble and inconvenience I encountered. I paid for a 100% functional tux and did not get it. This company either needs to do the right thing or have it on their record for other to consider when considering using them

Consumer Response: *** ****** called BBB stating he and the company have come to a mutual resolution and the matter has been resolved.

1/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was asked to be a flower girl in a weddings. The company requested the measurements of my daughter, which were obtained by a local tailor. Based on the measurements, my daughter would have needed a size 6 dress. The poorly trained sales person recommended size 4 even after being told several times that size 6 was the appropriate size based on the measurements. The sales person informed us that their sizes were running large and convinced us to get the smaller size. She even pointed out that their web site specifically stated that the customer should order items 2 sizes smaller from what is customary. Assuming that the vendor knew its products, we followed their recommendations. The dress was delivered and we were surprised to find out that the vendor was wrong and the dress didn't fit. They refused to fix their error and charged us in excess of a 20% restocking and handling fee to fix their salesperson's mistake. They were difficult to work with. Once they received payment for the dress, they couldn't be bothered with customer service.

Desired Settlement: I desire a credit card refund for the $70 restocking and handling fee charged for providing the proper sized dress.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

On October 15, 2014 we received an order from ******* ********** for a **** ********* flower girl dress in a size 4. We require measurements for each order to ensure that we are shipping the best size before any alterations. The measurements provided on the original order were for the size 4 according to the **** ********* size chart.

*** ********** received the dress on 10/21/2014. Upon receiving the gown she informed us that the size 4 was too small for her daughter and she would need a size 6. According to our sales policy, which *** ********** had to agree to in order to place an order online, if we do allow an exchange or return there would be a 25% restocking fee, which in this case would be $80.00. Given that the measurements provided were for the size 4 and not the 6, we did not have to agree to an exchange, however do to the nature of this order we did allow an exchange and lowered the restocking fee to $70.00 for *** **********.  *** ********** agreed to this charge and had to provide her credit/debit card over the phone in order for us to even charge the $70.00.

In the formal wear industry, once we receive the gowns from the companies we are unable to return them. This is why all sales are final on special order items and also why there is a restocking fee in place. We also have email confirmation of everything *** ********** was aware of for this order.

The wear date for this dress was 11/2/2014 which means the size 6 has already been worn. We are not sure why she is asking for the $70.00 restocking fee after having the dress for over two months now. We provided both sizes as the customer requested.

Please let us know what documentation you need from us.

**** *******

Internet Relations and Sales

***** ********

7/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a Prom Dress for my daughter and was assured that it would be in within 7- 14 days. After 3 weeks passed..I became concerned and called with no clear answer. Initially I was informed that it was in stock, however after several phonecalls...I was then informed that it would not even be shipped until April 7th. I asked to speak to a manager or the owner and after receiving several excuses, I drove to dimitris with the hope of getting a clear answer. To make a long story short the communication was disappointing. The lack of concern from the owner and the manager was extremely disheartening. We still haven't received the dress and they were not willing to budge on making this right. Whatever happened to the golden rule " treat others the way you would like to be treated?" I was unsatisfied with my experience and would not recommend Dimitri's to anyone I know.

Desired Settlement: 469.00 prom dress tax and shipping.

Business Response: The dress was mailed out on March 31, 2014 to the customer home. They were also offered free hem alterations. 

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Original complaint was a delivery issue but has turned into a customer service issue. I special ordered a prom dress for my daughter through them. When it arrived, we went in for a fitting. Was scheduled to pick up the dress on April 1st after alterations made. My daughter went to pick up the dress & it was no where to be found. They tried to tell her I had already picked it up. I then met her up there. After about an hour of waiting they located the dress at another store. Not one of their's but the store of a lady that helps them with alterations. They offered to ship the dress to my house. I just wanted the dress in my hands so I said I'd go get it. When I got there, I realized the dress had not been altered! It still had pins in it! If they had shipped it to me, I would have had to go back to Dimitra's! My receipt had been left at Dimitra's so there wasn't even a name on the dress! The lady at the store was so helpful & altered the dress the next day when I could go back with my daughter. I went back to Dimitra's today wanting a full refund for alterations which THEY didn't do! They agreed to give me half for my trouble saying the alterations were done & that the lady that did them is contracted with them. As far as I'm concerned that is between them! I contracted with Dimitra's and my transaction was NOT handled the way it should have been!! They did not do the alterations & I had to run here & there wasting my time & gas to get it done!! I would think my inconvenience & impression of their store would be worth the full $45 I paid to have the dress altered. I was told by Dimitra herself that her reputation is only worth $20 to her, that's why she has been in business for so long. Even compared it to if I went to a doctor & he was late, I'd still have to pay for what I got. What?! If I go to a restaurant and my steak is not done to order, I don't have to pay.

Desired Settlement: I paid $45 for alterations that were done by an outside source (beautifully) but I thought I was doing business with Dimitra & was certainly not expecting to have to drive back to Simpsonville several times to get it done AND done later than promised! I was refunded $22.50, VERY reluctantly! If they had just refunded me the $45, I could have overlooked the mistake and been very grateful that they recognize their mistake and want to fix it. Let's not forget I paid $469.58 in full for the dress.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

 
Emailing to reject the response to my complaint that I received from Dimitra's.  I tried to do so from the link that was attached to their response but was unable to do so for some reason, so am doing so here:
 
 
 

Dear BBB,

Thank you so much for looking into my complaint with Dimitra’s.  Below is my response.

When my daughter went in to Dimitra’s on April 1st, the day that her dress was promised, they could not locate her dress!  After she had been there for about 15 minutes, she called me almost in tears, saying they had lost her dress.  I went right up there.

When I arrived about 20 minutes later, they STILL did not know where the dress was.  I waited approximately another 30 minutes before the seamstress who I’d left the dress with, said that they’d found the dress at another store.  She stated that she herself had given the dress to the owner of that store by mistake.  She did offer to ship the dress to me.  By this time my daughter and I were so upset that we just wanted the dress in our hands.  Learning that the dress was in Simpsonville, and believing that it had ALREADY been altered, I offered to just go pick it up from there. 

When I arrived at the store that it had mistakenly been given to, the dress had not been altered!  Let me tell you, if they had shipped that dress to me without it having been altered, I would be more upset than I am right now!!!  Instead of me making a trip back to Dimitra’s, I asked the lady in the Simpsonville store (a store not related to Dimitra’s at all) if she could alter it for me.  She agreed but asked that I bring my daughter back so that she could pin it properly.  The seamstress at Dimitra’s had only put one pin in the bottom of the dress.  So I made a trip back to the Simpsonville store the next day and then another trip back to that store to pick it up. 

Even though Dimitra’s lost the dress for at least an hour and I had to make a trip to a store not affiliated with them, I would not ask for one penny of my money back if the dress had been altered and ready to go when I go there.  It was not!!!  Dimitra stated to me on the day I went in for my refund that If I had brought the dress back to them, after they paid the money to ship it to me, then they would not have charged me for the alterations.  What kind of sense does that make?!  They made a mistake and I should not have to pay for their mistake.  They should have had the dress shipped back to them and then altered it for me, free of charge.  Or… now that I had to jump through all these hoops, waste my time and gas driving here and there because of their mistake, they should refund my remaining $22.50.  I’ll accept nothing less. 

Thank you so much for your attention this matter,

****** ******


 


--

 

Business Response:

Hello *****,

We are willing to have this issue mediated if she is still dissatisfied with our last response to her claim. Our final decision still stands and again we apologize that she is not pleased. We asked that she understand that the seamstress that worked on the dress has been paid for the hours that she spent on the dress. If no service was performed on the dress then we of course would had provided a full refund. However, the work she paid for was completed and she was reimburse half of what she paid for the alterations due to the circumstances that occurred. This is all that we can do for this client. Thank you for your help. 

Kinds Regards,

****** *****

****** *****
Internet Marketing Consultant 
303 N. Pleasantburg Dr. 
Greenville, SC 29607

Business Response:

In response to the customer’s statement, we understood why she was upset about the dress being at one of our seamstress’s store location, when she came to pick up the dress. The seamstress that worked on her dress began the year as a full time seamstress on site at Dimitra Designs. She recently decided she wanted to have her own shop. We immediately worked out an agreement with her to continue working on our dresses in order to prepare for the busy prom season. It so happened that the customer’s dress was one of the dresses assigned to this seamstress. The dress was scheduled to be return to our store on April 1st, however, due to conflicting schedules with our seamstress, the dress was not brought back to the store as of yet. We were going to send someone out for the dress. We informed the customer why her dress was not ready for pick up. She did not want to wait so we offered to ship the dress to her. The customer stated that because she lived in Simpsonville that she did not mind going to pick up the dress from our seamstress shop which is also located in Simpsonville. The customer returned back to the store and demanded a full refund. We did feel that it was fair to offer some compensation for all the issues that had occurred, especially since it was not completed on the schedule pick up date. We felt refunding half of the amount she was quoted for the alterations was fai, however, we could not give a full reimbursement because one of our employees did complete the job.

Dimitra Designs does apologize about any inconvenience and by the fact that she was so unhappy with our solution to the problem. We are also working diligently to work out the flaws in our current agreement with our seamstresses so that this will not happen with other clients. 

Best Regards,

**** *******- Store Manager

Dimitra Designs
************

5/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service