BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Upstate South Carolina

BBB Accredited Business since

Meineke Car Care Center

Phone: (864) 576-1878 Fax: (864) 576-7678 432 W Blackstock Rd, Spartanburg, SC 29301 http://www.meineke.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Meineke Car Care Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Meineke Car Care Center include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 27, 2013 Business started: 03/01/2009 in SC Business started locally: 03/01/2009 Business under new ownership as of: 08/18/2012 Business incorporated: 07/24/2012 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Revenue - Greenville
545 N. Pleasantburg Drive, Suite 300, Greenville SC 29607
Phone Number: 864-241-1200
Fax Number: 864-232-5008

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Marek Liptak, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marek Liptak, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 432 W Blackstock Rd

    Spartanburg, SC 29301 (864) 576-1878

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my car power train malfunction light came on and I immediately took my car to Meineke Car Care Center. When I would put the car in drive it would take off slowly. They ran a diagnostic and told me that I needed new spark plugs and an oxygen sensor valve and some other parts and it would cost $1046. When I called and checked on the progress of my vehicle they needed another piece which made my bill go up to $1146. When they supposedly fixed the problem they told me to get a new battery and everything will be fix. Luckily i had insurance on my battery from auto zone, so they easily swapped it out. So I took my car back to Meineke because the same problem it had before it still was doing it. When they ran another diagnostic test it said dealer code. They told me to take it to the dealer to get my tcm flashed. When I took it to the dealership they said a tcm flash will not do anything because I need a new transmission. The new transmission cost and labor would be $6000. The dealership told me if they work on cars they knew it was the transmission, because it was a given when it takes off slow in the beginning. I paid 1146 for what they said would fix the problem but it did not fix the problem. I am a senior in college this year so I need to save all the money I can for my cap and gown, my LSAT test, etc. If Meineke could not fix the problem after that first diagnostic they should have told me to go to the dealership right then and not play under my hood.

Desired Settlement: I really want a refund so I can put that money to the REAL problem of my car. even if they take off the money they spent on parts and just give me the money took for labor but something has to give

Business Response: ** ******* had brought his car into Meineke of Spartanburg experiencing rough running and drivability issues with his Jaguar.  Both the Check Engine Light and the Powertrain Malfunction light were on prior to service.  With the engine running so poorly, our first logical step in the diagnosis process was to diagnose and fix the problem causing the check engine light to come on. The engine was misfiring terribly and was triggering an O2 Sensor circuit range code as well as random Cylinder Misfire codes.  When the spark plugs were removed it was noted that most had been saturated with oil. The root cause of this oil saturation were worn out spark plug tube seals.When communicating (with our shop scan tool) with the engine control computer, it was noted that the Bank 1 Sensor 1 Oxygen sensor was not giving proper readings as needed. This live data feed did solidify our concerns of that sensor being bad. Said sensor was most likely damaged by the misfiring condition of the motor. (There were more oil saturated spark plugs on the Bank 1 side than on the Bank 2 side of the engine). The probable cause of this sensor damage would be raw non-burnt fuel passing into the exhaust system, constantly coating the sensor. We did what was necessary to restore the vehicle's engine to proper running performance (Changed Spark Plugs,Seals and Oxygen Sensor) to ensure that they were not the sole cause of the powertrain malfunction.  We had informed ** ******* that these services had to be preformed before we could know if there were any issues with the transmission. Once the initial problems were resolved, both the Check Engine Light and the Powertrain Light had gone off. After after a while of test driving, the Powertrain Light returned.  It was our belief that there was still a fault with either the Transmission Control Module, or the Transmission its self.  We did recommend to have the Jaguar Dealership check into his car further because of limitations with our scan tool.   The Check Engine Light did remain off and engine was running at optimal performance when the vehicle was picked up.  All services done to ** ********* car was done by specification/recommendations deemed appropriate by our shop software "Identifix".  However unfortunate it is that ** ********* transmission will require additional work.  Every service performed was done in the best interest of *** ******* and his vehicle.


Regards,
***** ******

6/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a basic oil change on 11/18/2013. The oil change was completed after showimg me that I needed new filters. After showing me the filters by 2 different people, the technician, whose initials are EB informs me that I am in dire need of a complete front brake job. He tells me that both rotors and pads are damaged and says that I need them NOW. I informed him that I had just recently had them replaced and that I would like to return to that shop to get them reworked. I went into the office and paid for the oil change and that manager again informed me that I needed to act ASAP and then showed me the estimate for $323 and suggested I let them do the job because they will "do it right the first time". After leaving Meineke I went to the shop that had done my brakes and told them I wanted the pads changed and would like them to check the rotors and do a complete brake job. The gentleman there informed me that not only did I NOT need a brake job but that I still had about half of a shoe left on both sides and only showed normal wear on the rotors no grooving as EB at Meineke had stated. I called and left a message that evening with Meinekes corporate service line and the call was returned the morning of 11/19/2013 by *******. After relating the story to ******* she said only thank you for letting us know and we will place this is their file and see if anything else happens at that center. I feel that is completely not enough for them to do to handle this situation. They attempted to take advantage of me and luckily I was able to get out of there before they managed to talk me out of $323 of my kids Christmas money.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the misinformation to be acknowledged and for an apology from corporate or store level either one.

Business Response: I talked with ** **** today. She is planning to bring her car on Friday to double check the brake system. If our mechanic miss evaluated the brakes (did not follow company guidelines) a disciplinary action will be taken. Customer will receive free service coupon.

 
Thank you.
***** ******

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited location for an AC recharge and paid $93.35 for services which were not done properly; returned the vehicle the next day and services were added so that I had to pay an additional $39.99 totaling the cost of $139.99; and services still not repaired. I am contacting the better business bureau because the company does not provide professional and honest work for its customers as advertised.

Desired Settlement: Refund of total cost because the job should not have been completed on the first day if their was an issue with a leak; this issue should have been found before recharging the AC; this method does not even allow the freon to hold; the vehicle wasn't cooling when I left the premises but I was told by***** (mechanic) that this was an issue that would go away if driven further in distance; I was never informed about the leak until I returned the vehicle the next day; only to be billed again.

Business Response: I conducted investigation regarding this complaint. Below is what I found.

During the first visit *** ***** brought her car for oil change and because the A/C system was not working due to low level of freon (obviously the system has some leak if is low on freon) To find the leak, a/c system needs to be charged with freon and UV dye to be able to determinate the leaking part - if this is a small leak which was in this case. During the first visit** ***** declined the diagnostic which cost $39.99 (labor and the UV dye in addition to the freon rechrge).  ** ***** came back the next day payed 39.99 for diagnostic (The A/C system had to be charged one more time with the UV dye, Meineke did not charged for the freon). Diagnostic reviled that Condensor is leaking - *** ***** declined the repair.

Corrective action which Meineke will take: Service Advisor will spent more time to explain details of the A/C service in case of low level of freon. Will make note on the invoice in case diagnostic is declined. 
As a customer satisfaction in this case Meineke is willing to refund diagnostic charge $39.99 (in addition to waived cost of freon during the second visit).

Thank you 
***** ******
Owner