Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hipps Automotive, LLC

Phone: (864) 967-0050 Fax: (864) 967-9171 904 NE Main Street, Simpsonville, SC 29681


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto services, repair, tires wheels and batteries.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hipps Automotive, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hipps Automotive, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Hipps Automotive, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 09, 2002 Business started: 01/01/1996 in SC Business started locally: 01/01/1996 Business incorporated 01/01/2009 in SC
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Hipps, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Hipps, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 904 NE Main Street

    Simpsonville, SC 29681 (864) 967-0050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I TOLD HIPPS AUTOMOTIVE THAT MY CAR WAS SHAKING REAL BAD AND HESSITATING WHEN I ACCELERATE AND GO UP HILLS. THE MAN AT THE SHOP TOLD ME TO BRING MY CAR TO THE SHOP WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON. THE LIGHT CAME ON A WEEK LATER AFTER WE SPOKE, AND I TOOK MY CAR TO HIS SHOP. HE KEPT MY CAR TOLD ME MY CAR NEEDED A NEW VALVE BODY AND IT WAS GOING TO BE $1,400. I ASKED HIM ARE YOU SURE THAT IS GOING TO FIX IT..HE SAID YES. SO MY HUSBAND AND I SAID GO AHEAD AND FIX IT. HE KEPT MY CAR FOR A WEEK, TO FIX IT. HE CALLED AND SAID MY CAR WAS READY. I PAID HIM ON THE AGREED PRICE. LEFT HIS SHOP AND WENT STRAIGHT HOME IS DROVE FINE. LATER ON THAT SAME NIGHT, I HAD TO PICK UP MY SON FROM ********* *********** AS SOON AS I GOT ON THE HIGHWAY THE CAR STARTED DOING THE SAME SHAKING AND HESSITATING AS BEFORE. I TOLD MY HUSBAND AND HE CALLED THE SHOP THAT NEXT MORNING AND TOLD THE GUY THERE THAT THE PROBLEM IS STILL THERE. THE GUY TOLD US TO BRING IT BACK TO THE SHOP AND SAID THAT HE WILL LOOK AT IT TO SEE WHAT WENT WRONG. WE BROUGHT THE CAR BACK TO HIM AND HE KEPT IT FOR ANOTHER WEEK, IN WHICH WE WAD TO RENT A CAR FOR A WEEK. HE CALLED AFTER THE WEEK WAS UP AND SAID, THAT HE HAD MY CAR AT A TRANSMISSION PLACE AND THAT I NEEDED A REBUILT TRANSMISSION AND IT WAS GOING TO BE ANOTHER $2500 AND MY CAR HAD NOT ONE PROBLEM IT HAD TWO PROBLEMS. THAT IT NEEDED A VALVE BODY AND A REBUILT TRANSMISSION. I SAID WHY DIDN'T YOU SAY IT HAD TWO PROBLEMS IN THE BEGINNING BECAUSE HAD YOU SAID THAT IT NEEDED BOTH OF THESE THINGS AND IT WAS GOING TO BE $4000 TO FIX MY CAR. I WOULDN'T HAVE GOTTEN THE VALVE BODY DONE. I WOULD HAVE BROUGHT MY CAR HOME AND START ON THE PROCESS OF TRADING MY CAR IN FOR ANOTHER VEHICLE BECAUSE IT IS NOT WORTH IT TO ME AND MY HUSBAND TO SPEND $4000 ON FIXING THIS CAR. HE THEN SAID THAT HE WAS SORRY AND HE DIDN'T WANT TO TELL ME IT WAS GOING TO BE $4000 IN THE BEGINNING AND HE WAS NOT SURE IT WAS GOING TO NEED A REBUILT TRANSMISSION. I SAID WELL I ASKED YOU IF YOU WAS SURE THAT REPLACING THE VALVE WAS GOING TO FIX IT AND YOU SAID "YES"..I SAID THAT IS NOT FAIR TO ME TO NOT GIVE ME ALL THE INFORMATION AND TELL ME THAT REPLACING THE VALVE BODY IS GOING TO FIX IT, WHEN YOU KNEW THAT IT WAS A CHANCE THAT IT WASN'T GOING TO FIX IT...HE AGAIN APOLOGIZED AGAIN. I TOLD HIM THAT I DIDN'T WANT HIM TOUCHING MY CAR ANYMORE AND TAKE IT FROM THE TRANSMISSION PLACE AND BRING MY CAR BACK TO HIS SHOP..NOT ONCE DID HE OFFER TO GIVE ME ANY MONEY BACK.

Desired Settlement: I FEEL HIPPS AUTOMOTIVE OWES ME A REFUND. THE GUY TOLD ME REPLACING THE VALVE BODY WOULD FIX MY CAR...HE DID NOT SAY I HAD TWO PROBLEMS INITIALLY. HE DID NOT GIVE ME ALL THE INFORMATION IN THE BEGINNING, SO I COULD MAKE A DECISION BASED ON ALL THE INFORMATION. I FEEL THAT IS VERY UNPROFESSIONAL ON THEIR PART AND I WAS CHEATED OUT OF $1327.54 THAT I PAID THAT SHOP AND THE $193 I PAID FOR A RENTAL CAR FOR THE WEEK.

Business Response: On 3/4/2016, the customer ********* ******** brought her vehicle ***** ****** ******* *** to our shop (Hipps Automotive) with a check engine light on and a vibration. After diagnosing the vehicle with a scan tool, it was determined the vehicle had a bad valve body in the transmission. At that point there were no other codes and no indication of another problem. After getting approval from the customer, we ordered the new valve body. After it arrived, we installed the new valve body in the transmission and cleared the check engine light. The vehicle was test driven and it drove great and the check engine light did not return. We returned the vehicle to the customer. The customer also stated in her complaint that the vehicle drove fine and the check engine light did not return. That was on Friday. On Monday, the customer called and said the vehicle was vibrating like before. However the check engine light did not return. We asked them to bring it back and we would check it out. The problem at this point was not the same. We sent the car to ******* ************ and had them check for the problem. They told us the vehicle had a bad torque converter. There was no way of knowing it had a bad torque converter. The car drove fine after our repair for us and the customer as she stated in her complaint. The problem we repaired took care of the initial check engine light and valve body problem. Had we known it had a bad torque converter, we would have told the customer and tried to get them to repair it at the same time. The proposal to rebuild the transmission, was a suggestion from ******* ************* I do not feel we did anything wrong in this repair. However, we are an honest and a BBB Accredited business and in an effort to be fair and settle this dispute, we will refund 800.00 to the customer as a good faith gesture. I feel this is more than fair. The customer did receive the new valve body (which repaired the check engine light problem) and the labor to diagnose the problem and the labor to install the new valve body.

Thank you
***** *****

6/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recommended my the single mothers ministry at my church to have my car looked at by hipps automotive. I took my car to hipps my 2004****** xl-7 ex because the car was over heating. I was told my the owner wayne hipps that I needed to replace a radiator and I let them do that. it was $380.55 after I picked my car up it was still over heating. So I took it back this time wanyne hipps told me it was the head gasket that was bad. he told me I could get the head gasket fixed for $2550. Then I had Michel vance a licensed mechanic to look at the car. He informed me that the only thing causing my car to over heat was the thermostat had gone bad.

Desired Settlement: i feel like this was very miss handled. i feel very used and i do not want anyone else to be mislead by this mechanic. to fix a thermostat is less than $50. so i am questioning rather or not i needed to replace radiator. i feel like i could have saved $380.55 if i had a honest mechanic.

Business Response: I am sorry **** ****** had this problem. I was unaware of the problem. She evidently dealt with my shop manager and not me. Regardless, I am responsible. The shop manager said that her radiator was stopped up and that the car had the symptoms of a blown head gasket. If a thermostat fixed the overheating problem, then we miss diagnosed it and I apologize for that. We are not in the business of taking advantage of people. Our customers and our BBB record will attest to that fact. **** ****** did need the new radiator and she did not pay for anything that she did not need or get. I wish she would have come and talked to me personally. Again, if we misdiagnosed the head gasket, I truly apologize.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 


Regards,

**** *****

I still don't feel this is satisfactory for the wrong I was done!! I was told by another mechanic that the radiator dose not appear 2 be new & if it was truly replaced the n it should be new!!!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Hipps Automotive, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart